Pet Help My dog, pomeranian non-stop barking in the midnigt

Sashan
post Apr 7 2009, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(cheryl_t @ Apr 7 2009, 08:59 AM)
My dog, pomeranian always non-stop bark in the midnight, 2-3am.. No matter how i scold and bit it, it still the same..
It only stop barking when i come down from my room, once i off the living room light (it sleep in cage at living room) and go back to my room, then it start to bark AGAIN.

Someone told me tat just let it bark and it will stop after awhile, coz it know tat no matter how, owner oso wont "choi" it. But it is quite annoying since it bark in the midnight, the next day my family and i still need to work  cry.gif

I duno whether it wan to sleep with me, coz sometimes i cant tahan it, then will bring it to my room. Then... it STOP barking.
Anyone can help me to solve tis problem? Thanks  notworthy.gif
Muzzling the dog overnight = bad idea. It can't drink water, and will be very uncomfortable. If your muzzle is too small he can't open his mouth to breath properly either. Muzzles are only for short term use (usually when being handled by a stranger eg. vet/groomer)

Anyway muzzling a dog isnt going to help with the noise. He won't bark. But he will start whining. Which is more irritating.

Since he is caged up all day, and only let out for a few hrs while you are home, then caged again while you sleep, its pretty obvious that he doesnt like to be caged. Who would? How big is your cage? Is there space for him to walk, stretch, turn around and stand properly? If not, you need a better enclosure.

Try to lock him in a room at night with his water/bed and toilet (if hes toilet trained), otherwise, let him out in the garden after dinner until you want to sleep then put him back in the house. He will do his business outside and won't want to do it in the night. (Adult dogs can do this, puppies need to go more regularly and will need a litter box). Don't lock him in the cage, sounds like he hates it. For all you know during the day hes disturbing your neighbours by howling no end. You don't know because you arent home

If you don't want to let him run in the room freely at night, then buy a wire enclosure and close up a corner of your living room at night. Then he will be able to run around a bit and play by himself

Remember a dog is not a toy you can keep in the cupboard and take out only when you want to play with it. No living animal likes to be caged or tied up with no freedom to move about comfortably.

This post has been edited by Sashan: Apr 7 2009, 04:24 PM
Sashan
post Apr 20 2009, 07:46 AM

Got a pom or spitz cross, adult dog. No probs at all with barking (thank god) smile.gif
Sashan
post Apr 23 2009, 10:39 PM

The caps make my eyes bleed sad.gif

0.0167sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:40 AM