Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

DoubleU
post Apr 1 2009, 04:59 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(RainJR @ Mar 31 2009, 12:04 PM)
1. Brand. - any brand but want those stable and not easily out of battery..anti ACER
2. Budget. - 2k
3. Specs. - good graphic card and above 512 RAM
4. Size. - doesn't matter..but dont too big,because heavy @@
5. Purpose - assignment,gaming ( 3D,RPG game) , music etc.
lol requirement abit unrealistic, if, you mean good graphic to be able to run games like mirror's edge, RA3, then yea its too much. But if you want good graphics for cs, then these lappies (3D RPG is really vague)

- Dell Inspiron 1525
- Toshiba Satellite L300
- Compaq Presario CQ60-219TU

But abit out of your price range i'm afraid. But seriously for long bat life, and good graphics, 2k ain't gonna cut it man.
DoubleU
post Apr 1 2009, 03:57 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(RainJR @ Apr 1 2009, 11:05 AM)
i want to try my luck at pc fair xD
pc fair usually would cheaper than the outside 1..
not really.... maybe give you more free gift oni....

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 1 2009, 03:42 PM)
1. Brand:No Acer
2. Budget:RM3k +/- a bit
3. Specs:C2D,discrete gc of some sort(Optional)
4. Size:14-15
5.Need:Normal Gaming(L4D,DOTA,CS and like,low-mid setting),normal task(Assignment,Web,MSN)
Helping classmate out smile.gif
how bout these 2? yea, asus abit out of price range.... but seriously.... no acer?

ATI3450/70 - Asus F8vr (RM3599-3799 ohmy.gif)
ATI4570 - Dell Studio 15 (RM2999)

Dell Studio 15

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Apr 1 2009, 04:06 PM
DoubleU
post Apr 14 2009, 04:17 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(ian90 @ Apr 13 2009, 11:52 PM)
Harlow, im planning to buy a laptop at the end of this year...

Brand- Any reliable brand that's worth it. (No sony, no Apple, no Fujitsu)<--expensive

Budget- RM5000 plus minus

Specs- At least 4gb RAM, Good graphic card, have numeric keypad, back lit keyboard is a bonus.

Size- Screen 15" and above, portability not much of a problem..

Usage- AutoCAD, Photoshop, Video editing once in a while, Gaming (MUST be able to run Test Drive Unlimited). lol. Internet surfing, etc etc common stuff.

Extra- I'm eyeing HP HDX16 but the price =(... Since I'm going to buy at the end of the year, i need to plan n budget myself.

Thank you to all the gurus here. =D
hm.... the dell studio XPS 16? have you looked at that? and if you're game, you can try the BenQ S57, specs quite nice lur... but its benQ, i'm using benQ S42 for about 4 months le, till now no prob, so you might wanna consider that. there's the Asus N50, i heard one model uses 9650m GT....
DoubleU
post May 30 2009, 10:10 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@gto87, afaik, notebooks at 1.6k = either not possible or not recommended. and most lappys at 1.7~1.8k is freedos, so keep in mind you still have to purchase an OS, unless you wan to use ubuntu. and i think ur sis rather use vista/win7 right? so thus the price will be 2.1k ish...

if you don't mind compaq there's the CQ40-401AU (RM 1750 ish) ( if vista premium then is 2.05k ) or the CQ40-337TU (RM 1799 ish) (if vista premium then is 2.1k) then again, you could get freedos then + win7 RC, but then next year have to change lur..... and imo, acer ain that bad la.
and erm.. toshiba also okay lor... there's the SATELLITE L300-P501 which is RM1700-ish freedos keep in mind all this oni 1GB ram, which imo is not enough for vista, but most likely enough for win 7....

@waveTan, there's the BenQ R47 (RM2400 freedos tho.... so might just be out of your budget) there's the ASUS F80Q-216DX (RM2300 freedos again, and the R47 is much better, and so far users of the R47 = no problem) but both at 14.1" lur.... there's the ASUS X50GL which is 15.4" but it uses 8200m GS, and i duno how stable that card is, cause iirc 8600 and 8400 all faulty....
DoubleU
post May 30 2009, 10:26 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@nyumnyum.. erm ACER ASPIRE 4730ZG and BenQ R47 lor...

iirc, acer 4730z is better for price cause its RM2200 ish with vista premium and 3470, 4GB ram, but BenQ R47 has a better proc, but oni 2 GB ram and free dos... so i'll pick the acer one la, but then again, ppl dun like acer (actually ppl also dun really like benQ) but i myself believe in saving money, and if you take proper care of a notebook, it will tahan de.... personally using the BenQS42....
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 09:41 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

+2 for S57, cost its provides one of the best ratio for price : performance ratio... so yea, i'm for the specs over brand camp.... but then again, you said you want a 15.4" lappy, S57 is 16" so oni if you don't mind it lor.....

so i think the 2 main contenders are the N50vm and S57. the difference is (N50 to S57)
P8600 to P8700
9650m GT to 4650
OEM to freedos (i think its RM3800ish for free dos, so adding a OS will push your budget over the top abit)
15.4" to 15.6"
1280x800 to 1366x768

iirc RAM and HDD same. So pros for N50 would be, its a nVidia, so less compatibility problems, cause physX and stuff, and iirc win7 the driver for the 4650 ain working so well. But rmb that the 4650 is more powerful than the 9650m GT. and also the the processor is slightly faster (but imo performance won't be that affected) its just nicer to have a more powerful processor.

So in terms of money, S57 is more worth it. But ASUS, well, its an ASUS.

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 4 2009, 07:04 AM
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 09:47 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@nyumnyum, i'm not too sure, but most likely a 2nd hand notebook will be better than a netbook, but then again, a netbook can handle internet browsing... oni problem is the screen size lor, and afaik, it won't be able to run counterstrike, at least, smoothly la.... but then again, if the 2nd notebook is in a sorry state, no point getting it.....
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 10:08 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@kytz, but what's the price of the 5935?
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 10:13 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

hm... that could actually be a good laptop to consider, cause it has HD ratio, and its not too big, 15.6" but then again, it has a 9650m GT...
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 10:18 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

well... if it was priced at Rm4500 again... it won't be able to sell right? and actually it really didn't change much, so the price drop lor...
DoubleU
post May 31 2009, 10:26 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

but its a freedos no? unless you use win 7 RC you have to buy one (and erm... using win 7 RC only delays time to buy a new OS)
DoubleU
post Jun 2 2009, 07:07 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

he said he wants 2 laptops, so....

but then again, why need 2 laptops?

Added on June 2, 2009, 7:11 pmwell you can go for the COMPAQ CQ40-402AX for multimedia, and a netbook for the other lappy

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 2 2009, 07:11 PM
DoubleU
post Jun 2 2009, 07:17 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

haha i ask the same thing, but maybe is for relative? anyways... netbook would technically be sufficient for surfing and typing, but small screen. And liddat we have another 2.5k to spend, i think the COMPAQ CQ40-402AX best option lor, 2.4k with upgrade of RAM and 3450

Added on June 2, 2009, 7:22 pmoh there's the R47 instead of the COMPAQ CQ40-402AX too,

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 2 2009, 07:22 PM
DoubleU
post Jun 2 2009, 11:28 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

well then, how bout the BenQ S42? P8700 9600m GT and its oni 14.1" so its mobile... and erm... if you really use the battery, there's the GMA X4500 option (cause its hybrid) at its below RM4k.

Downside no official drivers for 64bit, but you can get those modified by DOX
DoubleU
post Jun 3 2009, 02:27 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@fender
can top up abit? like another RM600ish? cause liddat many people will tell you the S42 lor. So far my S42 hasn't broken down and no parts has come loose, i've use for 6 months, and i bring to school everyday. only problem is that the speakers la, sound quality is okay oni.... duno if you will consider it loud, i think its 1,5W tho....

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 4 2009, 07:03 AM
DoubleU
post Jun 3 2009, 02:12 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

the COMPAQ CQ40-402AX is 2.4k-ish, so that mean 1.5k for lappy? i duno which one so cheap as netbook, so can't really recommend you.

Why don't you get 1 laptop instead. A budget of 4K can get you 1 awesome lappy

sorry about double post

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 4 2009, 03:35 AM
DoubleU
post Jun 4 2009, 03:52 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@wavetan
1) ASUS F8vr, but is RM3.6K and 3GB (but if you take 32 bit, no diff) for cheaper is ASUS F81se, its RM3.1K but 2 GB ram, and 2GHz processor
if you don't mind 15.4" there's the ASUS X59SR

2) ASUS F80Q, but iirc Compaq CQ40-402AX is better for money

@choo_ho
well the HP is 12.1" that's why more ex, imho, the compaq is better, and go for CQ40-402AX instead, cause got OEM vista, and oh, pls add another 2gb ram stick in to 3gb. No point going for 4, waste money.
DoubleU
post Jun 4 2009, 06:04 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

choiyen! hohoho! finally somebody with big budget!!
and erm i actually can't reco you a lappy, cause i duno pricing for the G series by ASUS, actually i don't know laptop price for 5k >.> sorry dude

but you might wanna consider
benQ S57 (P8700, 4650, 15.6" 500GB blu-ray RM4k-ish)

other laptops which i know are good is MSi GT627 GX623 EX625
sorry but i duno the price >.> and oh as around in the ASUS tread if you wanna get the G or M series, (but truthfully, BenQ and MSi gonna give you one of the best spec for price)

Added on June 4, 2009, 6:19 amSince you wan dell, playing around abit, this is like the ultimate studio 15

summary, full HD reso on 15.6" P8700 320 GB 4GB ram (with 64 bit OS) but GC nothing to shout about. RM 4,737.00 (must - RM100 with offer)

The Studio XPS 16

Bottomline, BenQ S57 wins in terms of performance, so i'll stay away. Sorry, i don't like the studio xps 16 line. (cause no blu-ray and more ex)
RM 5,341.00 for P8700, 320 GB 4 GB(64bit OS) reason why so ex: full HD screen, S57 oni have HD ratio

I would rather take studio 15 than XPS 16, if gaming was not a main issue, but in the end i will choose the S57.

Added on June 4, 2009, 7:01 amoh the horror, i realize that i wrote for the past post that S57 was a 16" so sorry for this mistake...

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 4 2009, 07:01 AM
DoubleU
post Jun 4 2009, 10:42 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@ichigo
RM3-4, afaik no apple lappy. Actually got la, there's one for 4.2K and erm... its 2.0GHz 80GB HDD 1 GB ram GMA950... good luck runnig cod4 on it.

for ASUS you can got for the ASUS N50VM-24DPM for RM4k, and for sony arh... i don't know the exact model, but the ASUS one confirm better than it. maybe not for screen size la. But if you wan powerful de, there's the BenQ S57, its more powerful than the Asus one, and it has a higher reso, (1366x768 vs 1280x800) a blu ray drive, and 500 GB vs 320GB

but since you wan minor gaming the ASUS one can suit you, just that no bluray.

@choo_ho
price for X59 is RM3.3K and the F80Q is RM2.3k but in the end, if you wan save money, compaq is the way to go. cause the F80Q 2.3k is with X4500 and freedos. I mean, it can handle what you want to do, but the compaq will be more powerful, but its your choice lur.

the compaq one arh... well the processor isn't the fastest thing in the world, then again, you're not paying alot either. The thing is, i hear people say that its quite hot la, i duno how true tho, you go the compaq tread ask around lur. but for it to handle dota, that one sure can la, dota you use GMA950 can run also....

@choiyen
why dun wan bluray? and imo, if you like big screen go for dell studio 17 lor, but the studio 15 is better for price la, cause you have a Full HD screen, quite nice ^^ but go the studio tread ask abit more first before making desicion hor.

General advice to potential laptop buyers are research research and more research. Ask for advice, but remember, in the end its you who is using the laptop. So don't follow blindly. You come here is just a quick reference to models that fits your requirements only. Then its up to you to decide.

This post has been edited by DoubleU: Jun 4 2009, 11:26 PM
DoubleU
post Jun 5 2009, 06:12 AM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

@pedas126
hm hm... well there's the ACER ASPIRE 4530, but the one i saw was RM1.8K freedos and 1GB ram, so maybe see if got free upgrade 2 GB ram, 3GB ram is enough de.... and you have to buy an OS.

there's the CQ40-337TU which is like the Acer model, but compaq instead la. its 1.9K and freedos, but i think got free ram upgrade
there's the Compaq CQ40-402AU also, but again its 1GB ram, at RM2.1K good thing is got OEM vista la. but your budget RM2k firm? cannot add like RM300-ish more?

0.0530sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:00 AM