7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Discussion Loyalty, Is it ok to change clubs?

TSDuke Red
post Apr 9 2009, 05:23 PM, updated 17y ago

6,112 posts

Sorry but this issue has arrived of late and I find it too serious an issue to pass up on. I've decided to take this topic away from the Chelsea thread. There was a similar topic once (started by me) but it's too far down the list to track so I'm beginning another.

So then, it would appear that some fans don't see any issue with switching clubs because managers and players do.

Well that they may but only because football is their career. Just because I like my current company, it doesn't mean I won't change jobs if another comes along will I? As a football fan, what do you stand to lose by staying with one club? Who do some fans think it's a cardinal sin to swap allegiances?

What is the concept of "fan"?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 9 2009, 05:25 PM
solstice818
post Apr 9 2009, 05:25 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Switching club to support is kinda insulting especially to the supporters of the new club you support.

Speaking of loyalty, what do you guys think about those supporting 2 clubs or more clubs?
Everdying
post Apr 9 2009, 05:29 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 9 2009, 05:25 PM)
Switching club to support is kinda insulting especially to the supporters of the new club you support.

Speaking of loyalty, what do you guys think about those supporting 2 clubs or more clubs?
why cannot? i support selangor and liverpool tongue.gif

Golden
post Apr 9 2009, 05:31 PM

499 posts

Most of the football fans do change the club they support...

If your club relegated and there is no way back they would be back to the top division premier league... clubs like Nottingham Forest, Leeds United etc..., most ppl just switch to other more successful team like Man Utd.

Everdying
post Apr 9 2009, 05:32 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 9 2009, 05:31 PM)

If your club relegated and there is no way back they would be back to the top division premier league... clubs like Nottingham Forest, Leeds United etc..., most ppl just switch to other more successful team like Man Utd.
i dont see the liverpool supporters becoming chelsea fans or manu fans overnight.
and i have a friend whos been supporting forest since the 80s.
kaka91
post Apr 9 2009, 05:34 PM

2,228 posts

a true fan is a fan for life. a person who sticks by his/her team although shyt happens. i cannot even imagine for a moment that i would change clubs just coz my club is relegated or watever.. i despise ppl who say they support, oh.. mu when they are winning, and then change to different club when they are not. i know a lot of ppl who do that. and to solstice, i dun see why not supporting a few clubs. like me for instance, i have 1 club in each of the top 3 leagues. clearly, i live and breathe arsenal and i am a gooner till i die. but i also support ac milan and valencia. not as hard core as arsenal, but enough to want them to win their leagues and enough to get pissed off at istanbul 2005. hehe
Golden
post Apr 9 2009, 05:37 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 9 2009, 05:32 PM)
i dont see the liverpool supporters becoming chelsea fans or manu fans overnight.
What is the point of supporting the club that you cant even watch them play... It will take forever to wait for forest to promote to the premier league..

I support Man Utd and at least i can sing Glory glory Man Utd in front of the TV...

narutokun83
post Apr 9 2009, 05:38 PM

2,108 posts

A real club supporter (don't like the word FAN) supports the club through thick and thin, those that switch allegiances are just there to join the "fun". When a club "they" support is out of the running for a cup or a competition, they switch to a another club just to get back in the action, you just can't take them seriously.

my 2cents
hfi
post Apr 9 2009, 05:38 PM

598 posts

I reckons its down to a person being either a fan or a supporter. A supporter will obviously choose a single club, pledge loyalty and support it.

A fan is just a none-committed follower of a club. Like fan of a particular rock band or actor.

You can be either. But you obviously cant support 2 different teams of a same country.
awh85
post Apr 9 2009, 05:39 PM

2,156 posts

i notice a lot of ppl "support" certain football clubs or "enjoy" watching football just bcoz their friends do and it helps them to fit in with others. such people wont ever be able to know what it feels like to have the true passion of supporting a team.

football is not just an interest anymore, too many wannabes make it hard to differentiate from the real supporters.

(if a gang of ppl happen to support Team A, u can bet that new ppl who join the gang will be supporters of Team A too) Besides that, a lot of ppl are just following others supporting the more commercialized and well marketed clubs and in most cases dont even know shits about the club itself.
kaka91
post Apr 9 2009, 05:40 PM

2,228 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 9 2009, 05:37 PM)
What is the point of supporting the club that you cant even watch them play... It will take forever to wait for forest to promote to the premier league..

I support Man Utd and at least i can sing Glory glory Man Utd in front of the TV...
i dont think thats the point of being a fan.. to me, ppl who support clubs like derby and such are better fans than the others who are glory hunters. coz if u support clubs that have no glory, clearly u are a true die hard fan. not that i dont want my club to win anything!! tongue.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(hfi @ Apr 9 2009, 05:38 PM)
I reckons its down to a person being either a fan or a supporter. A supporter will obviously choose a single club, pledge loyalty and support it. 

A fan is just a none-committed follower of a club. Like fan of a particular rock band or actor.

You can be either. But you obviously cant support 2 different teams of a same country.
i am so with u on that

This post has been edited by kaka91: Apr 9 2009, 05:41 PM
faris21
post Apr 9 2009, 05:41 PM

Newbies
4,453 posts

change club is not a big deal as long u didn't change to the rival club (example Liverpool to Man U)
i start love football in early 90 and support Liverpool but change to Barcelona after watch Cryuff`s Dream team show joga bonito, till now i still watch Liverpool match even not support them too much (start watch Pool again bcos many Spaniard there)

This post has been edited by faris21: Apr 9 2009, 05:42 PM
Everdying
post Apr 9 2009, 05:43 PM

30,735 posts

we're not living in the 90s anymore.
now we have broadband and lots of streams online.

but looks like we're talking about fans/supporters who live outside the country where the football is played.

if ur actually staying there, im pretty sure u would be supporting the local team whoever they may be.
unless ur name is stuart of the emma fame.

solstice818
post Apr 9 2009, 05:44 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Golden @ Apr 9 2009, 05:31 PM)

There are still threads of N.Forest ,Soto and leeds around Football lounge.You don't stop supporting a club just because the club get relegated.

Anyway, I have one little question for you. Do you call yourself a supporter/fans?

This post has been edited by solstice818: Apr 9 2009, 05:49 PM
lawsh
post Apr 9 2009, 05:45 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Apr 9 2009, 05:32 PM)
ever heard of a forummer called manlivars? brows.gif
Everdying
post Apr 9 2009, 05:47 PM

30,735 posts

QUOTE(lawsh @ Apr 9 2009, 05:45 PM)
that one was probably gay and was probably more in love with beckham, morientes and fabregas then.
solstice818
post Apr 9 2009, 05:47 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

He was the guy I m interested in talking to. How could you possibly support 3 of the top 4 when two of those are in fierce rivalry? doh.gif
triple02
post Apr 9 2009, 05:52 PM

endorphin addict
2,715 posts

Well i'll have a go at this...

from what ive seen there are 3 type's of "fan's" 1 loyal to the club 2nd sworing allegiance to the club player's 3rd loyal to the trophies i guess i've enough posts that has been discussed to death about the 1 and 3rd set of fans, now 2nd one are the intrigues...for a example ill use a player from the club is support as an example Torres, I support Torres not the club but only Torres, no matter what club he goes to ill will support him and partially the club that he plays for, it doesnt matter if that that particular club wins any trophies for the next 10 years or wins them all but the player i support is only Torres? will that make that fan a glory hunter? Why im saying this is because thats what happens in the States, be it NBA or NFL or MLB player A moves to another club the masses follow player A to the club

and dont misquote my post as a Torres fan only, yes im a fan of him indeed which fellow Reds isnt? but for me one is bigger than the club, and for discussion's sake my loyalty lies with the team that i support and ill continue to support them through thick and thin players may come and go but your sense of belonging is is to club and not the players or the trophies...

This post has been edited by triple02: Apr 9 2009, 06:06 PM
Golden
post Apr 9 2009, 05:54 PM

499 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Apr 9 2009, 05:44 PM)
There are still threads of N.Forest ,Soto and leeds around Football lounge.You don't stop supporting a club just because the club get relegated.
Anyway, I have one little question for you. Do you call yourself a supporter/fans?
probably both... a supporter and a fan..

I still remember his signature.... "one team one cup"

anyone still remembers this? rclxub.gif

kaka91
post Apr 9 2009, 05:54 PM

2,228 posts

hmm, interesting. well thats the reason i started supporting ac milan. kaka. hehe.. does that make me an fake fan? i mean, it started out just kaka, but now i support the whole team.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:48 PM