Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

olivur
post Sep 15 2011, 05:16 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

^ poison. lol
olivur
post Sep 15 2011, 07:49 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

i knew in three years my raid 0 nas set up thet i placed at my rents was going to be outdated but being beaten by a goflex?! oh the humanity.
olivur
post Sep 25 2011, 07:14 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

xandman, could i know what programs are you referring to? and by slow do you mean while multitasking or basic load time.
olivur
post Sep 25 2011, 07:49 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

funny, a placebo affect would be you thinking that it runs faster :P

anyways, did you perform an smc reset after installing the ram? a pram reset wouldn't hurt too, methinks
olivur
post Sep 25 2011, 08:47 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 25 2011, 08:23 PM)
i feel it's placebo effect also...
but i'll do further investigation... biggrin.gif

btw how to do the smc reset? and also the PRAM reset?
i did it once...but cannot remember d...
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3964
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1379

also as stringfellow pointed out, you'd feel the performance boost more from an ssd upgrade as apposed to a ram upgrade. even though the improvement is there.
olivur
post Sep 25 2011, 09:23 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

that and depending on usage, this might be a good read.

http://osxdaily.com/2010/10/29/does-your-m...-a-ram-upgrade/

with just firefox, a 720p movie, itunes and jdownloader downloading my weekly shows in the background i've still 1gb of memory to spare.

of course it's a whole different story when the movie's replaced with photoshop and or maya running. to which i'm thinking of a ram and ssd upgrade myself.

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 25 2011, 09:29 PM
olivur
post Sep 26 2011, 11:36 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

be sure to do a thorough research prior to purchasing, as some ssd's just would not see eye to eye with certain mbp models, that and speed limitations. i.e <mbp 2011's doesn't support sata 3 speeds and so on :)
olivur
post Sep 26 2011, 03:02 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(BRY7 @ Sep 26 2011, 02:50 PM)
are you sure its only 5 seconds?
Vertex 3 also takes around 12 seconds
benchmark report ≠ real life figures :P
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 06:47 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Sep 28 2011, 06:43 PM)
@wiraone, time to taste turbo charged (2x RAID)... :even more evil wink: hahaha
raid ssd = no trim though, right ._.?
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 08:58 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

shakes fist at all three posters above*
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 09:42 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2011, 09:08 PM)
You can shake our Macs too, olivur. No harm done, since it's SSD. Look Ma, no moving parts! tongue.gif
hush! as brilliant as that was begone you siren. i'm adamant on updating my 21ux to a 24hd and that's that! getting an ssd would mean me having to eat my own cooking for a month shakehead.gif

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Sep 28 2011, 09:09 PM)
I wanna ask all taikor here...I wonder why JEDEC shown in CPU-Z that my Slot 1 which is a new module that i just install today had 4 JEDEC .. and my Slot 2 which is previously install module only have 3 Jedec shown ??

any different in terms of performance or anything else?? should i replace the old one with another new module??

Noted that : Both using 2GB 1066Mhz Kingston Module.. as my MB Core2Duo 2.4Ghz only support Max 4GB which left me no choice but only install max 4GB  cry.gif

( THIS PROBLEM SPOTTED ON WINDOW VISTA ULTIMATE )

[attachmentid=2458151]

[attachmentid=2458152]

ANY DIFFERENT BETWEEN THIS 2 ???
refer to the memory tab. that's what your ram's timings are at. the spd tab simply shows the possible timings at various common frequencies.
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 10:34 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

could you elaborate on how exactly does the graphics suck?

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 28 2011, 10:39 PM
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 10:52 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

refer to the underscan bit in the below link for screen not fitting.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4214

for font being all wonky try system pref > general > font smoothing right down low.

you could also change the colour profile. if the colours looks "messed up".

codicil*

what monitor are you using atm ._.?

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 28 2011, 10:53 PM
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:12 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

you've no idea how much i'm inclined to strangle you right now. lol so are we searching for a new monitor now?
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:30 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Sep 28 2011, 11:16 PM)
anything below Thunderbolt is ayam rite?
hahahahaha...

A Samsung 23"...how can a SAMSUNG suck so bad?!!!!!  vmad.gif

as long as the monitor is not something priced at 3099 i think i can still manage.... brows.gif

u r looking for a new monitor as well?
i was looking at the thunderbolt display but i think i'll stick to my plan to upgrade my tablet first. currently using a samsung sa950.

if you're looking for hires monitors, it's either dell or the thunderbolt display, but i just have this thing against dell.
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:31 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Sep 28 2011, 11:30 PM)
THIS is what windows show me  cry.gif

3GB of ram...

[attachmentid=2458510]

Anyone could help me ?? i had install 2GB x 2 d..Both kingston ram... sad.gif
32bit windows. it'll only utilize 3gb ram ._o you sure it showed 4gb when using your old sticks?

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 28 2011, 11:35 PM
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:36 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2011, 11:28 PM)
You can run up to 2560x1440 on the U271I although the  2011 Mini can only output that kind of resolution over Thunderbolt, so you'll have to find a Thunderbolt-to-DVI adapter to use with the U2711. Otherwise, it's 1920x1200 over HDMI, which is plenty. RM2699 for the U2711.
you could also use a thunderbolt to displayport cable (or rather mini dp to full dp cable) correct? because iirc the u2711 has a full dp port.
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:43 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

between trying to work on a logo for a client, playing catherine on the ps3 and replying to this thread, my brain is in a bigger jumble than ever atm #_#

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Sep 28 2011, 11:36 PM)
Previously, i had install 2GB x 1 and 1GB x 1 ...thats why 3GB...

But today i already upgrade the 1GB stick to 2GB thats why total of 4GB of ram...but still in window show me 3GB of ram

But in OSX it shows me, i got 4GB of ram which is fine for me...Thats why i wondering why windows only show me 3GB of ram instead i got 4GB plug-in since 32Bit windows support 4GB ram ... hmm.gif
osx is a 64 bit .. well os. while your windows is currently 32bit. it'll only utilize up to 3gb of ram.

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2011, 11:35 PM)
I too have the "bleh" kinda vibe from Dell, but for the buck, I got lotsa bang. I could pick a more renown (not necessarily better) brands like NEC Multisync or HP Dreamcolor models, but their prices are cost-prohibitive.
ditto. but i myself can't deny the fact that for cost effectiveness, dell topples the rest. if only samsung would update their hi-res lineups soon.

codicil*

if you're interested -

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/140523428703

a forumer posted links for those before. i got a pair for my little cousin's set up and it works nicely. just be sure to tuck away the cables neatly. they're oogleh tongue.gif

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 28 2011, 11:47 PM
olivur
post Sep 28 2011, 11:53 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ Sep 28 2011, 11:47 PM)
Huh?? Oh..gosh... cry.gif
yeah, even if on ms' site it states the following -

there's a clear difference between what it'll recognize, and utilize. the latter is what you're seeing, which is 3~gb
olivur
post Sep 29 2011, 08:47 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,277 posts

could you state the exact model of your 23" samsung? samsung isn't exactly "cap ayam" >_<"

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0234sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:25 PM