-= ((( GUINEA PIGS CORNER Ver 5.0 ))) =-, I'm cute, Im round and i WHEEEEK! XD
Chubbyagel
May 13 2009, 08:55 AM
Alergic to GP, mine case is not benjol wor..it is red dots all over the hand,chest and stomach area...cos sometimes i put them on my chest and stomach...without towel...then it will feel itchy and it will gone in an hour or so...but if bath them and they are pretty clean (hahahaha) then no red dots...it after 3 weeks no bath here it comes to my skin... How to keep the gp cool these days?my piggies are out from the hide place more frequent now...due to the heat...
jaswwp
May 13 2009, 10:30 AM
Oh yea, if after I bathe my GP, I won't be allergic to them unless they lick me. So I suspect I'm allergic to thier pee/poo that maybe stain their fur b4 bath
kaoru himura
May 13 2009, 01:15 PM

QUOTE(eric138 @ May 12 2009, 10:43 PM) is it the same thing happen after we handle hedgehog?? i think they are similar in my case, but the welts i got from my hedgehog only 2-3 benjol onli, but my sis if she play with the gp she got like 10-20 small n big benjol...kinda scary to look at and she said its very itchy, luckily it dissapear quickly from my experiance this will happen less if you bath ur gp like once in 2 weeks...i think its the stain on the fur left tht stick from their pee, poo, soiled bedding n hay tht caused this, so i guess the key to avoid this is hygene... but i guess its not easy la, although i bath them n change bedding frequently this thing sometimes still happen.... This post has been edited by kaoru himura: May 13 2009, 01:16 PM
TSSugarCoatedCandy
May 13 2009, 02:12 PM
QUOTE(kaoru himura @ May 13 2009, 01:15 PM) i think they are similar in my case, but the welts i got from my hedgehog only 2-3 benjol onli, but my sis if she play with the gp she got like 10-20 small n big benjol...kinda scary to look at and she said its very itchy, luckily it dissapear quickly from my experiance this will happen less if you bath ur gp like once in 2 weeks...i think its the stain on the fur left tht stick from their pee, poo, soiled bedding n hay tht caused this, so i guess the key to avoid this is hygene... but i guess its not easy la, although i bath them n change bedding frequently this thing sometimes still happen.... Yup the key to avoid welts is just simply hygiene. But bathing them once in 2 weeks is not advice able.. since their skin is very2 sensitive and can cause it to dry up and loose its moisture.. its not just GPs huhu... its also other animals
reveur
May 13 2009, 02:49 PM
I have a question. For C & C cage, what bedding is used? Fleece? Recycle paper or?
Fleece is what kind of cloth are? Can be bought where? How many days before you wash it? 1? 2? 4? Do you put bedding on fleece?
They say its easier to clean when u use a C & C cage. How come?
jaswwp
May 13 2009, 03:01 PM
I use newspaper-->shavings-> newspaper as bedding for my C&C. I didnt use fleece coz my GP shed a lot of fur, and hard for me to clean the fleece. Some people wash the fleece in washing machine.
Um, fleece is the type of soft cloth that certain blanket is made of. I think Ikea also sells something like that.
TSSugarCoatedCandy
May 13 2009, 03:36 PM
QUOTE(reveur @ May 13 2009, 02:49 PM) I have a question. For C & C cage, what bedding is used? Fleece? Recycle paper or? Fleece is what kind of cloth are? Can be bought where? How many days before you wash it? 1? 2? 4? Do you put bedding on fleece? They say its easier to clean when u use a C & C cage. How come? Fleece is the kind of cloth that babies use as a blanket. It's like wool.. You can buy from Ikea / Carrefour and some stores.. Even at pasar malam have but the quality is a little thin.. so must use more than 1 layer. I am a fleece user.. it is very cost efficient..  I wash my fleece every 4-5 days.. But my 2 girls are litter trained.. so its not soo dirty.. Other than that you can try using Breeder Celect which is recycled paper.. but this can be very costly if you were to spread it out throughout your whole C&C cage.
reveur
May 13 2009, 03:55 PM
So you just collect their poo everyday? I got 4 gp and my god.. do they poo a lot or what!
TSSugarCoatedCandy
May 13 2009, 03:59 PM
QUOTE(reveur @ May 13 2009, 03:55 PM) So you just collect their poo everyday? I got 4 gp and my god.. do they poo a lot or what! yes... u can pick it up every nite perhaps.. coz when the poo the poo hardens.. it hardly sticks to the fleece.. the poo so neat summore hahahaha.. easy to pick up.. its like picking up kacang
reveur
May 13 2009, 04:11 PM
4 gp = lots of pooS...
Chubbyagel
May 13 2009, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(SugarCoatedCandy @ May 13 2009, 03:59 PM) yes... u can pick it up every nite perhaps.. coz when the poo the poo hardens.. it hardly sticks to the fleece.. the poo so neat summore hahahaha.. easy to pick up.. its like picking up kacang  Weird habit for my gps they tend to step on it..and it stuck on the base of the cage..so when want to wash the cage it stuck there....put newspaper on it then they will just go under the newspaper and poo there...haiz..even piggies also bully me.
chabbywabbit
May 13 2009, 04:40 PM
lol reveur...if you love them....you wont say a thing..lol...oh BTW.... anyone wants hammies? my roomate was thinking weather to sell or give a way her baby hammie...they are mostly females...and all of them a winter white..
reveur
May 13 2009, 05:02 PM
I love them but i don't have sufficient time to care for them, hence i am trying my best to do what I can without making life worse for them.
EG smelly cage, dirty fleece, poo mixed with food and what not...
chabbywabbit
May 13 2009, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(reveur @ May 13 2009, 06:02 PM) I love them but i don't have sufficient time to care for them, hence i am trying my best to do what I can without making life worse for them. EG smelly cage, dirty fleece, poo mixed with food and what not... lol oh well bare with it... they are ur babies...
jaswwp
May 13 2009, 05:16 PM
Speaking of poo mixed with food...my GP like to poo on their veges also. Yucksss... I need to remove those half eaten vege then, or it becomes very disgusting quite fast.
hitz
May 13 2009, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(reveur @ May 13 2009, 04:11 PM) I got 1 gp only... but lot's poo.. Somemore he like to poo inside his hide out... I toilet train him also but seldom he go there pee poo wann.. Only once in the blue moon he'll pee poo there...
chabbywabbit
May 13 2009, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(hitz @ May 13 2009, 06:26 PM) I got 1 gp only... but lot's poo.. Somemore he like to poo inside his hide out... I toilet train him also but seldom he go there pee poo wann.. Only once in the blue moon he'll pee poo there...  lol wanted to toilet train nubby..but i'm lazy...plus i find that while cleaning the cage i get to spend more time with him...lol...even though i'm already spending too much time lol BTW... blackie is so chubby in ur display pic.. This post has been edited by chabbywabbit: May 13 2009, 05:35 PM
hitz
May 13 2009, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(chabbywabbit @ May 13 2009, 05:34 PM) lol wanted to toilet train nubby..but i'm lazy...plus i find that while cleaning the cage i get to spend more time with him...lol...even though i'm already spending too much time lol BTW... blackie is so chubby in ur display pic.. Yaya.. he is very chubby liao.. Maybe i feed him to much.. Now heavier also... Hahaha.. His lenght is 10inch now when crawling..
chabbywabbit
May 13 2009, 07:16 PM
wowwwwwwwwww
Chubbyagel
May 13 2009, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(hitz @ May 13 2009, 07:12 PM) Yaya.. he is very chubby liao.. Maybe i feed him to much.. Now heavier also... Hahaha.. His lenght is 10inch now when crawling..  Hey hitz your baby very cute...hmm...the fur seem like my piggies...a bit rough huh? last time was thinking why like tat then i realize when they need a bath is when you can feel the fur seem rougher...after bath and clean clean the fur seem softer...but not as soft as rabbits la...