15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Preparation for winter, Essentials items for personal protection

SUSf4tE
post Mar 22 2009, 12:48 PM, updated 17y ago

1,605 posts

Lets discuss the items that are needed for people who will be visiting cold countries like me who have no experience.

I assume that winter will be defined as below 5 degree celcius rite?? before that still can manage with normal jacket.

What are the items that we will need to prepare? Full set winter clothes - snowcap, skarf, gloves, long john, sweater, winter jacket

Lip gloss? Moisturizer?

For those with experience help plz..
Samurai
post Mar 22 2009, 12:55 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Mar 22 2009, 12:48 PM)
Lets discuss the items that are needed for people who will be visiting cold countries like me who have no experience.

I assume that winter will be defined as below 5 degree celcius rite?? before that still can manage with normal jacket.

What are the items that we will need to prepare? Full set winter clothes - snowcap, skarf, gloves, long john, sweater, winter jacket

Lip gloss? Moisturizer?

For those with experience help plz..
You have buy a new shoes for winter..with small spike..to avoid slippery when you walk on ice.. smile.gif
SUSf4tE
post Mar 22 2009, 01:23 PM

1,605 posts

how much is the shoe? where can i find in penang?
Samurai
post Mar 22 2009, 01:28 PM

70 posts

which country are you going.?
If Japan..the shoes around ¥2000-¥3000..
RegentCid
post Mar 22 2009, 01:43 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

LOL Japan no more Winter...now japan is SPring already average tempreture is 15C - 22C

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Mar 22 2009, 02:12 PM
Samurai
post Mar 22 2009, 02:19 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 22 2009, 01:43 PM)
LOL Japan no more Winter...now japan is SPring already average tempreture is 15C - 22C
Its still winter at Hokkaido..but its end of season..Honshu..no more winter iyaa..Spring.. smile.gif
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 22 2009, 06:32 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

cotton inner shirt, outer winter wear, gloves, head gear, ear piece, snow shoes, lip gloss, thick socks, shades
SUSf4tE
post Mar 22 2009, 11:02 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 22 2009, 06:32 PM)
cotton inner shirt, outer winter wear, gloves, head gear, ear piece, snow shoes, lip gloss, thick socks, shades
shades necessary meh? i tot for styl eonly..

2 -3 k yen can get good shoe d? I mean the water proff shoe for winter 1 wor not those normal sports shoe..
elite_smart
post Mar 25 2009, 06:36 PM

49 posts

Heating pad also? In case you feel very cold and you already wear many clothes... You can go to Winter Time and ask them also. They have a brochure that tells you what is necessary...
zariqcools
post Mar 25 2009, 10:23 PM

Kerr
711 posts

you will also need a trench coat
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 25 2009, 10:34 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ Mar 22 2009, 11:02 PM)
shades necessary meh? i tot for styl eonly..

2 -3 k yen can get good shoe d? I mean the water proff shoe for winter 1 wor not those normal sports shoe..
i dunno.. from where i come from the snow reflects sunlight.. and it hurts d eyes... d sun shines straight into d eyes from side ways unlike msia from d top.

winter is not only water proof but insulated... best if get from 3m

QUOTE(elite_smart @ Mar 25 2009, 06:36 PM)
Heating pad also? In case you feel very cold and you already wear many clothes... You can go to Winter Time and ask them also. They have a brochure that tells you what is necessary...
i dont think heating pad is nessacery unless u r going outdoor camping in d snow or u r above 50 yo.... i suggest look out for this brand called 'hunt' they are much cheaper than winter time.. and also good

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 25 2009, 10:23 PM)
you will also need a trench coat
that 1 if u r going europe/japan/north korea n u wanna look like 1 of d locals
joeylny
post Mar 26 2009, 12:38 AM

555 posts

thermal wear is quite important.. n jackets lighter the possible ..
cashmere would be good but pure cashmere could be exp but light.
when u are cold u would wear layers so if its heavy u will feel tired easily so try to choose light clothes but can stand the cold type

deodorant
post Mar 26 2009, 05:35 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Most important is gloves + something to protect your ears, and maybe a scarf for the neck.

Also depends on how cold the place you're going is -- if it's normally within -5 or warmer then no need to bother with long johns or inner wear, just jeans + 3-layer top is enough (shirt + sweater + jacket).
wKkaY
post Mar 26 2009, 09:48 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Hi cookie. For moisturizer, I recommend vaseline. You can use it on your lips too.
munkeyflo
post Mar 27 2009, 03:33 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,799 posts

woolen scarf, long johns, inner long sleeves top, woolen sweater, woolen cap thingy, woolen socks, gloves, skiing gloves (if you're going to play with snow), winter pants (inside got another layer wan, it shud be waterproof and windproof) and windbreaker..

if you're really scare of the cold, get a "monkey mask", i dunno what is it really called but my parents called it monkey mask. it's something like those robbers wear on their head to cover up their ears, mouth and nose.

also bring vaseline, it's like super super important, u can use it for your lips, fingers, legs, wherever. if the weather is too dry, your skin will itch also.. so don't bath for too long even though it's like so nice to bath hot water in cold weather, cause the hot water will make ur skin even more itchy.

when i go cold countries, normally before going out and before sleeping i will rub vaseline onto my fingertips and on my feet. then put on socks. oh yea, wear socks to sleep also, it can really keep u warm.. somehow my socks will not stay on until i get up.. lol.

as for shoes, i've been wearing normal sport shoes that we can get over here, has never been a problem for me.. of course u have to get those more rugged ones for tracking like that.

anyway, you go to those winter clothing shop and they will help u out wan la.. winter time, etc.

oh yea, when i was in europe, some uk tourist told us to get hand warmers, it will really keep your hands warm so the fingers wont feel so numb if you're not wearing gloves.. but i dunno whether can get them here in msia or not..

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Mar 27 2009, 03:36 PM
liew_jls
post Mar 27 2009, 04:34 PM

558 posts

QUOTE(joeylny @ Mar 25 2009, 04:38 PM)
thermal wear is quite important.. n jackets lighter the possible ..
cashmere would be good but pure cashmere could be exp but light.
when u are cold u would wear layers so if its heavy u will feel tired easily so try to choose light clothes but can stand the cold type
it's good to wear layers, at least when you are go to some warm place (like shopping mall) and you can take out one by one until you feel not too cold and hot. otherwise you will heat to dead if you wear only one.
SUSf4tE
post Mar 27 2009, 05:11 PM

1,605 posts

there very dry then will get itchy?? if thats the case im really scared.. will the lotion/moisturizer help?
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 27 2009, 10:09 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 26 2009, 05:35 AM)
Most important is gloves + something to protect your ears, and maybe a scarf for the neck.

Also depends on how cold the place you're going is -- if it's normally within -5 or warmer then no need to bother with long johns or inner wear, just jeans + 3-layer top is enough (shirt + sweater + jacket).
my place -55 celcius lor doh.gif

QUOTE(f4tE @ Mar 27 2009, 05:11 PM)
there very dry then will get itchy?? if thats the case im really scared.. will the lotion/moisturizer help?
will help to a certain extent only.. still will itch
noonian
post Mar 28 2009, 02:42 AM

317 posts

get the local lotion coz it's more suitable for their local weather. Bring some lotion from here first so u can use it first. Once u're there, get some lotion over there from the pharmacy or supermarket.

if u're going UK, would recommend Marks and Spencer's lotion. It can be as cheap as 1 pound per bottle.
SUSf4tE
post Mar 28 2009, 04:35 PM

1,605 posts

-55 celcius? u got type wrong?? got place so cold 1 meh..or u stay in the north pole?

15 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0274sec    1.03    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:05 AM