Your Home Theater Setup, Let's share

mikapoh
post Aug 19 2010, 08:23 PM

1,263 posts

jchong,

May I ask you again what is the IDEAL screen size for 11.3' width wall with viewing distance at 12'?? I am in dilemma to choose between 80" & 90" screen. I would love to have 90" size which leaves enuf side space of 2', but I am worried too that 90" & view from 12' can be uncomfortable. What do you choose if you were me...

In dilemma....

mikapoh
post Aug 19 2010, 09:18 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 19 2010, 08:41 PM)
For a viewing distance of 12' the min recommended size is 89" (this gives you the 30-deg FOV). So between 80" or 90" I'd definitely go for 90". This would give you a more 'cinematic' experience.

FYI, I'm using 106" screen from 13' distance (my FOV is 33-deg)
Wow, you say minimum is 89" so it means 80" will be too small. I would give it a try, thanks.

Hopefully the fix screen of 90" with the side frame will leave me min of 2" for my front speakers & also the beast SVS pc-12plus which I plan to put left side in the middle of the room...

mikapoh
post Oct 3 2010, 10:15 PM

1,263 posts

The "semi-full" previews of my dedicated mini home theater room.

Nothing fancy compared to Yonggoh's equipments, just budget system blush.gif

Room acoustic installation by Sound Fusion S/B

mikapoh
post Oct 4 2010, 08:56 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Oct 4 2010, 01:53 AM)
walls need repainting to blend in with the colors of your equipments.. just my 2 cents biggrin.gif:

nice setup.. thumbup.gif

cheerio
Thanks bro smile.gif .

Any particular color paintings you recommend? But the next thing I wanna do is to treat the plaster aluminum beams right above the SVS sub. There are some rattling sound. Might get somebody to inject fiber on the aluminum to mitigate the vibration sound.

mikapoh
post Oct 4 2010, 02:18 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 4 2010, 11:17 AM)
mika,

your room is dedicated and probably more acoustically friendly than my nightmare enclosure! yawn.gif

tan also tells me that your gear sounds VERY good... just some tuning on timing of the SVS and you should be satisfied...

we should meet and compare notes sometime

Yeah after running the Audyssey set-up & SPL meter, the sound effect is more accurate. Ah Wei has installed a total of 12 brass traps in my room sweat.gif
With these bass trappers, diffusion & absorption panels, it really brings the best from your speakers.

Still cant compare to your Mezzo & Panny AE4000u....I am using Optoma HD20 only blush.gif

mikapoh
post Oct 4 2010, 10:49 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(zerorulez @ Oct 4 2010, 09:54 PM)
a nice solution for taming the beast... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

as for color choice.. the way i saw it in the picture show ur HT room look kinda reddish color...  btw what is ur room wall color? cameras sometime tell lies.. biggrin.gif
for HT room IMHO darker color is better.. mix of brown n coffee.. somewhere in that range.. blush.gif but that's me, others may not agree..  sweat.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
What do you mean by taming the beast? Using the fiber??

The wall color is actually Nippon brown, the pictures do show on the reddish side... Front wall is black, Ceiling is gray in color.

mikapoh
post Oct 5 2010, 01:40 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cwyan @ Oct 5 2010, 09:55 AM)
Hi mikapoh. What is the size of your room?

Added on October 5, 2010, 9:58 am
11.5 x 13.5 x 8.5. small room that can house 3 ppl only. But mostly I am the only one to use it tongue.gif

mikapoh
post Oct 8 2010, 12:30 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 7 2010, 11:13 PM)
Wow bro, nice setup  notworthy.gif
Are they auralex lenrd? thumbup.gif

If the acoustic panels are auralex, I would be a broke man by now! laugh.gif

There are total of more than 30 of them sweat.gif Luckily Junwei from local hifi shop is able to source the identical with same materials from another Co. in China. The intensity of the foams are similar to auralex, not the soft type.

mikapoh
post Oct 8 2010, 01:14 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Oct 8 2010, 09:45 AM)
Auralex also got pirate version. Anyway, can pm me the price and where to get? Might want to get some for additional sound treatment for my HT room.
We have compared Auralex & this non-branded panels side by side. The shape size, colors and the cuttings are identical and most importantly, the intensity or compression of the foam is the same (not the softer type like the dish-washer foam). For the pricing, I would say you can save half the price of Auralex per piece... rclxms.gif

For actual price, you better pm Junwei, Sound Fusion. He orders in bulk & can get cheaper some more. I think he is willing to ship over from Kch to KL. These items are selling HOT in Kch here & currently running out of stock. More ppl here are discovering the importance of room treatment. After my room has been treated with these, the booming effect has almost diminished and eventually mid to high freq has become clearer. As my sofa is 1ft away from back wall, I use 3 absorption panels to reduce the reflection & creates a more space ambience at the back.

On another note, by proper installing (not too many) in your room you will know the true characteristic of your speakers, whether they performed up to task tongue.gif

mikapoh
post Oct 19 2010, 01:36 PM

1,263 posts

Yonggoh,

Finally see the full view of ur HT room. Very nice wall color match up with the rest. Really envy the Pana pj 4000-U. Must look terrific on the screen. Sadly I can't afford that cry.gif

Added on October 19, 2010, 1:46 pmLast couple of days have been busy with few elites, I mean serious AV kaki, who came to "visit" my HT room & testing... I am shy as mine is not even a fraction of their gadgets blush.gif . They tested quite number of movies and concerts & find that "Up" animations PQ is pretty good for demo. Oh yea, the Velodyne DD18 owner looks impressed with the SVS, saying its timing is fast. Asking me if the driver is facing upwards shocking.gif

This post has been edited by mikapoh: Oct 19 2010, 01:46 PM
mikapoh
post Oct 20 2010, 11:04 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 20 2010, 10:12 PM)
And expect new poisons too  tongue.gif . I have a new brand of loudspeakers which has garnered many good reviews worldwide. Pls feel free to come to my showroom when you are free. Drag your good pal along  biggrin.gif
What brands so mysterious? Monitor Audio Gold Series?? brows.gif I would love to hear one of favourites.

mikapoh
post Oct 20 2010, 11:38 PM

1,263 posts

WAH LAU, a pair of box speakers costing more or less like a BMW car....salute notworthy.gif rclxms.gif

Care to show the picture, at least we can drool on it.

mikapoh
post Nov 24 2010, 03:06 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 24 2010, 02:38 PM)
hi dude, where do u stay? drool.gif  gonna sneak into ur hse brows.gif
Bro, seems like you are a local lad. Care to share your HT pic? Where do you buy your gears, Sound Fusion?

mikapoh
post Nov 24 2010, 03:09 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Nov 24 2010, 03:06 PM)
Ps3 is there la smile.gif

should see God of War 3 in 92" biggrin.gif~~

wait for GT5 tomorrow
Imagine playing PS3 via the Mezzos....& SVS PB-12plus sweat.gif Not only joystick vibrates but the sofa too due to the intense bass nearby.

yonggoh, since u play games, do you have time for movies? Thought that you have at least 2k mkvs tongue.gif

mikapoh
post Dec 22 2010, 10:51 AM

1,263 posts

Holy shoot, even the front wide is using hi-end speakers. Wonder watching concerts in that room... hmm.gif

I think by the time I visit him in Mar, they are "fully" run-in, dont expect to run in these speakers within a month or two. And hopefully by that time, they are all still there in the demo room.... biggrin.gif

mikapoh
post Dec 22 2010, 02:19 PM

1,263 posts

Thats why I never invite him to come. My wires are all over the front stage. Later failed me like no biz.

mikapoh
post Jan 5 2011, 04:47 PM

1,263 posts

As many audiophiles have said speakers without grills tend to sound better than with them on. Maybe is more applicable to those warmer sounding speakers.

I used to have them wear-on when my system is in living hall as I have experienced my old speakers tweeters being poked by my kids. Now, all my spkrs are naked in my av room & look sexy too. tongue.gif

mikapoh
post Jan 7 2011, 03:58 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jan 6 2011, 06:17 PM)
just removed the cloth-like fabric off my mezzos... got difference meh?
The difference might be small fraction or even negligible as far as Mezzo is concern. You know why? Remember the Mezzzo tweeter is basically sitting on top of the Spkr cabinet. Even, with the grills on the tweeter is still "naked" so you are hearing the same tweeter sound...On top of that, using receiver to play thru cannot detect minor flaw. Hifi using cd is more obvious. Just my 2 cents. nod.gif

mikapoh
post Jan 7 2011, 05:22 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Jan 7 2011, 04:56 PM)
yup thats what i thought also... i read in other forums that a grille/cloth is effective in making a speaker sound warmer... since mezzo tweeters are exposed already then the highest freqs are not effected... smile.gif

ill get a proper CD player soon enough smile.gif
gotta get back all my CDs from overseas first tho...
Yes. A dedicated cdp is a must if you wanna listen pure music. Think hifi bugs are hitting me tongue.gif . Even it spreads to some sifus like anfiledude, htkaki already......haha. Ah Tan has said along the road of AV there will come a time we go for hifi for the purest sound.

mikapoh
post Jan 17 2011, 03:02 PM

1,263 posts

Beginning of new year, and already added Naim Audio kits into the family.

Below sharing my Entry-level and humble 2-in-1 set-up, HT cum Hifi.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0498sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:04 PM