Added on January 25, 2011, 10:30 pmdoes white wine (chinese punya) count?
This post has been edited by samlee860407: Jan 25 2011, 10:30 PM
Food Fine Wine, Whisky & Cigar, How many of you enjoy it
Jan 25 2011, 10:29 PM
4,631 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
does white wine (chinese punya) count?
Added on January 25, 2011, 10:30 pmdoes white wine (chinese punya) count? This post has been edited by samlee860407: Jan 25 2011, 10:30 PM |
Jan 26 2011, 06:41 PM
6 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Good place for cigars here:
The Curve's Embershoppe (near Chicken rice shop, opposite the Jaguar showroom) Also Sri Hartamas mall (Plaza Damas), there is one near Mercato. Happy smoking! |
Jan 28 2011, 01:47 AM
3,135 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Taman Megah Kepong, Kuala Lumpur |
Jan 28 2011, 04:17 PM
31 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Been a long time since I visited this thread, 2010 is a good year for some fine bordeaux.
For the past year I have been actively sampling some fine cigars from Nicaragua and Dominica. I must say some of them taste better then more expensive cuban's and currently I am hooked to Ashton VSG Belicosos if any of you have the oportunity to try it with a well aged single malt, please do so! |
Feb 20 2011, 03:57 PM
1,711 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Damansara/Ampang |
saw ashton but looks dark in color..full body?
Feb 21 2011, 12:26 AM
9 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Dear LYN members, I'm looking to form a small wine tasting group.
I have a wine tasting course guide that we can use. Other than to learn all about wine, this would also be an opportunity for us to taste as many types of wine as possible and more affordably than drinking alone. I'm looking for no more than 5-7 interested members and those who fit the following requirements: 1. Interest in wine, obviously. 2. But we do not need experts. We need beginners/intermediate drinkers who want to be able to differentiate Merlot from Shiraz in a blind test at the end of the course. On a knowledge level from 1-10, perhaps 2-5. 3. Commitment to be able to meet at least once every 2 weeks. 4. Able to budget about RM100-125 for every wine tasting session. 5. Have your own wine glasses. Anybody who is interested, please state your interest by replying to this post and PM me your contact details. Do note, that I'm a beginner and I'm doing this a self-study and seek like-minded members who are interested in wine. |
Feb 21 2011, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(bukanmain @ Feb 20 2011, 03:57 PM) Spot on! and its rich with flavorAdded on February 21, 2011, 4:35 pm QUOTE(catl @ Feb 21 2011, 12:26 AM) Dear LYN members, I'm looking to form a small wine tasting group. this will be good for all who are keen to learn more. This can go very well and I can talk to some wine shop to allow us to use their outlet for tasting and get good discounts on bottles of wine as well.I have a wine tasting course guide that we can use. Other than to learn all about wine, this would also be an opportunity for us to taste as many types of wine as possible and more affordably than drinking alone. I'm looking for no more than 5-7 interested members and those who fit the following requirements: 1. Interest in wine, obviously. 2. But we do not need experts. We need beginners/intermediate drinkers who want to be able to differentiate Merlot from Shiraz in a blind test at the end of the course. On a knowledge level from 1-10, perhaps 2-5. 3. Commitment to be able to meet at least once every 2 weeks. 4. Able to budget about RM100-125 for every wine tasting session. 5. Have your own wine glasses. Anybody who is interested, please state your interest by replying to this post and PM me your contact details. Do note, that I'm a beginner and I'm doing this a self-study and seek like-minded members who are interested in wine. Come on people lets get this ball rolling This post has been edited by sliver2c: Feb 21 2011, 04:35 PM |
Feb 23 2011, 11:44 PM
Dear sliver2C, thanks for your support on my call to look for members to form a wine tasting group.
Actually, I had wanted to put it up as a new post but accidentally, put it into your thread. And so I tried to repost it but moderator pull it out. The nett effect is that we can see there is hardly any replies from members who may be interested. |
Feb 24 2011, 06:01 PM
308 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Ipoh, Perak |
QUOTE(catl @ Feb 23 2011, 11:44 PM) Dear sliver2C, thanks for your support on my call to look for members to form a wine tasting group. Hi, i'm very surprise that got ppl raise such suggestion in here. Normally ppl will ask their buddy to tag along for wine testing. But it's a nice start also at here and i have some question for it. Hope u wont mind as i wont able to join u and put up such question.Actually, I had wanted to put it up as a new post but accidentally, put it into your thread. And so I tried to repost it but moderator pull it out. The nett effect is that we can see there is hardly any replies from members who may be interested. Question: 1) From the budget u estimated, seems like RM500 - RM 875 per session. What kind of wine you propose to test within this budget? 2) Why wanna bring our own glass? 3) How about the location? |
Feb 25 2011, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(catl @ Feb 23 2011, 11:44 PM) Dear sliver2C, thanks for your support on my call to look for members to form a wine tasting group. It would be great if we could start with 3-4 ppl at a time it does not have to be a big group. we can invite some of our own friends as well to get this rolling.Actually, I had wanted to put it up as a new post but accidentally, put it into your thread. And so I tried to repost it but moderator pull it out. The nett effect is that we can see there is hardly any replies from members who may be interested. |
Feb 27 2011, 01:49 AM
*** I have tried asking my friends before but you see, friends does not necessarily mean we all have the same interest. Therefore, I'm looking for people with the same interest only. Question: 1) From the budget u estimated, seems like RM500 - RM 875 per session. What kind of wine you propose to test within this budget? *** The wines are all pre-selected/pre-suggested in the wine course study. Roughly, each session, we are supposed to taste anywhere from 4 - 6 different types of wine. There will be sessions where the cost may be cheaper as maybe there will be more New World wines. In some sessions, like Desert Wines - the cost may be quite costly. But the whole purpose is for us to form a group so that we can share out the cost. 2) Why wanna bring our own glass? *** Because if there were 6 different types of wine for us to taste, it means you need 6 different glasses. And you don't expect me to carry about 40 - 50 glasses for everyone right? And also, maybe the place we are going to hold our wine tasting sessions may not have wine glasses at all or not that many. 3) How about the location? *** I have identified 2 locations as of now. A friend's restaurant in Bangsar (don't worry, I can always nego with him) or at Denise Wine Shop TTDI. Or at a Siew Yuk restaurant in Tmn Megah. But if you guys have any other suggestions, then please feel free to do so. So, Jimmy and Silver2C, are you guys on? This post has been edited by catl: Feb 27 2011, 01:50 AM |
Feb 28 2011, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(catl @ Feb 27 2011, 01:49 AM) *** I have tried asking my friends before but you see, friends does not necessarily mean we all have the same interest. Sounds good to me, lets get the ball rollingTherefore, I'm looking for people with the same interest only. Question: 1) From the budget u estimated, seems like RM500 - RM 875 per session. What kind of wine you propose to test within this budget? *** The wines are all pre-selected/pre-suggested in the wine course study. Roughly, each session, we are supposed to taste anywhere from 4 - 6 different types of wine. There will be sessions where the cost may be cheaper as maybe there will be more New World wines. In some sessions, like Desert Wines - the cost may be quite costly. But the whole purpose is for us to form a group so that we can share out the cost. 2) Why wanna bring our own glass? *** Because if there were 6 different types of wine for us to taste, it means you need 6 different glasses. And you don't expect me to carry about 40 - 50 glasses for everyone right? And also, maybe the place we are going to hold our wine tasting sessions may not have wine glasses at all or not that many. 3) How about the location? *** I have identified 2 locations as of now. A friend's restaurant in Bangsar (don't worry, I can always nego with him) or at Denise Wine Shop TTDI. Or at a Siew Yuk restaurant in Tmn Megah. But if you guys have any other suggestions, then please feel free to do so. So, Jimmy and Silver2C, are you guys on? |
Feb 28 2011, 11:31 AM
472 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Malaysia |
RM500-800 kinda hefty. i dont mind joining but would prefer wines of a lower price. i got some suggestions for very nice and affordable wines as well as locations where u can bring ur own wines with no corkage charge (and pair with some nice steaks). keep me in ur list
Feb 28 2011, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(lanatir @ Feb 28 2011, 11:31 AM) RM500-800 kinda hefty. i dont mind joining but would prefer wines of a lower price. i got some suggestions for very nice and affordable wines as well as locations where u can bring ur own wines with no corkage charge (and pair with some nice steaks). keep me in ur list where is this place you are talking about? i hope its not meat works in Solaris! |
Feb 28 2011, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(sliver2c @ Feb 28 2011, 12:52 PM) No.... not meat works |
Feb 28 2011, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(lanatir @ Feb 28 2011, 01:08 PM) No.... not meat works Awesome bro, where is this place can PM me |
Feb 28 2011, 01:12 PM
done. normally i like to bring a bottle of malbec or cab sav for the steak. if the group is big, i would bring my own aerator filter and decanter too.
Feb 28 2011, 01:16 PM
QUOTE(lanatir @ Feb 28 2011, 01:12 PM) done. normally i like to bring a bottle of malbec or cab sav for the steak. if the group is big, i would bring my own aerator filter and decanter too. Sounds good, its a stone throw away from where i am living and what a pity i have not come across this place. Will defiantely check t out |
Feb 28 2011, 01:23 PM
Dear Lanatir and Sliver2C,
Thanks for getting the ball rolling on this one. But just 2 comments: 1. The RM500 - 800 plus is for the whole group. So if we have 8 pax, it comes to RM60-100 per pax. If you can eat Wagyu, what is RM60. 2. Anyway, let's no get carried away because this is wine tasting - not wine drinking and dinner. That's why I suggested Denise Wine TTDI too, bcos they have a room inside the shop and nice big table. As for the Siew Yuk place, all we need to do is to order 2-3 plates of Siew Yuk and we can have a big table to our place too. 3. Yes, if we can - we order the cheaper range of the wines suggested in the course. But as I mentioned, some wines are just expensive here in Malaysia. Like a German Riesling - I have not found anything below RM70. Looks like both of you are quite expert - so hope you can guide us beginners. Can I go ahead and list down the first members? 1. sliver2c 2. lanatir 3. catl |
Feb 28 2011, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(catl @ Feb 28 2011, 01:23 PM) Anyway, let's no get carried away because this is wine tasting - not wine drinking and dinner. haha yes i got carried away. i normally dont drink without considering the food as well (unless it's like single malt or something).well RM60-100 a person is fair. i thought u meant RM500-800 a person... mampus. me no expert - Sliver is the real expert. i just drink <RM100 bottles of wine most of the time (am partial to argentinian for reds and NZ for sau blanc). only issue i have with denise is that one is confined to the choices at denise. This post has been edited by lanatir: Feb 28 2011, 01:31 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0197sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:09 AM |