attahun
post Jun 1 2009, 11:57 AM

593 posts

Would like to join the list of owners...E71 grey steel... thumbup.gif

Added on June 1, 2009, 11:58 am
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 30 2009, 05:28 PM)
no v use fring.. it got skype built in..but if u insist using skype here is ur download site:skype lite
or nimbuzz..

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 1 2009, 11:58 AM
attahun
post Jun 1 2009, 02:06 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ May 28 2009, 12:10 AM)
Updating to the latest firmware
hi, hows the new firmware? any good? i've read around and they say that firmware has some bugs and many problems, hope you can share ur experience using it coz i kinda thought of upgrading to latest firmware also...

thanx.

Added on June 1, 2009, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(NINJIAO @ May 28 2009, 10:12 PM)
denggg. i drop my phone last week. metal back was dented and camera area a bit scratch. wondering how much to change casing. hahha planing for a black.

But dun wan to meesed around with the warranty issue.
i think in lelong somebody selling for around rm100 for the casing..u can check it out there..

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 1 2009, 02:07 PM
attahun
post Jun 3 2009, 03:07 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 3 2009, 10:24 AM)
bought it at a Nokia shop for RM55. not really a Nokia shop though...just a big handphone shop in Digital Mall USJ...sharing the same unit as U-Mobile.

Added on June 3, 2009, 11:56 amhey all,

to those using Nokia Email. i'd like to find out something from you all. just to be more specific, this is the email software which is installed when you register for email.nokia.com, not the one the normal email software that came with the phone.

i realize even after i read my emails, it will still show the latest mail header at my home screen. the only way to make it not appear is to delete the mail.

kinda irritating though. i can't seem to find the setting to disable/enable it.

any workaround? thanks
i'm using the normal messaging apps to check my emails using imap server. i am having the same situation. As long as the emails are still in the server, the header will appear in my phone. After downloading the emails to my thunderbird in my pc (pop server) the emails will be removed from server and no longer appear in my phone.

i guess this imap server is used to 'view' the emails in the server so it will still appear as long as its still in the server.
attahun
post Jun 3 2009, 03:15 PM

593 posts

on another note, i have this irritating problem.

Whenever i connect my E71 to my pc using usb cable under 'nokia pc suite mode', i cannot access my memory card, it just does not show the memory card drive..

then when i connect the phone using usb cable to 'mass storage mode', then only i can access the memory card.

Problem is after disconnecting, i cannot access the memory card from my phone; it will show "memory card in use".. only workaround is to restart or reboot my phone.

Is anybody else having the same problem? If this has been discussed before, i'd appreciate if someone can direct me to the thread and any solutions to this would be most welcomed. thanks! notworthy.gif

Added on June 3, 2009, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 3 2009, 03:11 PM)
hey attahun, the normal messaging apps i got no problem. even if i delete it from phone and server or delete from phone only....at least once it's read....it won't appear at the home screen.

i'm facing this problem when using the Nokia Email app, and the latest email will always appear even after i read it.

is there anyway to capture a screenshot of my phone? a picture is worth a thousand words hehehe.

but it's something like this.

@ 0 new in meng2108@bigahem.com
@ 0 new in other mailboxes
[mail icon] test2

the test2 is the subject of the latest email in my meng2108@bigahem.com mailbox. in order for it to not appear, i'll have to delete the mail. even if i read it, the mail icon will just change to gray instead of yellow for unread.
oo.. sorry cant help you there. Nokia Email is still in beta phase and i read there are a lot of bugs..i tried once and there was problem so i stopped using it.

I suggest u try seven or emoze for email apps. Although seven is beta, it has quite a reputation already. I only did try Emoze and it was quite ok except that i was more comfortable using the built-in messaging app as compared to emoze so i stop using it as well.

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 3 2009, 04:20 PM
attahun
post Jun 3 2009, 10:05 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 3 2009, 06:29 PM)
WAT VERSION OF pc suite r u using? wat firmware r u running on e71? wat windows u r using? apple; Vista;XP?
i dont have the unable to access memory card problem although i connect using pc suite, FYI i m using vista, firmware 200.21.118,
pc suite 7.1.26.0, the latest isn't it? also using windows xp..firmware 200.21.118
attahun
post Jun 4 2009, 09:28 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(attahun @ Jun 3 2009, 10:05 PM)
pc suite 7.1.26.0, the latest isn't it? also using windows xp..firmware 200.21.118
i've searched around and it seems the strange memory card behaviour has something to do with encryption or formatting... hmm.gif i guess i'll just try something and see..
attahun
post Jun 4 2009, 02:29 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 4 2009, 09:39 AM)
attahun
Try do a brief format to ur card and ur phone. I solve my problem tat way. As last time if my phone is plug in as mass storage all the installed software wont show up after safely remove. But remember to format ur card using the phone and not the pc the avoid wrong format. Hope it help
thanx..i tried that already after reading some other forums...so far so good. it does solve the problem!

but, after format i also enabled encryption with passphrase and key but cancel before actual encryption.. so i'm not sure if the problem solved is because of formatting or is it because of the encryption.

Another thing i noticed is that when i connect in pc suite mode, there is an error "F:\ is unavailable...bla bla" but i am able to access my memory card from nokia drive explorer... rclxms.gif biggrin.gif

thanx again fr ur input notworthy.gif
attahun
post Jun 7 2009, 09:16 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 7 2009, 12:10 AM)
It is the same.. Provided u do the installation properly.. I by no mean r saying tat u should go for pirate but if u google hard enough there r tonnes of way to get ur gps working. Rm100 is a rip off . I can comfirm saying tat, tat guy selling it is ripping.. Official garmin will cost u a good rm350 with linsense and sd card (any1 can clarify pls do) ..
yeah i did checked back then it was USD100 for an ori garmin mobile XT and not RM100 tongue.gif you'd better get it for rm10 (lelong) than rm100 if you are that blur in getting information from google. blush.gif
attahun
post Jun 7 2009, 11:07 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jun 7 2009, 11:02 PM)
just came back from singapore over the weekend. garmin MXT brought me around singapore. smile.gif loves it!
hehe..yeah i agree..worked rather well in sabah also (kota kinabalu)
attahun
post Jun 8 2009, 02:41 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(damiendamonster @ Jun 8 2009, 11:08 AM)
Hi guys,

would like to seek for help,

i have accidentally removed the live messenger may i know whr can i get to re-installed the program,

i unable to find the download for the E71 supported live messenger.

just head on to www.nokia.com.my and go to the software section...you can get it there...

i even managed to reinstall my "advanced call manager" from that nokia site after reformatting my memory card...best part is its still licensed to my IMEI code so i can use it for free.... rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
attahun
post Jun 8 2009, 04:47 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(lajukipas @ Jun 8 2009, 04:43 PM)
get it for FOC from 'download' via Wlan... nod.gif
yup thats another good way..but when i tried downloading "advanced call manager", its under "try for free" so i was suprised that its licensed when downloaded from nokia website...

Added on June 8, 2009, 4:48 pm
QUOTE(e_trade_pj @ Jun 8 2009, 04:40 PM)
because the previous user change the security code, you need to check with him/her..
reinstalling the firmware just for you to update the firmware only, the code still remain..unless you send to service center to reformat only..
yup get it from the seller, not worth the hassle to hack ur phone over something simple..

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 8 2009, 04:48 PM
attahun
post Jun 8 2009, 04:51 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(lajukipas @ Jun 8 2009, 04:49 PM)
ya bro
try it for free means its trial vers..
need to purchase from Nokia site
i know..thats why i didn't download it from download! in phone..i checked nokia site to know how much to purchase the software but instead when checked at download section, no price was mentioned. so i tried downloading it and voila! it was licensed...hehehe lucky me..
attahun
post Jun 9 2009, 10:18 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Jun 9 2009, 09:43 AM)
u guys know how to silent the ring tone/vibration when ppl call in?
last time SE can do this by pressing the volume key...
yup e71 also by using volume key on right side of phone, the center small button.. mistake, thats only to mute call during a call...hehe to silence phone call is right soft key an option for silence will appear like xavi5567 mentioned..

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 9 2009, 10:31 AM
attahun
post Jun 10 2009, 09:20 AM

593 posts

anybody know how to make files with long name rolls to read the long file name? any shortcut? i can't understand how does nokia expect people to read the files with long filename? mad.gif

i can do this using activefile (the long filename will scroll by itself) but i prefer to use standard software as much as possible..
attahun
post Jun 10 2009, 12:55 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(melthq @ Jun 9 2009, 03:32 PM)
anyone knows the price of e71 housing?
check out lelong site, price range from 100 to 150 for the housing.

http://www.lelong.com.my/Auc/List/2007-01D...-ap-housing.htm
attahun
post Jun 12 2009, 08:54 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(aeikostx @ Jun 11 2009, 11:46 AM)
no, iam middle east.
is it d wrong section?? i didnt know. bcoz i need my e71 to have 24/7 connection.
can anyone tell me, about those plan(especially the one from maxis)
read around a bit of most say maxis broadband not so good. try other telcos such as celcom or digi. but do read around to know the condition at your location.

to know about the packages you can check out the website:

http://www.maxis.com.my/main.asp

http://www.celcom.com.my/cep/

This post has been edited by attahun: Jun 12 2009, 08:55 AM
attahun
post Jun 12 2009, 11:07 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(maxmove2nd @ Jun 12 2009, 10:51 AM)
Is it normal for E71 with Garmin installed (ver 5.00.50) the battery can last up to 2 days?......normal usage with the phone and rarely open the Garmin software.....
after garmin installed, check to see if the background app of garmin is running or not? it does eat up the battery if it is running. by the way, the background service can be turned off / disabled.

by the way, had a trip from kl to ipoh yesterday and had garmin running thru out the journey thru and fro (thats about 6 hours drive) and with some short calls, i started with full battery before went to sleep, morning drive and then evening around 7pm battery went flat... reason to have it on all thru is to know the speed trap locations.. brows.gif

i suppose this is normal for the battery consumption with garmin always on.. let me know if you've experienced differently.
attahun
post Jun 12 2009, 02:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jun 12 2009, 11:22 AM)
as i know it, garmin (version 5.00.4 and above) allowed u to turn off the background service and wont run the background service without ur knowledge. so it is pretty good, i was using ver 5.00.2 last time , my e71 only last 1.5 day max, now using 5.00.4 battery life improve alot to 2.5 day under heavy edge usage and sms. i also drive bac to trg b4 using garmin (version 5.00.4 all the way (6 hour) started with full battery , reach home with 2 bar left.
ok..so its quite normal then, coz garmin for the 6hours duration, and then some calling calling here and there..ok laa i think.. tongue.gif
attahun
post Jun 12 2009, 04:49 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(maxmove2nd @ Jun 12 2009, 02:38 PM)
Ok..will go down to batu pahat tomorrow..will charge the phone full and try to use garmin all the way to Batu pahat..does the garmin detects the speedtrape automatically?
download the POI's at this site: Malfreemaps POI Speedtraps

You'll need to run and extract the files to your garmin folder>POI and also enable warning tones in your garmin xt.

Once you run the garmin xt on ur mobile, you will hear 'alert tones' and you will notice speed trap alerts on ur garmin xt screen. The alerts shall come up 1km away from places inserted by other people who note the speed trap locations.

Since u're going down to BPahat, try to note the speed trap location before simpat ampat exit, the cop always sit behind the big road signage at middle of the road median...lock the location if you will.
attahun
post Jun 13 2009, 09:32 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Jun 12 2009, 06:58 PM)
I post these picture to tell the buyer becareful when you buy E71 if the market price cheaper than the other.
Those photo are enough to make a different between the original N71 and the fake E71.
yes yes..good info there. thanx..

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0499sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:29 AM