4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Business ACCA V5!, Long live bean counters! :D

kelvinbadroyal
post Aug 22 2009, 01:46 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(Chewychew @ Aug 19 2009, 11:31 PM)
kelvinbadroyal and carlosandy Thank for your opinions......  thumbup.gif
welcome..
juz try to resit her class again.. and do put more effort on this paper..
like what i shared here was that, i only did 75 marks for the paper, and yet, scored 51 marks, but for Q3, i just simply write smth on that question.
nothing is impossible, just you have to turn the impossible to become possible.
i didn't mean you can simply attempt 75 marks in the exam and leave the exam hall, but at least you had covered all the important topics such as IAS 19, 12, 32/39, IFRS 2, 3, 21&29, 36, 37, 38 etc. those are the stds that might appeared in the consol question. attempt all the questions even though you don't know how to do it. a simple bluffing answer can award you with 2-3 marks if you were at the verge to pass this paper.

besides, is this the 1st time you sit for p2?
in fact i failed in the 1st attempt with 44 marks, cos i din study IAS21&29 which caused me didn't know how to do the FOREX adjustment, and that adjustment was about 6 marks.
remember menon's advise, no matter pass or fail, life goes on. you cant make it this time, you will make it next time, and believe you can do it too.

Added on August 22, 2009, 1:58 am
QUOTE(angelgurl @ Aug 20 2009, 02:28 PM)
quite painful to take p2 again.. broad syllabus and std always change..
good luck in ur p1 this sitting! =P

Hey btw, anyone know if stds had change from previous sitting? i heard is only change once a year rite..
not only u faced the failure, most of my friends failed too.
so what you need to do right now is, sign up menon's resit class immediately.
attended all her lectures, do not simply skip any classes.
self study in P2 will not make you pass this paper.
eg, menon mentioned FULL GOODWILL will not be examined for DEC 2008 & JUNE 2009, but, the examiner examined it, and good enough, menon still go through FULL GW method in piecemeal acquisition with us.

anyway, DEC 2009 for P2 is the last chance to pass, since the revised stds are not examinable yet, which will be examined in JUNE 2010. so hope you can pass this paper as soon as possible, dun let this paper to be your nightmare. good luck for your P2 and so my P1.. hahahaha..

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Aug 22 2009, 01:58 AM
kelvinbadroyal
post Nov 4 2009, 07:33 PM

158 posts

anyone kno how to transfer from kuching sunway Tes to KL sunway Tes? wats the procedures? 10x in advance

kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 9 2009, 07:47 PM

158 posts

f8 down! f9 n p1 to go!

hope tis time can really clear my F papers..
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 9 2009, 11:17 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(ccjj1234 @ Dec 9 2009, 09:58 PM)
how is today 's f8? harder or not ? I have so many friends took f8 in the afternoon... hopeful they can pass tiz time. rolleyes.gif
erm, its answerable.. i wrote more than enough for all the small parts especially part (a) of each question.
and did attend every part too, although missed out few marks in the section, but at least i wrote smth there (perhaps tats for the purpose of lenient marks to pass, haha)
not like last time, skipped at least 16 to 20 marks totally blank for some parts of the question.

kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 12:00 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 9 2009, 11:55 PM)
omg those system were not like usual for me, internal controls in kitchen??
alot of 4m and 6m question, I did almost 90% of the question, those 4 mark question i wrote like 4-6 lines only while those 6m question i only wrote around 10 lines...
i think i'll fail...  sad.gif
this paper is totally out of alan lewin's style.
a lot of knowledge questions appeared.
anyway, u have done ur best, the rest, leave it to God, keep up with the paper leftover.

lol, internal control in the kitchen, i wrote mgmt should adopt the policy of cleanliness and command every worker to follow.
and the way to make sure it is satisfied, visit the premise's kitchen, and ensure tat the policies and controls are put in place.
i dunno tis correct or not.

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 10 2009, 12:04 AM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 07:36 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 07:20 PM)
Wow, F9 was challenging, and tricky.

Like how the examiner combine forex with TERP calculation, and he includes right issue costs as well.

And Q3, 9 marks question was a killer.

Apart from that, I screwed up a very simple NPV calculation, put one expenses a year later, for the next 4 years, would I be penalized for wrong Net cash flow, wrong Present value and wrong NPV?
but the calculations are quite easy tis time. especially Q1 & Q2.
but Question 1's requirement is very confusing.
i was confused by part (a) n part (b). cos the term used is the same, like part (a) buy or lease, part (b) oso the same, buy the technology using NPV method.
wat the heck, i did (a) n (b) adversely, luckily when i read the question carefully, i managed to identify the differences, n then put the NPV as part (b) in 1st page n then buy or lease as (b) in 2nd page.

besides, not enough time to finish the paper! i left 3 marks blankly in Q1, and 12 marks blankly in Q4. other 2 questions, managed to finished all.
doh.gif

kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 07:44 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 07:40 PM)
Ya, I was seriously confused also, for part A and B, LOL

I had 15 mins left for the last 12 marks, wasted alot of time trying to balance the SOFP LOL, so the last 12 marks wasn't well attempted.
i din even try to balance the SOFP. state down the figure and the workings n then back to 9 marks of hedging approach.
besides, tats damn tricky.
our time is reli tight in the exam, n the examiner keeps on fooling around with us!

can u even finish the whole paper?

kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 11:29 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 07:48 PM)
Sort of, I rushed through the last 12 marks in 15 minutes, panic already, couldn't even remember definition of aggresive WC policy at first LOL

Added on December 10, 2009, 9:12 pm

Aiya, internal control in kitchen, don't need F8 knowledge to answer that, just tell all the crews and staffs to maintain high standard of hygiene and personal cleanliness, that is also a control.
lol, u stated control oni, the question oso asked EA to carry out the procedures to satisfy himself tat the control is in place. haha.
anyway, tis question reli not need F8 knowledge la.
the key word is poor quality of food prepared, very obvious tat the food is not hygiene at all.
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 11:37 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 10:56 PM)
LOL, it won't be called a BS if it's not balanced LOL. I did this type of question before, and yeap, the SOFP supposed to be balanced, basically you can simply put the OD figure as the balancing figure which is indeed the right answer, but the examiner has mentioned before, no marks will be given for the OD marks because you are supposed to show some workings on how you derive the OD figure apart from taking the balancing figure
lol, guess tat u will be taking p2 next sem rite?

Added on December 10, 2009, 11:42 pm
QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 11:31 PM)
Just assume increase in WC financed by OD, so somehow it's really a balancing figure, but you still need to show it, that OD part won't carry much mark, and assume the profit reduces the OD.

Added on December 10, 2009, 11:33 pm

Yeap, for that, I mention "auditor observing if cleanliness have been practiced, or review local municipal council report, as they usually perform cleanliness check on restaurants"/

Ya, obviously if food is not hygiene, we need to implement control to ensure that it IS hygiene lol
but tat answer is awarded for 1 mark, so i juz simply stated down "observation" as an audit procedure. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 10 2009, 11:42 PM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 10 2009, 11:59 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2009, 11:45 PM)
Haha, yeap, that means I have to put in full effort for my F7, because in the worst case scenario, if I were to fail F7, I'll have to drop P2.

I thought they wanted 2 controls and 2 ways of testing that the control is in place? Did you really put one word - "observation" ? It's too vague lol, observe the pretty chef?  tongue.gif
f7 still can do check and balance la, haha.
but our lecturer even threaten us not to calculate final figure of SOFP in the class, not warn u kno? is threaten.
if he found tat we do tat, he will smash our calculator. haha.
but of cos, in the real exam, if u do hav extra time, u can do tis.

hwever in p2, tis is reli impossible. cant finish the whole damn paper, not to say check n balance the SOFP.

lol, i stated visit the premise's kitchen la, its oso a kind of "observation" rite?
if there are pretty chef cook, better "observe" in much more detail~
not going to let go any single corner.
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 11 2009, 12:23 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 11 2009, 12:16 AM)
Haha, my lecturer told me the same thing, no need to sum up the figure, just show up the numbers in bracket, final figure, if after finishing everything, still got time only punch the calculator
yeah, tats right, so, u left with F7?
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 11 2009, 01:52 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 11 2009, 12:48 AM)
Yeap, what about you?

Anyway I plan to do my OBU after the exam, any advice?
i left with P1 on monday.
haha, i think u can get some advice from topace111, he is good in this.
or try to pm him to get advices from him for your OBU.
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 11 2009, 11:23 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 11 2009, 01:55 AM)
Will do that,

All the best!
same to you too~
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 11 2009, 10:32 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(`twinkles @ Dec 11 2009, 05:39 PM)
Did any lecturers give any advice on which question to start first for F7 question? They always say don't start with Question 1 and 2 first. I just hope to get some guidance before the real exam because it has always been my style to start with the first question and follow with the other questions in the ascending order.

By the way, do we keep the ACCA exam docket after exam or we have to pass it to the invigilators?
it would be advisable for you to start your question in an ascending order.
if i am not mistaken, Q1-3 carry equal marks rite? therefore, if you want to pass this paper, master these 3 questions, then you will never fail this paper (even though you purposely wan to fail this paper, its difficult oso. lol)

invigilator will collect ur exam docket away right after your last paper.
as ACCA had clearly stated for a few decades, "THIS EXAMINATION ATTENDANCE DOCKET REMAINS THE PROPERTY OF ACCA".
unless you print a duplicate copy of exam attendance from myACCA. tongue.gif

Added on December 12, 2009, 8:22 amwhy the forum seems so quiet nowadays?

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 12 2009, 08:22 AM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 13 2009, 01:14 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(xcrue @ Dec 12 2009, 11:15 PM)
P1 tips~!!

Question 1

Identify and explain how a company can better comply with the Combined Code on Corporate Governance, the role of a corporate and social responsibility sub-committee, and something about the environment

Question 2

Importance and role of an Internal Audit department / function in the management of risk

Question 3

David Campbell's article in Student Accountant August 2009 about Internal and External Actors in a company

Question 4

A scenario question on ethics - different attitudes and appr
P1

-TARA Risk model
-Ethics
-Absolutist v relativsm
-Chairman and CEO powers need to be separate.
-CSR
-ISO 14001
-Important of internal control
-NEDs and remuneration committee
-Business Risk
-Gray Owens and Adams
-Sarbanes Oxley
-Disclosure requirement under Turnbull reports
-Discussing an ethical issue using the American Accounting Association Model
-Explaination of some of the 9 principles good governance
-Features of an effective control system
-Roles of diff committees at board level
-2 Tier v unitary board structure
may i kno where do u get ur tips for p1? is it reliable?
seriously, i m nt very well prepared for this damn paper, damn hate ethics. lol
so hope can rely on ur tips to survive a pass with this paper.
10x.

Added on December 13, 2009, 1:21 pm
QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 13 2009, 12:30 AM)
If Q1 is long case study or long question, it is not recommend to start it. In exam, always start with short and easy question, Q1 long case study question should be 2nd question. This is very important exam technique, expecially in P level cos all the 1st Q in P level is long case study question.
tats my technique in attending p2 exam.
i attended current issue 1st before go into consol. question.
n safely survived a pass mark for it. haha.
tis technique is so damn useful.

for p1 tomoro, i totally have no idea which question to start with 1st. sad.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 13 2009, 01:21 PM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 14 2009, 01:38 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(yyteik @ Dec 14 2009, 11:12 AM)
so if i start question 2 at first page of the booklet is ok izzit? the question answered need not follow the sequence right? just write the question number on top page and bubble it correct?
do remember to cancel out the 1st page with the ruler as a means of not a valid page as well.

Added on December 14, 2009, 7:35 pmP1 is quite difficult today.. especially Q1, the scenario is very long and vague, need to read for 2 or 3 times to understand the whole situation..

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 14 2009, 07:35 PM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 15 2009, 12:07 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(semivalue @ Dec 14 2009, 08:46 PM)
Macam Titanic
And the questions seem like you have limited chance of bullshitting around
reli cant bluffing at all.
it asked us to identify and analyse the failure of internal control.
wat the hell? i dunno what to write about oso.
besides, it such a damn long scenario, cant understand the scenario very well at 1st time, got to spend more time on understanding it.

luckily i spotted AAA model, with 14 marks, found totally no problem in tis section.
besides, oso spotted 2 tier board, threw in all the points and different btw unitary board and 2 tier board and then list down 2 advantages and 2 disadvantages of it and elaborate the points.

Added on December 15, 2009, 12:12 am
QUOTE(candicelkm @ Dec 14 2009, 11:27 PM)
My last paper too!!! ARR!!! P2 I WAN KILL U!!!!
all the best for your p2 ya.
PASS!

as for me, i m now enjoying my holidays rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by kelvinbadroyal: Dec 15 2009, 12:12 AM
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 15 2009, 03:40 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(carlosandy @ Dec 15 2009, 02:37 PM)
Who ask you to waste a lot of time in easiest one? Easiest must using less time to finish it, please control your time.

Who tell you examiner going to be frustrated when he sees u doing it here and there? There is no exam rules saying student must start Q1 as 1st Question or must finish Section A & baru to Section B. Hello, in your exam your can start with any question. Now is not SPM exam, you must have good planning for do the question.

I don't know what your lecturer tell u for exam technique, but majority of my lecturer also ask me to start with easiest question and DO NOT START WITH LONG QUESTION. 

As you just done mistake in P1, using 2 hours for Q1. Means that your time mgmt really not good. It was prove that Q1 need more time to do. It is better start with easiet q and finish it ASAP, go to Q1 in 2nd.

Btw, this is only my experience during I take ACCA, doesn't mean my tech is suitable for all student. ALWAY REMEMBER TIME MGMT IS IMPORTANT
lol, i started with Sec B 1st before go into Q1, left 1 hr and 15 mins to do Q1, end up, not enough time for Q1 at all. Couldn't fully attend the whole question.
but i did all the 50 marks for my Sec B as well.
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 19 2009, 12:18 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(candicelkm @ Dec 17 2009, 07:40 PM)
old pop,
I did not misunderstand your word and understand it clearly. I am really offended as u go around calling ppl whom do not like working question on Q1 first thinking in SPM level. Dun be so stubborn and going around degrading ppl. This is just a discussion and i refuse to find fault around here. There is an article written by examiner (forgotten which sitting) 'it is best to attempt questions in order than spending time thinking which question to be attempting 1st during the examination.' Are u calling the examiner thinking at SPM level as well?

Method of answering differs during the exam. I have no doubt that i would have done your method if i think Q1 is an impossible question. But if i feel Q1 is durable, i would have allocate sufficient time for it. No more further arguments about this alright? It is getting on my nerves the way u express yourself.
Yes, I do hate stubborn and thick minded ppl.
hei fellas, exam is over, dun keep go round about tis topic. stop the argument bout tis as well. we are here to give opinion, not to argue.
every lecturer has his/her way in teaching student to attempt the paper. students can either follow or not follow.
starting from either Sec A or B is not a matter, its just the matter of time management, not the biggest deal in the exam.
the most important is, how do you present your answer or do your answers meet the examiner's requirement. tat is what we should focus on in the exam.

even you start from either 1 question in Sec B, and go back to Sec A for the 50 marks question, it does not mean tat you will pass the paper, or whether you start with Sec A 50 marks question, does not meant tat you are going to fail the paper. PASS works both way if you really prepare for your exams.

indeed, i believe tat starting from Sec B, where most of the easiest question will appear from this section, it does give me confidence. however, tis is my method of attempting the paper. BUT, if i found 50 marks comprise more easy marks to gain, due to human nature, of cos i will start with 50 marks question n then go for Sec B. (but this will never appear in P level paper). What if there is no easy questions in the paper? which part are you going to start with? leave this to your own, cos i dunno as well. tongue.gif

in fact, using ascending order in attempting the paper will be doing examiners a good favor, but the examination board also claims that students can answer the question in random order, there is no offense to examination guidelines, no penalty will be imposed to the student. and, of cos SPM cannot compare with ACCA. if i m not mistaken, SPM candidates use scattered papers in writing the answer, but we ACCA students use answer booklet to write the answers, of cos its not easy to attempt the answer by using ascending order if you wish to start with Sec B question, unless you leave few pages for tat particular question.
* examiner is also a human being, he understands wat do students face when attempting the paper. besides, we pay so much DAMN POUND for the paper, dun you think you should make him work more by flipping the exam scripts? brows.gif

anyway, the exam is over, is time for us to have a good break, relax our exhausted physical and mind. and be prepared for the coming new semester.
cheers! smile.gif
kelvinbadroyal
post Dec 19 2009, 11:32 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(semivalue @ Dec 19 2009, 01:04 AM)
I feel that GTG is full of craps.
The only thing I like about GTG is they have synopsis. However I believe this could be made by anyone with a rational mindset.
I seriously don't know why Sunway patrionize them, but they only reason I could think of is because GTG is thick.
Anyway, this is just my personal preference.
Kinda regret that our college lecturer recommended us to buy this book from Sunway. I threw it away after read through a chapter. I guess our lecturer has the same mentality with Sunway as well - thick.

The best among 3, I would go for BPP.
However, they have craps inside as well, but not as much as GTG.
The best beyond these 3, are some notes which were produced by own lecturers - concentrate, and simple =) =)
lol, i dun even bother to read GTG textbook at all. sometime i dun even collect the textbook although i have paid my school fees. i wonder why my college, sunway will prefer this publisher as coursebook?
its so damn crapping and bulky. compare GTG to kaplan, i rather prefer kaplan, but compare to BPP, its the best among all.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0509sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:38 AM