28 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V8<<, The Journey Continues Here!

TSraymond5105
post May 18 2009, 01:16 PM

5,341 posts

@e_k1117,playing dota with 2600XT should not be a problem for you as fylon said.Your 1.5GB RAM is already enough for gaming,you are planning to upgrade it also?If you are going to upgrade all hardwares,suggest you to get new LGA775 platform already.
TSraymond5105
post May 18 2009, 01:31 PM

5,341 posts

@e_k1117,your P4 3.0HT can't handle the game well? I'm doubt that dota need such high speed processor to play the game.
TSraymond5105
post May 18 2009, 02:16 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ May 18 2009, 02:02 PM)
3.0G ain't a problem for Dota actually, main concern is the graphic card. 64bit memory interface is not sufficient for 24inch LCD. Somemore on 1680x1050 reso.
This is true.64bits of memory interface is really a cripple one.

Added on May 18, 2009, 2:28 pm@e_k1117,based on the psu calculatino form web. My system will only load at 257w if CPU and GPU are at 100% loading. So a 450w psu is just nice for handle our old school rig.

This post has been edited by raymond5105: May 18 2009, 02:28 PM
TSraymond5105
post May 18 2009, 06:48 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ May 18 2009, 06:38 PM)
My last true Socket 478 board died about half a year ago.  Got a zombie replacement "945GCM478" from MSI.  Unfortunately it have a ghost in it - everyday at 00:00 system clock it will automatically start itself up.  I'm wondering among the people here anyone had this experience?

Edit:  Corrected to 00:00.  It will be less scary if it starts up in broad daylight
You did check at the time 00:00 to start up the pc automatically in bios?
TSraymond5105
post May 18 2009, 09:21 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(BFGWong @ May 18 2009, 07:22 PM)
Nope, I did not.  And I don't think the basic BIOS that shipped with the board have that function (there are absolutely no OC functions whatsoever)

By the way, am looking for another S478 board to replace a broken system (running 2.4GHz Northwood 800Mhz FSB) but unfortunately the replacement market for this venerable (and still very popular!) socket are limited to 2 local manufacturers: 1.  Enlight 2. JW Power that only offers 6 months warranty.  Does anyone have a good recommendation for a good replacement board that does not feature dodgy looking capacitors with a dodgy warranty period to match?
Enlight and JW Power? Maybe MSI 945G is another alternative choice for you?

QUOTE(e_k1117 @ May 18 2009, 08:00 PM)
does any one here know why my mobo like tend to forgot the time.... if few days didn't On it, then the time and date will lari alr... does it related to my Battery or others?
The battery needs to be replaced. GEt a new one.

QUOTE(Boneka @ May 18 2009, 08:38 PM)
my 478 is in agony. i think i wanna change to latest mobo. but idk which version including processor is good. what dya think?
Which mobo you woud lile to change?
TSraymond5105
post May 19 2009, 08:54 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(Boneka @ May 18 2009, 11:37 PM)
idk atm. kinda noob with the latest comp techs. what mobo has at least 1 ide slot for hardisk?
i accidentaly bought new ide hd because i was thought it was my hd fault before. kinda wasted.
All new mobo has at least 1 IDE slot for either HDD or DVD-ROM. If you are pairing HDD + DVD-ROM together,your HDD will suffer at slow speed.You should have getting a SATA HDD nowadays as IDE type is no longer popular.
TSraymond5105
post May 19 2009, 07:38 PM

5,341 posts

A good news to old school here.I will definately give a try on Windows 7 during the full release.
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 08:45 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 20 2009, 06:32 AM)
interesting but performance like Windows XP?

the Windows 7 release of RC1 already out a few days ago and all my colleagues are trying it out already biggrin.gif

crazy

well, im just back from Bandung Indonesia.. shopping there is so cheap and crazy
Then you can seek for their comments about Windows 7 on performance and reliability. Are they using old schools S478 to test out?Bandung shopping is cheap?Then you should have bought a lot.
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 08:54 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 20 2009, 08:48 AM)
yup , bought alot.. branded stuff RM40-50 =.=

they using nice dual cores and stuff leh biggrin.gif

i will be the ony 1 with S478 system to test W7
Branded stuffs only RM40-50? Then we should thanks to our beloved government in charging extreme taxes on us. They use dual core to test?Nice one.

QUOTE(fylon @ May 20 2009, 08:50 AM)
Am using windows 7 RC right now. laugh.gif Overall i can say is, the performance is not far away from Windows XP. Using C2D T5300 (1.73Ghz, 2MB cache) pair with 2GB ram, over system were smooth like butter. drool.gif Guess it wont be a problem for P4.

Just pity that, most of my networking software (eg. network stumbler) aint still not support it. Will revert back to XP soon.
@fylon,don't worry with the networking software. It's still in RC releases. The final copy will be much better than the current one.
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 10:28 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ May 20 2009, 09:25 AM)
@ray
Yea. But the RC released is seems to be quite good already. If compare with Vista test previously, my 945G will struggle if Aero enable on Vista. The GUI will be sluggish, but in W7 this doesnt occurred at all.

@dlwl
laugh.gif No i dont.. Lazy to install on VM, so just directly dump in for testing. But anyways, is a good one. Looking forward for this windows. As im having some AHCI issues with x64 Vista. Still in investigating for this problem.
@fylon,glad to hear feedback from you. The GUI is better than Vista. I heard Vista is more hardware dependent while Windows 7 has better software to work with hardware?

QUOTE(edministrator @ May 20 2009, 10:19 AM)
for s478, no matter u have lots of ram or less ram, i highly recommend readyboost flashdrives for your system. this is not to add 'ram' to your pc, but increase responsiveness of your applications. readyboost capable flashdrives in reading and writing small chunks of data is around 10x faster than conventional hard disks.

consider it a cache between HDD and RAM. though i have 8GB ram, i m still reaping benefits from 4GB readyboost.

btw, only applicable to vista and w7.
@edmin,what is the optimum flash drive capacity ready boost? 4GB?
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 11:09 AM

5,341 posts

VT stuffs seems to be new to me. Is it good to use Win XP in Vista or Windows 7 ? I think old school can't support this.
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 11:20 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 20 2009, 11:14 AM)
XP mode needs Intel VT or AMD-V to run...
It's a software from Intel?
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 11:31 AM

5,341 posts

Ar..then forget it already. Old school doesn't come with VT. wink.gif
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 11:39 AM

5,341 posts

Intel is going to implement VT feature in their mid-range products?
TSraymond5105
post May 20 2009, 01:24 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(Jcsy @ May 20 2009, 12:17 PM)
yup, RM 40 for a Espirit, Tommy Hilfinger, Paul Smith and many more brands. Depends what kind u are looking for
branded shorts, boxers and etc are abour RM25 and they are original la, after doing some 'study'

they are mostly factory outlets ( warehouses ) with many stock.. so much fun 2 spend biggrin.gif

back to W7, most of the softwares vista capable are w7 capable right?
Gosh so cheap only. doh.gif Here you will need 4-7x of charges from the price there.You are also interest to move to Windows 7 ?
TSraymond5105
post May 21 2009, 10:19 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 21 2009, 09:40 AM)
Wah still so many ppl with P478 rigs eh? Looks like I hafta revive mine too. Poor fella sitting in the storeroom waiting for a reformat. Only prob is that it only has 512mb ram.
Mr. ianho, you have so many rig with you. Solute solute. 512MB of RAM to run on Vista?If you do trying,please let us know the feedback for your P4. notworthy.gif
TSraymond5105
post May 21 2009, 10:43 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 21 2009, 10:32 AM)
I have 5 laptops and 4 PCs at home.  Out of those 9 rigs, 2 PCs and 1 laptop are P4. Hehe.

I will try 512mb plus a 8gb hi speed CF card set to 3.5gb for ready boost. See how that goes before I dig around the storeroom for more DDR.
shocking.gif So many labtops and PC with you?OMG,your house is occupying with many people?Just curious. Bewtween,i've just read your blog. Nice one.
TSraymond5105
post May 21 2009, 11:16 AM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ May 21 2009, 10:45 AM)
Hehe. Mebe I build a pink color case with diamond studs everywhere for my daughter's room.

Added on May 21, 2009, 10:49 am
Watodo, I'm a gadget collecting freak. Hehe
Pink colour case,nice one.Sure your daughter will like it very much.

Gadget collector? thumbup.gif Do you have P4 EE with you?
TSraymond5105
post May 22 2009, 08:45 AM

5,341 posts

@ianho ,the Vista your have installed in just pure OS only? No other applications applied?
TSraymond5105
post May 22 2009, 05:51 PM

5,341 posts

QUOTE(llutephie @ May 22 2009, 04:34 PM)
RM 500.. biggrin.gif
P4 EE for RM500? Wao...Do this baby work nice with you applications? Put some screen shoots and share with us.

28 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 07:35 AM