mikapoh
post Jan 17 2011, 11:39 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 17 2011, 03:06 PM)
Time to change to ProAc lah to partner your Naims tongue.gif
That's good idea and considering an action plan in coming year too laugh.gif

BTW, at the back of my mind, I have 2 brands, either the entry level ProAc or the Triangle to pair with my Naims hmm.gif

mikapoh
post Jan 18 2011, 09:08 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 18 2011, 06:38 AM)
You come and audition first before making decision smile.gif

2 high-end audiophiles came over on Sun to test songs. I played Manger CD first since I knew their systems well. They thought I am using sub to extend the bass biggrin.gif They were surprised when I showed them that no sub being connected to it.

klimal (came in during the audition) also got poisoned  laugh.gif

Come and judge for yourself. Don't trust my words   tongue.gif
Bro, did WongKN come to your place to test your stereo set-up? nod.gif

Sure I will try best to make a trip down to Seremban in March to test them to see how "floating" is the sound. And also, line up an entry level spkr from Triangle. Wanna to hear what is its characteristic different from ProAc. And most importantly to hear your dual sub set-up thumbup.gif

Added on January 18, 2011, 9:20 am
QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 18 2011, 06:49 AM)
I don't get it. While I am sure this setup will perform fine for HT but IMO, you have not fully explore what these equipments could do when it comes to Hi Fi stereo playback. It's like buying a HDTV and using it for Standard Definition program. In Hi Fi, one of many desirable thing is soundstage imaging of which my guess is, this setup has minimal from the way you placed your speakers. IMO, these equipments could perform much better when it comes to soundstaging than what you are getting now.

My 2 sen.
Bro, advice me how to place the spkrs then notworthy.gif

Well, if I were put away my HT set-up I would have placed the spkrs these way too. They are 2-feet from rear wall and 3-feet from side. Well, some would like to locate their spkrs much forward. I find mine is ok as long as it does not produce boomy bass. So far, imaging has been well floating in between and instruments like drums are from back wall, well extended the wall, thanks to the capability of Naim. Care has been taken to angle the spkr so that imaging is right dead on center.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Jan 18 2011, 09:20 AM
mikapoh
post Jan 18 2011, 09:41 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 18 2011, 09:22 AM)
I invited him but he is busy lately. All is not lost since a pair will be going to the GrandMaster and sifus to test out at Poison Den soon. The GrandMaster used to sell this brand decade ago. It's a long story.

When he knew about Triangle came back, he's excited and eager to hear it again. We chat about it last week when I was there. So, we shall see how the arrangement goes.
htkaki, one thing for sure when you bring in these Triangle speakers is they seem to lure more audiophiles than AV kaki biggrin.gif .

It will be my best interest to see a Naim combo to drive up these speakers, especially the entry level one.

My Naim Int amp/cdp have been running in couple of days, and the sound is getting warmer and more opener each day! I slowly get to feel Naim's true characteristic as it communicates music as lively as possible as a whole. It is just like a group of band performing live in front of you. Every instruments have pace and space in between. When I first spin the cdp, I thought the cd is spinning faster than my previous NAD! There is a sense of high & low sound wave (not flat) which make any cd listening a thrill.

I know ProAc pair well with them but wont hesitate to open door to Triangle. We shall see.

WongKN is a fan of ribbon speakers. Our boxy stuff won;t suite him anyway. tongue.gif

mikapoh
post Jan 18 2011, 10:59 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jan 18 2011, 10:20 AM)
The last time I heard a Naim many years ago, it has great rhythm and pace and make you want to get up and dance. But soundstage is 2 dimensional, no depth at all so no 3-D soundstage. So how's Naim nowadays?
Well, nowadays Naim is more commercial and offering rca connection option in order for more compatible with other brands, unlike older models.

They say Naim is well known for its timing and rhythmic performance. Yes, I can feel it and enjoy the music piece as a whole while maintaining the sonic performance. For soundstaging it has depth too but I still believe others may fare much better in 3D feel like. It just presents music as closely to a live band you can imagine. My previous Cyrus amp is more masterful when comes to deep soundstage. Guess there is always a character for each hifi brand to present their kind of music. Like they say, either you love the naim sound or you dislike it.

Htkaki also mentioned there is no right or wrong in hifi world. It depends on your taste. The best is to bring them home to audition first. Fortunately Sound Fusion is kind enuf to grant me the test. Well, leave this for HT pic and we can move to audiophile section.

Cheers.

mikapoh
post Mar 4 2011, 11:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Mar 4 2011, 01:53 PM)
YB, lu ai simi sai? mad.gif 

You also can afford even if it is SF Fenice whistling.gif . It's a matter of want or not only  tongue.gif

WOW, what a stereo set-up. The singer must have singing Live in front. I dun know how to call the 6 blocks....triple monoblocks? blush.gif

mikapoh
post Mar 5 2011, 06:09 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Mar 5 2011, 04:50 PM)
Those power amps are Viola.

http://www.violalabs.com/product.html

Those on the middle tier of the rack in the far right are Krells.
You r indeed a true audiophile..... notworthy.gif Thanks for the link.

Added on March 5, 2011, 6:12 pmMaybe Junwei you should try to use Viola Legacy 2 Power Amplifiers as monoblock to drive your ProAc D38.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Mar 5 2011, 06:12 PM
mikapoh
post Mar 20 2011, 05:30 PM

1,263 posts

Welcome to PJ club and very nice looking room.

Agreed with jchong, it is certainly a must for 1080p projector for that huge screen size. Maybe just a matter of time.

mikapoh
post Apr 16 2011, 11:36 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Apr 15 2011, 11:51 PM)
sure. lemme know when you hv rythmik in the house whistling.gif
Bro arremie,

I went over his demo room a week ago, took a cab from Malacca. The Malacca taxi driver even wanted to argue with Htkaki knowledge of Seremban map hmm.gif But once you go in the demo room, the 2 SVS took control of everything laugh.gif

But be cautioned to test the Quartet system, the possibility of hifi bug gets to your head again is very high nod.gif

Added on April 16, 2011, 11:38 amBTW, just returning from polling centre today. All Sarawakians remember to go in full force to cast your wise vote.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Apr 16 2011, 11:38 AM
mikapoh
post May 27 2011, 02:33 PM

1,263 posts

Yes, LP will be another popular source to play music. You will find the analogue sound much more involving than the *digital* music. However, extreme care should be taken in handling the TT as one of my friend just broke the expensive stylus even slight mis-handling of the tonearm.

I can see you will be using Harbeth SHL5s and you will be in your audio nirvana soon. Please post some pic of them when all are properly set-up.

Enjoy.

mikapoh
post May 28 2011, 12:11 AM

1,263 posts

Htkaki is spreading the posion tongue.gif

I am not in TT just yet. In fact, my friend advices me to go against this route. Beside the hassle in handling them, cost is another issue. A good decent sounding TT will costs around RM5k, the cartridge RM1.5k, phono stage another RM2k. All in will be close to RM10k not to mention the LP itself. In addition I am the lazy type, not willing to get up my chair everytime to skip track.

The 2 combos must have melt your heart & soul if properly set-up with your towering Triangle.

Enjoy.

mikapoh
post Jun 12 2011, 09:40 AM

1,263 posts

Hi Kiding, very nice HT room you got there.

Just curious, did you use the projector keystone correction? HD20 is quite different from others that its lens need to be lowered as horizontal to the top edge of the screen to avoid keystone activation. Based on your pic there are obviously some keystones to compensate which will compressed the image.

It's very interesting to see your 4" bass traps can absorb as low as 150Hz. Normally this thickness can only be effective down to 500Hz. But one thing for sure to absorb anything below 100Hz, you need very very thick foams, at least in meters!

mikapoh
post Jun 13 2011, 09:28 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Jun 12 2011, 10:40 PM)
I did use the keystone, my HD20 is lower to about 6' height from ground.

Actually the bass trap only does little help around 100-200hz I guess, and almost no effect below 100Hz.
I am facing the same problem as yours in my previous configuration. I get a keystone of at least -6 which is very bad. We should try to avoid it since it tends to make the picture lose resolutions and unnatural. This is the last thing we want since our projector is 1080p. Another solution is to raise your screen higher so that the top is closer to the projector lens. You will notice an improvement albeit compromising the comfort zone. The most keystone you can apply is -1 or -2. Some folks even raved 'bout how bad this figures show!

I believe 500Hz & below is virtually no or minor effect at all judging from the 4" thickness. To absorb low bass frequency, thickness come into play. The thicker the better, even in meters! Therefore have to forget absorbing low response. Maybe a good way is to re-adjust the sub position, or turn down its gain. The normal bass trappers we use is only effective for mid bass only.

Cheers.

mikapoh
post Jun 20 2011, 10:34 AM

1,263 posts

I have a friend who converts his entire living hall into HT viewing, so guests apart from audio enthusiasts who come must sit in the kitchen!

In Bolehland, everything is also boleh.

mikapoh
post Jul 6 2011, 10:36 AM

1,263 posts

D_Y2k.4^,

3 things caught my eyes, the beautiful speakers stands, logitech 1100i and the cyrus amp 8xpd. Can you show the cyrus amp p/s, such a reputable amp should not be hidden from the photo? Cheers.

mikapoh
post Jul 20 2011, 11:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(D_Y2k.4^ @ Jul 20 2011, 10:29 PM)
Hey man, as promised biggrin.gif Here's my amp photo

Hi Bro,
What took you so long to take a couple of pics?? tongue.gif

Anyway, what a lovely Cyrus 8x amp. Must be reaching 8k huh? I am previous owner of Cyrus kits so i know their sound signature very well nod.gif

mikapoh
post Aug 16 2011, 09:28 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(AioliadeKL @ Aug 15 2011, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for the Link however I m not sure I understood properly and what I ve to do...:-( Sorry Guys, don't forget I m french and as all Frenchies...My english is poor lol
Since you're french, why not get your local made products like Triangle loudspeakers ?? flex.gif

Htkaki is more than happy to transform your Danish jewels to French!

mikapoh
post Aug 16 2011, 11:11 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 16 2011, 09:38 AM)
Jamo has long been acquired by Klipsch USA. So, it is no longer a Danish co.  Audiovox acquired Klipsch in Feb 2011. Klipsch owns Jamo, Mirage and Energy.
Opsss, I knew Klipsch owned Jamo, my mistake. But I did not know Audiovox took over Klipsch in Feb 2011. Thanks for the update.

mikapoh
post Aug 18 2011, 02:37 PM

1,263 posts

yonggoh,

You can find these clone skyline diffusors at Junwei Shop. I have replaced the absorption panels at my back wall with these 6 diffusors and they make audible differences to the sound. Another place suitable for them is the ceiling 1st reflection point. In fact, they are very effective at side reflection wall too.

pierreye,

Very nice looking HT room. I particularly like the sofa!

Added on August 18, 2011, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 18 2011, 02:19 PM)
I think he painted his diffusers.

AFAIK, the locally made 'skyline' diffusers will no longer be available (unless old stock) as the manufacturer has already scrap the mould.
Then, I must ask Junwei to SAPU KAU KAU these diffusors. I need some more. ohmy.gif

If not, the wood diffusors albeit costly.

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Aug 18 2011, 02:40 PM
mikapoh
post Aug 18 2011, 02:47 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Aug 18 2011, 02:45 PM)
how much are they selling the skyline diffusers?
Hi-Way Laser is selling something like RM150 per piece. Maybe you can give them a ring.

mikapoh
post Sep 2 2011, 10:36 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(tim_1335 @ Sep 2 2011, 10:00 PM)
Wow...Palmforest, how much does all your Van Den Hul cables cost?
You can PM junwei, I am sure he can gives you good price.

Shenton, your MS Aviano 6 already taken home by my friend but apparently he does not spot huge improvement over his old Jamo speakers rclxub.gif
He is using Denon 4310, strange! sweat.gif

Anyway, await your soon completed new HT room. Make sure you keep those photos coming.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0547sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:40 AM