Small Form Factor (SFF) Rev.3

DG41
post Jul 14 2011, 11:19 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

come on. no interest in sff anyone?

btw, can someone suggest me a casing build alike CM elite 360 but height is just fit for micro atx mobo. more like sg03 but i prefer psu and cdvd arrangement in elite 360
DG41
post Aug 1 2011, 11:31 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

have anyone tried cm vortex plus in sg01? fit or no?
DG41
post Aug 3 2011, 12:35 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(bean_man @ Aug 2 2011, 11:13 AM)
I use an SG02(similar in size and construction to SG01) and CM Vortex Plus. Had clearance issues between the Vortex Plus and the PSU. Basically you will find that the max height allowed in SG01 is 82mm(between motherboard and the PSU) and Vortex Plus height is 84mm(including 25mm fan attached). So you have no space to allow air movement. I had to take the fan away and plugged a 15mm slim profile fan so that there is some space for the fan to draw air from.

If you can, you may try to get the Scythe Big Shuriken version B spotting a slim 120MM fan and height is 58mm only. So there is some space to draw air. this cooler is much more expensive through.

Hope this helps.
mean heat sink only can fit but cannot attach any fan? blink.gif

i realize the fan from psu is pulling air from outside(back) into the case which is upside of hsf. if can attach a 25mm fan is good already.

btw, can slim fan 120mm pair with cm vortex plus using default fan clip?

Added on August 3, 2011, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(djlah @ Aug 2 2011, 12:54 PM)
I'm using Scythe Big Shuriken. the slim fan bundled very silent even push in high speed all the time. best for HTPC user.
only 1 drawback is quite hard on the installation if your hand/finger are big in size.
coz the heatsink size quite large and low in height, so the socket push pin are quite hard to press as it's underneath of heatsink.
so hard to find any big shuriken now. no idea already pm seller but no reply. but i saw ppl a man selling this:

140mm Fan is big already. but nickel heatpipe. or sumone have idea whre i can get am2 clip for my current zalman fs c77(gooding but cant attach to am2)

This post has been edited by DG41: Aug 3 2011, 12:45 PM
DG41
post Aug 3 2011, 10:37 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

sound like a problem for hsf sg01/02. i second wc setup coz this htpc is not really high end spec...not worth too best cooling. will start looking for big shuriken
DG41
post Aug 20 2011, 02:30 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

hye long time no hanging here. u know what, my cooler zalman fs c77 finally can attach to AM3 socket. this cooler really best for SG01 i can said based on its shape, height and performance. i screw out ori AM3 retention bracket and made custom bracket with wood. no camera to share pic smile.gif
DG41
post Sep 12 2011, 09:46 AM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(usopp @ Sep 9 2011, 03:20 PM)
hi there.. can i ask something about mini casing.. i have a mini casing.. recently i just add a GC into the board (gt 440) but i cannot close the casing  cover back because of the GC fans are already pop out from the cover..

there are a few question here regarding on that..
1- where i can find someone who can help in modifying the cover of the casing..?

2- how much it cost if i just want to "tebuk" 1side of the cover and add a plastic cover... while the other side also want to "tebuk" and add a jaring2 besi (grill surface)..?

* i think my modify is quite simple, and i know someone will say that better doing yourself since its simple.. but i'm not that type a person in modifies thing.. i hope someone could offer a service.. i'm willing to give some upah.. hehe thanks smile.gif
what casing using? i second that. once i come idea to put h50 in sg01 but need some modification but i not do coz it will make the casing lower price (in case want to sell)
DG41
post Sep 19 2011, 09:28 AM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(itanium89 @ Sep 15 2011, 05:40 PM)
i dunno where to post
sorry if asking in wrong thread
hope anyone can help me

i dunno how much this psu efficiently
but my case come with this psu model
so my question is, can it support enough power for my rig since this psu is china made ?

my rig

i3-2120
h61 motherboard
4gb ddr3 team elite
1 x 3.5 1TB hdd

i think total watt usage not more than 80Watt
so how ? izit ok ? or i need to change for better psu like cooler master psu ?

icon_question.gif
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

what 80w only? no
DG41
post Sep 28 2011, 01:16 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

ahha, sorry guys, already sold my htpc and migrate back to atx. what can said i got more performance based on certain factor in atx size. well htpc still relavent n might build a mini itx next time
DG41
post Oct 1 2011, 04:01 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Sep 30 2011, 10:22 PM)
mana photo?
he enjoice rig forgot already....or he still on process, mod the case to suit wc setup, maybe
DG41
post Oct 5 2011, 07:06 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

its quite bulky, and cpu cooler almost hidden shakehead.gif

is kozuti perform well? sure can see it leave a noticable gap from psu
DG41
post Oct 6 2011, 12:14 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(dadarouch @ Oct 6 2011, 01:01 AM)
BTW guys,

Here's the benchmark I did for my CPU:

[attachmentid=2470965]
well its not bad temp if its full load temp, acceptable lah for low profile hsf

QUOTE(Lanc3 @ Oct 6 2011, 01:14 AM)
more picture of my rig... smile.gif

spec =
Gigabyte G45 M combo
sapphire HD5830 xtreme ( idle 34 c ,full load 67c)
vantec ion2 460 w
intel core2quad (idle 40c ,full load 62c)
evercool shark cooler
2gb of ram
xigmatek fan
its look like asus dark knight. or its 3rd party cooler for 5830? hmm.gif
DG41
post Oct 6 2011, 07:23 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(Lanc3 @ Oct 6 2011, 12:58 PM)
it's not 3rd party cooler ,this is sapphire xtreme series cooler ....there are two version of hd5830 ,one is hd5830 oem and hd5830 xtreme...i'm just take out the shroud on this card because it reduce temp. almost 10 c  smile.gif  smile.gif ... i don like the card shroud design ....also it looks like cool asus dark knight a lil bit  biggrin.gif .
actually i like the design of transformer, those psu location really help space for hsf. what hsf u using? i wanna check its height

QUOTE(fridel @ Oct 6 2011, 02:56 PM)
U do like that will void warranty? hmm.gif
btw,my GPU run 79°c when full load la sad.gif
79 c not worry what. some card can stand still over water boild temp. my card kena combuster msi sure around 100-110 c
DG41
post Oct 7 2011, 12:35 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(Lanc3 @ Oct 6 2011, 11:21 PM)
i know it will void warantty but i don mind  biggrin.gif  ,
if the card fail, i already prepared cash for new HD7xxx series or new DX12 card....
BTW before i take out the shroud the full load temp. is around 73-77 c ,idle 42c...i change new thermal paste and take out the shroud the temp is 67c on full load and 34 c idle... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif 
this sff case is really good for large shf ,also the PSU fan help cooling the hsf ....i'm using evercool shark cpu cooler ,iinm it is around 6 -8 inch high...This shf is good even i takeout the hsf fan .large hsf good for passive cooling in sff system.
it also can support 12 inch hsf ,but must sacrifice 3.5 hd bay & dvd bay..
pic below is 11 inch hsf ..
its intel or amd socket? i notice the orientation of cpu hsf different from upper one picture so it should be intel no? those psu located at side of hsf should draw air from case to outside, and hsfan is direct blow air to psu fan. no?
DG41
post Oct 8 2011, 12:37 PM

Power Saving Mode
642 posts

QUOTE(ravewar @ Oct 8 2011, 12:14 PM)
yeah...love the lian li cases too, but i love the sg05 as well...very "modabble" case imho...

thanks for looking.
cheers
lol. its actually a h50 fan in front panel...push pull fan. and that future graphic gtx640 just fine(?) without fan attached

0.0662sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:00 PM