What is the cheapest monthly data package available? My dad needs it when he driving t unfamiliar places. Rough estimate is 100MB per month.
Clueless on which telco? Prepaid or postpaid?, Enquiries, discussions and suggestions
Oct 16 2015, 12:48 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,692 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: Probation? |
What is the cheapest monthly data package available? My dad needs it when he driving t unfamiliar places. Rough estimate is 100MB per month.
Nov 3 2015, 03:04 AM
853 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
my own usage, i use only 3g/4g internet. i barely do any phone calls/sms at all.
when i was in uk i just prepaid 1gbp by 1gbp worth of internet whenever i run out of data. im a very light phone user. so by reading back a few pages, digi 3gb rm50 plan seems sufficient for me. i suspect i wont even use up all 3gb anyway, my monthly usage must be somewhere near 1gb. |
Nov 3 2015, 08:27 AM
4,619 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 3 2015, 03:04 AM) my own usage, i use only 3g/4g internet. i barely do any phone calls/sms at all. U Mobile:when i was in uk i just prepaid 1gbp by 1gbp worth of internet whenever i run out of data. im a very light phone user. so by reading back a few pages, digi 3gb rm50 plan seems sufficient for me. i suspect i wont even use up all 3gb anyway, my monthly usage must be somewhere near 1gb. Reload 30 get 1gb free: http://www.u.com.my/prepaid RM28 for 3gb: http://www.u.com.my/postpaid Celcom: Reload 30 get 1gb free: http://www.tunetalk.com/my/topup/topuphow these 3 plans should suit you, but coverage depends on where you are so you may want to check out on that |
Nov 3 2015, 08:48 AM
853 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(wcypierre @ Nov 3 2015, 08:27 AM) U Mobile: Is there a suitable 4g plan for me? Is there any benefits for going for a 4g plan? For example much btr internet speed etc.Reload 30 get 1gb free: http://www.u.com.my/prepaid RM28 for 3gb: http://www.u.com.my/postpaid Celcom: Reload 30 get 1gb free: http://www.tunetalk.com/my/topup/topuphow these 3 plans should suit you, but coverage depends on where you are so you may want to check out on that |
Nov 3 2015, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(quest_5692 @ Nov 3 2015, 08:48 AM) Is there a suitable 4g plan for me? Is there any benefits for going for a 4g plan? For example much btr internet speed etc. the three that I mentioned does have 4g support |
Nov 19 2015, 05:49 PM
214 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Need some feedback on which plan to go for. Im a heavy data user, a few years back i used streamyx but i stop the subscription since the time i spent at home is quite limited because of my job.
I work as an auditor hence move from one client to another on a regular basis. Recently got myself a dual sim phone which now im surveying a combination of data plan that can give me the best data quota. Need your input on this. Currently have digi family plan for phone call, maxis poweruser broadband for data. And recently got myself the maxis magic sim. Here are some of the combination if i were to only use 2 plans. Using unifi cost as threshold since i view it as a mobile version of the fixed line for my usage 1) magic sim+ maxis broadband. I live in bandar baru bangi and celcom connection seems pretty good here. So the rm 25 magic sim covers the heavy download part. While the rm 158 12 gb maxis broadband covers the peak period data when im working. The pros of this combo seems to be good coverage for network. Because from my googling, it seems that maxis and celcom have the widest coverage for 3g or 4g. I can also opt for cheaper maxis data so that i can alocate more peak data for the magic sim so that the two network are more or less balance outin term of peak data. The cons seems to be that peak period data quota is not the best and it is the most expensive combo. The offpeak data for maxis also will go to waste sometimes 2) magic sim rm58+digi 20gb quota all day long. Magic sim covers the heavy lifting and digi covers peak period data. Pros. If i reload the rm58 magic sim + the digi, it will give me decent peak data quota. Cons: people said digi dont have decent coverage. Not sure how true is that. At least in kl, selangor, and sungai petani, the speed is acceptable. Theoretically, magic sim could cover when digi network are not good. 3) magic sim only For the price of the maxis rm 158 plan, i could just keep toping up the magic sim which give similiar peak data quota but unlimited offpeak data. Hence the convenience of 1 telco. But if the telco fail in certain place than theres nothing much i can do. Which combo should i take? Personally i like the second option the most. Im open to other ideas too This post has been edited by iqlas: Nov 19 2015, 06:01 PM |
Nov 27 2015, 12:21 PM
747 posts Joined: Nov 2015 |
QUOTE(liewdaniel @ May 9 2009, 12:17 AM) Does Celcom offer a data plan for mobile phone users? I'm currently using CE 50 where I can do the video/voice call and stuff and occasional surfing. On top of that I also subscribed to the Basic RM68 broadband. Meaning I have 1 SIM card for each usage. I just subscribe to Celcom Postpaid the new plan which is First Blue which the cost of price is RM47.70 (included 6% GST) it has 50 mins on calls and SMS and 2.0 GB of dataI'd like to know if there's any affordable data plan available. I'm new to Celcom.. XD you can try it out dude.i have also subscribe to broadband which is also 4GB RM68 ringgit.(Prepaid) Good Luck This post has been edited by ezekieldavidchong: Nov 27 2015, 12:35 PM |
Nov 28 2015, 02:55 PM
276 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Any telco offering long validity and free basic data for whatsapp? Backup phone to receive calls only..
Nov 28 2015, 09:08 PM
2,669 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(kyox88 @ Nov 28 2015, 02:55 PM) Any telco offering long validity and free basic data for whatsapp? Backup phone to receive calls only.. dont think got telco give free basic data....free only when topup & active |
Nov 29 2015, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(iqlas @ Nov 19 2015, 05:49 PM) Need some feedback on which plan to go for. Im a heavy data user, a few years back i used streamyx but i stop the subscription since the time i spent at home is quite limited because of my job. i think u sholud port in to celcom from maxis and also convert magic SIM to postpaid called celcom first blue the price is affordableI work as an auditor hence move from one client to another on a regular basis. Recently got myself a dual sim phone which now im surveying a combination of data plan that can give me the best data quota. Need your input on this. Currently have digi family plan for phone call, maxis poweruser broadband for data. And recently got myself the maxis magic sim. Here are some of the combination if i were to only use 2 plans. Using unifi cost as threshold since i view it as a mobile version of the fixed line for my usage 1) magic sim+ maxis broadband. I live in bandar baru bangi and celcom connection seems pretty good here. So the rm 25 magic sim covers the heavy download part. While the rm 158 12 gb maxis broadband covers the peak period data when im working. The pros of this combo seems to be good coverage for network. Because from my googling, it seems that maxis and celcom have the widest coverage for 3g or 4g. I can also opt for cheaper maxis data so that i can alocate more peak data for the magic sim so that the two network are more or less balance outin term of peak data. The cons seems to be that peak period data quota is not the best and it is the most expensive combo. The offpeak data for maxis also will go to waste sometimes 2) magic sim rm58+digi 20gb quota all day long. Magic sim covers the heavy lifting and digi covers peak period data. Pros. If i reload the rm58 magic sim + the digi, it will give me decent peak data quota. Cons: people said digi dont have decent coverage. Not sure how true is that. At least in kl, selangor, and sungai petani, the speed is acceptable. Theoretically, magic sim could cover when digi network are not good. 3) magic sim only For the price of the maxis rm 158 plan, i could just keep toping up the magic sim which give similiar peak data quota but unlimited offpeak data. Hence the convenience of 1 telco. But if the telco fail in certain place than theres nothing much i can do. Which combo should i take? Personally i like the second option the most. Im open to other ideas too RM47.70 (including 6% GST) This post has been edited by ezekieldavidchong: Nov 29 2015, 12:40 PM |
Nov 29 2015, 12:42 PM
Magic Sim is good but if you make call
it is damn expansive because of the calculation per block but it is good for data i find that postpaid much cheaper |
Dec 4 2015, 11:48 PM
Dec 5 2015, 08:45 AM
418 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 5 2015, 09:17 AM
Dec 12 2015, 10:48 PM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Guys,what postpaid has the best data package?minimal calls and sms so doesn't really matter
Dec 14 2015, 02:20 PM
148 posts Joined: May 2005 |
guys,
now im using old package from Celcom.. Platinum package... monthly bills around RM70-80... RM50 for 6gb data + call usage... so better to stick with this plan or change to other affordable @ better package? |
Dec 25 2015, 05:34 PM
48 posts Joined: Dec 2014 |
Hi all which telco package offers the best internet package? I make very little calls and a few sms. Mostly use FB messenger and whatsapp. Dont need too much data either 1gb a month at 4g speeds is enough. Looking for a cheap package around Rm20-30 with long validity.
This post has been edited by nodajt: Dec 25 2015, 05:36 PM |
Dec 26 2015, 12:28 PM
2,289 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(chatwarrior @ Dec 26 2015, 12:15 PM) beware if you are getting celcom postpaid. the monthly fee may be low, but when you sign up, you pay two times the monthly fee for the first month. they call it advance payment, and you will never get back the advance money later. |
Dec 28 2015, 02:19 PM
10,061 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: Sheffield |
Scenario: Getting a new contract, considering either UMobile or Celcom signing Note 5.
UMobile: Device 1899 Mobile Internet 3GB Free voice 60 mins RM65/month, i believe can sup a line to share quota with main line for RM10 / month Total cost RM 75/month Celcom: Device 2038 Mobile Internet 2GB + 2GB (Weekend) Free voice 50 mins RM 45/month, sup line 500MB quota + 50 mins add on RM30/month Device discount is so so considering that street price is around 2300, something better than nothing i guess. Just need a main line+sup line to work in Msia as main line will be out of Msia 50% of the time while sup line is out of Msia 80% of the time. |
Jan 21 2016, 09:00 AM
2,366 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
im currently using Maxis, postpaid.
if i wanna change to u mobile, what should I do? should I go to maxis centre to discontinue or staright go u mobile? |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:58 PM |