6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

ravewar
post Nov 1 2009, 02:31 PM

*Retired Drifter & M-ITX Fan*
686 posts

I'm not going for those expensive priced speaker systems...as mostly, I will have to wear headphones when playing games...my wife and kids don't like me playing games.... sad.gif

so a decent 2.1 should be able to do it...

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 1 2009, 02:31 PM
ravewar
post Nov 1 2009, 03:15 PM

686 posts

hahahaa...yeah...wat to do....already married and with 2 kids liao...no turning back biggrin.gif

Added on November 1, 2009, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Nov 1 2009, 01:09 PM)
what is your speaker usage?

gaming, listen to music, maybe a little movie...

if u are like, MOVIE HARDCORE, 2.1 is not enough for u, get a 5.1 like z5500 instead
my own PC is for me to play games, etc etc...

anyhow, I think a headphone would be ok...something average...but not like those ultra expensive gamers' labelled stuff...

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 1 2009, 03:17 PM
ravewar
post Nov 1 2009, 09:35 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 1 2009, 09:32 PM)
How to say satisfy if you say the speaker will pecah suara when turn load. Lol...Get a Z2300....
ahhahaha....yeah...sonicgear's bass is kinda boomy....often drown the higher pitch sounds....

that's why ur tweeter konged!! shocking.gif

ravewar
post Nov 3 2009, 10:00 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Nov 3 2009, 09:50 AM)
For normal office desktop used, rarely I can find any special processor such as extreme edition. If there are of course offering here  brows.gif at a very special price also
"special offering"!!!????? hmmm....

sounds very interesting....

Please do let us know more, if those "special offerings" do pop up... biggrin.gif nod.gif rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif
ravewar
post Nov 4 2009, 10:04 AM

686 posts

yeah...no need to susah-susah....if they PM raymond or inform raymond, then you put his/her name in laaa...

let them take their own initiative to join us... biggrin.gif
ravewar
post Nov 5 2009, 11:37 AM

686 posts

our p4 system is electrically x8 only....can change to x16 ka??? hmm..
ravewar
post Nov 6 2009, 11:29 AM

686 posts

yeah man...seems like i5/i7 stuff such as mobos...are quite reasonable compared to the c2d/q....very odd, as 775 stuff has been in the market for a long time...
ravewar
post Nov 7 2009, 03:15 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 7 2009, 03:07 PM)
C2Q is = to i3 technology. Next year C2Q will be the entry level of i series already.
oh? so quaddie is the best proc to go for then, for s775 then?
ravewar
post Nov 7 2009, 09:44 PM

686 posts

@alex,

congrats on ur new part-time job...hehe

i finally got my hands on win7 home premium today...
My take on the event in ikano...
My very own win7 home premium...

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 7 2009, 11:43 PM
ravewar
post Nov 8 2009, 03:05 PM

686 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Nov 8 2009, 12:28 AM)
@ravewar

i tot the pack kinda curve abit
the curve part's blocked by the win7 cupcake... biggrin.gif

Added on November 8, 2009, 3:06 pm
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Nov 8 2009, 10:00 AM)
@ravewar,do they offer Win 7 Ultimate version for free? brows.gif
aiks...mana ada free? if got, I'd sure grabbed d... laugh.gif

Got it at rm370. I didn't try the rtm version...so wouldn't know...but this home premium doesn't have the XP mode.... doh.gif

still haven't install yet....thinking if i should get a new hdd, or reformat my current one... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 9 2009, 11:42 AM
ravewar
post Nov 8 2009, 03:19 PM

686 posts

yeah...that's the problem....but no matter...since I've already gotten it...perhaps a year later, can upgrade to pro or ultimate versions...legally of course...hehe
ravewar
post Nov 9 2009, 10:30 AM

686 posts

prolly the mobo's acting up.

our p4 mobos are kinda old already...and sometimes, the pcb copper tracks(printed circuit board) may have hairline cracks....so when you take something out, and then put back again, the crack may open up, and cause the connection to open...

would prolly happen on the mobo...why? because since the mobo is quite big, and we tend to apply pressure to areas such as the cpu areas, the PCI areas...when you fix in the gfx in, you prolly have to push into the PCI slot, hence applying pressure, and the mobo will flex...

same as CPU cooler, when fixing in cooler, you will surely apply force to fix in the cooler to lock the clip...by doing so, you WILL flex the mobo, and cause the copper tracks to stretch...take out once too many times....and due to old age...that's the recipe to damage a mobo... biggrin.gif

even though the copper tracks are flexible, but due to old age, it can just crack at places...

I kena once before...so I know...myself an elecrical engineer in maintenance...so I went through the board...saw not one hairline crack, but afew....

I wanna repair, can...but need to spend time on it...so not worthwhile...also afew caps were "pregnant" already...

and I saw the same board for sale in the garage sale...got it to replace the mobo...at less than rm100.... biggrin.gif

If I were to repair it myself, buying caps would prolly cost rm20, removing the varnish on the mobo would prolly take sometime, then hunting the hairline cracks would prolly take some time as well...and cannot guarantee can work, as the mobo has a multi layer copper tracks....mana tau, the tracks within the mob is crack...cannot repair... doh.gif

so the moral of the story, if it's running, leave it...why fix it when it's running? if you need to maintain it, do it discretely...without damaging or stressing it... biggrin.gif

just my 2yen comment... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 9 2009, 10:32 AM
ravewar
post Nov 9 2009, 03:26 PM

686 posts

the cpu fanclips (4units) are at the corners of the "fanblock"...can "kiaw" with a testpen...should not be a problem.

I took my fan bracket out to lap my stock heatsink...till now no issues.
ravewar
post Nov 9 2009, 04:27 PM

686 posts

ah, ic...u mean the bracket.

well, in your 2nd pic(with circled on the broken part) there are 4 "tabs"/"pushtabs" which are used to hold the rectangular brackets.

These tabs, once removed, would not be able to hold the hsf properly.

I was using a ghetto watercooling setup, and had to remove the 4"pushtabs" to remove the rectangular bracket.

Later, I wanted to use back stock hsf, so tried to fix back. Can fix back, but with after awhile, the hsf came off, together with the bracket.

Best way: get some small sized bolts and nuts, and fasten em. pleas ensure that u get the "sunken - head" bolts...or "mushroom bolts.

confirm will not fall off. and also, if the rectangular bracket is broken again, you can change it by unscrewing the bolts.

remember to put 4 pieces of insulator to insulate the nuts frm touching the mobo.

Added on November 9, 2009, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(UnknownH @ Nov 9 2009, 04:20 PM)
u need to press the white one first that inside the black clips using pen or screwdriver.
then u can take out the black one.
I've done that b4, but the clip wouldn't last, as in hold for long...

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 9 2009, 04:28 PM
ravewar
post Nov 9 2009, 05:08 PM

686 posts

i dunno laaa...but it happened to me....prolly depends on how u remove the "push tab"....
ravewar
post Nov 10 2009, 11:11 AM

686 posts

QUOTE(powerwoot @ Nov 10 2009, 09:24 AM)
whoa so may ppl helping jcsy meddling the bracket...  laugh.gif jangan kasi patah itu mobo into 2 pieces ya
hahaha...the brackets, IIRC, were sold in LYP, in that sri computers...so if pecah, can always head to that place... laugh.gif

Added on November 10, 2009, 11:15 am
QUOTE(toottut89 @ Nov 10 2009, 09:33 AM)
so my prob is 90% mobo prob right?

i don't want to change d only realize it's not mobo problem then hailat d.
dude,
we can only suggest/guess...please don't take our words...please check properly....and if possible, isolate the fault...

what we said here, are just hearsay...and we have not even seen your mobo...we can old give suggestions/our opinions...we can be wrong too... sweat.gif sweat.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by ravewar: Nov 10 2009, 11:15 AM
ravewar
post Nov 10 2009, 02:44 PM

686 posts

have u tried ur Hdd plugged into other PC?
if ok, then not ur hdd.

tried with gfx?
if ok, then not ur gfx.

tried the rams?
if ok, then not ur rams....

keep trying to rule out parts which are working...
ravewar
post Nov 13 2009, 07:37 PM

686 posts

actually u storage guys should get rid of those hdds which have smaller capacity...and replace them all with at least 1tb hdds...min spec... sweat.gif
ravewar
post Nov 16 2009, 10:32 AM

686 posts

my 3.2 can play f03 now....but when exit...always hang...but only try to play to test the system...

anyway, I just sold my wife's ex-rig.... rclxms.gif

gonna start work on my other backup P4 2.8ht....see what can be done.... hmm.gif
ravewar
post Nov 18 2009, 10:09 AM

686 posts

most of the time, rams kong due to static...very sensitive...and improper removal from mobo(need to wait for at least 10secs with the power cable out frm psu)

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0251sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:25 AM