Travel Club LYN Japan V2, 日本へようこそ!, Here we are! Nihon Yokoso!
Sep 5 2009, 09:29 PM
115 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Singapore |
Seems like quite a number of ppl are coming end of Sept around the time of Tokyo Game Show (Sept 24-27). Perhaps we can have a little gathering around that time?
Sep 6 2009, 09:00 AM
asuk: Nice pictures!
Sep 7 2009, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(yoko @ Sep 6 2009, 10:09 PM) Hi, everyone ^^, I would like to get some advice from your guys. If you search for the term budget and expenses in this thread; I think you'll find previous post on estimated daily budgets and also how much are the usual stuffs eg train rides, food.I am going to japan during october for 1 month, backpacking, total 3 persons. Planning to visit major cities in Japan, from Osaka all the way to Sapporo if possible. I wanted to know how much should i bring? Should i get Jr pass? How do i find value for money hotel or maybe a small room for my visit on each location for 3 ppls Is it easy for me to find washing facilities around japan since I dont think I have 1 month of cloth supply? What type of cloth should i wear during my visit? Hmm.. thats all for now, thanks alot^^ You should get JR Pass if you're planning to visit multiple cities. Since you have a month, you can split it up to 2 parts where you activate a 14days Rail Pass and cover places like Tokyo-Nikko-Sendai-Hakone-Nagoya-Kyoto-Osaka-Kobe and then you can travel by air to Fukuoka-Okinawa-Sapporo for the remaining 2 weeks. In Japan, accommodation is calculated by the number of person staying so it's not like back in Malaysia where you can get 1 room and cram 3-4 ppl in it. Thus, your cheapest cheapest option will most likely be hostels where you pay for beds or budget hotels. Google is your friend here and look up japanican, rakuten travel, japan-guide and wikitravel. All will have some information that'll get you started. There'll be plenty of coin-operated laundromat in most big cities so you should be fine. Since you're backpacking - I presume you'll know some of the backpacking tricks in traveling clean but light. Oct is still not extremely cold so normal long sleeves or perhaps a hoodies will be fine. The only place I can think if is that perhaps Hokkaido might be slightly colder. This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Sep 7 2009, 12:05 AM |
Sep 7 2009, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Sep 7 2009, 12:30 PM) Hey all, I'm going to Tokyo on the 17th - 22nd for my honeymoon, plane tix, hotel booking, visas all taken care of, I'd like to ask the people here on and recommendations for food in Tokyo area, good restaurants that are not too costly for the authentic Japanese food that you cannot find in Malaysia like ramen, oden, yakiniku and definitely kobe beef. The best restaurant I found by research online charges 20k-30k yen for kobe beef steak, I'm sure there are better options? Especially the small stores that don't have websites/didn't get blogged about. Congratulations on your honeymoon. Also since hubby and I are pretty much into the otaku scene, we'll definitely visit Akiba. So if there's any good food outlets in Akiba, do let me know. =D Thanks in advance. Also any particular otaku shop that's a "must visit"? Oh one more thing, anyone know the best courier/mail service to mail stuff back to Malaysia? I don't want to lug too much luggage back (expect to buy a lot of stuff) For relatively affordable Kobe Beef in Tokyo, you can try visiting Satou Steak House in Kichijoji. Here's a link with some pictures of the place (not my page but just info I found using Google) - http://tonkatsudelights.wordpress.com/2008...matsuzaka-beef/ Akiba - ask Firedauz... it's his second home (or sometimes arguably his first home). I personally love Hakata Ramen so if you have time - try looking for this ramen shop. Website - http://www.maru-kin.co.jp/ Japan Post has pretty affordable postage service so you might want to check it out. One piece of advice, go with the registered mail option or the International EMS if you can - I once sent a package via normal airmail without the registered mail option (supposedly should only take 6-13 days) but our Pos Malaysia damn efficient ... held it for more than 2 weeks (can see from the stamp on the parcel itself) and it arrived at my friend's place a month later. -.- Site - http://www.post.japanpost.jp/english/index.html This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Sep 7 2009, 01:16 PM |
Sep 7 2009, 03:43 PM
Sep 8 2009, 12:14 PM
QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Sep 8 2009, 12:04 PM) Can someone give me feedback on : If you're going from Narita to Tokyo direct; Suica+NEX is your best option. http://www.keisei.co.jp/keisei/tetudou/metropass/index.html vs http://www.jreast.co.jp/e/suica-nex/index.html please? I can't decide which to go for... Is it possible to get the Suica card by itself? I want to keep it as a souvenir. And yes, you can keep the Suica card as souvenir and reuse it when you come back in the future. It's valid for 10 years. As for the MetroPass, unless you're traveling on a lot of the Tokyo Metro subways; then it's worth it... but in general - I think just go for the SUICA instead for convenience. |
Sep 8 2009, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Sep 8 2009, 01:01 PM) About N'ex, I read that the ticket is only valid for 1 day, does that mean it's unlimited use for that one day or the ticket is considered used once I leave one station? Was thinking if it's possible to get the ticket to Yokohama then later use the same ticket to get back to Tokyo. Nope. The ticket is valid for 1 day which is the date of your purchase and is only a 1 time use. When you exit the station, you'll need to use the ticket to exit and won't get it back. So, in your case - you can go from Narita to Yokohama using NEX but you'll need to use your SUICA to get from Yokohama back to Tokyo. |
Sep 10 2009, 11:54 AM
Sep 14 2009, 10:34 PM
Sep 15 2009, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(chizzu @ Sep 14 2009, 01:32 AM) will be stopping by tokyo for a few days from 17-19 next week :3 - Usual survival tips - speak slow and simple english (most of them will be able to understand). anyone can help guide this poor soul who dunno how 2 speak japanese to survive in tokyo alone - Get your hands on the Tokyo Guide Map when you arrive in Narita or in any of the major train stations. This map will have directions to all the famous tourist areas as well as the super complex subway/railway map. - Food wise, most Japanese restaurant will have those plastic display outside of the shop or sometimes english/picture menu. Use that to your advantage. - Internet, if you're staying at ryokans or those budget hotels; some of them have Internet PCs at the lounge if not; then just look for any cybercafes and you might be just like matt85 who found more than just a cybercafe. If you have any other questions, just post them here. |
Sep 15 2009, 12:05 PM
For those who are coming during autumn... the reports for koyo has started.
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2014.html |
Sep 16 2009, 01:23 PM
QUOTE(kennyguy @ Sep 16 2009, 12:53 PM) Hi All, anyone staying in Kyoto? Want to know if I arrive kansai airport at 9pm. Is it very rush for me to catch a train to Kyoto? For example, Airport Express Haruka line. This link should give you the information you need. As you'll see, there's 2 trains you can catch if you arrive at 9pm which is the one at 9:31pm and another at 10:16pm. Hope this helps. http://www.hyperdia.com/cgi-english/hyperW...=1424&JP_MODE=0 |
Sep 16 2009, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(musha @ Sep 16 2009, 03:13 PM) anyone going back to malaysia on Chinese new year next year? which is 14th Feb 2010.. The last time I went back to Malaysia I flew Singapore Airlines codeshare with ANA to Changi then from Changi to LCCT via AirAsia. usually wat air ticket u all get? cheapest is how much?? I search JAL is around 80000yen return and MAS is 58800yen return It's a bit of a hassle but then it was the cheapest I could find. My entire round trip cost around 50,000 JPY. (48,000 was for the return tix from Narita to Changi). Plus, I get to lepak in Singapore for some time. |
Sep 16 2009, 07:08 PM
No problem. AirAsia return tix from SG to LCCT is dirt cheap if you book early so, if you have the spare time... it's worth it la~ can jalan-jalan summore.
Sep 16 2009, 10:12 PM
Sep 17 2009, 08:53 PM
Tanoshi - are you on ADSL plan? If you use the Hikari Fiber plans; you can get this -
![]() |
Sep 17 2009, 10:23 PM
Haha... this is like one of the main reasons why I love Japan.
The Internet speed here is just nice and fast with no bullshit throttling etc... This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Sep 17 2009, 10:24 PM |
Sep 17 2009, 11:05 PM
D-Tourist: Wow... really? Must be a really bad case of Internet connection then or the hotel's PC is f*cked.
Sep 20 2009, 09:55 AM
Ohh... I don't even know where exactly the Malaysian Embassy is. I only know it's like near Ebisu or something.
The gathering at the embassy is today issit? |
Sep 22 2009, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(tanoshi @ Sep 21 2009, 09:44 AM) Its in Shibuya lah dude! Ahhh~ that's nice bro! Bet you had fun makan eh? kenapa tak call? Me, my family, Musha and new nihon galfrens who can speak Malay and rest of the Malaysian is gathered in Embassy from morning till 5pm! Banyak kueh oooo..missing kampung huwaaaaaaaaaa! Unfortunately, Sunday I was a bit busy. Just came back from Kusatsu Onsen and man~~~ did you guys see the news on the traffic jam??? It was crazy. Luckily the highway that we drove on wasn't as bad; "only" 15km long jam... This post has been edited by PsyCHZZZ: Sep 22 2009, 07:44 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0413sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:20 AM |