Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Stop paypal funds trading in LYN, open discussion

stevanistelrooy
post Apr 14 2009, 07:33 PM

Ten seconds you won't believe what's gonna happen.
2,450 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Apr 14 2009, 07:26 PM)
i hav different opinion... instead of stop selling paypal, its better to allow only ONE seller to do transaction here... da seller should be self pick by LYN authorities

reason: -its easy to monitor da seller
            -eliminate chances of getting con
lol.. what's the point having 1 seller?

might as well scrap the idea..
heard of monopoly? wink.gif
also that 1 seller also can runaway after getting big moolah....instead of reduce, it increases..
SUSedmunz
post Apr 14 2009, 07:38 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Apr 14 2009, 07:33 PM)

also that 1 seller also can runaway after getting big moolah....instead of reduce, it increases..
-i noe its monopoly, but shouldn't be protecting buyer its da main job priority of da authorities here.
-da 1 seller should undergone strict inspection b4 become PP seller here [same concept as safe trader tag here]
-since da mod r trading here oso, why not given them privileges to trade PP .. juz my suggestion

This post has been edited by edmunz: Apr 14 2009, 07:44 PM
wookp
post Apr 14 2009, 07:39 PM

497 posts

QUOTE(stevanistelrooy @ Apr 14 2009, 07:33 PM)

I do agree with steve. I guess what LYF can do is to educate potential buyers or sellers. That's all. LYF can't do everything. Even Lelong has fraud cases. Banning PayPal sales is like banning smoking in Malaysia since it is known fact the smoking is hazardous...PS I am smoker myself...LOL tongue.gif

Added on April 14, 2009, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(edmunz @ Apr 14 2009, 07:38 PM)
-i noe its monopoly, but shouldn't be protecting buyer its da main job of da authorities here.
-da 1 seller should undergone strict inspection b4 become PP seller here
-since da mod r trading here oso, why not given them privileges to trade PP .. juz my suggestion
What about people who sell to this so called appointed seller of LYF? He still has to get funds from somewhere right? What if he gets conned from other PayPal sellers?

This post has been edited by wookp: Apr 14 2009, 07:40 PM
SUSedmunz
post Apr 14 2009, 07:48 PM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Apr 14 2009, 07:39 PM)
I do agree with steve. I guess what LYF can do is to educate potential buyers or sellers. That's all. LYF can't do everything. Even Lelong has fraud cases. Banning PayPal sales is like banning smoking in Malaysia since it is known fact the smoking is hazardous...PS I am smoker myself...LOL tongue.gif

Added on April 14, 2009, 7:40 pm

What about people who sell to this so called appointed seller of LYF? He still has to get funds from somewhere right? What if he gets conned from other PayPal sellers?
being PP seller doesnt mean he need to buy from other seller... he can must buy directly from PP [R&R]

This post has been edited by edmunz: Apr 14 2009, 07:48 PM
J-Slade
post Apr 14 2009, 07:54 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

I... I don't think its a good idea to stop paypal selling here. Because seriously I feel safer to buy my paypal funds from here than other place like Lelong/Mudah.

I think its more on the risk of the buyer. Its up to them who they want to buy. They can choose to buy from reputable full time paypal seller or they can also choose to buy from new rogue sellers.

Just because there is a potential to scam people doesn't mean it should be banned. For example other trades here can be a potential scam too like for example bulk threads? And even for things dealt through postage also can scammed. So does it mean we are to stop all kind of trading?

Honestly if really LYN stop trading of paypal I seriously don't know where to buy it anymore. sad.gif
fir3f0x
post Apr 14 2009, 07:59 PM

447 posts

or, if someone wants to be a paypal seller, they have to:
- meet mods/buyer and then sent in their information such as ic to the mods and get a tag like "verified paypal seller" and only they can start selling paypal in the forum.

never buy/sell paypal before, not sure how it works. just voice out what i got in my mind.
temptation1314
post Apr 14 2009, 08:37 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

IC?
I don't think you're matured enough to talk here.
Sending your copy of IC to strangers?

That's the most stupid action a person will take.
I don't even have enough trust to Big Co. to keep my copy of photostat IC. LOL
laichong
post Apr 14 2009, 08:45 PM

Da Da Da Da Da
900 posts

from my point, i would say stop the trading... i'd seeing alot of PP concase, many has been con and bringing the issue up and still got ppl fall into the trap.

some one had mentioned b4, debit card can be apply easily eg. Maybank and Ambank also have.

i wonder, since they can fork out hundred or thousand ringgit to buy PP fund from other ppl, why dont they just take a little time to apply the debit card? after that registered 1 PP acc. is that so trouble??

if they are so lazy to do all that, then they deserved to be (con/cheat) (sorry for a little bit harsh). but really, if u have the cash in hand, do it with a proper way, it saves u from being con. and dont forget, the applied/registered Debit card and PP acc will be following u all the time. Its YOURS. u wont need to afraid your fund being stole/reveresed bla bla bal....

Added on April 14, 2009, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(fir3f0x @ Apr 14 2009, 07:59 PM)
or, if someone wants to be a paypal seller, they have to:
- meet mods/buyer and then sent in their information such as ic to the mods and get a tag like "verified paypal seller" and only they can start selling paypal in the forum.

never buy/sell paypal before, not sure how it works. just voice out what i got in my mind.
FYI, the LYN Staff had already clearly mentioned in another thread, LYN is a communities forum, NOT trading platform. LYN does not hold any resposibilty on what ever trading in here.

so, i guess your idea wont work. smile.gif

This post has been edited by laichong: Apr 14 2009, 08:48 PM
apis
post Apr 14 2009, 09:02 PM

1,175 posts

Buy if u trust the seller and don't blame others for it.That's the risk that u must take when trading here and other places.or else u can use debitcard for the transaction eventhough it's quite expensive.
goldfries
post Apr 14 2009, 10:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Apr 14 2009, 07:39 PM)

educated already. sad.gif but how to educate further when people don't read or don't use common sense?

come to think of it, what's there to educate? i think all paypal buyer / seller are aware of such cases.
Choongster
post Apr 14 2009, 11:08 PM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

how to verify a paypal "seller" ...??

Seller's IC , + postal address according to IC (*must be current)
sending a generated set of numbers using snail mail letter to house address and ask seller to key into lyn for verification (*that is how paypal do to verify the user*)

optional : only registered company email , or uni / college 's email add.
no public email address like gmail / yahoo / hotmail.

optional : post/fax Point of Identification documents with full name and address ...... Bank statement/ telephone bills/ etc...

lastly, appoint a LYN middle man ... seller sell to buyer..
buyer receipt paypal ... (*buy what ever....) transaction smooth .... buyer to approve payment to be release ... lyn release to seller ... (*time consuming but save*)

this are standard paypal / ebay transactions ..

y_owez
post Apr 14 2009, 11:32 PM

1,745 posts

can always get paypal from confirmed bank account.

and i strongly suggets to stop thos VCC sales. been cases where seller claimed to be "verified" with that but its just a virtual one. where verified by bank account is much safer

STOP VCC! if u need one get those debit credit card by MOL , tunes and such!
sHawTY
post Apr 14 2009, 11:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(edmunz @ Apr 14 2009, 07:38 PM)
but shouldn't be protecting buyer its da main job priority of da authorities here.
No, it's not.
Their job is to maintain this forum, not to maintain the safety of the buyers.

The authorities of this forum are not paid, they are doing it on their own free will.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Apr 14 2009, 11:36 PM
mADmAN
post Apr 15 2009, 12:03 AM

10,530 posts

im kinda on the fence with this one....

agree to stop due to the con cases etc etc...

disagree to stop coz i kinda need them as well....they are currently my only source of paypal funds due to the fact that citibank became shittybank...and im not a fan of multiple credit cards.

but when i buy i tend to see their trade history first...n i see who they sold to...my previous transaction, after going through their trade list...i noticed a name of a bulker i trust as one of the seller's customers (n a big amount too)..hence the confidence to buy from the seller.

imho.... all trade on LYN is done at forumer's own risk...LYN staff/ admins can only help with disputes (if they so choose).

like shawty said...they aint being paid...the fact that theyre doing this on their own free will is damn good already....only thing is, it adds to their burden.
Hikaru
post Apr 15 2009, 12:12 AM

170 posts

Just so happened that I saw this topic under recent topics, so I thought I might chime in my 0.02.

I personally buy Paypal from some people here once in awhile, whenever I need to pay people overseas. I cannot find a better place to buy Paypal, as honestly the rates they charge if they charge from my PB debit card is a ripoff, and I don't trust Lelong/etc as much as traders here.

What I do is I look for the people whose topic looks professional and has done alot of paypal trading before, or just generally active (just check the posts made by the seller). The rates might not be as attractive as some insane deals but the risk is much lower. Up till now, I've probably bought cumulatively over RM2k of paypal, without any problems.

I support the idea of having a LYN watchdog over this, I mean, let's face it, a huge part of LYN now is the trade forums, and I know alot of people who come to LYN just for the trade forums. Heck, most of the time, when I'm busy, I only check LYN for the trade forums only too. As much as LYN is a 'community' site and not a 'trading' site, the trade forums are undeniably one of Malaysia's biggest and fastest moving ones. It's about time that LYN get some sort of traders control going for high-risk transactions such as Paypal transfers. Expand on the safe trader system which currently exists?

Perhaps hire someone to monitor the trade forums and do a verification system similar to lelong? Heck, maybe even +rating system, and trader rankings based on the rating, and maybe reserve high-risk transactions only for high level traders that are trustworthy? LYN gets alot of sponsors and the ads here and there, that is probably enough to hire a person to do this? (Seeing as the trade forums generate probably alot if not most of LYN forums traffic, since the logic being traders normally keep refreshing and revisiting for updates on trades)

If people want to cheat, they will cheat, if you ban paypal they'll just cheat in a different way. Better to setup a system where there are checks around so cheats overall are prevented wholly and not just diverting the problem to another type of merchandise.
David900924
post Apr 15 2009, 02:05 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

I sell my paypal fund here once in a while, recently I provide my I.C, my h/p, my emails, my bank, n my full name. How about like this:
To be a paypal fund seller, have to be verify by staff 1st, get all the details to verify like how lelong.com.my does.

Last time, u guys stop Rapidshare, now going for Paypal...

I believe prevention is better than cure but how about providing more secure methods for the transaction between both parties? I still prefer Lowyat.net as my buy and sell forum rather than others.

Not only paypal been used to con ppl, but others thing like previous bulk scam case and selling 2nd hand as new unit case. So I don't think stop paypal trading will bring harmony as ppl will think others way to scam others by another new methods. If you can stop this scam, why don't providing safer methods for all of us like verifying b4 trade.

This post has been edited by David900924: Apr 15 2009, 02:05 AM
b00n
post Apr 15 2009, 02:59 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

You have to understand that we are not really a trading website. Also, we do not have the man power to do all these verifications.

Why was this brought up; because there's more and more paypal cons happening. Thus we're now inviting forrumers to engage in this discussion to see what can be done.

However, I doubted that verification by staffs is the way to go. Unless se7en decided to hire some ppl just to monitor or acted as the middleman in all sales transactions. sweat.gif

Funny thing is a lot have advices had been sent out in regards to scams or way conman deals, but there's bound to be someone caught by the scam. Mostly due to ignorance.

This post has been edited by b00n: Apr 15 2009, 03:00 AM
sHawTY
post Apr 15 2009, 03:33 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 15 2009, 02:59 AM)
You have to understand that we are not really a trading website.
Exactly. And please, don't ever ever change it.
I'd hate to see what this forum would turn into if it changes from a community forum into a trade forum.
princess_autumn87
post Apr 15 2009, 02:34 PM

Glamorous diva-Ghetto arse
597 posts

oh well... everything trading does has the risk and just how risky it can be. as long as there is no any regulations to intervene in pp buying&selling thus the fraud will still happen. I heard from one of my friend who recently dealt with lyn moderator still kena fraud from the moderator... how pathentic it can be if u say just to set one seller and how to def and know whether the seller is reliable even he/she is moderator?
y_owez
post Apr 15 2009, 02:58 PM

1,745 posts

yea and by having just one.he/she can markup due to no other sellers.

maybe set a few.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0166sec    1.15    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:03 PM