116 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/04 Man Utd v Aston Villa | 22:55 ESPN

b00n
post Mar 15 2009, 03:44 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(munky @ Mar 15 2009, 03:37 AM)
whoopa's a guy ? DAMNNNNN

gosh....! you only knew that?!... sweat.gif

roti-terbakar
post Mar 15 2009, 03:44 AM

91 posts

lol sinoffire same pose only~

English Angle: Has Liverpool's Win At Manchester United Changed Anything?

its a very long one btw, read it earlier just to ease my heart~ tongue.gif

Has anything changed?

Manchester United still command a four point lead at the top of the Premier League with a game in hand, which likely means that the Red Devils will have to drop points in three or more fixtures before the season's end if Liverpool are to claim the title. They have only dropped points in eight matches to this point.

After the last time that Manchester United lost in the league, on November 8, they embarked on a run of clean sheets - the likes of which had never been seen before. They managed to turn a seven point deficit into a seven point advantage while Liverpool wobbled, and wobbled critically.

Much has been made of Rafael Benitez's rant against Sir Alex Ferguson, but that outburst only served to put Manchester United's consistency, and Liverpool's lack of it, into the spotlight. Simply, United's form had been little short of perfection.

On a bedrock of a goalkeeper who forgot what it felt like to concede, a pair of centre-backs to rival the best partnerships the game has seen, through to a strike line that created and scored with ease, United had - perhaps should still have - it all. If they respond to this defeat with typical resolution and robustness, then Liverpool may have to forget about ending their near two decade wait for the crown.

But some cracks are showing.

Edwin van der Sar was ordinary behind a fallible back-four. Nemanja Vidic was a shoddy parody of his real self. Rio Ferdinand was not much better; his decision to duck a high-ball and allow Andrea Dossena behind to score was uncharacteristic of his season, but entirely in keeping with a Manchester United off-day - a hen's tooth of an event.

Further up the field, the ease with which Michael Carrick exercised his passing repertoire over the winter was replaced with something approaching an average midfield performance. Cristiano Ronaldo papered the cracks of an insipid display with a penalty, while Wayne Rooney and Carlos Tevez foraged for involvement in vain.

United don't have many days like this, much less at Old Trafford. The last time they were defeated so heavily in league competition at home, it was a QPR victory and a Dennis Bailey hat-trick that did it. That was New Years Day, 1992, when the Da Silva twins were still in nappies.

Why was today any different? What did Liverpool do that was so extraordinary?

Simply put, Liverpool made very few mistakes and punished the ones made by their opponents: not exactly rocket science. Aside from Reina's trip on Park Ji-Sung, the team in grey were disciplined and regimented. When United broke with their usual pace, instead of a piecemeal chasing pack at the other end of the field, they were usually confronted with six men in grey, with Lucas and Mascherano dropping back.

Going forward, Liverpool picked up where they left off against Real Madrid in midweek, capitalising on their opponents' mistakes and making their presence count with their heavy hitters in the final third. United fell on their own sword four times in one match. From Vidic's one-man comedy hour to getting caught on the break for Gerrard's penalty, through to Ferdinand's injury time howler, United were a sorry prospect. In one afternoon, they conceded as many goals at Old Trafford as they had done in three months of league competition.

For their part, Liverpool executed their game plan to a T. The pace of Fernando Torres fatally worried Vidic, who was unnerved from the outset. Steven Gerrard, playing as a second striker, picked up a good majority of loose balls in the United half; on another day, each and every one of them would have had a United name on it. Javier Mascherano and Lucas Leiva in the midfield outfought and outmanoeuvred their South American counterpart, Anderson, and also Carrick. Fabio Aurelio kept Ronaldo in check, while Martin Skrtel continued his quest to become the league's number one centre back. Aside from the penalty kick, there was precious few clear-cut chances carved out by the hosts - a feat on the part of the Scousers which deserves high praise. Liverpool were steady, solid and settled - as Man United have been for much of the past three months.

Admittedly, Rafa Benitez does not have the same standard of squad from which to choose his players as Sir Alex Ferguson. If he had, then Liverpool would doubtless still be top of the league. When the Anfield side gather their best XI, they are more than a match for anyone. Chelsea and Manchester United have both been defeated in a league season, while a point has already been taken off Arsenal. Add in two points dropped in games at home against Stoke City, Fulham, West Ham United, Hull, Everton and Manchester City, and Liverpool would be certainly out of sight at this stage.

Against the 'lesser' Premier League sides, Manchester United are simply peerless at home. Only Newcastle United, on the first weekend of the season, had taken anything before Liverpool's visit and it is that type of methodical consistency that could ultimately decide the fate of this year's championship, and not just winning the big games.

Midweek, we were given just a glimpse of a jaded Manchester United in the Champions League; they looked human after months of supremacy. Today, that flaw was exacerbated by an excellent Liverpool, thus there could be life left in this old dog of a title race. Liverpool have gained an inch, but it's up to Manchester United to surrender the mile. Add to that the steady run of results that Guus Hiddink has been inspiring at Chelsea and we may just have a tussle.

Has anything changed?

Peter Staunton, Goal.com

b00n
post Mar 15 2009, 03:49 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(roti-terbakar @ Mar 15 2009, 03:44 AM)
lol sinoffire same pose only~

English Angle: Has Liverpool's Win At Manchester United Changed Anything?

its a very long one btw, read it earlier just to ease my heart~ tongue.gif

An honest review from a loyal fan I would say.
Tonight we won because we made fewer mistake and capitalised on the chances we had unlike our previous outings.
If we've been consistently doing that, maybe we would have been on top instead of you guys.
Tonight we're just the better team.

maxizanc
post Mar 15 2009, 03:50 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Mar 15 2009, 03:44 AM)
gosh....! you only knew that?!... sweat.gif
Unfortunately many people were fooled. At first i believe he's a she. Then after a while, some people keep calling her as 'bro' then i know something fishy sweat.gif I donno whose plan it was from doh.gif Btw, whoopa, you're still hot. LOL laugh.gif
b00n
post Mar 15 2009, 03:54 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Mar 15 2009, 03:50 AM)
Unfortunately many people were fooled. At first i believe he's a she. Then after a while, some people keep calling her as 'bro' then i know something fishy sweat.gif I donno whose plan it was from doh.gif Btw, whoopa, you're still hot. LOL laugh.gif

look at the way he post and you'll definitely know that's he's not a she..... brows.gif
But anyway, I remember he confessed about his gender.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by b00n: Mar 15 2009, 03:54 AM
maxizanc
post Mar 15 2009, 03:57 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Mar 15 2009, 03:54 AM)
look at the way he post and you'll definitely know that's he's not a she.....  brows.gif
But anyway, I remember he confessed about his gender....  tongue.gif
Siapa punya plan, baik mengaku!! corez or redscorpion??? mad.gif vmad.gif

whoopa is hiding behind the screen now laughing..
redscorpion
post Mar 15 2009, 04:14 AM

2,106 posts

sleep well tonight my fellow united fans. no worries as we still on the lead as corez said. 4-1 = 4 points, 1 game in hand. good night. YMCA
afosz
post Mar 15 2009, 04:29 AM

Justice, My Foot!
1,413 posts

Good game, just like b00n said, they made fewer mistake and use every opportunity they had during attacking. Torres damn good, performed very well indeed. Quite frustrated with the referee, he still blew the whistle eventhough it is suppose to be 'play on', even for both sides.
b00n
post Mar 15 2009, 04:31 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Don't know bout you guys; I don't think the 2 penalty should be a penalty at all. My view lar...
Characuta
post Mar 15 2009, 04:44 AM

471 posts

lol maxi kena pwn =x

Btw, I missed out on the 1st goal so couldnt really say much. Nv even see the full review. Bout the 2nd penalty, I'd say it's surely is. Evra came in late and although did get the ball.. I still think 90 out of 100 refs would call for the spot.
b00n
post Mar 15 2009, 05:02 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Characuta @ Mar 15 2009, 04:44 AM)
lol maxi kena pwn =x

Btw, I missed out on the 1st goal so couldnt really say much. Nv even see the full review. Bout the 2nd penalty, I'd say it's surely is. Evra came in late and although did get the ball.. I still think 90 out of 100 refs would call for the spot.

1st penalty comment by soccernet:
Pepe Reina read Carlos Tevez's through ball for Park Ji-sung well enough but came out too quickly for his own good. When the South Korean nicked the ball away, the Liverpool keeper could not stop.

And though Reina pleaded for leniency, referee Alan Wiley correctly pointed to the spot.

2nd penalty, both are racing for the ball and the tackle was outside the box (barely); so happened that Gerrard's foot got caught by Evra's in the box (because of the sliding tackle - slided from outside to inside box). Guess most referee would award the penalty cos they are behind the players.
But to me, it's a fair challenge. wink.gif

Characuta
post Mar 15 2009, 05:17 AM

471 posts

Yeah probly, that's why I said although Evra did get the ball, 90 out of 100 refs would give it =p Gratz on the win btw ^^
corez
post Mar 15 2009, 05:39 AM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

QUOTE(ParasitAmol @ Mar 15 2009, 03:17 AM)
Congrats to Liverpool,they played so well and deserved the 3points..no arguments about that..
anyway,here are the pictures for the gathering at hartamas square..

Nice Pics, I changed some of the name BTW
eq8all
post Mar 15 2009, 06:08 AM

351 posts

Last nite was probably 1 of those nights of the week that had managed to "superbly" crap my moods off the charts luckily temporarily.That being said, I'm extending a bitter yet sincere congratulations on my right palm to all reading Kop fans on.You guy definitely broke the strategic chain that has been overused for more than 10 games.A much needed 3 slapper to wake us up and sort out the mess.
Apis_LuaLua
post Mar 15 2009, 06:51 AM

@ Top Club in Inguland @
4,465 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Mar 15 2009, 02:02 AM)
who wanna go buy pool jersey now?? wanna join me?? got 40% discount wei  brows.gif  brows.gif
pool FTW.... rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  tongue.gif

@ whoopa: chk my siggy.

'twas a great gathering..but nx time dun wan go hartamas edi....jinx siot.....pergi steven's corner je la.
aku sokong 100%.. hidup steven corner!!! rolleyes.gif

Balik dr hartamas square semalam kol 12 baru sampai umah... terus tido.. kecewa punye pasal.. haha tongue.gif

Nice pics parasitamol.. but kalau kita tangkap guna member Corez punya DSLR semalam lagi cemerlang.. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Apis_LuaLua: Mar 15 2009, 07:02 AM
Mr.Kenta
post Mar 15 2009, 08:14 AM

45 posts

i just got my authentic ManUnited Home jersey yesterday and wore it to the game .Gosh, what a bad memory for me .
waif
post Mar 15 2009, 08:14 AM

270 posts

What I can say about the match last nite is that it is all a conspiracy.

Yes, it is too make the EPL more interesting.

Becoz it would be quite a dull match after all if M U lead by 10 points.

What I can say to the dissapointed MU fans is that, I strongly believe, MU is not beaten by liverfool last nite. We lost bcoz the referee is a closet serial diving british admirer. The stupid serial diver dive 2 times and it totally sink MU.

But as MU fans, the is always the old saying, MU always like to do it the hard way. IMO, I think we'll be having the last laugh come end of May.
Mr.Kenta
post Mar 15 2009, 08:18 AM

45 posts

I really dont know what was the team doing last night,really really bad performance.
boxsystem
post Mar 15 2009, 08:38 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(heizad @ Mar 15 2009, 08:20 AM)
wut the  doh.gif
normal lah.

do expect those kind of people to barge in your thread when bad luck jinxed to your team.

Well played by Pool. I thought Wiley did great last night. The two penalties. I would give them if I'm in his position. The sending off to Vidic was spot on.

A blip from a great run of wins. Should brought back the lads down to earth. I do hope that we will respond the positive way as we always do.

I have faith in the team and SAF.

Chins up. Come May we will have the last laughs and that my friend is something for any Pool supporter is afraid off.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Mar 15 2009, 08:46 AM
nazman
post Mar 15 2009, 08:48 AM

1,200 posts

ermm..
when i watch the match for first 10 minutes..i know the defense ia a little bit crappy..The defense let pool control to much ball
after vida mistake that let the first pool goal..he look very dejected..
btw..still 1 game in hand and 4 point lead..after lost with arsenal last year,we managed to avoid lost all the game till yesterday..hope this time it happen again..win till match number 38...

This post has been edited by nazman: Mar 15 2009, 09:04 AM

116 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0172sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:00 AM