16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Bottom

Planted Aquarium V2, unveal the secret underwater world

the_catacombs
post Sep 29 2009, 04:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ching4ever @ Sep 29 2009, 09:04 AM)
Although local made but serve me for few years, not bad. Nope, not o-ring problem, after I turn the valve to 100%, no more leaking. It's because when you lower down the flowrate, it will cause higher preassure in the canister, the design can't stand for high preassure too long and leak. It started to leak after using 50% flowrate for like few weeks time.
RM130 for second hand is quite expensive. I got mine brand new for RM150 only. If your second hand use for only 1 month then it's ok.
means i bought it expensive lo.. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
the_catacombs
post Sep 30 2009, 01:45 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shortpants @ Sep 30 2009, 08:58 AM)
12 hour might be too long... try to reduce to max 8 hrs...

may be ur lights too strong for 6 gallon tank... reducing photoperiod might help also...

sae wont eat algea at glass wall... u need to have otto to clean the glass; i believed green spot algea...

Added on September 30, 2009, 9:01 amu might want to consider of gradually increasing photoperiod... from start-up, on only bout 4 hrs (1month), after a while increase to 6hrs (1month) and subsequently maintain at 8 hrs...

this is what i read in some of the forums... sifus might want to correct me if im wrong...

some reasons:
- light too strong + long photoperiod
- too much nutrient + strong lights + long photoperiod
- seldom water change
- insuffient co2
- insuffient filter flow rate
http://www.aquariumalgae.blogspot.com/

read up about algae
the_catacombs
post Oct 1 2009, 12:02 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Sep 30 2009, 09:56 PM)
shittz... i saw my anubias having brown spot.. i did some research... that is algae also... what to do now...?
throw it away and buy new one
the_catacombs
post Oct 1 2009, 09:19 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(fongzai92 @ Oct 1 2009, 07:56 PM)
thats not a good way to solve the problem sad.gif
put more algae eater inside
got 1 sifu in MAC say alwiz have all types of algae eater inside ur tank to control all types of algae
well of coz prevention is better den cure
find out why got algae is the best solution
the_catacombs
post Oct 3 2009, 01:50 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(blinded @ Oct 2 2009, 11:09 PM)
hahahah so happy hahahahah

Sorry, can't help...

eheim... i jeles liao... sad.gif

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Oct 3 2009, 01:51 AM
the_catacombs
post Oct 3 2009, 03:32 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Oct 3 2009, 01:09 AM)
any good website for noob in planted aquarium? (planning to get a nano 1ft tank)
http://www.my-mac.net/forum/

QUOTE(blinded @ Oct 3 2009, 02:38 AM)
You guys at Mac poisoned me first LOL
No need to be jeles ler hehehehe....I think your tank is a lot better than mine...my current tank is FUBAR smile.gif
i still running my local JET canister filter at half flow rate... afraid my canister filter will leak... cannot run full load or else tsunami will happen inside my aquarium... its even worse if i use rain bar...

does lily pipe can minimize the current on the outflow pipe??...
the_catacombs
post Oct 3 2009, 02:41 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Oct 3 2009, 09:29 AM)
Yes and NO to the both of u, Lilly pipes does not lower the flow rate.. It lowers the concentration of the flow by diffusing it wider across the tank tongue.gif

In other word's, too much flow? this would help, but that doesn't mean it lowers your filter flowrate haha.

Drew
i dont mind increasing the filter flow rate to 100%... i just dont want it to create strong water current in the tank.... pity see my fish keep swimming everyday to keep up with the current...

any cheap glass lily pipe selling??... ADA cannot afford la... but ehiem ones look vr ugly ar....
the_catacombs
post Oct 5 2009, 07:55 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(blinded @ Oct 3 2009, 08:06 PM)
mmmm....I bought it...and it does diffuse the water flow through out the tank. Much gentler than the spray bar.
now...vortex time LOL

The tank is 1 week since I redid it. No FTS yet, its fugly smile.gif

nice hardwares..

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 3 2009, 08:28 PM)
hha. didnt see clearly the picture though... sorry...
but then last time i owned one CAE, quite a good algae eater though...
but then dunno why one day ended up suicide jump out from the tank.
ya lo, if u said for local brand la.
ystd i went to NESW there right, see got one canister filter, just about 160 only... description i didnt read it. i see the box quite big lo...
then go to the other shop at bukit baru there one, there sell about 180 for local one...
sad.gif sad.gif
the_catacombs
post Oct 5 2009, 11:13 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:19 PM)
@cata,

I bet you get those glassware yourself too, the ANS ones aren't THAT expensive..

Drew
mayb not so soon la... spent quite alot on my tank adi... slow down abit first.... mayb i'll do some research on fertilization part... eager to increase my wpg lighting but my housemate sure complain high electricity bill.... rclxub.gif
the_catacombs
post Oct 6 2009, 01:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

how to convert PLL to t5ho bulbs??...
the_catacombs
post Oct 9 2009, 09:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shortpants @ Oct 6 2009, 10:50 PM)
this is my tank after 3 months
nice thick glosso carpet...
the_catacombs
post Oct 10 2009, 06:05 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 10 2009, 11:43 AM)
Hello,

Can use plain gravel and aquatic plant fertilizer to keep the plants healthy? I also want to ask how to get rid of algae growing on my anubias? My Java Fern is ok just Anubias got algae. I try scrape but scared will hurt the leaf. I also want to ask where buy gravel the cheapest, I buy that place quite expensive. And can use land fertiliser for aquatic plants?

u can try use plain gravel and 5 elements as fert base... aquatic plant fertilizer can be used but at a very small amount.... normal plant fertilizer cannot be used as they are harmful to ur fishes....

wanna get rid of algae depends on what algae it is subjected to...
the_catacombs
post Oct 10 2009, 06:22 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

oopss....
the_catacombs
post Oct 22 2009, 08:37 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shortpants @ Oct 22 2009, 05:35 PM)
easy to plant... i just plant it last week now already that high...

im using only 14w if im not mistaken...
grow high is easy... want it to send out runners hard lo... i'm still waiting for my hair grass to be carpet...
the_catacombs
post Oct 25 2009, 12:14 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

drew, how to dose excel effectively to get rid of algae ah??... i bought myself excel d... last nite pour 2 capful... dunno overdose or not... lucky my yamato didnt fly out... haha...
the_catacombs
post Oct 25 2009, 01:30 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Oct 25 2009, 12:17 AM)
Effectively?

Spot treatment. After WC... off all filter/flows.. then use a syringe or turkey baster to take that concentrated excel.. Aim and fire biggrin.gif

If there's too much BBA around.. do it over several sessions rather than the whole thing .. it's risky due to excel overdose.

Drew
after spot treatment need to do WC again??...
the_catacombs
post Oct 30 2009, 02:23 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

die liao... nabeh... the most red RCS in my tank... the only female (i think) in the RCS community... the only female carrying eggs... why is this happening to me??... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
the_catacombs
post Oct 30 2009, 12:44 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Oct 30 2009, 08:32 AM)
sad.gif sorry to know that...

mayb too old liao...or mayb chase by whole colony of CRS in the tank tired her up...

mine not as red as ur...
ordered another batch of RCS from mac... 30 strong army this time... hope can regenerate the population.. if not i wan give up on my shrimp tank and concentrate in my main tank liao...

last nite bought 2 garra ceylonensis (locally named as green algae eater).... both like nyawa2 ikan jor... cry.gif cry.gif

i feel like wanna rescape my tank... at first want do iwagumi, so put slope high high... but my lighting wattage not strong enough, revert back to hutan khatulistiwa style, my substrate too high adi (max height half of the tank).... sweat.gif

can i remove some substrate and keep it for future use??..
the_catacombs
post Oct 31 2009, 06:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

drew, ur 3ft tank got garra as algae eater rite??... whats the difference between garra pingi and garra ceylonensis??... i not sure mine is which one..
the_catacombs
post Nov 1 2009, 01:37 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Nov 1 2009, 12:27 AM)
What is garra pingi? lol.

Im using ceylonensis.

Drew

this is what garra??..

16 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 >Top