126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Toys G.I. Joes, COOOOBBBRRAAAAAA!!!

erald06
post Nov 13 2009, 09:38 PM

271 posts

all mixed waves. anyways, just to let u guys know, my shop is having a super cheap sale. GIJOES ROC are on 20% discount (figures and vehicles). So are other stuffs. ROTF are having 20%(Hasbro) and 10%(Takara) discount. Come on over and check it out! My shop is at e@curve(formerlly known as cineleisure) inside the cinema. come and take a look and maybe u will get something u are interested in a cheaper price than retail stores! BTW, the shop name is MyScififans Outpost. Spread the news! Thanks! hope to see u guys!

This post has been edited by erald06: Nov 13 2009, 09:39 PM
Odinn
post Nov 13 2009, 09:58 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

QUOTE(erald06 @ Nov 13 2009, 09:38 PM)
all mixed waves. anyways, just to let u guys know, my shop is having a super cheap sale. GIJOES ROC are on 20% discount (figures and vehicles). So are other stuffs. ROTF are having 20%(Hasbro) and 10%(Takara) discount. Come on over and check it out! My shop is at e@curve(formerlly known as cineleisure) inside the cinema. come and take a look and maybe u will get something u are interested in a cheaper price than retail stores! BTW, the shop name is MyScififans Outpost. Spread the news! Thanks! hope to see u guys!
Boom. I'm there tomorrow laugh.gif
erald06
post Nov 13 2009, 10:06 PM

271 posts

I will be waiting for u to come,odinn. haha. Shop opens at 12pm till 11pm. Come come! Cheap sale on GIJOES and also ROTF and alot more! Come early to get the good stuffs!

Btw, can someone sell me city strike snake eyes? haha

This post has been edited by erald06: Nov 13 2009, 10:32 PM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Nov 13 2009, 10:42 PM

47 posts

advocado: Sorry to say that i never tried to do that though. At best, i just use a cutter to cut off the tapes at the bottom part, pull the green/black bottom bar gently then pull the cover from the bottom slowly. Learnt this from a youtube RoC reviewer.

erald06: There's a lot of talk about this and there's a few reasons to it. Whether if any of you believe this or not, its up to you but i'm just hearing this from a lot of sources.

1st reason, Hasblow is limiting their stock is, from what i heard, was to prevent the scalpers from getting their hands of any toys they can get. A lot of department toy stores are keeping a lookout on scalpers.

Second reason was that a few toy stores in Malaysia are buying whole load of toys, some bought a lot of 25th annivasary and RoC, and then horde them. I saw one of the shop kept about 4-5 boxes of 25th annivasary stuff, hidden at the back of their toy racks. They're not openly selling them yet.

Some independent toy stores are also boycotting Hasblow's toys, especially RoC stuff due to its price. This coming straight from the horse's mouth. (It is speculated that some of the independent toy shops wanna scalp further rather than scalp at the cost of RM 39.90 per fig. If its cheaper, they can keep half or most of the cost from the scalped price).

Another reason is supply and demand. US toy stores also had the same problem with Malaysia's toy departments. RoC is not selling well. Hasblow overstocked RoC stuff especially with wave 1s and 2s. Hasblow seeing how the sales weren't doing so well, decidedly to put on hold with the stock first. From what i read, UK is not getting any Pursuit of Cobra waves due to this reason too, but this is still to be debated.

Anyways, here's my Agent Helix! biggrin.gif

I seriously love this fig. However, it's not perfect. From what i seen, some folks in youtube had similar problems that i faced: her hands. Both her hands have this problem gripping her own weapons properly (apart from the machete). Too bad though, i love the dual berettas with the expanded magazine, equipped with the laser sighting and scope mod there. Problem is...it's not black, it's in gray. Her assault rifle...looks weird without its...ammo magazine... sad.gif

I tried a lot of weapons on her grip, but nothing worked so far except the dragunov from the 25th's Cobra Trooper. It fits very well on her right hand for some reason, like its meant to be.

My lame attempt to make her do her "Whirlwind" attack (it's written in her file card)

RPG-7 Bazooka pose

Dragunov sniper rifle poses.

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Nov 13 2009, 11:15 PM
ashnic
post Nov 13 2009, 10:48 PM

20 posts

just got a gunship! And I like it a lot!
erald06
post Nov 13 2009, 10:50 PM

271 posts

@sadistic

I totally get what you mean and i totally agree which is why the shop I am working now is suffering. I also just wanna start buying GIJOE but damn hard to cari the right characters. aih, which is why I hope hasbro really buck up their stuffs and plan properly.
renjiv2
post Nov 13 2009, 11:16 PM

104 posts

once again found tis 2 brother in 1 shot. sum more it oni cost RM30 each figure at TRU. finally i hav complete SE & SS figure, mission accompish... rclxms.gif

erald06
post Nov 14 2009, 12:17 AM

271 posts

@sadistic

but again, i still dun get y places like TRU or carrefour have all the stock. just pretty unfair,if u ask me.
TSSadistic Reaper
post Nov 14 2009, 01:01 AM

47 posts

erald06: Simple, they're like Wallmarts and Target malls in the US. The only reason that these places have the huge stock of toys is because they're all have the contract to distribute the toys (which is a must, it's the same thing applied to junk food being sold in high school cafeterias). If they don't do it, they lose business and future contracts. Unlike independent toy shops (which usually target young adults to older adults and are generally a smaller group in supply and demand), TRU (or carrefour, Wallmarts, or any similar large scale malls) can hit bigger market to the families with kids. To Hasblow, they're the spending power. It makes a lot of sense actually, think Pokemon craze (which mostly are kids that spent the most). Collectors like us usually collect them or custom mod them, and still place them in good condition (in your shelf, display case, etc). Kids usually don't do that. If a toy breaks or goes missing because the kid decided to bury them somewhere, the parents usually buy again to replace the broken toy. More money for them. In the end, it's all about business.

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Nov 14 2009, 01:03 AM
erald06
post Nov 14 2009, 01:17 AM

271 posts

bah...this stinks. which is why it is hard for us independent toy shops have to suffer like this.

again, anyone has a city strike snake eyes they want to sell? lol
Fatimus
post Nov 14 2009, 02:01 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
634 posts

Sadistic Reaper : Thanks and thanks for the good insight biggrin.gif

Anyway here's more

SUSadvocado
post Nov 14 2009, 12:29 PM

2,948 posts

TRU Midvalley? I sparred these 2.

BTW why are shops scalping & hiding 25th anniversaries? They do understand they don't make much out of the figures by holding them for 6 months or 1 year and sell at higher price since there's inflation, held up funds & space to stock them yea? Unless they wanna boycott Hasbro.

QUOTE(renjiv2 @ Nov 13 2009, 11:16 PM)
once again found tis 2 brother in 1 shot. sum more it oni cost RM30 each figure at TRU. finally i hav complete SE & SS figure, mission accompish...  rclxms.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Nov 14 2009, 01:04 PM

47 posts

advocado: Actually, some independent toy shops in Malaysia ARE boycotting Hasblow, well, not ALL toys. They're still selling the hot items, like Transformers for instance. I would assume that they horde 25th annivasaries for the sake of their value once the movie franchise dies down and proberbly can hike up the prices for scalp.

The only reason i can think of that G.I. Joes aren't selling well because current generations of kids today are into big giant robots. There's also another reason due to the fact that some of the independent toy shops, overstock their 25th annivasaries of the...undesirable figures. The good ones they usually sell it in ebay, close friends or high spenders.

They never display it on their display racks and usually would just push their unwanted stock out first. This confirms my research on few of the shops that tend to keep having the same old figs and kept having the same stock when the previous ones that's been displayed were sold off.
SUSadvocado
post Nov 14 2009, 01:17 PM

2,948 posts

How unethical, oh well that's malaysia.

If Target were to open outlets here would be nice to kill of these bad practices.
m o m o
post Nov 14 2009, 05:02 PM

399 posts

There are nice specialized toy stores out there... But the one I go to does not carry Joes... Too bad... Have to rely on TRU, Parkson, Isetan... Are they at Metrojaya too?
renjiv2
post Nov 14 2009, 08:19 PM

104 posts

@ Advocado- yup bro, got it frm MV. thanks for left behind, but the SE is quite hard to be spoted, r u the 1 who hide it deep inside other figure? tongue.gif

as i knw, all figure sumthing like batman, marvel hero, starwar, bla bla... made by hasbro is getting small & smaller size plus expensive compared to past few year ago.
darkshadow
post Nov 14 2009, 09:07 PM

36 posts

its bcoz Hasblow wants to partly cut down on costs,
figuring that since they already did the 6" versions of Marvel Legends,various Spidey line and those didnt sell well..with the exception of TF.
if you notice, some of the parts of Joes are used on certain Marvel Universe figs.so that cuts down costs on having to make new molds.

also bcoz of the fact that since SW and Joes already exist in 3-4" scale, and those do sell quite well over the years,it's only logical for them to produce other stuffs in this scale.

btw, Batman is manufactured by Mattel and their Infinite Heroes line do suffer from lack of sale.
which probably explains why there's not been any new wave in stores for several months now.

SUSadvocado
post Nov 14 2009, 09:21 PM

2,948 posts

renjiv i did not hide the SE inside, it was already inside. Normally I would put all the hard to find figures infront for the convenience of scalpers & collectors but my hands were full. If I want to hide something i make sure they are somewhere not to be found...

Don't you think it's funny Hasblow store those supposingly hard to find figures/vehicles & end up selling them at clearance?

This post has been edited by advocado: Nov 14 2009, 09:22 PM
erald06
post Nov 15 2009, 12:13 PM

271 posts

Just got the first storm shadow from a seller, onlymomo. She was selling only for RM30, MISB lagi! Walau, sapulah me! Haha, now trying to get SE. Lucky my boss have some and he is willing to sell it to me, haha. have to see which SE he have. Really want City Strike version or Paris Persuit.
naith
post Nov 15 2009, 01:31 PM

158 posts

I have seen the wave 1's SS and SE at TRU. Recently restocked I guess

126 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:10 AM