THE SECRET AMP Club, Malaysia Made High End Portable Headamp

Enigmatic
post Jun 8 2009, 10:16 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(precsmo @ Jun 8 2009, 10:11 PM)
Just received my Secret Amp, very excited, but hmmmm, and bro pcwork, you knew what happen lar, but should be small matter, and bro yuheng had confirm to me that everything will be just find, ke ke ke, bro yuheng is the man! rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Secret Amp is the way to go
Ahaha.
Congrats bro! biggrin.gif Have fun listening! cool.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 10 2009, 11:32 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

Praise God I got one. biggrin.gif For a cheap price too. Haha.
Just waiting for funds to PcMod my Ipod. Ugh. Saw some of the internal parts.. Man. Definitely not something I can do. I can even hardly SEE the resistors to began with.

Blame uncle's old body and old failing eyes. *sigh*

Enigmatic
post Jun 10 2009, 04:34 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 10 2009, 03:17 PM)
old? u are at least 4 years old younger than me..
6 years to be precise. biggrin.gif
But gah, I am feeling older and older these days. Movements getting slower, eyes failing me... Gah.

Will be back from hometown next week Tuesday, will confirm a meetup time for those who are interested in auditing the Secret Amp.
Enigmatic
post Jun 10 2009, 07:39 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 10 2009, 07:33 PM)
come on cool.gif
What specs you wanna know? I'll see if I can help you on anything. wink.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 11 2009, 10:24 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 11 2009, 05:59 AM)
ok2..i wanna know what is the sound siggy?
n wat is the reference amp when making this amp?
thx  wub.gif  wub.gif
Ah.

The reference pair of headphone I assume? It was tested with the HD580 primarily.

It generally generates a smooth, slight warm sound signature, with a musical presentation to it. Significantly, soundstage depth and width is very much improved, especially what we can see by pairing the Secret Amp with the Grados/Alessandros. Just so that you know too, it can push up to 600ohm, has two modes of playback (one gives a more aggressive, fast attack and the other more warmth, smooth), a hardware crossfeed and optimized charging capabilities, in which the circuitry is made to optimize battery charging for long hours. (aka put in the charger, leave it there for 24/7)
Enigmatic
post Jun 12 2009, 02:55 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(xenohawk @ Jun 12 2009, 01:36 PM)
Wow! I never have a clue that this was made in Malaysia, the high cosmetic build suggest that it is from the states like other headamp. Congrats!

I'm currently looking for a portable amp as well to drive my K701, AHD2000, E500, Koss KSC75/PortaPro/SportaPro. Does this amp have the synergy with my rig?
When I am back from my hometown we could meet for an audit. biggrin.gif
For all I know, the KSC75 sounds darn good on the Secret Amp. Hmm.. Hopefully next week I can grab my recabled KSC75 then see how far the difference is. biggrin.gif

PS: PcWork, if yuheng drops by your place before I grab the KSC75 you can pass it to him too. smile.gif Cause I'll most likely drop by yuheng's place next weekend also. Hehe.
Enigmatic
post Jun 15 2009, 07:51 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(xenohawk @ Jun 15 2009, 04:34 PM)
300hrs!!  drool.gif
shocking.gif but I just place a order for the current one, cannot wait..  sweat.gif
Yikes! Xeno! So fast! Haha.

Well, don't worry, you can choose to upgrade it on a later date. wink.gif

Btw, hi guys. Am back. biggrin.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 17 2009, 01:54 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(eugeneyou @ Jun 16 2009, 09:37 PM)
but someone mentiond bout 300+ hrs single charge battery.....i tot there will be new 1...stil got offer price or not? i wan "XXX" as serial number
Its an optional upgrade. biggrin.gif

Do drop yuheng/walabies a PM regarding the amp if you're interested. biggrin.gif Good stuff there.
Enigmatic
post Jun 17 2009, 12:01 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(eugeneyou @ Jun 17 2009, 06:26 AM)
huh?optonal?then need to pay extra how much?
Not too sure as of now. biggrin.gif They should be still on the midst of sourcing a good battery provider. Will ask ask abit when I am picking up my modded D1. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 17 2009, 06:56 AM)
but someone said it also offer some improvement in audio?
Yup thats what I heard too. biggrin.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 21 2009, 12:53 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

user posted image user posted image user posted image

You're looking at a modded D1, Secret Amp 006, and D10 Cobra.

Went down to yuheng's place today. biggrin.gif Who said AegoM doesn't have bass? LOL

Pairing my Secret with the D1. Really really enjoying my setup now. Will be awhile before I get myself bookshelves. *chuckles*

I will be free next week, preferably weekdays. Who is interested in a Secret Amp meet just leave your names here. I'll drop you guys a PM each. Will be held in Bukit Bintang area, most likely the usual, Starbucks in Borders. Bring your own cans ya. biggrin.gif My HD580 won't reach me that soon.

Oh and who manages to guess the camera I am using.. Treats me coffee. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jun 21 2009, 12:53 AM
Enigmatic
post Jun 21 2009, 01:09 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 21 2009, 01:08 AM)
i though u heard my AEGO M has bass already?
lol
Ahaha.
Yea, since that day I was wondering, why people say AegoM no bass. Urgh.

Eh, have a safe trip back ya. smile.gif Do take care on the way! smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 21 2009, 09:31 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Jun 21 2009, 04:58 PM)
Taikos! When got gathering??I wana join! hahaha i only have HD 555..Qualified ka?

Secret amp rocks! I hope some1 bring it to headfi..I'll support kao kao!
Eh? I thought you at US?

24 hours already and nobody interested in auditing it yet? smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 22 2009, 06:27 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Jun 22 2009, 10:50 AM)
Hahah..Maybe if got chance to go back, I'll join the gathering ba
..hahah..Airasia got so many good deals recently..Maybe I can hop on a plane, get bk malaysia to join the gathering tongue.gif hahaha....
Just PM me la when you're heading back. smile.gif

QUOTE(Paca @ Jun 22 2009, 10:54 AM)
hows the d10 perform? drool.gif
Hmmmm... I only managed to compare it with my modded D1 on a side by side comparison.

It has a very clean sounding presentation, detailed, just a lil bit dry and slighttttt bit narrow on the mids (thats because I listened to the Modded D1 first though).

Btw, the size of the Cobra D10 is DARN small for all the functions it has slam packed in it. wink.gif Ibasso's definitely getting better and better. Looking forward to see their future (and one more not too distant biggrin.gif) offerings. Hehe.
Enigmatic
post Jun 26 2009, 12:40 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(walabies @ Jun 26 2009, 12:37 AM)
Was planning to bring secret amp to headfi but the production cant support. Very sad.  sad.gif
*not* now right?

Slowly la, push to Singapore first. See if you guys can expand your workforce or not. laugh.gif
Enigmatic
post Jun 26 2009, 05:19 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(:+:JerRy:+: @ Jun 26 2009, 05:16 PM)
Is this Secret Amp can be connected to laptop?
You can do that definitely, by using a 3.5mm to 3.5mm (mini to mini), though I don't think you'd wanna amplify your laptop's onboard soundcard. laugh.gif Kinda of a waste.

Best if you can buy a dedicated DAC with lineout features. smile.gif

For my case it'd be laptop => iBasso D1 modded (USB connected as DAC) => Secret Amp => Headphones
Enigmatic
post Jun 26 2009, 07:30 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(precsmo @ Jun 26 2009, 07:07 PM)
I'm using Ipod Photo modded by PCWORK, HD650 (newly bought in China, KA KA KA KA!!!!), and the Secret Amp, it is SUPERB!!!!

BTW, latest update: Yuin PK2 in China has totally phased out, meaning there will be no more available, if whoever still can find it, quickly grab one! PK1 still can easily get, but it will be expensive, in China, it is RMB880 or RM490. But I will be no more going to China so soon, even if I go, I can't offer help anymore unless to very close friends, it is too much trouble to follow up from everyone, and my schedule in China is very tide every time.
Oit. Precsmo, hope you're doing fine over at China! smile.gif

Btw, your signature.. HD560 or HD650? tongue.gif How much did you paid for the HD650 over at China? Haha. Can see that you're really happy that PcWork agreed to finish your Ipod on the very day itself. smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Jul 13 2009, 04:54 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Hara520 @ Jul 11 2009, 01:28 AM)
omg....damn bullshit my new setup....
Asus Stx -->  secret amp ---> Ms-1.....

no powerful...twist more abit the switch sound juz pecah~
= =" no mood use anymore~ sad.gif
Uh..? You meant when you turn up the volume switch the sound 'peach'?

QUOTE(xenohawk @ Jul 12 2009, 04:58 PM)
Finally got mine working (a slight battery issues initially, but walabies quickly fixed that, thanks!). Just in time also to test my fresh ATH-ESW9 I got from my friend in japan.

So far I've tried the amp on KSC-75, PortaPro and ESW9. 75's transformed into a beast O_O while the heavy bass Porta Pro is too warm. ESW9 on the other hand the sound seems more "refined", bass not as boomy, better instrument seperation / sound stage. This is all with the "secret switch" off and the crossfeed around 2-3.

When the "secret" switch is flip the vocal seems to jump in front. Sound more "aggressive" imo. It is like having 2 different amp lol.

Too bad that it is sensitive to cellular network interference (you know... those sound when you put a live phone near chepo speaker). I have iPhone 3G and it also served as my portable source, so this bother me a bit. Maybe I can try the direct line out from the iPhone and see how is it.
Yea, heard that case from yuheng, personally facing it as well. =) It tends to pickup phone signals rather easily, probably because of the chassis holes for the switches which are a little too big at the moment. wink.gif *yes, note the 'at the moment' phrase*

QUOTE(killz23 @ Jul 13 2009, 08:06 AM)
How much is the Secret Amp now ar? Is it portable or have to be connected? as in dc/ac...

Can I get it in US now? hahaa...I'm wondering le..hmm....If not too expensive, I'll ask my friend to get it then send to me to US
PM yuheng or walabies for a quotation. smile.gif You can't get it in US as of yet. Production and final product retailing test is moving a little slow I guess. Haha. But the amp is actually doing pretty ok at the moment, apart from the problem xenohawk described earlier. Could be fixed in the near future however.

This post has been edited by Enigmatic: Jul 13 2009, 05:02 PM
Enigmatic
post Jul 14 2009, 02:52 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(Hara520 @ Jul 14 2009, 02:41 AM)
ya..whatever flac or mp3 oso like tat....easily "pecah"
is it my setting gt problem....hv u turn one the gain's function?
and how much the crossfeed's point u put?
Crossfeed I always put on 1, lowest. Gain.. Depends on what headphone I use lo. But doesn't makes the sound distort.

Try isolating the problem first. Link the Secret Amp to some other audio device and try see if the sound got distortion or not gua. If got, then quickly send it in for repairs/replacements. smile.gif
Enigmatic
post Jul 18 2009, 03:08 AM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(a-widodo @ Jul 17 2009, 01:41 PM)
Has anyone here ever tried Secret amp paired with UM3X?
QUOTE(x3no @ Jul 18 2009, 03:05 AM)
Anyone tried Secret Amp with UE Triple Fi.10 Pro?
Considering of getting the amp if it is good with it!  biggrin.gif
If you guys have the IEMs, feel free to beep up yuheng (PJ)/walabies (Johor) for an audition. smile.gif

Alternatively, if you guys can't get them, and if I am free, AND if there is enough interest, I wouldn't mind bringing my Secret Amp out for you guys to audit. smile.gif

>_> I should really sleep now.. Need wake up by 7...
Enigmatic
post Aug 4 2009, 12:30 PM

Tralala?
3,291 posts

QUOTE(calmn27 @ Aug 4 2009, 12:20 PM)
i'd like to congratulate you guys on making this amp. really proud it's malaysian!! well done!

i study in the uk and i'm back for summer hols. couldn't believe that audio equipment here is half the price there  :s  seriously about half...

let me know if there's a meet yeah?
What gear do you have there calmn27? biggrin.gif If I am bored we might be able to meet up for you to try out something.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0333sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:21 PM