31 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

astria
post Oct 1 2009, 08:23 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(mikimiaw @ Oct 1 2009, 02:53 AM)
currently i dont hav a laptop....

if i own 1 later....i will bring it along with me....
well, in that case, 13" looks good enuf for u...

Dell Inspiron 13, HP dv3, Compaq CQ35... all looks pretty good to me...
astria
post Oct 1 2009, 02:47 PM

22,158 posts

Dell also got pink wat... laugh.gif
astria
post Oct 2 2009, 10:44 PM

22,158 posts

honestly, between rm3k and rm4k, u can't find one that has the same performance lvl as BenQ S42...

u can consider Asus U80V, but it's more expensive than S42 (rm3599 for P8700 model iirc) but with less graphic performance as well...

also Dell new Studio 14 also, but also rm3599 as well... less graphic performance as well, in fact even less than Asus U80V...
astria
post Oct 3 2009, 02:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(litnit @ Oct 3 2009, 01:07 PM)
i meant if the spec r same, how is BenQ compare with acer, asus, toshiba.
how about the reliability of the laptop, easy fatigue?
to be honest, BenQ quality is better than Acer imho... close to wat Asus can give u...

used to own BenQ S41, besides the GPU problem of GeForce 8M, it's a really good laptop...
astria
post Oct 3 2009, 06:33 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(ksjason @ Oct 3 2009, 06:11 PM)
actually.. asus better or dell?
confuess between brand @@
did asus N51vn appear in malaysia?
Dell wins in warranty service, but Asus also warranty as well... laugh.gif

on-site service vs 2yrs int'l warranty, that's their main difference...

but i ve to say, Asus laptops are pretty solid... their cooling anf ventilation are nicely done as well... and ve some innovative products as well...

as for Dell, their products ve pretty good value...

either way, u wouldn't go wrong... laugh.gif
astria
post Oct 3 2009, 07:58 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(mickey_mouse @ Oct 3 2009, 08:59 PM)
hie there
i would jus like 2 ask...
which laptop would u guys recommmend for gaming?'
i read thru a lot of topics bt can hardly find any gud comparison between the alienware m15x and m17x laptop
though i knw the performance is a big diff together wiv the screen size
as im buying for my little brother's bday end of this month
i wud jus like 2 ask...
for the m15x can it really play all the latest game smoothly?
such as warhammer dawn of war and unreal tournament and red alert n etc and all the latest games?
and in future such games like starcraft 2 diablo 2 and other high end games - can the m15x still be good enuf 2 play it smoothly?
as for any disadvantage?
bcos if the m15x is gud enuf
then i will jus buy that as its cheaper lah smile.gif
ahahha
bt aslo must see whether is durable and all
plz do help out smile.gif
thanks soo much
for Alienware M15x, it's good only if u customise the GPU to GTX 260M in order to have some future resistance...

however, i would not really suggest getting Core i7 for gaming laptops, since HT is known to be bad for games (except for Resident Evil 5), and we re not sure if game makers would optimize the games for HT in the future... Core i5 which does not ve HT but should be at higher clock speed will be a better choice...

anyway, for gaming laptops now is a really bad time to get 1...
astria
post Oct 3 2009, 08:53 PM

22,158 posts

probably end of this year...

however till now i am still not very sure how Intel will segment the mobile CPU... somehow i ve a feeling that Core i5 will be Arrandale-based, meaning they are still dual cores...

based on the reviews of the desktop CPU, my guess is that the new Nehalem-based CPU has some slight performance gain over the Core-based ones... if u really can't wait, i suggest that u stick to either higher-clocked Core 2 Duo (T9000/P9000) or Core 2 Quad (Q9000)...

for gaming, really dun suggest u go for Core i7...

as for brands, well, many brands ve their own gaming laptops as well... Asus G series, MSI G series, Sager, etc...
astria
post Oct 4 2009, 08:34 AM

22,158 posts

yeah, turbo boost is going to be useful, but dun forget the trend is optimized for multi-core instead of dual cores only... next year we'll see more games being optimized for quaddies...

1.6GHz on a quaddie??? yes, it's a new architecture, but with the hinderance of HT (we re still not sure wat's the take of game developers on this), u sure u still want it???
astria
post Oct 5 2009, 05:24 PM

22,158 posts

Dell Inspiron 13... up the graphic to HD4330...
astria
post Oct 5 2009, 06:32 PM

22,158 posts

Dell Studio 15...
astria
post Oct 5 2009, 07:00 PM

22,158 posts

for video editing, better stick with normal C2D... CULV sells battery life, not performance...

suggest u get a C2D P8000 instead...

Dell Studio 15, Asus U80V will be my choices...

if can exceed budget a bit, Dell Studio XPS 16

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 5 2009, 07:00 PM
astria
post Oct 5 2009, 08:33 PM

22,158 posts

Hyper Threading...
astria
post Oct 5 2009, 08:45 PM

22,158 posts

definitely, but that will be a waste of money since HT is the reason why a i7 is called i7...

imho better wait for the non-HT version...

Added on October 5, 2009, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(wateverjunk @ Oct 5 2009, 10:45 PM)
Thanks guys for the answers!! I do a bit of travelling so i wont be having a go for the 16inch-er..but the studio looks pretty good as well..but i think i would need to sacrifice the p8000 for a p7450 instead cuz i wanna get the 3yrs complete cover smile.gif
how abt Asus U40V and BenQ S42 instead???

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 5 2009, 08:46 PM
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 07:15 AM

22,158 posts

ah... my bad... U80V... tongue.gif
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 01:18 PM

22,158 posts

Dell Studio XPS 16, Asus N51Vn, BenQ S57
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 01:50 PM

22,158 posts

with that kind of budget, better u go for SXPS 16... the graphic card is better...
astria
post Oct 6 2009, 07:45 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(wateverjunk @ Oct 6 2009, 09:06 PM)
torn between dell studio 14 and 15 - travel a lot..like super a lot! does that one inch make a lot of difference in weight and space?
in that case, i suggest Asus U80V...

14" at 2.1kg equipped with HD4570 and has approx. 5hrs of battery life...
astria
post Oct 7 2009, 06:57 AM

22,158 posts

try Dell Latitude...
astria
post Oct 8 2009, 09:53 AM

22,158 posts

12" laptops tend to be expensive imho...

besides, in recent years the trend is either 11" netbook or 13" laptop/CULV...
astria
post Oct 8 2009, 09:16 PM

22,158 posts

try Asus Global...

31 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 >Top

0.0478sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:05 PM