Discussion Barclays Premier League Relegation Battle, 08/09: West Brom, Boro, Newcastle
arres
Apr 29 2007, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(maxizanc @ Apr 29 2007, 11:34 PM) Leeds is the worst.. for 1st time they already relegated to 3rd division already  yes i do agree with you.... this was cause by their financial problem they have which starts their relegation... i do remember the time when viduka and smith was still playing for leeds... they weren't that bad actually...
alien2003
Apr 29 2007, 11:54 PM
QUOTE(arres @ Apr 29 2007, 11:40 PM) yes i do agree with you.... this was cause by their financial problem they have which starts their relegation... i do remember the time when viduka and smith was still playing for leeds... they weren't that bad actually... Not just Viduka & Smith, also the likes of Rio Ferdinand, Kewell, Robinson & etc. Watched Football Extra this morning. Some of their fans are pissed and called them as a disgrace
razlan
Apr 30 2007, 11:49 AM

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Apr 29 2007, 10:55 PM) TOP TWO UP AS DERBY LOSEcongratulation Birmingham and Sunderland.. good job.. lets see what keano n the gang at sunderland can do next season in the premiership..congrats to birm n sunderland
aw13
Apr 30 2007, 11:38 PM
Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
yup Sunderland and Birmingham are already up, while Watford is already down. my bet for the next team to be promoted would be Derby, after the season that they had only to be pipped at the death by both Birmingham and Sunderland. but salute Keane lah, can steady the sinking ship somemore make it go high2! as for the other 2 teams to drop from the PL, any 2 from West Ham, Wigan and Fulham. West Ham really came into form but their run-in is tougher than the other 2, but really fancy them to stay up. as for Fulham, maybe that's what they need as I thought they'd do wrong to sack Coleman, he was doing okay with the resources that he had. Wigan already had their limelight in the PL, so i guess it's finally time to bid adieu...
razlan
Apr 30 2007, 11:56 PM

teams relegated to championship 1) Watford 2) Sheffield United 3) West Ham 4) Charlton
kekekeke
Duke Red
May 1 2007, 12:17 PM
QUOTE(arres @ Apr 29 2007, 11:40 PM) yes i do agree with you.... this was cause by their financial problem they have which starts their relegation... i do remember the time when viduka and smith was still playing for leeds... they weren't that bad actually... Peter Risdale really screwed things up but taking out huge loans in view of the TV rights and sponsorship revenue expected from European qualification. After having made it to the 2001 Champions League semi-final however, Leeds failed to qualify for the tournament the following year and had to sell their star players to finance their loans. This is where the decline all began. It wasn't that long ago I remember seeing the likes of Gary Kelly, Ian Harte, Lee Chapman, David Batty and Anthony Yeboah play with some degree of regularity. Leeds were a team I made a point to watch play at the time. Such was their stature at the time that they managed to attract Swedish stars Thomas Brolin and Martin Dahlin (who were pretty crap really). Their biggest signing however was arguably Eric Cantona. How things have changed since then. While I have nothing against Gus Poyet, being relegated just shows what a crap manager Dennis Wise is, he should have stayed at Millwall.
Vinci777
May 1 2007, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(jackdante22 @ Jan 20 2007, 12:11 AM) dun forget Leeds United... few years back, they were EPL top 8 but now, in the relegation zone to Division 2. Relegated: Current bottom 3. Promoted: Current top 3. They are ECL ex-semifinalist too a few years back... now virtually ard relegated to 2nd division. I think West Ham will stay.. they have quality but this season happened to have many bad streaks on them.
alien2003
May 4 2007, 03:15 PM
Clubs go to war with PremQUOTE FULHAM host a summit today in a bid to bring joint legal action against the Premier League over West Ham's points deduction let-off.
Chairmen and chief executives of Charlton, Wigan and Sheffield United will meet lawyers at the Harrods offices of Fulham owner Mohamed Fayed this lunchtime.
The relegation-threatened Hammers escaped with a £5.5million fine over the illegal contracts given to Argie duo Carlos Tevez and Javier Mascherano.
Dave Whelan, chairman of fellow strugglers Wigan, said yesterday: "Everything they did was so wrong that had it been Wigan, Watford or a 'smaller club' it would have been a 10-point deduction. No question."
All four of West Ham's relegation rivals are convinced they have an excellent case to take the league to court in a bid to reverse their controversial verdict.
They will cite the cases of non-league AFC Wimbledon, deducted points this season for fielding an ineligible player, and Bury, thrown out of the FA Cup for the same offence.
The four clubs are united in their belief that those precedents suggest West Ham should have lost points for the dishonesty of their former board when they signed Tevez and Mascherano prior to the takeover of new chairman Eggert Magnusson.
With relegation from the Premiership estimated to cost the clubs up to £60m after a major increase in TV revenue next season, the quartet will argue that a £5.5m fine is not a fit punishment.
Alan Curbishley's men won 3-0 at Wigan last Saturday to throw the survival race wide open. http://www.thesun.co.uk/article/0,,2002390...7200598,00.htmlMore troubles for Hammers
lilredridinghood
May 4 2007, 03:18 PM
Envious clubs, at times they do need to realise, without Tevez or Mascherano, Westham Utd might not be fighting for relegation. Though I might be wrong
kobe8byrant
May 4 2007, 03:35 PM
QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ May 4 2007, 03:18 PM) Envious clubs, at times they do need to realise, without Tevez or Mascherano, Westham Utd might not be fighting for relegation. Though I might be wrong MIGHT AND MIGHT! fact that Tevez and Mascherano are at West Ham at suspicious terms is already enough reason to take action. were they near the top 4, it would be a different bunch of clubs taking action. so YES, they are sore but who can blame them?
lilredridinghood
May 4 2007, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ May 4 2007, 03:35 PM) MIGHT AND MIGHT! fact that Tevez and Mascherano are at West Ham at suspicious terms is already enough reason to take action. were they near the top 4, it would be a different bunch of clubs taking action. so YES, they are sore but who can blame them? Well, when it comes to the word relegation, who can blame them? The MOOLAH is a big factor
lord_aminkin
May 4 2007, 03:44 PM
man, why can't just they fight in the field fair n square.. heh! This post has been edited by lord_aminkin: May 4 2007, 03:45 PM
hk_loo
May 4 2007, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(Vinci777 @ May 1 2007, 01:11 PM) They are ECL ex-semifinalist too a few years back... now virtually ard relegated to 2nd division. I think West Ham will stay.. they have quality but this season happened to have many bad streaks on them. leeds pay the price now for over spend that time when they are 1 of the top side in england under david oleary ... if not mistaken, 18m for rio ferdinand... btw, i will say whether west ham stay or not much depend on man united can win the epl this week or next week or not....else united will face them with full force... i still remember few season back, derby stay in epl after they beat man united 1-0 at OT...but that time united already win the league and mood already in the celebration...
razlan
May 8 2007, 05:52 PM

charlton joined watford as confirmed being relegated. who'll be the 3rd n final team?
hope it'll be Sheffield United... Warnock has always been cocky, especially with Reading FC
This post has been edited by razlan: May 8 2007, 05:54 PM
alien2003
May 8 2007, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(razlan @ May 8 2007, 05:52 PM) charlton joined watford as confirmed being relegated. who'll be the 3rd n final team? hope it'll be Sheffield United... Warnock has always been cocky, especially with Reading FC I have a feeling it might be Wigan Athletic. QUOTE 15 Fulham 37 -20 39 16 Sheff Utd 37 -22 38 17 West Ham 37 -25 38 ----------------------------------------------- 18 Wigan 37 -23 35 19 Charlton 37 -26 33 - relegated 20 Watford 37 -30 27 - relegated Sheffield United's recent home form has been good so a draw against The Latics will be enough for them to avoid the drop. While for Wigan, anything less than a win will means relegation and championship football next season.
Grengo01
May 8 2007, 06:01 PM
Same here... WIGAN for me. They have lost the plot.
clsiluf
May 8 2007, 06:07 PM
QUOTE(Grengo01 @ May 8 2007, 06:01 PM) Same here... WIGAN for me. They have lost the plot. i bet next year this time, reading will in wigan position means 1 season wonder only....
alien2003
May 8 2007, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 8 2007, 06:07 PM) i bet next year this time, reading will in wigan position means 1 season wonder only.... Well, its too early to judge them now. It will depends what Reading do in the summer transfer market. If they improve/expand their squad without selling too many key players, I think they can survive. After all, Steve Coppell did said that he will sacrifice European football (UEFA Cup - if they get it) next season by playing the reserves team to make sure they can start in the league for another season. Wigan did some costly mistakes in the transfer market by selling some of their best player (Nathan Ellington, Jimmy Bullard & etc). This post has been edited by alien2003: May 8 2007, 06:12 PM
razlan
May 8 2007, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(clsiluf @ May 8 2007, 06:07 PM) i bet next year this time, reading will in wigan position means 1 season wonder only.... your reason please...
Abangpedro
May 8 2007, 07:30 PM
Might be Wigan........last season they got Jason Robert, Pascal Chimbonda,Jimmy Bullard, Graham Kavanagh and also Damien Francis which played very well but this season Let see the next fixture gonna be:- Sheff Utd v Wigan Man Utd v West Ham Middlesbrough v Fulham