3,488 posts

@orangejungle,
please read the pinned thread... lots of questions answered there
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/979452

xaw5126
post Oct 1 2009, 06:02 PM

3,488 posts

iMac obviously more display, you'll get more out of it.

do you need it to be a mobile editing : you don't have a studio / office? > MacBook Pro

if you have a office / studio / home > get iMac ...
xaw5126
post Nov 5 2009, 01:10 PM

3,488 posts

alamak... if you work for Apple... just get it la. the discount is to encourage you to try it for yourself smile.gif
xaw5126
post Feb 9 2010, 06:45 PM

3,488 posts

which MacBook Pro comes with x1600?
personally, I would get the nVidia 8600, but I am biased, cos I'm using it now smile.gif

the MBP w/ 8600 is a laptop, so you can expect to replace the battery cos it will not last 5 hours after using it for 2 years anyway.
xaw5126
post Jun 20 2010, 05:51 PM

3,488 posts

looks like you've been reading the wrong threads.

jeyadev's reasons for using a Mac exclusively.
1. anything Windows can do, Mac can do better.
2. better integration between hardware & software (eg. 100% performance from hardware, without having to install any additional drivers.
3. more robust design. eg. I'm typing this on a 8-year old PowerBook Titanium 1GHz. I can't find a working 1GHz PC that will do the same.
4. Mac OS X itself reminds me of a BMW approach. The daily use stuff is straightforward & intuitive, the advanced stuff is so powerful, but there's a serious gap between the two. No Macgyver-style hacking here... you really need to know what you're doing.
5. minimal maintenance. Again, I've not had to defrag / reinstall OS / delete temp files in the last 5 years that I've used 7 different Macs. More time to use my Mac and less time maintaining it.
xaw5126
post Jul 5 2010, 04:01 PM

3,488 posts

um, the last Black MacBook was the early 2008 model, so its over 2 years ago. 2.4 GHz.

it used an older GMA x1600 graphics chip & every newer model had a faster RAM & graphics chip.
xaw5126
post Jul 20 2010, 01:27 PM

3,488 posts

edu price can't be matched... but since the edu price will still be there after PC fair, wait and see if the presents / free gifts are worth it.

example : Buy MBP with AppleCare get free HDD.
xaw5126
post Sep 2 2010, 04:08 PM

3,488 posts

@Sniperwolf1987
here in the forum, we could all lie to you, give you wrong info, give you old info... you'll never know.

for important stuff like payment methods, please contact the reseller directly... or check their websites.

do remember that the different resellers will have different arrangement with different banks...
xaw5126
post Sep 14 2010, 12:39 PM

3,488 posts

QUOTE(MrTl @ Sep 14 2010, 12:29 PM)
if imac yes . btw is i5 ?
iMac has always been all-in-one.
would it kill you to go to apple.com/imac and take a look.
xaw5126
post Oct 6 2010, 02:46 PM

3,488 posts

adoi... we were happily editing HD video on a iMac G5 back in 2005. trust me, you can definitely edit HD in MacBook Pro 13" ... just get an external display so you can view in full-HD
xaw5126
post Oct 14 2010, 04:12 PM

3,488 posts

@adriancs your answer is here, please do search before asking http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/842060
xaw5126
post Nov 22 2010, 10:28 AM

3,488 posts

@ Ojimaru isn't that overkill?
@ kamsing is this for work or personal? smile.gif
xaw5126
post Mar 22 2011, 10:15 AM

3,488 posts

the AAR & APR ( Apple Authorised & Apple Premium Reseller ) don't offer edu price to walk-in customers anymore, because of lots of abuse by non-edu customers.

If you're a student / educator, you'll need to contact your college & find out where they get their Macs & buy from the same place.

If your college doesn't use Macs, then I'd recommend getting it from the online store, because the process is long & its a waste of time.
xaw5126
post Apr 7 2011, 12:16 PM

3,488 posts

hek'eleh... go to store.apple.com/my can buy it directly.

in before /AppleByte is not your personal army smile.gif
xaw5126
post Apr 7 2011, 01:32 PM

3,488 posts

inspect it first. make sure its working 100%. also, is it out of warranty?
xaw5126
post May 4 2011, 11:36 AM

3,488 posts

@ DarkTenno you must be new to this. Apple doesn't reduce price before a new product launches, they reduce price to clear the old stock after launching a new model

this re-price is probably cos of the currency adjustment.

0.0447sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:49 PM