Hardware [Guide]  Mac Purchase Guide , Mac Products Ownership

frozzbyte
post Mar 13 2010, 01:24 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Well I'm using OS X and Windows at the same time. biggrin.gif

It depends on one's preferences laaa. Mac is not about style only but usability out of the box.

If you're a gamer - go for windows machine
If you want to try something new, with no virus attack and quite the eye candy - then try Mac

This kind of questions brings me back to the "Should I buy the Macbook Air" question last time. When ask why, just want to look cool and show off. rclxub.gif
frozzbyte
post Mar 13 2010, 10:05 PM

3,657 posts

But I go back and forth between mac and windows. laugh.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
frozzbyte
post Mar 28 2010, 12:52 AM

3,657 posts

Actually there's no certain answer to your question and it depends on who/where you ask the question. If you ask it here, majority (most likely all) will say it's worth it (this is an Apple section after all). And if you ask in the PC section, you'll probably get an opposite answer.

The answer lies within yourself. Learn and get a hands on with a Mac/Apple Computers at the local store. Most of the guys there are willing to help (if you approach the right person) with any of your queries. They even have intro classes (if not mistaken) for people that's trying/interested to switch to a Mac. Only after you weigh the Pros and Cons yourself, then you'll know whether it's worth it or not.

But one thing for sure, most of the Mac converts likes their new "World" of "things just work". whistling.gif

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Mar 28 2010, 12:53 AM
frozzbyte
post Apr 22 2010, 02:19 PM

3,657 posts

Windows thru bootcamp = can x64
Windows thru Parallels/VMware = can't. Only x32 (tried myself with Parallels with Windows 7)
frozzbyte
post Jun 7 2010, 09:48 PM

3,657 posts

Last time I bought the carbon fiber sticker from the Garage Sales. Dunno if that guy still selling or not.
frozzbyte
post Jun 8 2010, 09:56 PM

3,657 posts

@terence8
It's just like a sheet of sticker with carbon fiber print on it. You'll have to cut and fit the design yourself. As for the link, here you go.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...hl=carbon+fiber
frozzbyte
post Jun 9 2010, 10:48 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Joyuan @ Jun 9 2010, 05:22 PM)
Omg. I purchased my MacBook two days ago and I called today, they said have to show student Id. I was like, the term and conditions didn't state it at all. A d I was waiting and waiting. Can anyone please tell me the steps? I am going crazy here.
Why are you going crazy? If you are indeed a student or working in the education field, just scan your ID and email to them, unless you are trying to save few hundred ringgit by purchasing the macbook thru the education store which you are not eligible. Apple have the right to ask for verification as the education store are meant for students, educators and education institutions. Usually they don't ask for verification but sometimes they randomly ask for it. So if you try to cheat and get caught doing it, you only have yourself to blame.

Added on June 9, 2010, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(terence8 @ Jun 9 2010, 08:01 PM)
thx dude..cut my self?? i dont think it will be even fit on it..i wondering as they have those ready made when it is specially design for the macbook
I'm not sure about pre-cut stickers design for the macbook. From google, I can only find these two article but dunno if it's available here.

http://www.slashgear.com/carbon-fiber-grap...macbook-152974/
http://gizmodo.com/221147/diy-carbon-fiber-macbook

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jun 9 2010, 10:53 PM
frozzbyte
post Sep 21 2010, 12:48 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(keeekeee @ Sep 20 2010, 11:03 PM)
dvlzplayground,
Bro what is the different between Apple LED Cinema Display (27" flat panel) and iMac 27"?? Is it same thing?
Apple LED Cinema Display is just the monitor (a very crisp and good monitor btw and darn expensive) while iMac is the whole system in 1 packaging (CPU, Monitor, DVDrom, motherboard etc).

BTW ... it's better to get the ACPP (Apple Care Protection Plan) to be on the safer side since Apple spare part/repair after warranty is a BIT expensive than the normal PC. They don't use normal motherboards like normal pc but use logicboard where the processor and graphic chips are soldered to the board itself (so no self upgrade on this 2 item). Only the RAM and HDD are user upgradeable (except for Mac Pro).

As for time machine ... it's an app for .... errmm ... going back in time. Not the time travelling thing but more to finding files which been accidentally deleted, overwritten etc etc. It's something like shadow copies or "previous version" in windows. That's where the external drive comes in the picture, as the backup device for time machine. Apple also have Time Capsule (their own external HDD plus some other feature) to be use with time machine. To know more on time machine ... go to http://www.apple.com/findouthow/mac/#timemachinebasics for some demo video.
frozzbyte
post Oct 23 2010, 06:59 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(NgYanFei @ Oct 23 2010, 04:58 PM)
Can I get the student price for MacBook Pro at apple shop? I try to buy online but it seems like they don't provide postage to house.
What do you mean by "they don't provide postage to house"? Items from the Apple Online Store can be delivered anywhere i.e. home, office, university etc. Got an iPod delivered to my house last year.

And you can get student price from Apple reseller at MMU or Lim Kok Wing. I don't know if you have to be a student from those respective institute to get the discounts.

0.0831sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:33 AM