qx9650 vs i7 920, change or no change?

shinzhizu
post Mar 31 2009, 03:09 PM

1,298 posts

QUOTE(lynnfield @ Mar 31 2009, 11:47 AM)
current spec -

Proc: qx9650
mobo: ASUS p5q3
RAM: 2x1GB ASUS DDR3 1333MHz CL9

GPU: XFX GTX 285
PSU: CM RPP 650W

any upgrade recommended?
damm admire u..change ur ram to 2gb x 2..coz ur using windows vista.. the rest money, can invest on mouse, keyboard, LCD, sound card, speaker..well dont forget table and chair..
nicknametooshort
post Mar 31 2009, 03:58 PM

51 posts

ehh, i thought 32-bit only support to 3GB RAM?

it can utilize 4 gb?
iBenQ
post Mar 31 2009, 04:13 PM

1,550 posts

QUOTE(nicknametooshort @ Mar 31 2009, 03:58 PM)
ehh, i thought 32-bit only support to 3GB RAM?

it can utilize 4 gb?
takkan wan put 2gb x1, 1gb x1... terus put 4gb ma biggrin.gif... at least can get 300mb extra hahaha
nicknametooshort
post Mar 31 2009, 05:01 PM

51 posts

lolx... 300mb extra onli~

all of u do like this also ah? sweat.gif

btw, usually qx9650 can OC to how much? using non WC...
Serpentarius
post Mar 31 2009, 05:05 PM

482 posts

no change ... qx9650 still the better o/c than i7

i7 is still dodgy on o/c
most veteran still overlooking on i7
many issues with i7 havent solved yet

nicknametooshort
post Mar 31 2009, 05:07 PM

51 posts

mmm so how much it can OC? til 3.5 on air?
ezzydamvp
post Mar 31 2009, 11:02 PM

Jedi Mind Trick
719 posts

its worth to upgrade thumbup.gif ...oc setting in 1366 is more interesting hehe...summore to reach 4ghz is easy for 920... brows.gif

This post has been edited by ezzydamvp: Mar 31 2009, 11:03 PM
aztas_mon
post Apr 1 2009, 02:14 AM

314 posts

now also gud specs wat..wait for price dropping..
TSlynnfield
post Apr 1 2009, 10:59 AM

22 posts

i never OC before, is there a noob guide to OC?
ezzydamvp
post Apr 1 2009, 11:12 AM

Jedi Mind Trick
719 posts

QUOTE(lynnfield @ Apr 1 2009, 10:59 AM)
i never OC before, is there a noob guide to OC?
oc united in lyn also got thread oc for newbie. else u can always ask uncle google
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Apr 1 2009, 01:41 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

QUOTE(rain_skywalker @ Mar 29 2009, 07:30 PM)
stick with qx9650 lar...
ur money now belanja aku karaoke..
belanja chicks better wey laugh.gif

QUOTE(hengmy @ Mar 31 2009, 02:48 PM)
logically, someone that can afford qx9650 should go for i7 without much question laugh.gif
hell yeah...easily should or they can save up 4 monthly car installment instead rclxms.gif
TSlynnfield
post Apr 1 2009, 04:50 PM

22 posts

haha... true wor...

tips to find girls? :claps:
shaun3230
post Apr 1 2009, 07:58 PM

2,369 posts

When apps are HT, the i7 will blow the quad aways as got 8 threads, but for me, I`d stick with the QX9650, and only upgrade when say something better than the i7 comes out
nicknametooshort
post Apr 2 2009, 01:24 PM

51 posts

u mean the 6core/12thread proc codenamed: gulftown?

q4 2009~ so late
monsh
post Apr 2 2009, 02:28 PM

Let's Change The World !
4,196 posts

u talk so much .
go take i7 and giv me d proc .
i nid it ! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by monsh: Apr 2 2009, 02:28 PM
OC4/3
post Apr 2 2009, 05:17 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(zer0hour @ Mar 29 2009, 04:10 PM)
Xbitlabs has a very good article about your very issue, they tested QX9650 vs i7 920 with GTX285 and GTX295.
http://xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display...285-gtx295.html

I quote from the article:
"I have also found out that the new platform with a Core i7 processor and fast memory is ahead of the Core 2 Quad platform in most of my tests at the default CPU frequencies as well as when both are overclocked to 4GHz. The Core i7 enjoys an impressive 35-40% advantage when not limited by the graphics card. The tests suggest that the new platform is worth the investment, and you can even hope for further performance benefits from SMT technology in the future."
But weren't that it is better to buy a SSD?
yaryu
post Apr 16 2009, 01:20 AM

51 posts

i think the so call qx9650 sure can last u until the proc. that much for faster then then i7 surface. so y change it?? unless u have spare cash to spend ,or maybe you can try "Nvidia 3d vision" since u so many spare cash to spend.
TSlynnfield
post Apr 16 2009, 07:41 AM

22 posts

going multiple display first.... just to see how awesome it is
SUSMatrix
post Apr 16 2009, 09:38 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Mar 29 2009, 04:16 PM)
core i7 ftw bro...no harm preparing 4 the future now laugh.gif rclxms.gif
I hate this "Prepare fo future" excuse.

What is there to prepare when there's no software to take advantage of it?

by the time software comes out 1 or 2 years later, you can get better i7 CPU and mobos and less than half the price.

Unless you have too much cash to spend, there's really no "future" to prepare for, because it doesn't exist until then, which you can get better performance and cheaper price.
xenowork
post Apr 16 2009, 10:25 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Apr 16 2009, 09:38 AM)
I hate this "Prepare fo future" excuse.

What is there to prepare when there's no software to take advantage of it?

by the time software comes out 1 or 2 years later, you can get better i7 CPU and mobos and less than half the price.

Unless you have too much cash to spend, there's really no "future" to prepare for, because it doesn't exist until then, which you can get better performance and cheaper price.
1) What is there to prepare when there's no software to take advantage of it?
- u can see the core i7 processor is a big advantage on 3d apps, media center etc...how come u say theres no advantages?

2) by the time software comes out 1 or 2 years later, you can get better i7 CPU and mobos and less than half the price.
- by the time 1 or 2 years later, sure will come out new generation of processor. and so on so on...thats the reality of it.
no wonder ur still using cheap crap dual core system as in 2 years back generation of processor? doh.gif dat u only can afford it for now.

3) Unless you have too much cash to spend, there's really no "future" to prepare for, because it doesn't exist until then, which you can get better performance and cheaper price.
- we never know the future, do u? and theres no harm on preparing for the future...i think u get wat i mean. sediakan payung sebelum hujan?
so if got the money juz buy and if u dont, dun ever think about it....

0.0171sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:44 PM