Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:38 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

if it is tht brand...i found on the internet..it is 150x..so transcend is faster..

hey wait..why r u deciding which camera to go for by looking at the memory cards? this is so wrong.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:45 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:39 PM)
1. The SAL1870  18-70mm f3.5-5.6 standard zoom lens that is included in A300 has built in auto focus or not?

2. If i get D60, buying an AF-S lens would be more expensive.

3. If i get a A300 and i want to buy a 2nd lens, do I need SSM for AUTOFOCUS in my camera?
1. every sony camera has built-in auto focus motor...don worry..it works on every lens.
2. Yes..more expensive..but i think now most of the lenses nikon comes out with are AF-S lenses..
3. no u dont need to...like i said..it has built-in autofocus motor in the camera body. You cant choose to get lens with built-in or without it..sometimes they are with the motor and without.. you cant opt for a lens without it.

AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:22 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 01:19 PM)
D60 - what is the cheapest external flash i can buy and price?

A300 - what is the cheapest price? and what model.

btw, a300 flash shoe isnt the same as other manufacturers and thus not compatible with most flash except sony's right?
for Nikon..there is a reliable 3rd party flash..nissin di622..which works great. around RM500 or cheaper in some areas. Or get original nikon flash sb-600 RM800 i think...
for Sony...juz stick with Sony...cheapest the F42..RM750...
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:43 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 01:38 PM)
so a sum of the pros cons

D60
+ Better ISO performance
+ Lighter
+ More lens & accessories choice
+ Focusing sound more silent
- No live view
- AF-S lens costs more money
- No built in AF-S and VR

A300
+ Live view - can take pics while viewing LCD
+ 9 focus point VS 3 focus point of D60
+ Built in anti shake
+ Have a flip out LCD screen for better view
- Less accessories and lens options
- Heavier
- Sony has lousier ISO performance

am i right on all the points??
yes quite right..but the term i bold'ed...is a bit too harsh here..especially u r in Sony thread lol sweat.gif and i dun quite agree with it. i think it should be the same.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:46 PM

2,955 posts

when u r comparing the entry level of sony with entry lvl of nikon..they both are equall...u cant really tell the difference.
but when it comes to higher end camera..i *think* nikon is better...
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:49 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 01:46 PM)
What do you mean by technology diff?

And is there any diff in the picture quality because of the technology diff?
means more technology is in the a300...for example...u get to play with wireless flash using the a300 it has a built-in flash commander.. D60 u need to buy an external flash trigger to play with wireless flash.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:52 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Apr 9 2009, 01:48 PM)
many expert claim that A900 pair with a CZ2470 can tell no difference when compare with Canon 1Ds.....
dont too underestimate Sony...but D3X is just so powerful lah.....
i didnt under estimate it...hey i was a sony user...about the a900 vs canon 1d...i dono...but if u go DXO mark and check..u will see. Anyway...u pay what u get...D3x is 2 times the price of A900..ofcoz it is better..
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:53 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 9 2009, 01:52 PM)
What's MPX? =p
mega pixel
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:56 PM

2,955 posts

ofcoz each has its own advantages. You cant say which is the best...
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:57 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ Apr 9 2009, 01:55 PM)
um..didn't D60 use Sony 10.2MP CCD sensor used in the Sony A200/A300?
all nikon's sensor are supplied by Sony..
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 01:59 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 01:56 PM)
now this i donno.. hehe. A wireless flash eh? how much does that cost for sony's flash? so that means that it can trigger the flash without any other devices, and just by using the camera?
yes...the beauty of sony's entry lvl cameras. With built-in commander! Even Canon's semi-pro 50D also dont have...need buy an external trigger.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:04 PM

2,955 posts

so alpha_company:
no matter which body u go for..u wont go wrong.. Sony? Nikon? both have its own advantage.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:09 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 9 2009, 02:06 PM)
i think nikon handles ISO better too! smile.gif..but on their higher end cameras..not sure about d60...Nikon is one of the best in terms of high ISO right? not creating a war here but its a fact hehe..
yes..i tried to explain juz now too..but brand war started sweat.gif

alpha_company
try look at 1000d,d60 and a300 perfomnce here...use this as guideline...but dun trust it 100%..

http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/eng/Image.../(brand3)/Nikon
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:12 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 9 2009, 02:11 PM)
Well the best way is to go raba-raba the cameras on your own. (:
sounds so wrong laugh.gif ...but is true. Go feel it..see which 1 nicer..then go for that.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:14 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Apr 9 2009, 02:12 PM)
AlphaBeta : for me its pretty simple...i grabbed the a200 coz its worth every penny i paid! For the price i paid i cant even buy a G10 man! hahah
same reason also..i grabbed a300 + twin kit affordable...this is the best starting point for me as a newbie to DSLR. tongue.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 2:17 pm
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 02:14 PM)
Well thanks a million guys.. you're been of great help to me... rather than the pinned: Want to buy a camera thread (no use cause nobody answers)

I think i have a camera for me in mind right now..
good that u have ur target now.. that thread? they only suggest 1000d and d60 without saying why..but cant say like that also la.. SO many ppl asking there everyday..hard to explain to each 1 by 1.. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 9 2009, 02:17 PM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:21 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 02:17 PM)
yeah right newbie.. D90 newbie? hahaha... or use d90 just to record HD videos..hehe
i was using a300 + twin kit. Very satisfied with it when compared to small body size of d60 and plasticy feeling of 1000d..haha coz i have big hands. If you are a girl then all should be no problem.

i juz changed to d90 recently..i miss Sony live view as they lock so fast..cant tell much now coz d90 and a300 is in different level.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 02:25 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 9 2009, 02:22 PM)
So D90 doing great?
super great..

alpha_company:
you will love the feel of a300...like neo_lam said..solid and nice.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 05:53 PM

2,955 posts

i LOL-ed!!
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 08:49 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(hungryJack @ Apr 9 2009, 08:28 PM)
hi guys, my fren just bought a a700 with 18250 ... hmm, after transfer from memory card to laptop, the color ain't that natural max zoom will look blur ... is that normal?
I plan to buy a700 too ... budget around 5K include lenses .. any good lense combination for landscape and night scene???
dun expect good quality from tht kind of lens...i think it only performs well from 18 to 150.

hungryjack...are you frm Australia? U love hungryjack? lol

A700 + CZ1680 is good.

Added on April 9, 2009, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 08:27 PM)
so i think after all that reading day and night.. i'm settling with a300k, single lens.

is it worth it getting the dual lens kit a300x?
from my own experience...no it is not worth it. i rarely use the 55200...

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 9 2009, 08:50 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0456sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:51 AM