Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V23!, The Orange Legion

AlphaBeta
post Apr 7 2009, 10:46 PM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 7 2009, 09:22 PM)
@alpha
i usually use center weighted....flash...err..think i did use external flash..
oh...coz my subject(human) would normally end up underexpose when u have such bright background. I think centre weighted would help a lot then.. smile.gif
AlphaBeta
post Apr 7 2009, 11:28 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 7 2009, 10:55 PM)
u need a flash in this case...

even u put center weight or spot..it might not good enough to lit up ur subject...somemore u must make ur subject remain at center..so u cant recompose it...

think u either make ur subject facing the light source..or use a external flash =)
you dont need to make ur subject to stay in the middle to get the exposure correct...you can always recompose by using AE-Lock to lock the exposure and then recompose. nod.gif Flash to slightly lit the subject to get the details i suppose...wah..so good got gf to let u shoot such photos..really nice...print it out and hang on ur bedroom wall la laugh.gif
AlphaBeta
post Apr 7 2009, 11:53 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 7 2009, 11:31 PM)
if u use AE lock to lock the exposure of ur friends face...the background would get over exposed(since u previously said its standing at the bright bg)
actually im planning to print out a few poster size photo to stick on my wall(currently staying at the old fasioned..ugly..small rented house in sg)..so that my house would look that boring..lol..but im not sure how big can i print..
hmmm u r correct too maybe should meter between the face and background? laugh.gif ...hmmm i guess DRO is the key here..get A700 and DRO+5 brows.gif

@Cow
Whts so confusing? u mean the metering and AE-lock?
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 12:22 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:58 PM)
Everything you guys talking about. AlphaBeta : What's the cheapest price of a F42 in AUS ar?
forget bout buying in Aus..definately more expensive.

Albert
the DRO thingy, is it causing the colour noise in ur picture?
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 12:31 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Apr 8 2009, 12:30 AM)
DRO+ oni on A200?
yes...only 3 options on A100 to 350 - Off, DRO and DRO+. Ok get A700 to do +5! poison enough?? brows.gif

Added on April 8, 2009, 12:34 am
QUOTE(SHOfrE3zE @ Apr 8 2009, 12:21 AM)
speaking of ISO...

ISO 4000

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 8 2009, 12:34 AM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 12:50 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 8 2009, 12:37 AM)
SHOfrE3zE, you could mask the sharpening off so it doesn't occur on the noise in the blues. That said it has a film-like texture which I don't mind. smile.gif

AlphaBeta: Yes, because DRO is basically an automatic Shadow Fill. Highlight Recovery is done by the camera, which chooses to underexpose to retain the tones in the white clouds. So even though I shot it at ISO200, the blues are a good 2 stops below (0 EV) while the buildings are possibly 3-4 stops below  the sky (ISO1600-3200.)

When you underexpose an ISO200 shot by -2 EV, and bring it back up to 0 EV brightness, the picture has basically become an ISO800 shot.
ooo i see.. not exactly got wht u mean..but i got the rough idea. Wish i could attend the TT...can learn more from you. haha..

Added on April 8, 2009, 12:52 am
QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Apr 8 2009, 12:41 AM)
started laa... dei alphabeta, i just oni got my A200 laa... chill a while laa... biggrin.gif haha... was lookin forward to join ur "red and black" clan... ut then i had to go get a cobra...  biggrin.gif
don get wht u mean.. hmm.gif u mean the f42 flash?

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 8 2009, 12:52 AM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 01:18 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(Kul | Mo0 @ Apr 8 2009, 01:04 AM)
Anybody uses iPhoto on a Mac to do photo editting?
ask achew..he is using Mac..and he produces good photos.. rclxms.gif

oh...u call N 'black and red'? i call it darkside lol... Sony is good...i love the CZ lenses and button layout of it.

EDIT: there achew replied you b4 me lol..

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 8 2009, 01:20 AM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 01:30 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Apr 8 2009, 01:24 AM)
guys, i haven't tried this myself yet... ut had a friend of mine telling me that GIMP can be a lil more easier than Ps.... and guess what, it's a multi-platform program.... oh yea and it's FREE!!  rclxm9.gif

check this out --> http://inphotos.org/gimp-for-photographers-levels/
if u want software similar to PS but easier to use.. try ''Paint.NET'', it is free. I use Lightroom2 all the time...and if things really go nuts...then i use CS2 to PP it.

others to try - Picasa and Photoscape.

bye guys off to sleep..nite..

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 8 2009, 01:32 AM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 10:58 PM

2,955 posts

ofcoz cousin's wedding important la..haha..u can shoot wedding. The alpha course u can go next time if they organize again.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 11:16 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 8 2009, 06:37 PM)
=D

wht PP u have used here? slight HDR?
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 11:25 PM

2,955 posts

wah...you have such a good gf that supports your hobby in photography.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 8 2009, 11:41 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 8 2009, 11:29 PM)
y don u say she has a good bf who learn photography to shoot her?? tongue.gif
hey achew...check ur fb..i searched for u and added u lol. hope u don mind biggrin.gif
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 09:08 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(kurikuraX @ Apr 9 2009, 06:59 AM)
Hi gais, somebody asking on buying guide thread(pinned in this section) and he/she asked which one is better a350 or Canon EOS 450D ( EFS 18-55 IS ) laugh.gif

Alpharians, go explain! laugh.gif hope theres no war sweat.gif
You are asking in the wrong thread, you know the answer that you will get...Alpha!
i say both equally good...450d slightly better..
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 09:37 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 09:19 AM)
Hello everybody.. budget around 2k.. still a new photographer.

a200k, a200w or a300k and what kit(included lens package) should i get?

considering another brand too..
wan live view? go for a300 If not, then a200.
if you r getting twin kit lens for a200...then u will get 1870 and 75300
if you r getting twin kit lens for a300...then 1870 and 55200

not sure which K,W,X stand for which..i forgot already.

other brand? ask in their thread. or ask in here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/859016/+1560
they would probably suggest d60/1000d..but nvm, go ahead and ask ..and see wht they say. smile.gif

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 9 2009, 09:39 AM
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 10:04 AM

2,955 posts

1. No u cant
2. 9 focus point
3. very subjective, its like choosing brand now. they are all equally good.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 11:40 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(akay877 @ Apr 9 2009, 10:34 AM)
1) eh? can la alphabeta..  biggrin.gif  U misunderstood the question kot.  biggrin.gif
ehh sry..see wrongly...haha..i thought can see picture thorugh the eyepiece sweat.gif

haha..i have the same reasons as you too...1000d feels like a toy..so light and grip so small..ergonomic isnt there. D60 - 3 af point? shakehead.gif a big no from me...especially if u r new to DSLR.

yea i love the shutter sound of nikon too...Sony 'flick flack' and Nikon 'criock' and Canon 'Crock'

but sony live view is still the best...so fast =.=
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 11:52 AM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Apr 9 2009, 11:48 AM)
actually i don mind the weight of my a300+cz1680+f58 when i holding them on my hand...but once i put everything back to my bag...somehow i find it a lil bit heavy already..

ahh..imagine next time carrying a900+2470+f58...*faint*
why 2470? 70200G mah..lol..heavier.. brows.gif and VG also..haha flex.gif free gym..
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:02 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(v1rtual @ Apr 9 2009, 12:00 PM)
how can you call that free gym?
A900 + VG + 70200G + f58
total is > RM20k already la
whole life platinum gym membership only RM4-5k tongue.gif
oh ya sad.gif ...lol nvr think of that haha. A portable gym sounds better? laugh.gif
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:09 PM

2,955 posts

AF-S is a type of lens which has built-in autofocus motor...not for stabilizing ur shot. Nikon stabilizer is called Vibration Reduction(VR). D60 need AF-S to focus because the camera itself does not have motor to autofocus.

All Sony uses built-in image stabilizer which is in the body rather than the lens..it is called 'Super Steady Shot'.

Im not sure whether sony lenses have built-in auto focus motor or not...need other sifu to explain..i want to know too.
AlphaBeta
post Apr 9 2009, 12:24 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Apr 9 2009, 12:17 PM)
AlphaBeta, some Sony lenses have a built-in auto focus motor - they have Super Sonic Motor (SSM) in their name.
oh i see...thx albnok..something new to me today biggrin.gif

Added on April 9, 2009, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 12:21 PM)
Okay sorry for the wrong info..got a bit confused back there..hehe

D60
1. Af-S is for autofocus. Not built in D60
2. D60 kit has a VR lens included, reduces effects of vibration/shaking hands while taking pics.
A300
1. Does it have AF-S kind of tech on the lens AND/OR on the camera body???
2. Is super steady shot equivalent to VR on d60?
Compare 133X CF Card to 8gb transend class 6 sdhc card for nikon d60kit which is better in terms of performance?

D60 flash pop up higher = better?
because d60 doesnt have 1..blame nikon for not putting 1 into it. and yes AF-S so that u can auto focus. This is why u r limited to some lenses only, you cant use AF-D lens..if u do..u need to manual focus.

juz mentioned on top..yes it does..its called SSM and yes Super steady shot is is the same thing(theoretically but not technically) as nikon's VR.

SDHC class 6 Extreme version or normal? if it comes together with the camera..then i assume it is normal SDHC class 6. So Sony 133x is faster. But nvm the card dude...A300 fps isnt that quick that you need a fast speed card. Unless u r bursting using RAW rclxub.gif

pop-up flash sits higher so that you wont get shadow of ur lens when u r shoting a close subject.

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: Apr 9 2009, 12:32 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0485sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:00 PM