4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc

xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 07:40 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

i took the plunge for a Mac Mini Base model...
now i m thinking of sumbat-ing an SSD inside the Mac Mini...
before i decide on which model...
The SATA inside Mac mini is the SATA III 6Gbps rite?
So it can fully utilize a Vertex III or equivalent rite?
xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 07:51 PM

7,214 posts

Thank you for the poison, Captain!

xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 10:31 PM

7,214 posts

HELP NEEDED!!!!!!!!!!

I've just connected my mac mini to my current monitor using HDMI....
and to my horror....
the graphics sucks!
But when i use the HDMI->DVI and use my DVI-D cable...the display is perfect...
i tot HDMI would have the same output as the DVI?
hmm.gif

Help please? Bcoz i need the DVI port for my Windows PC! cry.gif
xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 10:39 PM

7,214 posts

EVERYTHING! cry.gif

of coz fonts are the most obvious...
icons...even the background!
even the desktop couldn't fit into my monitor!

HDMI is THAT bad?

help?
xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 10:51 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2011, 10:49 PM)
For the "desktop not fitting on the screen", go to the Display tab on your System Preferences, pick the right HDMI resolution and slide the underscan meter until it fits.

As for the background/fonts looking like crap, I don't look at my HDTV at close range so it doesn't bother me. You can try changing the Color Profile, also under the Display tab in System Preferences.

I came from DVI and moved to HDMI, and after some retweaks using the TV remote with regards to sharpness/contrast/hue/color, I get to what I "prefer" to be my own optimum viewing settings.
Thanks for the suggestion String!
Tried all of those and still...the output is crap! sad.gif
i guess i need a new monitor!
brows.gif
xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 11:07 PM

7,214 posts

The fonts have this halo like thing around them...
and damn it's annoying!

I've tried font smoothing...still crap...

i m using ayam monitor only... biggrin.gif

xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 11:16 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 28 2011, 11:12 PM)
you've no idea how much i'm inclined to strangle you right now. lol so are we searching for a new monitor now?
anything below Thunderbolt is ayam rite?
hahahahaha...

A Samsung 23"...how can a SAMSUNG suck so bad?!!!!! vmad.gif

as long as the monitor is not something priced at 3099 i think i can still manage.... brows.gif

u r looking for a new monitor as well?
xandman
post Sep 28 2011, 11:19 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 28 2011, 11:15 PM)
Monitors, there's only two I can recommend. Apple's Thunderbolt Display or Dell Ultrasharp U2711 IPS panel. HDTV? My Bravia Z workhorse still works its magic. tongue.gif
Thunderbolt Display would be out of the question for the time being....
the Dell however...is interesting! hmm.gif
xandman
post Sep 29 2011, 07:28 AM

7,214 posts

i too have to agree that Dell is never in any list considered a Bling Factor...but the prices are very encouraging!
i was thinking the price is 1k+ for the 27"...but at 2299...
i might as well stretch a bit for the Thunderbolt! =D
but...
there's always a but...
the Thunderbolt display can only be connected to 1 Mac! doh.gif
So basically if i take the thunderbolt display...i can consider throwing away my WIndows PC! =(

Any other good monitor suggestions for 1920 x 1200?
Or any monitor with Dual DVI-D will make me very happy!
notworthy.gif

Added on September 29, 2011, 7:30 amOh damn me!
I m looking at the Dell website now and they have the 1920x1200 with 2 DVI-D ports! sweat.gif
BUT....
the price is almost like the 27"! doh.gif

This is not good!

This post has been edited by xandman: Sep 29 2011, 07:30 AM
xandman
post Sep 29 2011, 08:49 AM

7,214 posts

2370HD?
thats ayam rite?
sweat.gif

Now i cannot concentrate at work thinking of the IPS DELL!

vmad.gif
xandman
post Sep 29 2011, 09:54 AM

7,214 posts

Hey thanks olivur!
I'll give that a try first then I'll decide if i need a new monitor!
rclxms.gif

U r a lifesaver!

xandman
post Sep 29 2011, 01:51 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ Sep 29 2011, 01:39 PM)
just pull out your credit card, browse to here
http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/product...centPopular,rk:

ka ching! all done! concentrate on making new money
only RM1999, the connection you got here is really good
*hint, Apple thunderbolt display share same panel as U2711

why you need dual DVI-D for 1920X1200 display?
no need for that

Added on September 29, 2011, 1:39 pmplus 3 year warranty, any dead pixel can change

Added on September 29, 2011, 1:41 pmor http://accessories.ap.dell.com/sna/product...centPopular,rk:

for rm799, i think is quite decent
eh?
1999?
not 2299 meh?
how come only 1999?
xandman
post Sep 29 2011, 09:40 PM

7,214 posts

After tried the suggestion in Olivur's reply...
now i can smile back...
the display is ok!
Phew! Save some bucks here!
Anyway after calibrating the monitor...i m very close to the display on my MBP... rclxm9.gif
Just that the colours are too saturated...
can advice me where to change the colour settings? i m stumped! doh.gif

xandman
post Sep 30 2011, 09:40 AM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 29 2011, 11:17 PM)
tu la. belum apa apa dah cakap your old samsung cap ayam. ada ke!

you mean colour profile?

system pref > displays > colour tab. you could do a minor calibration but usually choosing the right colour profile does the trick.
I did the calibration.
But the saturated colour is still there...
sad.gif

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 29 2011, 11:37 PM)
If your Samsung is an HDTV, you can only change color profile on the Mac. Further color calibration is via remote of your TV.
owh ok!
i'll check on the TV settings!
Thanks!

Added on September 30, 2011, 9:56 amJust wondering...
will a calibration device such as Spyder help with my problem?

This post has been edited by xandman: Sep 30 2011, 09:56 AM
xandman
post Sep 30 2011, 03:51 PM

7,214 posts

sad.gif
i guess sooner or later i'll get a proper monitor...
i just cant stand monitors with weird looking colours...
xandman
post Sep 30 2011, 04:20 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 30 2011, 04:04 PM)
My Bravia Z aint "proper" by any standards, I go back to my U2711 for that. Maybe you've worked with properly calibrated monitors before this and expect the same when you're switching over to HDTVs? That is practically impossible. Reason being, monitors are designed with the user in mind scrutinizing the image on screen at close distance, like when you're using it with a computer. An HDTV is not designed that way, you're supposed to view it from a distance, therefore close scrutiny will always reveal flaws and imperfection that will stall your photo/video processing workflow.
yeah i think so.
I m spoilt by my previous 24" Ultrasharp....
cry.gif

xandman
post Sep 30 2011, 10:21 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 30 2011, 05:53 PM)
previous? what'd you do to it ._.
it was not the new generation of Ultrasharp...
a bit ancient...
so i sold it off...
hahahahaha....

xandman
post Oct 1 2011, 11:21 AM

7,214 posts

Hi guys.
I decided to do a little projectt his morning....
And this is what i got...

But i got a little problem....

xandman
post Oct 1 2011, 11:29 AM

7,214 posts

Wahahahahaha.
But somehow not as fast as ur Vertex 3. i m using Force 3.
But thats more than what i really need!
Thanks for the awesome poison!
xandman
post Oct 1 2011, 12:51 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Oct 1 2011, 11:43 AM)
sirens.

anyways xandman, when you said that the led doesn't light up do you mean when it first starts up or when it's in sleep mode?
codicil*
stringfellow - October has arrived. the 5th beckons!
during normal running!
hahahaha...
now my mini is some sort "buta"...
doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0459sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:00 PM