Hardware General Mac Upgrade Discussion, Ram, HHD, OS/updates, Cable, Driver etc
BRY7
Jul 22 2011, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(jhonsonlee @ Jul 22 2011, 12:17 PM) I'm planning to purchase my first Apple OS X pc Which is better Macbook Pro of Macbook Air I would like to know should I upgrade the memory via apple or self upgrade which is cheaper ? And should I upgrade the warranty to 3 years ? you have to specify your usage then you will know which hardware is better for you. no point asking here which is better because both is for different purpose. ram can self upgrade for MBP but MBA can't self upgrade. if you're planning to stick to this mac for a long time, then get Apple Care. if not don't bother getting one
BRY7
Jul 25 2011, 12:20 AM
Anyone tried the new OCW electra 6G ssd? Saw the benchmark, it's the same as vertex 3
BRY7
Jul 26 2011, 12:13 PM
That's the right way
BRY7
Jul 28 2011, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(setoyo @ Jul 28 2011, 06:50 PM) Hai there, Still undecided to buy which ram... Mushkin - saw in selling thread got reseller here. It had 2 type, 1 apple certificate cost 2xx, the 1 normal notebook just rm98 Of course I'm on budget, will get the normal one, but any issue? Any mushkin user? ask them to let you try first, test it then if theres no problem then its gonna be fine
BRY7
Jul 28 2011, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(setoyo @ Jul 28 2011, 10:24 PM) Been searching for review and Just order mine, OWC 8.0GB(4.0GB+4.0GB Kit) PC8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM Memory... Next SSD...  you got it directly form OWC? if yes, which shipping method?
BRY7
Jul 28 2011, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(setoyo @ Jul 28 2011, 10:55 PM) Yes directly... Took the $5.... and wait... haha... The cheapest rate... Saw past post from other forumer that order OWC too.. How many days? I didn't purchase it because of the shipping. Cheapest one doesn't have tracking number. Many cases of USPS International went missing
BRY7
Aug 2 2011, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 2 2011, 05:31 PM) yes those kingston ram should work. if possible, bring ur MBP along and request them to test out the RAM 1st, just in case bro, is mushkin recommended?
BRY7
Aug 8 2011, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(setoyo @ Aug 8 2011, 03:26 PM) My 8gb ram from OWC just arrived! After 10 days on the road. Hehe... The best to test ram, using REMBER right? Or are they any tools to test the ram? Thanks in advance... Which shipping method did you use?
BRY7
Aug 16 2011, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(freezadwar @ Aug 16 2011, 08:05 PM) lol cannot compare like that. ssd and ram different thing. but agree, quite expensive, even for a 128gb one. but performance, gonna be fast Ram is around RM250 SSD is around RM600 for 120GB Price different is not too bad, can bare with it
BRY7
Aug 17 2011, 05:29 PM
wow just found out that the upgrade is so cheap! gonna drop by one of the computer shops this weekend. reagrding optibay, does it void the warranty?
BRY7
Aug 18 2011, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Aug 18 2011, 11:38 AM) since i saw this forum regarding upgrading of ram from 2GBx2 to 4GBx2 at only less than RM200, i also would like to upgrade mine. My MBP is mid 2009, do u think i can upgrade to 8GB? so following this thread, getting Kingston KTA is good? My current RAM is DDR3 1067mhz, so getting 1066 would be confirmed suitable? just bring your laptop to the store to test it out with the rams. it costs around RM150 for the upgrade. but 1067 is rarely in stocks now, i went around DM and LYP today only a few stores have them
BRY7
Aug 18 2011, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 18 2011, 06:30 PM) That means 1070 MHz DDR3 also can. :-) are you sure theres such thing?
BRY7
Aug 19 2011, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Aug 19 2011, 07:48 AM) do u think 1333 is suitable? it works but apple care told me that its not as stable as 1066
BRY7
Aug 19 2011, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(wintzen @ Aug 19 2011, 01:26 PM) Anyhow, I think they will still capped the speed back to 1066 right? yes, thats the thing causing it to be not as stable as the right one
BRY7
Aug 19 2011, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(uniquexme @ Aug 19 2011, 04:37 PM) KTA-MB1066/4G for RM109/pc is it ok to buy for my mid2009 Mbp? quite pricy, the market price should be RM68-90/pc
BRY7
Aug 24 2011, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Aug 24 2011, 02:29 AM) not necessary. it's just cheap haha. stil can wait la, it'll be expensive when DDR4 starts to hit the market. dunno when curious, 2x2gb ddr3 now how much ya? i think around RM50+/stick
BRY7
Aug 24 2011, 08:48 AM
does ram with bigger capacity requires more battery power? :s
BRY7
Aug 24 2011, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 24 2011, 03:42 PM) Well, 2 sticks of RAM will use double the power of 1 stick of RAM. 1 stick 4GB vs 2GB, that I don't know, maybe just a little more. this makes sense, but I'm comparing 2x2GB and 2x4GB
BRY7
Aug 25 2011, 08:23 AM
QUOTE(Kenny_Yong_9 @ Aug 25 2011, 05:06 AM) [attachmentid=2404643] Hi, currently using MBP 2011, I bought on June. My MBP is it max can support 16gb ram? total 4 slots? Why I viewed online the ram for ddr3 1333 is around rm124 for 1x4gb? from others member 4gb+4gb only for around 150 max? theres 2 slots. for 16GB, you need to get 2 sticks of 8GB you'll seldom see 8GB in stores, have to order online
BRY7
Aug 25 2011, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(x-199Tx @ Aug 25 2011, 08:24 AM) expensive also ... pokai ... but i dont think its necessary to do until 16gb try funding to upgrade to ssd lor yea, 8GB is already more than enough. the cost of 16GB DDR3 1333 is almost RM 3000