128 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

Daisiu
post May 11 2009, 01:47 PM

Hi everyone, its my first post, so please forgive any ignorance on my part (if any)

I'm looking to buy a laptop for my wife.

She likes a lighter one (< 2 kg if possible), a screen size of 13.3' is preferable to fit into her bag.

As for other points:
1) uses are for the usual Office suite: Word, Excel, Powerpoint etc.
2) uses it for light surfing : Facebook, Youtube, etc.
3) keeps quite a lot of family photos, although we also have a few external HDDs so memory may not be an issue.
4) wants something low-maintenance, stable and would be more lasting (3-4 years hopefully)
5) she's a post-grad student doing lots of research so will be opening quite a few apps at the same time, pdfs here, word docs and excel spreadsheets there, browser windows more than 10 etc.

I got her last laptop, a Dell Inspiron 8600 from Oz costing me about 7k MYR I think. That was 5 yrs ago, its now slow, and being heavy, bulky with a 17' monitor doesn't suit her work and home portability anymore. I think we'll use another brand other than Dell now.

My budget, lastly is less than 6k. Why I would spend this much is cause of value, not prestige. I had many many hours trying to get her old laptop to function, but it works terribly and I want a headache-free solution for years to come.

so far we've seen some HP dv5s that look ok, and also some Sony Vaios. We were advised against the Sony, but for the budget I think we like a Fujitsu S 6420 for totally trouble free computing with robust build quality (made in Japan?)

Platform Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology
- Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P8600(2.40GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066MHz)
/ P8400 (2.40GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066 MHz)
- Intel® PM45 Express Chipset
- Intel® WiFi Link 5300AGN(3x3)network connection Intel® Centrino® 2 Processor Technology
- Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P8600(2.40GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066MHz)/P8400
(2.26GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 1066MHz)
- Intel® GM45 Express Chipset
- Intel® WiFi Link 5300AGN(3x3)network connection
Operating System Genuine Windows Vista® Business
Display 13.3-inch SuperFine WXGA TFT18 250nits, 1280 x 800 pixels
Modular Bay Device Dual Layer DVD Super Multi Writer9
Memory 2GB DDR3 1066MHz/ 1GB DDR3 1066MHz
Max. Memory Supported 14 - 4GB DDR3 1066MHz, Dual Channel
Hard Disk 320GB/250GB/160GB
Battery Up to 3.5hrs1 (6-cell Li-Ion 5800mAh)
Weight Approx. 1.9kg (w/ weight saver option)

Do all these for 5,299 sound reasonable?

Many many thanks for your kind assistance.
kamikaze88
post May 11 2009, 10:30 PM

hello all im lookin for an all rounder laptop for everyday uni student work, great multimedia capabilities, and a little more than average gaming.....if its possible, quite portable as well.

brand: open to anything except dell and acer

budget: rm 4000 - rm 4500.....maybe up to 5k if its worth it

specs: only intel not amd p8600 2.4Ghz and above,

Added on May 11, 2009, 10:32 pmsorry i posted the previous post by accident...

anyways for the spec: i prefer nvidia over ati graphics card, 4 gb ram, 320gb-500gb HDD

size: from 14"-17"

thanks guys in advance smile.gif peace

This post has been edited by kamikaze88: May 11 2009, 10:32 PM
astria
post May 11 2009, 10:47 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(kamikaze88 @ May 11 2009, 10:30 PM)
hello all im lookin for an all rounder laptop for everyday uni student work, great multimedia capabilities, and a little more than average gaming.....if its possible, quite portable as well.

brand: open to anything except dell and acer

budget: rm 4000 - rm 4500.....maybe up to 5k if its worth it

specs: only intel not amd p8600 2.4Ghz and above,

Added on May 11, 2009, 10:32 pmsorry i posted the previous post by accident...

anyways for the spec: i prefer nvidia over ati graphics card, 4 gb ram, 320gb-500gb HDD

size: from 14"-17"

thanks guys in advance smile.gif peace
BenQ S57
Dell Studio XPS16
BenQ S42
Asus N50Vn
kamikaze88
post May 11 2009, 11:23 PM

QUOTE(astria @ May 11 2009, 10:47 PM)
BenQ S57
Dell Studio XPS16
BenQ S42
Asus N50Vn
hey thanks..though i was considering either ASUS n81 or ASUS n51...do u know if those laptops r within my budgets? or if it is even available yet in malaysia?

Cwz90
post May 11 2009, 11:56 PM

132 posts

Hello, i'm looking for a laptop suitable for student work, and a average gaming spec.....

Brand: any brand except acer

Budget: around Rm3000

spec: average gaming spec

thanks for for ur idea..... ^^
astria
post May 12 2009, 12:05 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(kamikaze88 @ May 11 2009, 11:23 PM)
hey thanks..though i was considering either ASUS n81 or ASUS n51...do u know if those laptops r within my budgets? or if it is even available yet in malaysia?
all these are avaliable in MY and are within ur budget...

Added on May 12, 2009, 12:05 am
QUOTE(Cwz90 @ May 11 2009, 11:56 PM)
Hello, i'm looking for a laptop suitable for student work, and a average gaming spec.....

Brand: any brand except acer

Budget: around Rm3000

spec: average gaming spec

thanks for for ur idea.....  ^^
Dell Studio 15

This post has been edited by astria: May 12 2009, 12:05 AM
Cwz90
post May 12 2009, 08:03 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 12 2009, 12:05 AM)
all these are avaliable in MY and are within ur budget...

Added on May 12, 2009, 12:05 am

Dell Studio 15
Thanksss... beside dell studio 15, How about HP pavilion dv3611tx??

This post has been edited by Cwz90: May 12 2009, 08:05 AM
astria
post May 12 2009, 09:49 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cwz90 @ May 12 2009, 08:03 AM)
Thanksss... beside dell studio 15, How about HP pavilion dv3611tx??
Studio 15 has the best spec for the budget...

make sure u get the Radeon HD 4570... else it's no different from others with integrated graphic...
Cwz90
post May 12 2009, 01:07 PM

132 posts

But i hear my friend said that dell's quality is not so good compare to other...
Is that true?

This post has been edited by Cwz90: May 12 2009, 01:07 PM
astria
post May 12 2009, 02:25 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Cwz90 @ May 12 2009, 01:07 PM)
But i hear my friend said that dell's quality is not so good compare to other...
Is that true?
i haven't tried their Studio and Studio XPS series before, but from the respective threads, there dun seem to be any major problems...

Inspiron on the other hand, i ve personally witnessed some pretty bad quality product...
Cwz90
post May 12 2009, 09:01 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(astria @ May 12 2009, 02:25 PM)
i haven't tried their Studio and Studio XPS series before, but from the respective threads, there dun seem to be any major problems...

Inspiron on the other hand, i ve personally witnessed some pretty bad quality product...
oic.
Thanks for ur idea...
Thanks....

This post has been edited by Cwz90: May 12 2009, 09:01 PM
AlphaBeta
post May 14 2009, 12:09 AM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

i dono the difference of 32 and 64 bit...let say we have:

32 bit with same processor and 4gb RAM and;

64 bit with same processor and 4gb RAM..

which is faster?
astria
post May 14 2009, 12:14 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ May 14 2009, 12:09 AM)
i dono the difference of 32 and 64 bit...let say we have:

32 bit with same processor and 4gb RAM and;

64 bit with same processor and 4gb RAM..

which is faster?
theoratically, 64-bit computing is faster...

moreover, 32-bit OS will not be able to address more than 4GB of RAM... (when there's exact 4GB avaliable, 3-3.25GB will be addressed, depending on the chipset... dun be fooled by Vista SP1 x86 though... the Properties page will show how much RAM is inside the computer, instead of how much Vista can use...)

right now, we re at the middle of shifting from 32-bit to 64-bit... (Vista x64 gained some popularity, and MS will push 64-bit copmputing harder with Win7...)

so 64-bit is the way to go...
shinnyx
post May 14 2009, 12:17 AM

215 posts

Seriously, x64 based is useless at the moment, due to majority of the software not supporting and it need more resources for your system.
Obviously, 34bit with same processor and 4gb RAM will be faster. Correct if i'm wrong.
But you will regrets when some "outdated" software not running on your computer.

This post has been edited by shinnyx: May 14 2009, 12:18 AM
AlphaBeta
post May 14 2009, 12:18 AM

I have stars, got problem?
2,955 posts

thx astria... erm any bad issues with Sony Vaio? i might be getting 1..i knw there is a battery problem, but it had been resolved.

Added on May 14, 2009, 12:19 am
QUOTE(shinnyx @ May 14 2009, 12:17 AM)
Seriously, x64 based is useless at the moment, due to majority of the software not supporting and it need more resources for your system.
Obviously, 34bit with same processor and 4gb RAM will be faster.
erm now im confused rclxub.gif ...u said the otherwise to astria

This post has been edited by AlphaBeta: May 14 2009, 12:19 AM
astria
post May 14 2009, 12:19 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ May 14 2009, 12:18 AM)
thx astria... erm any bad issues with Sony Vaio? i might be getting 1..i knw there is a battery problem, but it had been resolved.
besideshaving low performance-price ratio, Sony laptops are pretty good to use imo... especially the high end ones that are light...

Added on May 14, 2009, 12:22 am
QUOTE(shinnyx @ May 14 2009, 12:17 AM)
Obviously, 34bit with same processor and 4gb RAM will be faster. Correct if i'm wrong.
But you will regrets when some "outdated" software not running on your computer.
ve u tried using Vista x64 before???

using it for more than a year, all my games are ran on it...

honestly, compared with Vista x86, i hardly notice any drop in frame rate... less than 10% if u insist on having a number...

MS did a very good job on WOW64 to provide the 32-bit virtualization for compatibility issues...

not to forget i get even less BSOD compared to Vista x86, which by itself is already better than XP...

the biggest disadvantage is losing the support for 16-bit apps... but do we, the normal consumers, really need that?

This post has been edited by astria: May 14 2009, 12:24 AM
shinnyx
post May 14 2009, 12:29 AM

215 posts

Personally I'm using vista x64 also, some software are just not supported on x64 platform and I have to use my old PC as alternative. I think if u're not concern about the "outdated" software and drivers u might just go for x64. Indeed, x64 is a more stable platform.

This post has been edited by shinnyx: May 14 2009, 12:30 AM
SUStarttelur
post May 14 2009, 12:53 AM

guys, pls recomend me some laptops below 2.5k with decent specs.

im quite noob in computer prices. i saw a acer aspire4730zg-242g225 in pc fair.. but missed a chance to buy such a good spec laptop for a low price.
so guys i need help here. so if you are kind enough, help me list down the price of the laptop and recomend me some laptop also.

any brand will do fine, except for china brand, mix and match laptop . Just normal brand with warranty is good enough.

oh yea.. im quite interested in the compq cq40. owners of this laptop. can you tell me more about it?
kerwinck
post May 14 2009, 12:54 AM

hi...i need to buy a laptop

1. Brand - ANY
2. Budget - Below 2.5k
3. Specs - Best specs tat i can get with this price...
4. Size - below 15"

ff8ong
post May 14 2009, 01:57 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(tarttelur @ May 14 2009, 12:53 AM)
guys, pls recomend me some laptops below 2.5k with decent specs.

im quite noob in computer prices. i saw a acer aspire4730zg-242g225 in pc fair.. but missed a chance to buy such a good spec laptop for a low price.
so guys i need help here. so if you are kind enough, help me list down the price of the laptop and recomend me some laptop also.

any brand will do fine, except for china brand, mix and match laptop . Just normal brand with warranty is good enough.

oh yea.. im quite interested in the compq cq40. owners of this laptop. can you tell me more about it?
QUOTE(kerwinck @ May 14 2009, 12:54 AM)
hi...i need to buy a laptop

1. Brand - ANY
2. Budget - Below 2.5k
3. Specs - Best specs tat i can get with this price...
4. Size - below 15"
Should share more about your usage.If you dont gaming at all,maybe should go for Dell Studio 14 or Compaq line.

http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/products/p...dhs1&l=en&s=dhs

128 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:31 AM