Hardware [Guide]  Mac Purchase Guide , Mac Products Ownership

soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 01:57 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(mcline_007 @ Aug 12 2011, 11:00 PM)
guys need advice im planing to get

imac 27-inch: 2.7GHz
2.7GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5
2560 x 1440 resolution
4GB (two 2GB) memory
1TB hard drive1
AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 512MB

for my photo editing like lightroom n photoshop n adobe illustrator. how?
Fast enough for sure but you'll need 8GB or better still 16GB unless you're only editing animated gifs. :-)

Also consider replacing the HD with an SSD. I know very dear but also very fast.

And that's about all you can upgrade on an iMac.

Added on August 13, 2011, 2:08 am
QUOTE(asern @ Aug 2 2011, 02:40 PM)
Anyone know what is the solution to upgrade/replace Imac 2011 HDD wihtout sending to apple?
I just worried if the HDD failure after the warranty expires. How much does apple usually charge to replace a HDD?
Apple charge quite expensive. You can change it yourself with any SATA HD but it's quite scary cause you'll have to open up the iMac, remove the LCD and you'll probably get some dust between the iMac glass screen and the LCD.

And also you'll lose automatic HDD fan control because the non-Apple HDs dun have a connection for the thermal sensor. Because of the loss of that sensor, the iMac will spin the HDD fan really high but there is software that will allow you to set the fan speed manually.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 13 2011, 02:08 AM
soonwai
post Aug 13 2011, 03:53 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(mcline_007 @ Aug 13 2011, 03:06 PM)
thanks for the advice bro.  notworthy.gif  but upgrading 16GB is very expensive for apple...
can i change the ram wit other brand not from apple?  sweat.gif
Sure, just use the cheap ram from Corsair or Kingston. 16GB (4x4GB) will be about RM250.
soonwai
post Aug 21 2011, 10:31 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(dubschronicles @ Aug 21 2011, 12:27 AM)
hey guys... quick question...

I bought my imac 2011 27" high spec today and it runs in 10.6.8 snow leopard. It's supposed to be pre-installed with Lion or do I have to manually update it?

I think so far only new Mac Mini and MBA comes pre-installed with Lion. Just claim your Lion from here and update yourself.

http://uptodate.apple.com/asia/uptodate/macosx/

0.0155sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:06 PM