19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Food Fine Wine, Whisky & Cigar, How many of you enjoy it

vlad123
post Jun 24 2011, 07:11 PM

23 posts

So far I've tried Whyte & Mckay Special and Teacher's Highland cream. I'm in London so i could get these quite easily. Looking forward to try Black label but they say Teachers is nicer than that so I got teachers instead. I like the Teacher's highland cream as from what I got is smokey, woody and chocolaty smell. Just a beginner though.
CHiNO730
post Jun 25 2011, 04:40 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ Jun 22 2011, 05:25 PM)
Seems like just the of us who are getting tipsy almost every night. Thanks for the pic and I am born a Singaporean, travel extensively in my teenage years till late 20's and decided to make malaysia my home for the past 10 years.
I come from families who have parties almost every week and i picked drinking at a very early age and this is not a bad thing as i learn to be responsible towards alcohol and i also drink to enjoy it rather then getting drunk like most people do. As for Cigars its just collateral damage as I go on in life.
I see that you enjoy Laphroaig and it seems that it’s your whisky of choice. Try the Balvenie and compare it to what you are drinking now and do let me know how it suits you.

Its very rare to find someone who really enjoys drinking rather then just drinking for the sake of it, we could meet up for a drink or two if you are keen. Its always good to get to know someone with the same passion. Cheers and enjoy the boobies in vegas.
I'll pick up some of the Balvenie as soon as i can. I had a nice glass of The Oban and was quite impressed. It tastes like a bourbon cask. Very oaky and woody tasting on the transition from palette to finish. Unfortunately, it was quite watered down from just a single ice cube so i was unable to truly appreciate it.

I picked up a bottle of Jim Beam Black to compare to Jack Daniels No 7. I was very pleased. i think I might have to ditch the Tennesee Sour Mash and make a switch.

Whenever i'm in Malaysia i spend most of my time in Penang. Where are you?

This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Jun 25 2011, 04:41 PM
TSsliver2c
post Jun 27 2011, 01:18 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jun 25 2011, 04:40 PM)
I'll pick up some of the Balvenie as soon as i can. I had a nice glass of The Oban and was quite impressed. It tastes like a bourbon cask. Very oaky and woody tasting on the transition from palette to finish. Unfortunately, it was quite watered down from just a single ice cube so i was unable to truly appreciate it.

I picked up a bottle of Jim Beam Black to compare to Jack Daniels No 7. I was very pleased. i think I might have to ditch the Tennesee Sour Mash and make a switch.

Whenever i'm in Malaysia i spend most of my time in Penang. Where are you?
Oban is fantastic but its very difficult to find it here in Malaysia. I am not a big fan of Jack Daniels but I love Jim beam small batch and Baker's both are very smooth and just oozes down your throat.

I am always in KL and i used to travel to Penang often in the past years but not anymore since i shut down my office there

Added on June 27, 2011, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jun 24 2011, 07:11 PM)
So far I've tried Whyte & Mckay Special and Teacher's Highland cream. I'm in London so i could get these quite easily. Looking forward to try Black label but they say Teachers is nicer than that so I got teachers instead. I like the Teacher's highland cream as from what I got is smokey, woody and chocolaty smell. Just a beginner though.
You live in London and you are drinking those rubbish? go on and explore some of those excellent single malts its darn cheap and you will love it.

This post has been edited by sliver2c: Jun 27 2011, 01:20 PM
chanti-sama
post Jul 7 2011, 05:54 PM

710 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ Jun 27 2011, 01:18 PM)
Oban is fantastic but its very difficult to find it here in Malaysia. I am not a big fan of Jack Daniels but I love Jim beam small batch and Baker's both are very smooth and just oozes down your throat.

I am always in KL and i used to travel to Penang often in the past years but not anymore since i shut down my office there

You live in London and you are drinking those rubbish? go on and explore some of those excellent single malts its darn cheap and you will love it.
word... u should try whisky exhange they have a shop in london
http://www.thewhiskyexchange.com/
CHiNO730
post Jul 11 2011, 11:02 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ Jun 27 2011, 01:18 PM)

sliver2c,

The Balvenie 12y Doublewood you recommend is absolutely amazing. I had a sample at a whisky bar not too long ago, but my appreciation arose from sampling my own bottle. This is easily going to be one my favourite Scotch's for some time.

I also purchased the Ardbeg and Oban. Both also very amazing - as described earlier, I sampled the Oban, but having my own bottle and enjoying it over the course of a few evenings is a very different experience. It's definitely very good, but I'd have to tip my hat to The Balvenie.

The Ardbeg is light on the colour (less reliance on added caramel colouring) but exceptionally smooth and soft on the palette. It doesn't quite punch you in the face like the Laphroaig. I'm extremely pleased with it.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by CHiNO730: Jul 11 2011, 11:02 AM
TSsliver2c
post Jul 11 2011, 12:20 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 11 2011, 11:02 AM)
sliver2c,

The Balvenie 12y Doublewood you recommend is absolutely amazing.  I had a sample at a whisky bar not too long ago, but my appreciation arose from sampling my own bottle.  This is easily going to be one my favourite Scotch's for some time.

I also purchased the Ardbeg and Oban.  Both also very amazing - as described earlier, I sampled the Oban, but having my own bottle and enjoying it over the course of a few evenings is a very different experience.  It's definitely very good, but I'd have to tip my hat to The Balvenie.

The Ardbeg is light on the colour (less reliance on added caramel colouring) but exceptionally smooth and soft on the palette.  It doesn't quite punch you in the face like the Laphroaig.  I'm extremely pleased with it.

Cheers!
I am glad that you enjoyed The Balvenie , I have no doubt that The tree variety you mention above will stick to your palate for some time till you are itching for something more complex.
Are the Oban and Ardbeg purchased at duty free? Or did you found a distributor in Malaysia?

CHiNO730
post Jul 11 2011, 04:18 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ Jul 11 2011, 12:20 PM)
I am glad that you enjoyed The Balvenie , I have no doubt that The tree variety you mention above will stick to your palate for some time till you are itching for something more complex.
Are the Oban and Ardbeg purchased at duty free? Or did you found a distributor in Malaysia?
sliver2c

i actually had to purchase in the states and bring it back to M'sia with me on my most recent trip.

a bit of a hassle but completely worth it. m'sia is not terribly strict on the amount (ml) you can bring back and i did not have to pay any duty or customs.

TSsliver2c
post Jul 12 2011, 06:35 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 11 2011, 04:18 PM)
sliver2c

i actually had to purchase in the states and bring it back to M'sia with me on my most recent trip.

a bit of a hassle but completely worth it.  m'sia is not terribly strict on the amount (ml) you can bring back and i did not have to pay any duty or customs.
I see that you have master the art of hiding from customs, this is something you learn and excel with time biggrin.gif
CHiNO730
post Jul 13 2011, 09:29 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(sliver2c @ Jul 12 2011, 06:35 PM)
I see that you have master the art of hiding from customs, this is something you learn and excel with time biggrin.gif
actually i think M'sia allows 1.5L of alcohol if I am not mistaken.

I did bring a bit more, but have never had trouble with it. The bottles arrive very cold though from being in the cargo compartment for 18 hrs.

Also, I have not always had the best of luck w/customs in M'sia, usually when shipping goods via container.
TSsliver2c
post Jul 13 2011, 05:38 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(CHiNO730 @ Jul 13 2011, 09:29 AM)
actually i think M'sia allows 1.5L of alcohol if I am not mistaken.

I did bring a bit more, but have never had trouble with it.  The bottles arrive very cold though from being in the cargo compartment for 18 hrs.

Also, I have not always had the best of luck w/customs in M'sia, usually when shipping goods via container.
Malaysia allows only 1L of alcohol per person its usually all right to bring in more as long as you don’t get stop by the custom officer i usually bring in 3-5L every time I travel and I have been lucky so far.

It’s never wise to ship anything from outside into Malaysia as this gives customs to make some extra "coffee money"

do you also smoke cigars?
CHiNO730
post Jul 23 2011, 08:54 PM

526 posts

All those people on LYN, posting about the best place to get koay teow or hor fun. What a waste. You waste my time, you waste even your own time, and you certainly waste our shared air.

You really asking for the best place to get RM 5-10 food in Sibu or whatever town you live in? I pity you for the truly great will not waste such time but instead ask questions with genuine weight and importance.
I cannot understand you all spending 15-35min of your life posting on LYN, for food worth less than a McDonalds Combo Meal <-- in itself a culinary failure.

Take for instance a more challenging question:

Which of these two great whisky's from Japan are better?user posted image

These are whisky's that exceed RM 210 each and yet not considered terribly expensive in the world of whisky's. One dram is worth more than your entire meal. An evenings worth, more than your entire weeks worth of pasar malam food.
A taste from one of these bottles and you may think that you are drinking an elixir crafted by the gods.

Some good friends came to visit and they packed with them some fine Whisky (of course at my specific request).

This time I asked them to pack two great whisky's from Japan.

I was incredibly surprised by the result. Which one of these do you think is greater? Or do you even care about such things that may be beyond the range of your reach, accessibility and experience? I cannot blame you, for most, if not all of you, have never flown on a private jet while enjoying some of West Highland's greatest gifts, overlooking peaks of the Swiss Alps piercing through layers of clouds.

Reading this post...viewing the above picture...you have already transformed into a much better person. Your eyes have taken in a sight that few would care to know, and you have lept bounds over your fellow brethren. But alas, you are still a far cry from a real gentleman (or woman) until you grab a glass and pour yourself some fine scotch.

**Disclaimer**

This post is meant for entertainment purposes only. My snide, snobby, condescending, and perjorative remarks are for the pure entertainment of any reader who happens to pass through this thread.
It is purely in jest, and for the sake of promoting this topic. I hope it works! People who drink fine whisky and scotch are not necessarily snobs and may be like everyday people such as yourself. Some people pay even more for a cup of fine imported teas! Feel free to comment, poke fun, argue, berate, or even challenge my post. I welcome it. Cheeers!

Guenhwyvar
post Jul 24 2011, 07:54 PM

Might be on tilt. Might be, I don't care.
1,672 posts

CHiNO730, I would like to try all those whiskeys but it's currently out of my reach as I've just started working. Sigh.... better stick to food that cost 5-10 bucks hahaha.. sad.gif
NINJIAO
post Jul 25 2011, 02:04 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Nairdamil @ Apr 6 2011, 10:46 PM)
Hi All..

I have few question in mind... I just started smoking cigars...Been smoking few montecristo no.5...and i pretty much enjoyed it...I dunno why...it is usually in my bathroom where i can truly enjoy my cigar...haha...

My question is what other brands should i try besides montecristo no.5...if possible, please provide the price range as well..
Holy$%%#$, and i though i'm the only one smoking cigars in toilet. Wat to do, it's the only place with ventilation fan. And i'm lazy driving out of the house. hahaha laugh.gif

Last week i just lit a Bolivar #2 in the toilet. hahaha, been in my tupperdor for like....uhm I think 5 years. Still got some padron, bolivar and a box of quienteros. whistling.gif
CHiNO730
post Jul 27 2011, 06:54 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Guenhwyvar @ Jul 24 2011, 07:54 PM)
CHiNO730, I would like to try all those whiskeys but it's currently out of my reach as I've just started working. Sigh.... better stick to food that cost 5-10 bucks hahaha.. sad.gif
hehe. one day you shall meet an uncle like me who will introduce you to some fine liquor.
richardt3o
post Sep 3 2011, 02:44 PM

51 posts

I have always been very interested in wine. Sometimes I get to drink those nice exp wine. And sometimes those cheap wine that is super sour.

Well, I know nothing about wine. But I know it's cheap when it's SUPER sour with no sweetness in it. But I'm really interested to learn about them.

So how do people usually categorize their wine? If can, state some brand which is consider cheap, middle, and top end wine. How much would cheap, middle and top end usually cost? I know there's a big range, So just a brief idea.

Also, how do you guys differentiate between good and bad wine. Is it like how I categorize mine? Super sour, sweetness etc? Do guide me.

Guys, please do provide any form of knowledge I could use. Really would like to learn more about them.

RED WINE! NOT WHITE! Sorry! I missed this out. I'm sort of interested in only red wine only so far. I know red meat should match with red wine. And fish with white. But yeahh. My post was referring to red wine.

This post has been edited by richardt3o: Sep 3 2011, 02:51 PM
richardt3o
post Sep 3 2011, 03:13 PM

51 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2019935

My post wanting to learn more about wine.

Mainly drink during dinner. Sometimes will buy a bottle for dinner. But simply buy. So just want to learn:

1. what is consider cheap, good, top end wine. Any brands to share? I know those RM29.90 taste like crap. For me, sour wine is CRAP! more towards sweet and a bit sour is good? And must be smooth to the throat.

Do take a look at the link. TQ!
Crys_Crys
post Sep 3 2011, 04:15 PM

**{o_O}**
3,509 posts

Super Sour doesn't means its cheap...

Wine sweetness is categorize to 4 types

- Dry (Most sour and not sweet) usually very coarse to the tongue
- Medium Dry
- Medium
- Sweet
richardt3o
post Sep 3 2011, 09:38 PM

51 posts

Okay! Much more to learn about. How do you categorize cheap wine and expensive wine then?

Do you have brands (year) which u could think of that is in the cheap, middle and top end wine?
Human Nature
post Sep 4 2011, 12:34 AM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Had some shots of Royal Salute (pardon the pun). Not able to describe the sensation articulately like our pal CHiNO730 here, but it tastes like heaven wub.gif

*pic not mine

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Sep 4 2011, 12:38 AM
SUSUpCar
post Sep 5 2011, 09:33 AM

1,612 posts

i only know red wine, white wine, chinese rice wine.
if chinese rice wine i know best if cook with chicken or pork.
if red wine i think they use some on beef and kangaroo meat.
white wine i have no idea what you can cook with. maybe sauteed onions ?

quality i dont know much but i can safely say i have never seen a bottle of wine going for under RM 10 unless it is chinese rice wine.

19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:35 AM