i7 920 vs qx9650.... what to do... tell me...
is it worth going i7?
qx9650 vs i7 920, change or no change?
Mar 29 2009, 10:40 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
22 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
i7 920 vs qx9650.... what to do... tell me...
is it worth going i7? |
Mar 29 2009, 10:49 AM
5,434 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
daily use,not much.
Mar 29 2009, 10:55 AM
1,439 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Dungeons of the Wolves |
if both on stock..which score better in gaming?
Mar 29 2009, 11:41 AM
1,077 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Sabah,Sandakan Status:STUNNED |
QUOTE(serigala @ Mar 29 2009, 10:55 AM) i read a few magazines which tested the i7 on current available games compared to the quadcore family. what they said was, the i7 doesnt show a significant boost over games compared to the quad. Maybe games in the future which recognizes the HT in i7 will be faster.. no guarantee thou.. p/s hope no one shoots me.. This post has been edited by derek87: Mar 29 2009, 03:08 PM |
Mar 29 2009, 02:54 PM
1,206 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
i'd suggest u stick wit qx9650 as it has almost similiar performance coz u nid big bucks to get a i7 rig up and working (not to mention x58 mobos + ram..)
Mar 29 2009, 03:22 PM
315 posts Joined: May 2008 |
shud stick with ur quad for NOW....unless u have the moolah...
Mar 29 2009, 04:10 PM
1,864 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Xbitlabs has a very good article about your very issue, they tested QX9650 vs i7 920 with GTX285 and GTX295.
http://xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display...285-gtx295.html I quote from the article: "I have also found out that the new platform with a Core i7 processor and fast memory is ahead of the Core 2 Quad platform in most of my tests at the default CPU frequencies as well as when both are overclocked to 4GHz. The Core i7 enjoys an impressive 35-40% advantage when not limited by the graphics card. The tests suggest that the new platform is worth the investment, and you can even hope for further performance benefits from SMT technology in the future." |
Mar 29 2009, 04:14 PM
24,351 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Setapak, Kuala Lumpur |
Obviously Core i7 is better cause it has 8 threads for processing instead of 4. It's worth it only if you are buying a new system, unless you are rich.
This post has been edited by TristanX: Mar 29 2009, 04:16 PM |
Mar 29 2009, 04:16 PM
13,340 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: back from vacation XD |
core i7 ftw bro...no harm preparing 4 the future now
Mar 29 2009, 04:23 PM
3,174 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Wonderland |
If I were you I will save the money and buy it later.
Mar 29 2009, 07:30 PM
164 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Sg. Chua + Uniten |
stick with qx9650 lar...
ur money now belanja aku karaoke.. |
Mar 29 2009, 08:02 PM
1,206 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Mar 30 2009, 09:48 PM
47 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
32nm i7? any news by when?
Mar 31 2009, 12:39 AM
1,550 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(AceCombat @ Mar 29 2009, 10:49 AM) this is one of the good pointsQUOTE(ooiwbng @ Mar 29 2009, 02:54 PM) i'd suggest u stick wit qx9650 as it has almost similiar performance coz u nid big bucks to get a i7 rig up and working (not to mention x58 mobos + ram..) he can afford qx9650, y not i7? mobo just rm7xx, ram 2gb ddr3 just 1xx, 3x1gb 2xxeven a used qx9650 would cost more than an i7 proc |
Mar 31 2009, 09:46 AM
i heard that 32nm is core i5....
and the i5 is using a different socket... not 1366 anymore... and it is lower (in perf) compared to i7 |
Mar 31 2009, 10:20 AM
2,782 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: BANGSARian |
i think i5 is just 6 cores, to fit in between 4 and 8 cores
ddr3 got so cheap ? x58 mobo got so cheap ? |
Mar 31 2009, 10:43 AM
1,298 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
walao.damm rich ppl here.. Your using QX950..if u want to move to I7, dont get 920, 940 a bit alang alang, straight get 965.. sure improve a lot and u can easily detect with ur own eye..if unable to buy 965, stick to current spec.
Mar 31 2009, 11:47 AM
current spec -
Proc: qx9650 mobo: ASUS p5q3 RAM: 2x1GB ASUS DDR3 1333MHz CL9 GPU: XFX GTX 285 PSU: CM RPP 650W OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit any upgrade recommended? |
Mar 31 2009, 11:56 AM
1,550 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(lynnfield @ Mar 31 2009, 09:46 AM) i heard that 32nm is core i5.... core i5 is lga1190, and it doesnt come with integrated memory controller, and not using QPI oso if not mistaken, try searching hardware sectionand the i5 is using a different socket... not 1366 anymore... and it is lower (in perf) compared to i7 QUOTE(Jcsy @ Mar 31 2009, 10:20 AM) i think i5 is just 6 cores, to fit in between 4 and 8 cores of courseddr3 got so cheap ? x58 mobo got so cheap ? gaygaybyte ud4p if not mistaken, 7xx, possibly 799 kua Added on March 31, 2009, 11:57 am QUOTE(lynnfield @ Mar 31 2009, 11:47 AM) current spec - get 2x2gb value ram, if u wan buy, come find me! hahaProc: qx9650 mobo: ASUS p5q3 RAM: 2x1GB ASUS DDR3 1333MHz CL9 GPU: XFX GTX 285 PSU: CM RPP 650W OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 32-bit any upgrade recommended? This post has been edited by iBenQ: Mar 31 2009, 11:57 AM |
Mar 31 2009, 02:48 PM
1,991 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Seri Kembangan |
| Change to: | 0.0217sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:40 AM |