61 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Contact lens information, as requested by members

TSjialat
post Jan 26 2018, 12:04 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(sivanathan04 @ Jan 26 2018, 07:39 AM)
Hi jialat bro.im a keratakonus patient done cornea transplant in both eyes few years back..now using sclreal leans..having severe dry eye too.currently using Boston simplus for cleaning and soaking..goverment hospital they recommend me to use separate Boston advance cleaner and conditioning for better cleaning..any other better cleaner or Boston is good enough..thank you
hi Siva, yes boston cleaner and conditioning are good enough. Scleral lens is filled with artificial eyedrop, it should not caused dry eyes because your cornea is soaked with eyedrop all time when wearing the lens.
TSjialat
post Jan 29 2018, 11:49 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Jan 28 2018, 08:00 PM)
So I've just been to a store nearby. Is Bausch & Lomb a good brand for contact lenses?It's Soflens 38 apparently? Or should I just avoid?
Also, soflens 38 can wear for how long max? can wear for 12 hours like that? and compared to biofinity? which is the best for 12hours+/- wear?
Soflens 38 are very very basic lens. Max 8 hours per day.

Biofinity has much more oxygen than soflens 38. More than 12 hours also no problem.
TSjialat
post Feb 1 2018, 10:03 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 1 2018, 03:17 AM)
Has anyone sleep in softlens 38? I take the commuter to work and sometimes take a nap for 20-30 min. If Im wearing softlens then is it a problem?

First time user (going to), I'll probably get the cheap softlens, and if I'm ok with contacts over glasses, I guess I'll make a move for the more expensive ones.
You only have one pair of eyes. Dont take risk with low oxygen permeability lens.
TSjialat
post Feb 2 2018, 12:31 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 1 2018, 11:39 PM)
Yeah, quite true. Why risk eyesight for a couple bucks. There seems to be a few other options for silicon hydrogel lens too in the shop I went... altho i feel its better i double check here to see if its actually good.

What about Clariti Elite by Coopervision? How good/shitty is 86 Dk/t ? 12hrs +/- with nap boleh?
best to look for DK/t of 100 & above if u plan to nap with lens on.

clariti elite not so comfortable, i tried it once for a month long.
TSjialat
post Feb 2 2018, 08:55 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 2 2018, 08:47 PM)
Yeah, I guess so, I tend to fall asleep easily and it's a bit of a hassle taking it out and putting it in each time (esp. outside the house)

Also, how does biofinity compare to purevision 2? Apparently its approved for up to 30 days 30 nights (wont wear it for that long la, but it sounds good), which is better?
biofinity is slightly more comfortable than purevision 2, but night time vision purevision 2 HD win by miles.
TSjialat
post Feb 3 2018, 10:43 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(eksk @ Feb 3 2018, 07:28 AM)
what do you think of the air optix with hydraglyde?
It’s improved in terms of surface moisture compared to old version of air optix. Comfort improve also.
TSjialat
post Feb 4 2018, 09:41 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ron5 @ Feb 4 2018, 06:07 AM)
is there anybody who have the problem where the eye is blurry after removing contacts and wearing glasses? what does it mean? the contacts are fine when i put them on but glasses seem like they are of lesser power even though they are the same power.
Its normal especially after wearing contact lens for long hours, the cornea is swollen if your lens are not high oxygen type. Its called spectacle blur when first put on glasses right after removing contact lens.

If your short sightedness is above -4.00, then your contact lens power should have been lowered instead of same. Otherwise u will feel contact lens clearer than glasses all time.
TSjialat
post Feb 4 2018, 12:01 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ron5 @ Feb 4 2018, 09:59 AM)
thanks really relieved! both power are -3.5 should be ok rite? how long will it take for it to go away? (cos its already been a day i havent worn them) and yeah, im using a shitty pair of encore a lenses. will be ordering better ones online.
-3.50 is fine. No need lowered the contact lens power.

Spectacle blur usually last for 30 min top.
TSjialat
post Feb 6 2018, 12:35 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ron5 @ Feb 5 2018, 12:09 PM)
stupid question but all contact lens power the same right? like my encore a is -3.50 and I ordered biofinity from online.. can use the same power -3.50 uh?
yes they are the same power. just different design and material.
TSjialat
post Feb 11 2018, 11:33 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 10 2018, 09:16 PM)
Quick question, are eye wetting drops necessary to have with you at all times (esp. outside the house) when wearing contacts? Don't really have dry eyes and all so far, but I guess that will develop over time when wearing contacts based on what I read online? Newb to contact lenses haha
no need, dont get dependent on it.
TSjialat
post Feb 11 2018, 05:12 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(roy595 @ Feb 11 2018, 02:45 PM)
I see I see. Also, what are your thoughts on opti-free replenish solution? wanted to get biotrue after reading your posts in this thread but the places I went didnt seem to have it and I was in bit of a rush... Is it alright, or do I have to consider getting a new one soon?
optifree replenish keeps moist for 14 hours max after soaking overnight. its less effective but more expensive than biotrue. try find in watson next time.
TSjialat
post Feb 14 2018, 11:40 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ron5 @ Feb 13 2018, 06:28 AM)
Ok so I had an eye test again and apparently my eyes are now -4.00. the optician ordered -4.00 lenses. is it fine, should lower? Wordings on the chart were blurry with -3.50 if it helps

Its also a bit shocking that my eye power went from -3.50 to -4.00 in around 2 years. is that normal?
-4.00 is fine. Normal for 0.50 in 2 years.
TSjialat
post Feb 21 2018, 11:30 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Feb 21 2018, 02:44 AM)
Hi Jialat, can you recommend the better ones for daily use, long hours, sensitive eyes, and suitable for water sports if that should be a concern. Also, are daily lens better than bi-weekly or monthly? Thank you.

My glasses prescription:

Right -4.25 / -0.50 x 132
Left -4.25 / -0.50 x 175

I used to be a daily contact lens user. I have tried Air Optix monthly but not comfortable. Have switched to Acuvue Oasys bi-weekly but eyes were still dry that I needed to apply eyedrops (perhaps affected by long working hours back then OT until midnight in front of laptop). After that I stopped wearing contact lens on daily basis.

I am now using Coopervision Clariti 1 Day for gym, water sports and parties. But I can feel my eyes are slightly warm everytime after removing the lens. Not sure why..
you should alcon 1 day total daily lens, its the best in market now. pm me if u want to buy, rm 140 a box of 30 pieces.
TSjialat
post Feb 23 2018, 12:54 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ms Americano L @ Feb 22 2018, 12:13 AM)
Thanks. Self collect from ur store or delivery?
If u want self collect then u need to go to my optometrist shop in taipan subang jaya.
Otherwise u need to top up rm10 for gdex courier.
TSjialat
post Mar 1 2018, 07:55 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Mar 1 2018, 05:50 PM)

Need some feedback here.

I used to wear contact lenses without any issues, but lately (i.e past 2 years), quite frequently after wearing for short duration (i.e 2-3 hours), I felt like a dust/particle went into my eyes. After I removed my lenses, it’s still in my eye (so confirmed something went in). Happened to both the old Air Optix and the recent new Air Optix HydraGlyde.

It sound simple enough, dust just went in, but I just cannot figure out the reason why it only happen mostly when I wear lenses only, and cannot be so much dust wherever I go.

Can only think of these possibilities:-
- contact lens not suitable
- some medical condition
- really that much dust haha but cannot really make sense
try changing to oasys, then u should be able to feel more comfortable.
TSjialat
post Mar 11 2018, 12:18 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(QianYu @ Mar 9 2018, 09:47 AM)
Hi there eveyronee! I've been using contact lenses for a few years now. I started off with acuvue moist daily, and then air optix monthly. Most recently on and off also, I've been using some Freshkon coloured lenses (daily).

I would like to switch back to clear lenses now as I find my eyes getting dry quite easily esp in AC areas.

So i've been looking at Air Optix day & night, Air Optix Aqua and also Biofinity. Which do you think will be a better choice for my case?

Thanks smile.gif
go for oasys 2 weekly lens, beat all the monthly lens.
TSjialat
post Mar 18 2018, 12:58 PM

2,364 posts

use finger to rub the lens on palm while put some lens solution. it will be clean.
TSjialat
post May 22 2018, 10:08 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkullGD @ May 21 2018, 10:55 PM)
Hi, i have been using acuvue moist daily for around 2 years now but its always dry at the end of the day.
Can you recommend me most suitable daily contact lens for dry eyes?
Also i want to try weekly contact lens so can you recommend for dry eyes?
One eye have astigmatism and one dont have
Power for one eye is 350 and another is 400
Hi, you can try alcon 1 day total daily lens which is the most comfortable daily lens available now but it has no astigmatism correction.
TSjialat
post May 26 2018, 10:30 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(PowderBug @ May 25 2018, 03:31 PM)
Hi Jialat,

I just went for an eye check and got my glasses changed. My new powers are:

L -4.75/-1.00/35
R -4.75/-0.75/155

It was suggested that I get contact lenses of the power below:

L -4.50/-0.75/40
R -4.50/-0.75/160

My old contact lenses (Acuvue Moist for Astig) are of this powers:

L -4.75/-0.75/60
R -4.75/-0.75/160

Question:
1) Can I still use my old contact lenses?
2) I don't use contacts very often, they make me dizzy and it is uncomfortable. What is causing this? has it got to do with the power or the type of lenses?

TIA!
Hi, your old lense power too strong lead to dizziness. Better change them to the new power given.
TSjialat
post May 26 2018, 12:56 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(PowderBug @ May 26 2018, 12:48 PM)
Are you an optometrist? Do you sell contacts lenses? How much do you sell?
i work in eye clinic, i can help u to get them.

pm u the price

61 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0621sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:39 AM