126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium V2, unveal the secret underwater world

SengCheong
post Jun 14 2009, 09:08 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Jun 14 2009, 12:59 AM)
Hi guys, my tank is badly infested with snails, big ones and small ones.

The guy from CTY recommended me the snail trapper .. very expensive equipment.

Is there a natural predator, a fish that eat snails?
is that fish call puffer ?(correct me if i am wrong)
i do hear that before from LFS,what the price for each of the fish ?
SUSadrian7386
post Jun 14 2009, 09:57 PM

628 posts

sure i see i can bring it back or not...hehe...hey the price of the plant is expensive or not in mac which azmi selling??
the_catacombs
post Jun 15 2009, 04:34 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

anyone here use metal halide lighting for their tank ah??.. how much does it cost??.. i heard people say its darn expensive, but my friend jz bought one industrial one for rm145... complete set with casing n bulb, ready to use...

my question is... is there any difference between industrial ones and planted tank ones??... btw, the unit my friend bought is also 150W....
chuppy2
post Jun 15 2009, 08:27 AM

152 posts

I believe IMHO,

It's the same reason why the price is so different between normal tanks, and ADA tanks.. It's always the cosmetic issues(i think)

The ones we use that hangs above the tank, are more err.. aesthetic in terms of looks as the MH and the provided T5hos(or PLLs) are all encased into one case..

The industrial one, may look , well, Industrial. Unless you have a hood to cover your tank(well ventilated) you would be able to see the casing, etc. etc.
But once again, it's up to the buyer/tank owner, if he's going full budget, they usually go for these industrial ones.. If you have extra money to play with, they go with the sunsun MH fixture, even more $ they go for arcadia or ADA LOL!!!

The bulbs on the other hand, if it's the range of 6500kelvins to 10000kelvins, you're good to go.. (Preferably try to get 8000kelvins.. but anything in that range is doable...)

Hope this helps. I'm still new to the MH quips.
Drew
the_catacombs
post Jun 15 2009, 01:54 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Jun 15 2009, 08:27 AM)
I believe IMHO,

It's the same reason why the price is so different between normal tanks, and ADA tanks.. It's always the cosmetic issues(i think)

The ones we use that hangs above the tank, are more err.. aesthetic in terms of looks as the MH and the provided T5hos(or PLLs) are all encased into one case..

The industrial one, may look , well, Industrial. Unless you have a hood to cover your tank(well ventilated) you would be able to see the casing, etc. etc.
But once again, it's up to the buyer/tank owner, if he's going full budget, they usually go for these industrial ones.. If you have extra money to play with, they go with the sunsun MH fixture, even more $ they go for arcadia or ADA LOL!!!

The bulbs on the other hand, if it's the range of 6500kelvins to 10000kelvins, you're good to go.. (Preferably try to get 8000kelvins.. but anything in that range is doable...)

Hope this helps. I'm still new to the MH quips.
Drew
well... i guess so... haha...

me not into MH lights as well.. jz wondering why there is big difference in price since someone told me he found 1 rm500 jz for the casing...

btw, does MH lights with 150W consume more or less power compare to normal "lets say" PLL lights with equivalent (total up) 150W??...
usermode
post Jun 15 2009, 02:01 PM

25 posts

MH power consumption i dunno much but if im not mistaken, MH light penetration is a lot better than PLL. but i might be wrong as I also dun really have MH myself.

for me, it's not worth yet to have MH for the moment when i can use PLL without any problem. another thing i've learned in this hobby too... "if nothing is broken, dont fix it" (as usual, learnt the hard way). hahahah~!!!!
the_catacombs
post Jun 15 2009, 02:06 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jun 15 2009, 02:01 PM)
MH power consumption i dunno much but if im not mistaken, MH light penetration is a lot better than PLL. but i might be wrong as I also dun really have MH myself.

for me, it's not worth yet to have MH for the moment when i can use PLL without any problem. another thing i've learned in this hobby too... "if nothing is broken, dont fix it" (as usual, learnt the hard way). hahahah~!!!!
haha... yeap... same goes to car modification... nod.gif
SUSadrian7386
post Jun 15 2009, 05:57 PM

628 posts

hey usermode...you offer azmi how much for the plants??^^
playerseeker
post Jun 15 2009, 06:49 PM

630 posts

i wan the riccia la....
usermode
post Jun 15 2009, 07:01 PM

25 posts

LOL~!.. too bad, i didnt get the plants at all when azmi told me he already got buyer for all of em. only if the buyer back out he'll sell to me.

anyway, i wouldnt worry much for riccia now as i have constant riccia supply. just... trying my luck with azmi to try a riccia from a new source.

This post has been edited by usermode: Jun 15 2009, 07:02 PM
tenchi0205
post Jun 15 2009, 07:21 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

QUOTE(fr33dom @ Jun 14 2009, 12:59 AM)
Hi guys, my tank is badly infested with snails, big ones and small ones.

The guy from CTY recommended me the snail trapper .. very expensive equipment.

Is there a natural predator, a fish that eat snails?
use slide cucumber will do the job...put before u sleep...tomolo u will see those snail having party on it...then take the whole piece out together with the snails...

natural predator is the puffer lo...after they deal with your snails...it will target ur shrimp n small fish...
playerseeker
post Jun 15 2009, 08:14 PM

630 posts

penang who got extra riccia to sell ....must free from snails...lol
SengCheong
post Jun 15 2009, 09:58 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 15 2009, 07:21 PM)
use slide cucumber will do the job...put before u sleep...tomolo u will see those snail having party on it...then take the whole piece out together with the snails...

natural predator is the puffer lo...after they deal with your snails...it will target ur shrimp n small fish...
thx for the information ,happy in learning something new smile.gif
Sifu rclxms.gif
the_catacombs
post Jun 15 2009, 11:58 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Jun 15 2009, 07:21 PM)

need to boil the cucumber first??...

having problem wif my shrimp tank now... using HOB filter without skimmer... a layer of oil start to build up... many insect drop on the water surface as well... how to solve this problem??... sad.gif
usermode
post Jun 16 2009, 12:10 AM

25 posts

@catacombs
scoop the top layer out but u need to be rajin lor... or,... get a surface skimmer tongue.gif it;s not that expensive anyway.
the_catacombs
post Jun 16 2009, 01:53 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Jun 16 2009, 12:10 AM)
@catacombs
scoop the top layer out but u need to be rajin lor... or,... get a surface skimmer tongue.gif it;s not that expensive anyway.
but shrimp tank not recommended to use surface skimmer wo... later my shrimp all sucked in..
junshern222
post Jun 16 2009, 03:48 AM

235 posts

anyone knows what the course of the hairy substances growing on wood blocks?
they just appere after the wood being washed.i mean they just growing non stop..
anyone here knows what is the cause and what should be done as to avoid?
thank you
SUSadrian7386
post Jun 16 2009, 08:53 AM

628 posts

hey any tips to plant riccia??using wire mesh to tie it down and locate it on the surface of the substrate?

can i plant it on some rocks or drift woods?
usermode
post Jun 16 2009, 09:09 AM

25 posts

@adrian

riccia, u can plant it on whatever you like as you want. normally people will tie it to small rocks or wood plate or something so can easily plug-n-play. me, i tied it on wiremesh and treat as foreground carpet.

no matter what you do, you want to tie them properly. they are not like moss that will attach themselves in time. they dun have roots. if too much gaps in the tying, later they tend to floats back. also, trim them frequently. i trim my riccia when they reach about an inch thick and trim them into half inch back. if they grew too thick, the bottom part might melt and leaving the untied part floats back into your water column and you'll have more work to do instead.

take a good care of your riccia and they'll be a lovely plant. else, you'll might hate it (many aquarist i knew hates em' but on the other hands, if they really sux, why amano loves them so much? think about it). one thing i know, riccia is not for people who lazy to do maintenance. hahahah~!!!
SUSadrian7386
post Jun 16 2009, 09:15 AM

628 posts

+1 for you usermode for sharing it...if have tt i sure belanja u makan n minum!!!the rest i will try my best...1st time planting riccia...hope for success...^^

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0294sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:24 PM