Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.3

lchan
post Jul 15 2011, 12:28 PM

721 posts

QUOTE(Lanc3 @ Jun 22 2011, 06:58 PM)
do you want tower case or box type..
for tower u can choose sugo sg03...maybe can support atx board..
for sugo sg01 and sg02 only support m-atx board....atx = cannot fit...
Have one of these case sitting around my house. Loved it as a SFF, but upgraded to lian li pc-a04. the problem was i was running a 5850 card, so the length was long enough to sort of caged up the heat within the area of the CPU (pII x4 - definately not recommended. Best is a 65W CPU like the AMD x2 250). to make matters worse, i ran the best available low profile cpucooler available (zalman cnps 8700 LED) and those copper really retain heat like a b****. between the top of the heatsink and the PSU fan is like 1/2 inch, so PSU exhaust fan and CPU fan fighting for air!

The case should have extended like 1/2 inch to include a 120mm intake fan. Anyways, i suggest for sg01 case using a 9.5" gfx card, get a evercool fox-1. It dropped my cpu by about 7-10c! so at full load, it was about 62 - 65C and that is with an undervolt on cpu from stock 1.35V to 1.225V. Imagine it at stock voltage!

By comparison, on a lian li pc-a04, full load is a only about 52C.

This post has been edited by lchan: Jul 15 2011, 12:34 PM
Lanc3
post Jul 15 2011, 01:40 PM

217 posts

after deciding between sugo 01 and Aopen G 326.....i choose G326 because of Gundam or transformers looks cool2.gif ...
this sff case has lot of room because of the PSU locate outside the case..soo i can use quite big CPU cooler (used evercool shark Cooler with red LED)..but fortunately this case wont fit my HD 5830 (front case cable block GC and the clearance is soo bad ) sooo i used asus EAH5750 formula ...it's small card ,quiet and cool...i have to Mod the case and take out unimportant part and mod 460watt vantec ion2 to fit the case....here some pic... whistling.gif
**sorry low quality image take with nokia phone bcoz my digital camera lost last month... sweat.gif

temp reading :-
CPU = 37 C idle , 59 C full load. (overclock from 2.50 MHz to 3.4 MHz)
GPU = 42 C idle ,65 C full load.
HDD= 35 C idle ,42 C full load.

Revamperz
post Jul 16 2011, 02:07 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

@Lanc3 , those pics dint do justice on ur cool little rig.. get better cam nao! laugh.gif

btw, are there any atx supported ssf case out there.. only found so few..
Lanc3
post Jul 16 2011, 02:55 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(Revamperz @ Jul 16 2011, 02:07 AM)
@Lanc3 , those pics dint do justice on ur cool little rig.. get better cam nao! laugh.gif

btw, are there any atx supported ssf case out there.. only found so few..
sweat.gif sorry guys, i hv delete all the bad picture already...next month will buy new digital camera and post some better pic. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Lanc3: Jul 16 2011, 02:58 AM
Revamperz
post Jul 16 2011, 03:01 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

QUOTE(Lanc3 @ Jul 16 2011, 02:55 AM)
sweat.gif  sorry guys, i hv delete all the bad picture already...next month will buy new digital camera and post some better pic.  nod.gif
sweat.gif u dont have to delete it, just resize it will do i think , but yea.. happy shopping for a digicam! rclxms.gif
lun1986
post Jul 16 2011, 09:33 PM

939 posts

hi guys,tis is my diy itx casing.
using now smile.gif
Revamperz
post Jul 17 2011, 03:16 AM

im freaking IN! ™
5,164 posts

@lun1986 wow.. thats a tight fit

n i also got that KFC speaker! use it as speaker for the sff i built for me mom.. perfect no frills usb powered speaker for sff laugh.gif

n yea.. its was free XD

This post has been edited by Revamperz: Jul 17 2011, 03:17 AM
djlah
post Jul 31 2011, 10:11 PM

7,723 posts

long time din back to here...
no major change for my SFF, stll using CS238.
the changes is big tower HSF gone, using low profile HSF now.
added 5.25" front panel bay for USB 3.0 & Power eSATA port.
change the noise fan, now using all same model CM Blue LED Fan for 5 units.

I thinking to change casing on next, my idea SFF was like lun1986 customize casing.
the design I like is, the square box divide into 2 layer:
1. top layer mount the mobo(twin 80mm at back), twin front intake 120mm fan, right side is 1x 3.5" external bay vertically.
2. lower layer is for PSU at the back, beside is 2x hdd slots with 1 exhaust 80mm fan. Horizontally = 2x 5.25" external bay, left are buttons, LED and front USB, Audio Jack, Power eSATA.

user posted image user posted image
there is similar SFF which is Aerocool. but the idea are terbalik which is mobo at bottom.
I'm not good in handmade customize, this option are out. suggest me if you saw similar SFF design as I describe.
lun1986
post Jul 31 2011, 11:03 PM

939 posts

@Revamperz, a loya mod oni. anyone also can do it

@djlah, most of the casing also mobo at bottom 1.
djlah
post Aug 1 2011, 09:28 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(lun1986 @ Jul 31 2011, 11:03 PM)
@Revamperz, a loya mod oni. anyone also can do it

@djlah, most of the casing also mobo at bottom 1.
Yes, this is the reason why I post here. Majority are at the bottom 1.

Lian Li PC-Q06 ready for sales? How much Lian Li gonna sell this? rclxub.gif
DG41
post Aug 1 2011, 11:31 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

have anyone tried cm vortex plus in sg01? fit or no?
bean_man
post Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM

371 posts

QUOTE(DG41 @ Aug 1 2011, 11:31 PM)
have anyone tried cm vortex plus in sg01? fit or no?
I use an SG02(similar in size and construction to SG01) and CM Vortex Plus. Had clearance issues between the Vortex Plus and the PSU. Basically you will find that the max height allowed in SG01 is 82mm(between motherboard and the PSU) and Vortex Plus height is 84mm(including 25mm fan attached). So you have no space to allow air movement. I had to take the fan away and plugged a 15mm slim profile fan so that there is some space for the fan to draw air from.

If you can, you may try to get the Scythe Big Shuriken version B spotting a slim 120MM fan and height is 58mm only. So there is some space to draw air. this cooler is much more expensive through.

Hope this helps.
djlah
post Aug 2 2011, 12:54 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(bean_man @ Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM)
I use an SG02(similar in size and construction to SG01) and CM Vortex Plus. Had clearance issues between the Vortex Plus and the PSU. Basically you will find that the max height allowed in SG01 is 82mm(between motherboard and the PSU) and Vortex Plus height is 84mm(including 25mm fan attached). So you have no space to allow air movement. I had to take the fan away and plugged a 15mm slim profile fan so that there is some space for the fan to draw air from.

If you can, you may try to get the Scythe Big Shuriken version B spotting a slim 120MM fan and height is 58mm only. So there is some space to draw air. this cooler is much more expensive through.

Hope this helps.
I'm using Scythe Big Shuriken. the slim fan bundled very silent even push in high speed all the time. best for HTPC user.
only 1 drawback is quite hard on the installation if your hand/finger are big in size.
coz the heatsink size quite large and low in height, so the socket push pin are quite hard to press as it's underneath of heatsink.

This post has been edited by djlah: Aug 2 2011, 04:17 PM
djlah
post Aug 2 2011, 05:07 PM

7,723 posts

another special casing: Tecnofront Raven

Price: RM699 drool.gif drool.gif dun play play...
DG41
post Aug 3 2011, 12:35 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(bean_man @ Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM)

Hope this helps.
mean heat sink only can fit but cannot attach any fan? blink.gif

i realize the fan from psu is pulling air from outside(back) into the case which is upside of hsf. if can attach a 25mm fan is good already.

btw, can slim fan 120mm pair with cm vortex plus using default fan clip?

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 2 2011, 12:54 PM)
I'm using Scythe Big Shuriken. the slim fan bundled very silent even push in high speed all the time. best for HTPC user.
only 1 drawback is quite hard on the installation if your hand/finger are big in size.
coz the heatsink size quite large and low in height, so the socket push pin are quite hard to press as it's underneath of heatsink.
so hard to find any big shuriken now. no idea already pm seller but no reply. but i saw ppl a man selling this:

140mm Fan is big already. but nickel heatpipe. or sumone have idea whre i can get am2 clip for my current zalman fs c77(gooding but cant attach to am2)

This post has been edited by DG41: Aug 3 2011, 12:45 PM
djlah
post Aug 3 2011, 02:42 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(DG41 @ Aug 3 2011, 12:35 PM)
so hard to find any big shuriken now. no idea already pm seller but no reply. but i saw ppl a man selling this:

140mm Fan is big already. but nickel heatpipe. or sumone have idea whre i can get am2 clip for my current zalman fs c77(gooding but cant attach to am2)
the picture show is thermalright cogage mst-140, right?
height is 70.2 mm for heatsink, and add on standard fan 25 mm = total 95.2 mm; else might get slim fan 12 mm (but 140mm got or not?)
for Big SHURIKEN, only 58 mm in total.
I got mine from bro SkyNoEye, limited stock left i guess.

This post has been edited by djlah: Aug 3 2011, 02:44 PM
bean_man
post Aug 3 2011, 06:50 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(DG41 @ Aug 3 2011, 12:35 PM)
mean heat sink only can fit but cannot attach any fan? blink.gif

i realize the fan from psu is pulling air from outside(back) into the case which is upside of hsf. if can attach a 25mm fan is good already.

btw, can slim fan 120mm pair with cm vortex plus using default fan clip?

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:45 pm

The PSU fan is drawing air but it is not sufficient even at stock levels.Temps goes up to 70deg on Intel E8400 stock during max load. You wont be able to find a slim 15mm fan size at 92mm which is vortex fan size. The nearest is either sycthe's ultra small slim 120mm fan or coolermaster 80mm slim fan bu it wont be mounted securely.
If you in KL, check CZone in Lowyat. Last time(months ago) got 1 unit left.

p/s: I have seen crazy water cooling mode using Corsair H50 and you can try if you like. Just need to create a blowhole for the radiator. biggrin.gif
DG41
post Aug 3 2011, 10:37 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

sound like a problem for hsf sg01/02. i second wc setup coz this htpc is not really high end spec...not worth too best cooling. will start looking for big shuriken
djlah
post Aug 4 2011, 08:54 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(DG41 @ Aug 3 2011, 10:37 PM)
sound like a problem for hsf sg01/02. i second wc setup coz this htpc is not really high end spec...not worth too best cooling. will start looking for big shuriken
if you can't get big shuriken, suggest Prolimatech Samuel 17, this is my second choice before I get my low profile HSF.

45.1 mm + normal 120 mm fan's height 25 mm = 70.1 mm ; or slim fan for lower height.

djlah
post Aug 15 2011, 01:20 PM

7,723 posts

this thread seem like inactive...
just for nice sff picture sharing:

AOpen Nagas 灵龙G3:
More Pictures

any active AOpen dealer in LYN? AOpen G325, G326/G26HT, all are also great design casing.

This post has been edited by djlah: Aug 15 2011, 01:21 PM

134 Pages « < 90 91 92 93 94 > » Top

0.0258sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:14 PM