Nokia E71 Thread V3, New firmware(v300.21.012) release on NSU

attahun
post Jul 2 2009, 11:12 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(x88yunkw @ Jul 2 2009, 10:46 PM)
yo... to all e71 users, please to inform u that new version for firmware has released.

version 300.21.012

since the old version 210.021.006 is so worse, i dont mind to try the latest version. haha....
great info! thanx. this might just cut it for an upgrade drool.gif
attahun
post Jul 6 2009, 02:26 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Jul 6 2009, 01:44 PM)
my firmware was dated 2008.

now only updated to latest firmware dated 18June2008.

only then i found out these features.
those features available since firmware 200.21.118... but i'm not so sure about the FB,myspace..

anyway i just upgraded to firmware 300.21.012.. biggrin.gif but i dunno whats the difference. feels just the same. i'll see hows the battery consumption. and i dont see any nokia messaging latest version, how do i check? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Jul 6 2009, 02:27 PM
attahun
post Jul 6 2009, 05:14 PM

593 posts

just a note. after upgrade firmware i immediately hard reset the phone, when i wanted to set the email, it came out with error 'installation package not found'. managed to solve it after i installed nokia messaging (email) manually. so it seems the new firmware must use nokia messaging to check email and no longer use the old email client. shuckks.. blush.gif i kinda don't like the nokia messaging that much.. tongue.gif careful with this as the default setting is using 'maxis 3g internet' so it will drain ur credit. play with the setting and u can change it to 'wifi'. but u'll have to go offline when no wifi in range.
attahun
post Jul 6 2009, 05:46 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 6 2009, 05:27 PM)
wow, this is gonna suck big time as the nokia messaging might not be free for E71 users in the future. E72 i know has lifetime free membership for nokia messaging.

100% confirm that the new firmware can only use nokia messaging as the email client? if this is true, then i doubt i wanna update to the newer firmware.
yup, then we'll have to use 'seven' or 'emoze' i guess.. tongue.gif
attahun
post Jul 7 2009, 08:49 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 6 2009, 06:10 PM)
ah, correct...that is the built-in one. Nokia Messaging@Nokia Email is a different interface. it is found under your Installation.

attahun,

i think there still is the built-in email program ler...maybe u can double check?
ok just checked, you can still use the built-in messaging app. but you still have to use 1 account under nokia email coz if you run the email setup from the messaging it still configures nokia email first. thereafter only can you setup different email account under messaging. Which i guess is why i had error when i first ran the email config from messaging without nokia email installed.

maybe roxy can confirm whether he got any email setup under nokia email. i may have wrongly configure this, i'm not sure. blush.gif

Added on July 7, 2009, 8:53 am
QUOTE(zaxxshoxx @ Jul 6 2009, 08:50 PM)
anyone succeed in turning off shutter sound? need help
bro wat problem u having? i think i tried it once but to turn off the shutter sound u'll have to turn off warning tone or something so it affects other program as well if i'm not mistaken. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Jul 7 2009, 08:53 AM
attahun
post Jul 7 2009, 09:44 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(RoxyMunky @ Jul 7 2009, 09:41 AM)
i got 2 mail in Messaging:

1. Windows Live
2. my office mail account
do you have any email setup in nokia email?
attahun
post Jul 8 2009, 01:49 PM

593 posts

i am getting this problem with my nokia email. Last time I setup using messaging but it setup my nokia email. (i know already now, just cancel when it ask connect automatic server thing) anyway, i deleted my nokia email's mailbox and ever since that i cannot setup the nokia email anymore. i get the 'cannot connect to server' error. I even tried uninstall and reinstall the nokia email app but still same problem. anyone else having this problem with nokia email?
attahun
post Jul 8 2009, 07:30 PM

593 posts

Guys,can anybody who have upgraded to latest firmare v300 verify this > under app manager, there are 2 entry for nokia email?
attahun
post Jul 13 2009, 05:15 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Jul 13 2009, 02:00 PM)
i jsut checked!!!! latest firmware is available for my black steel!!! i'll update now.

Added on July 13, 2009, 2:50 pmsuccessfully installed the latest firmware.....now will need to continue using my phone to see if it still auto-restarts.

no problem with built-in email application as well ass Nokia Email. phone is working perfectly fine now..
hehe finally... tongue.gif i know u've anticipated this for quite some time..

i'm using nokia email just fine now...it seems the last time was maybe due to server..

1 good thing bout this nokia email is that u can press up/down to scroll up/down, press left/right to select between details like emails and numbers. i kinda like it compared to the normal messaging app.. hehee tongue.gif just hope it remains free after trial.

Added on July 13, 2009, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 13 2009, 03:49 PM)
the latest on mfm is v2.02 rite updated on 25/6/2009 or any1 got a newer link?
v2.02 is the latest for POI compilation. rclxms.gif

Added on July 13, 2009, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(uan @ Jul 13 2009, 09:16 AM)
thank you bro.
i've found out a log file (for sms spam mgr) has 60Mb of file size.

press 5 (folder/file detail) helps a lot.

-----

anybody here using USD99 GARMIN?
bro, 60MB for a log file???? can you advice how it come to that? you installed an app 'spam manager' or something? or is it logfile by normal app? pls tell the location and let us check, useful to throw away such rubbish. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Jul 13 2009, 05:29 PM
attahun
post Jul 13 2009, 10:26 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(vinothen @ Jul 13 2009, 09:09 PM)
lol for sure u cannot 100% depend on the speed traps. but at least ur aware that that's the main hot spots for police. u can check. during deepavali. i tested. it was ok. i caught 7 police in different overhead bridge.
u caught the police? lol tongue.gif biggrin.gif

Added on July 13, 2009, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(uan @ Jul 13 2009, 05:37 PM)
yep. log file from spam manager program. don't worry. i've already deleted it with peace of mind.
location somewhere in C:\private\<some hex number>
"spam manager program"?? blush.gif is it third party software or built-in software? i can't find the folder u mentioned, am using activefile.

thanx for clarification.

Added on July 13, 2009, 10:29 pm
QUOTE(kidmad @ Jul 13 2009, 05:41 PM)
easy to navigate in sense of? do you need to keep pressing on the button to navigate?
whatever fon u're using, just install opera mini and try for urself to experience it.. browsing with e71 is more pleasant to the eyes because wider screen view and more convenient and efficient because typing is superbly nice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Jul 13 2009, 10:29 PM
attahun
post Jul 14 2009, 02:49 PM

593 posts

normally full charged my e71 in 2 hours..now after upgrade firmware it needs 3hours to fully charge. also the battery lasts longer before i upgrade, i think... hmm.gif
attahun
post Jul 15 2009, 09:26 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 14 2009, 03:16 PM)
huiyo.. 3 hour.. battery last shorter? eh.. each newer update bring down the battery life eh? or r u jus playing with it too much to c wat r the other diff in the update hence bringing down the battery life..
nope..just normal usage..didn't even turn on garmin yet...heheh nevermind laa still can live with it..yesterday also not much call but drop 4 bars already by today.. tongue.gif
attahun
post Jul 15 2009, 02:15 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(maxmove2nd @ Jul 15 2009, 02:04 PM)
restart oledi..but still cannot open the damn contacts....when i sync the phone with my pc i can view all of the contacts too....need to go to Nokia SC la macam nie...haiyaaaaa....
u cannot open contact list as in the contact software will hang or in the contact list everything is empty?

try typing something in the standby mode, you should be given suggested contact list on the standby menu, does it work that way?

if you already have the contact list sync'ed to your outlook, i suggest hard reset *#7370* to wipe clean your phone menu and software then try if you can open the contact..then after only you sync back the contacts.
attahun
post Jul 19 2009, 05:02 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Jul 16 2009, 09:40 PM)
Eh? D-pad rust.. I LOL... I thought it was made of plastic and platted with chrome
mine is nicked already too..i didn't realize until too late..anybody know where to buy replacement keypad? blush.gif btw is this covered under warranty?
attahun
post Jul 31 2009, 05:26 PM

593 posts

new version of quickoffice available. FREE DOWNLOAD from phone, goto quickoffice > updates and upgrades. biggrin.gif
attahun
post Aug 1 2009, 12:36 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Raralu85 @ Jul 31 2009, 07:16 PM)
-.-! dunno how to fast transfer from my sony w5501 phone contact no. to my E71... 4++ contact number... zzzzz
use microsoft outlook, very convenient rclxms.gif

1. use your SE PcSuite to synchronize your SE phone contacts to Outlook.
2. Use your Nokia PC Suite to synchronize from outlook to Nokia.

1 thing though, set the dialing country to other than malaysia (i use mexico), if not numbers all will be +60 12xxxxxxx (got space between 0 and 1). i'm using outlook to sync both my SE K810i and Nokia E71.. brows.gif

Added on August 1, 2009, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(red-queen @ Aug 1 2009, 11:25 AM)
i tried updating my QuickOffice. it says update failed sad.gif

mine is version 6.1.94 trying to upgrade to 6.2. any ideas? do i need to uninstall my QuickOffice fully before upgrading? i remember upgrading to 6.1.94 was easy breezy. dunno why this time got error
mine got the 'update error' msg..still trying.. sad.gif

Added on August 1, 2009, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(wilson88 @ Jul 31 2009, 06:49 PM)
I came across the new Adobe Reader LE when reading stuff about QuickOffice. I would like to know are we entitled for the upgade to 2.5, it don't seems to be for me. sad.gif

I wish that my e-book that I am reading could fit better on the screen, I have to scroll left and right all the time. Zoom out makes the situation worst and the font is getting smaller
yeah i get the same feeling...frustrated till i no longer read using the phone adobe, can cause eyes go blind laa read like that...hahaha tongue.gif

anybody can recommend 'free' symbian pdf writer?? last time i checked there weren't any...i can use maybank2u on my e71 so now just need a pdf writer to print the receipts and it'd make life a whole lot easier.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by attahun: Aug 1 2009, 12:45 PM
attahun
post Aug 1 2009, 01:10 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 1 2009, 12:57 PM)
When we connect to EDGE, the phone will ask us to connect using GPRS (WAP2.0) or DigiInternet. Are they the same?
digiinternet is boradband, faster than gprs biggrin.gif
attahun
post Aug 1 2009, 01:13 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Aug 1 2009, 11:25 AM)
i tried updating my QuickOffice. it says update failed sad.gif

mine is version 6.1.94 trying to upgrade to 6.2. any ideas? do i need to uninstall my QuickOffice fully before upgrading? i remember upgrading to 6.1.94 was easy breezy. dunno why this time got error
i upgraded already rclxms.gif you're correct, have to uninstall earlier quickoffice upgrade brows.gif

Added on August 1, 2009, 1:14 pm
QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 1 2009, 01:12 PM)
For DiGi terms, it's EDGE connection right?
yes that's right

This post has been edited by attahun: Aug 1 2009, 01:14 PM
attahun
post Aug 2 2009, 04:17 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(seale_navy @ Aug 1 2009, 07:29 PM)
if unistall quickoffice... then update it.. ?? the quickoffice wont be in the phone anymore?
the built-in quickoffice shall still be in the phone even if you uninstall it, that one cannot delete...to upgrade to latest version 6.2, must uninstall earlier upgraded version 6.1 (if you have updated before)...if you've never upgraded quickoffice then there would not be any option to uninstall it inside apps manager...
attahun
post Aug 3 2009, 02:25 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Chester77 @ Aug 3 2009, 10:33 AM)

Hmm..maybe, but in my understanding of AP set, means the phone still made by nokia, only is without tax..so it was not warranty by nokia dealers...instead warrantly by phone dealer support team. correct me if i'm wrong..not really an expert in the "comunication" world..
yup thats my understanding as well...Nokia malaysia only warrants the sale of nokia phones to Avaxx Zitron and some others..So AP sets are not covered under nokia normal warranty..the AP warranty is only shop warranty provided by the distributor, thats why nowadays the distributor name also quite making something for themselves when they are more established. by the way, is AP sets are actually illegal??

correct me if the above is not correct.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0359sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:20 AM