6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Guitars Choosing a good electric guitar for beginners, which type, brand, model is good ?

TSxMika
post Apr 6 2009, 08:04 PM, updated 17y ago

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

Personally, I prefer playing rock genre music. But my friend told me that if I was to start learning, better start with acoustic 1st because the string is easier to play with. Anyway, I was going to get myself an electric guitars. Anyone have recommendations of electric guitars for newbie ? Which brand/ type to choose ? My budget is around RM800. ( If possible, including amps ) - see page 2.

This post has been edited by xMika: Apr 7 2009, 05:26 PM
zeroglyph
post Apr 6 2009, 10:32 PM

woot!!! senior member now?
1,255 posts

1st off, your friend knows nuts!

electric is a lot easier to play than acoustic because of the lower action. however, acoustic helps you play more cleanly. so pick your target, easy and sloppy or hard and precise.

there's to many thread regarding newbies electric guitars, just browse through.
Sevenfold
post Apr 6 2009, 10:42 PM

211 posts

i think we are the same xmika, i have the acoustic guitar (i buy last 5 years ago but never playing it.. lol) but i start learning with electric guitar.. i dont like to play acoustic guitar at all, yeah i realize that some of my friends told me that to start playing guitar with acoustic guitar but who care and i just buy a new electric guitar last week and keep practise with my new guitar..
zariqcools
post Apr 6 2009, 10:50 PM

Kerr
711 posts

particularly electric is easier aver acoustic.but a lot of people would opt for an acoustic first before switching to electric.if me i would learn an acoustic first
Fuuko Master
post Apr 6 2009, 11:43 PM

39 posts

No point learning on acoustic first if you prefer songs that use the electric. Go for electric guitar. No question about it.

If you're thinking you have to learn on acoustic before you can deserve an electric, think again. My friends are all to familiar with the acoustic, they suck on the electric. All that time spent playing on the acoustic could've been used to familiarize yourself with the electric, if you prefer playing power chords and nail crazy solos.
CyberianHusky
post Apr 6 2009, 11:50 PM

263 posts

buy electric terus lah while the money is still there.
zeroglyph
post Apr 7 2009, 12:05 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Fuuko Master @ Apr 6 2009, 11:43 PM)
No point learning on acoustic first if you prefer songs that use the electric. Go for electric guitar. No question about it.
If you're thinking you have to learn on acoustic before you can deserve an electric, think again. My friends are all to familiar with the acoustic, they suck on the electric. All that time spent playing on the acoustic could've been used to familiarize yourself with the electric, if you prefer playing power chords and nail crazy solos.
yes, i bet your friends that started out with acoustic can play cleaner than you(if they can't, then it's their fault).
playing slow & clean>>>>>playing fast but sloppily.

your argument is like saying, "we should start learning to drive with auto-transmission, it's much easier than manual". yes, it's been proven pointless many times over.

Fuuko Master
post Apr 7 2009, 12:46 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Apr 7 2009, 12:05 AM)
yes, i bet your friends that started out with acoustic can play cleaner than you(if they can't, then it's their fault).

your argument is like saying, "we should start learning to drive with auto-transmission, it's much easier than manual". yes, it's been proven pointless many times over.
Um, no they can't. You were saying?

And no, that's not what my argument is saying. That's what you assume it is saying, but it is not. Who in their right mind would think that anyway? Did I even mention the word "easier"? And I don't get why suddenly it's compared with car transmission, but if you insist, it should be "if we're going to drive auto anyways and won't be using manual, we should start learning to drive with auto". Your analogy is way off. hmm.gif

To thread starter: Read this article if you want an expert opinion. The choice is yours.

This post has been edited by Fuuko Master: Apr 7 2009, 01:04 AM
m3er
post Apr 7 2009, 01:50 AM

298 posts

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Apr 7 2009, 12:05 AM)

ive never heard anything about 'starting on acoustic guitar' would make u play cleaner.
which music school did u pick that line up?
TSxMika
post Apr 7 2009, 01:56 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

Thank you Fuuko Master for that link. Really useful.

Can help me take a look at this SX Guitar pack ?
Is it good/decent for a beginner ?

http://www.cmmusic.com.my/index.php?act=vi...&productId=1168

Thank you.
m3er
post Apr 7 2009, 02:02 AM

298 posts

how much is your budget?

Added on April 7, 2009, 2:03 amu never play guitar right?
i think ok la for someone who wants to learn basic things.

This post has been edited by m3er: Apr 7 2009, 02:03 AM
TSxMika
post Apr 7 2009, 02:04 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

Around RM800. More or less.

Added on April 7, 2009, 2:04 amYeah, new learner here biggrin.gif Decided to get on with electric guitar.

This post has been edited by xMika: Apr 7 2009, 02:04 AM
m3er
post Apr 7 2009, 02:07 AM

298 posts

but i think for 800 u can get a better alternative.
wait for others opinion.
TSxMika
post Apr 7 2009, 02:09 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

Yeap, I'll be doing some research before buying. Researching now smile.gif
Anyone got suggestion ? Electric guitar pack for newbie >.<

Researching about amps now. Fender Pro Junior is the best ? Need sometime to have a check.

How about Ibanez Jumpstart package ? Around RM850. Should be able to get some discount or freebies:D

This post has been edited by xMika: Apr 7 2009, 02:29 AM
zeroglyph
post Apr 7 2009, 09:07 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(Fuuko Master @ Apr 7 2009, 12:46 AM)
Um, no they can't. You were saying?

And no, that's not what my argument is saying. That's what you assume it is saying, but it is not. Who in their right mind would think that anyway? Did I even mention the word "easier"? And I don't get why suddenly it's compared with car transmission, but if you insist, it should be "if we're going to drive auto anyways and won't be using manual, we should start learning to drive with auto". Your analogy is way off.  hmm.gif
To thread starter: Read this article if you want an expert opinion. The choice is yours.
as i said it's their fault.

but, then you can't get a licensed without knowing how to drive manually, can you? i believe my analogy is somewhat valid(it's an analogy, it doesn't have to be dead accurate).

QUOTE(m3er @ Apr 7 2009, 01:50 AM)
ive never heard anything about 'starting on acoustic guitar' would make u play cleaner.
which music school did u pick that line up?
i never said "'starting on acoustic guitar' would make u play cleaner".

i said "starting from acoustic makes you "learn" how to play cleaner". i've seen to many guitarist playing power chord that cannot even play a full chord properly. even papa hetfield admit that he was having trouble to play an acoustic cleanly when recording fade to black.
CyberianHusky
post Apr 7 2009, 09:17 AM

263 posts

with ur budget dont limit yourself to some "newbie" or "jumpstart" Package.

There are a lot of alternatives that u can mix and match to get your money's worth.

Pay a visit to Woh Fatt, CK Music, Bentley - Mutiara Damansara then u can see a huge varietis to pick from.
Sadru
post Apr 7 2009, 10:10 AM

1,062 posts

i strongly suggest you try checking out SX guitar/ yamaha pacifica guitar, and yes try seek for a secondhand guitar at the garage place too!
and for the amp, try search for microcube. its among the best amp for starters ^^

if u check the garage sales carefully, burgercis are selling the microcube amp for RM330, so u would have another 470 for the guitar. try squeeze a little bit more on the guitar.

This post has been edited by Sadru: Apr 7 2009, 10:11 AM
Namqul
post Apr 7 2009, 10:15 AM

790 posts

acoustic or electric? treat both differently. for example,

F1 racing is not the same as rally
mountain bike is not the same as bmx

well, at least thats the way i look at it

SUSPVCpipe
post Apr 7 2009, 10:29 AM

custom made
1,362 posts

i think..... its bout the song u want to play..... usually people go for acoustic(low end) bcoz its cheap, compare to electric(low end), plus u have to buy extra stuff for e.guitar, the cable/amp... i have an acoustic guitar, but i want to learn play jrock, so i hardly use my guitar, but my bass...

This post has been edited by PVCpipe: Apr 7 2009, 10:31 AM
blacktrix
post Apr 7 2009, 10:33 AM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Ok, chiming in with my 2 Cents........

I started off with an acoustic, and it really helped my finger dexterity. Yes, I also agree that you "learn" how to play cleaner, as you really need to focus on what strings and how hard you hit them. But if you're sloppy on the acoustic then you just carry over the same traits over to the electric. It's easier to "hide" your mistakes on the electric, because of the thinner strings, lower actions and a mountain of distortion to go over it, plus you don't have to fret so hard because it's amplified.

On the other hand, things like scales and solos are definitely easier to learn on the electric and you'll just frustrate yourself with them on an acoustic. I'm not saying you CAN'T solo, quite the opposite (Paco De Lucia? Al DiMeola? McLaughlin?)...... but you'll need much more practice and longer to develop those kinds of skills.

So back to the task at hand, congrats on deciding to pick up an Electric...... I would suggest checking out the Yamaha Pacifica and their starter sets as they make some really nice guitars. If you want to buy them separately, you can always get the yamaha pacifica (Maybe around the RM450 price mark) and then our favorite little practice amp, the Roland Microcube (Around RM350). The rest of the left over cash you can get cables, a tuner, a strap, a few picks (you'll ALWAYS lose them) and a spare set of strings.

We used to recommend the SX guitars, but these days, it's more of a lucky draw on getting a good guitar..... some I've tried lately are just horrendous. Yamaha at least is quite standard.

You can get the Yamaha at beatspot and the Roland microcube at Bentley, or just give our forumer DeadEye a PM and see if he can get you a good deal on those.

Good luck, and Rock on!

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:33 AM