127 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

*-={House of Miniature Schnauzer v8}=-*, lai lai lai.. come in!

Rayne
post Mar 23 2009, 05:21 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(robbylover89 @ Mar 22 2009, 09:37 PM)
[attachmentid=861863][attachmentid=861866]hi guys.. This is Elmo...6weeks baby..
i would like to ask u guys smtg..is thr any benefits if we send them for ear cropping?
Elmo is adorable! I think he's a bit too young to be released for sale though...usually puppies are released after 8 weeks old. Did you purchase Elmo from a breeder? Just curious smile.gif

I don't really know any benefits from ear cropping since I didn't crop Scottie's ears, but I have to say it is not so advisable if we're not 100% sure on how to take care of the pup after the surgery. Things like infection, keeping the ears upright and possibility of the ears coming down again after surgery are just some of the things to look into. I personally feel that it's quite cruel to do so to a pup, but I guess to each his/her own right?
kelvin5807
post Mar 23 2009, 07:38 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(robbylover89 @ Mar 22 2009, 09:37 PM)
[attachmentid=861863][attachmentid=861866]hi guys.. This is Elmo...6weeks baby..
i would like to ask u guys smtg..is thr any benefits if we send them for ear cropping?
LOl elmo very cute...!! hehee...!1

Added on March 23, 2009, 8:16 pmmy friend ,she have one friend sell white schnauzer 2800rm , and have cert !
izzit that is true? have cert?

This post has been edited by kelvin5807: Mar 23 2009, 08:16 PM
red-queen
post Mar 24 2009, 10:02 AM

1,310 posts

hi all,

i've read online on a few articles that feeding too high protein content food for small breed dog might cause complications in the long run to their kidney.

is this true? bcause i'm thinking of changing to Orijen when Ramses is no longer a puppy, and Orijen has 40+% protein in their food. else i'll just stick back to addiction.

This post has been edited by red-queen: Mar 24 2009, 10:02 AM
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 10:23 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(red-queen @ Mar 24 2009, 10:02 AM)
hi all,

i've read online on a few articles that feeding too high protein content food for small breed dog might cause complications in the long run to their kidney.

is this true? bcause i'm thinking of changing to Orijen when Ramses is no longer a puppy, and Orijen has 40+% protein in their food. else i'll just stick back to addiction.
Taken from http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=0+1770&aid=1104

A rumor has been going around that high protein diets cause kidney disease. This rumor is false. High protein pet foods are NOT harmful to a normal animal's kidneys. As an animal's body digests and metabolizes protein, nitrogen is released as a by-product. The excess nitrogen is excreted by the kidneys. A high protein diet produces more nitrogen by-products and the kidneys simply excrete the nitrogen in the urine. While you may think this would 'overwork' the kidneys and lead to possible kidney damage, this is not true. The kidney's filtering capabilities are so great that even one kidney is sufficient to sustain a normal life. There are many pets - and humans - living perfectly healthy lives with just one kidney.

The myth that high protein diets are harmful to kidneys probably started because, in the past, patients with kidney disease were commonly placed on low protein (and thus low nitrogen) diets. Now, we often put them on a diet that is not necessarily very low in protein, but contains protein that is more digestible so there are fewer nitrogen by-products. These diet changes are made merely because damaged kidneys may not be able to handle the excess nitrogen efficiently. In pets with existing kidney problems, nitrogen can become too high in the bloodstream, which can harm other tissues.

Unless your veterinarian has told you your pet has a kidney problem and it is severe enough to adjust the protein intake, you can feed your pet a high protein diet without worrying about 'damaging' or 'stressing' your pet's kidneys. Also, you are not 'saving' your pet's kidneys by feeding a low protein diet.
robbylover89
post Mar 24 2009, 11:06 AM

30 posts

QUOTE(Rayne @ Mar 23 2009, 05:21 PM)
Elmo is adorable! I think he's a bit too young to be released for sale though...usually puppies are released after 8 weeks old. Did you purchase Elmo from a breeder? Just curious smile.gif

I don't really know any benefits from ear cropping since I didn't crop Scottie's ears, but I have to say it is not so advisable if we're not 100% sure on how to take care of the pup after the surgery. Things like infection, keeping the ears upright and possibility of the ears coming down again after surgery are just some of the things to look into. I personally feel that it's quite cruel to do so to a pup, but I guess to each his/her own right?
Ya....i purchased him from a breeder...its in usj...
Then if it is like tat, then i wont crop his ear la...sounds pretty cruel..
Thanks 4 ur advice. biggrin.gif
red-queen
post Mar 24 2009, 11:20 AM

1,310 posts

QUOTE(Rayne @ Mar 24 2009, 10:23 AM)
Taken from http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm?c=0+1770&aid=1104

A rumor has been going around that high protein diets cause kidney disease. This rumor is false. High protein pet foods are NOT harmful to a normal animal's kidneys. As an animal's body digests and metabolizes protein, nitrogen is released as a by-product. The excess nitrogen is excreted by the kidneys. A high protein diet produces more nitrogen by-products and the kidneys simply excrete the nitrogen in the urine. While you may think this would 'overwork' the kidneys and lead to possible kidney damage, this is not true. The kidney's filtering capabilities are so great that even one kidney is sufficient to sustain a normal life. There are many pets - and humans - living perfectly healthy lives with just one kidney.

The myth that high protein diets are harmful to kidneys probably started because, in the past, patients with kidney disease were commonly placed on low protein (and thus low nitrogen) diets. Now, we often put them on a diet that is not necessarily very low in protein, but contains protein that is more digestible so there are fewer nitrogen by-products. These diet changes are made merely because damaged kidneys may not be able to handle the excess nitrogen efficiently. In pets with existing kidney problems, nitrogen can become too high in the bloodstream, which can harm other tissues.

Unless your veterinarian has told you your pet has a kidney problem and it is severe enough to adjust the protein intake, you can feed your pet a high protein diet without worrying about 'damaging' or 'stressing' your pet's kidneys. Also, you are not 'saving' your pet's kidneys by feeding a low protein diet.
thanks for the info Rayne!!
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 01:12 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(robbylover89 @ Mar 24 2009, 11:06 AM)
Ya....i purchased him from a breeder...its in usj...
Then if it is like tat, then i wont crop his ear la...sounds pretty cruel..
Thanks 4 ur advice. biggrin.gif
Oic...I'm surprised that there are breeders who release their pups so young!

Puppies that are quite young needs a lot of attention, so monitor him closely for his weight and all that so he's growing up good (which I am sure that's what you're doing, coz he seems fine from the photos! smile.gif )

Hehe..no advice la. Just my opinion. smile.gif I DID think about cropping Scottie's ears when I first got him, but thinking about it again and again, I decided not to...smile.gif

Added on March 24, 2009, 1:15 pm
QUOTE(red-queen @ Mar 24 2009, 11:20 AM)
thanks for the info Rayne!!
No problem...smile.gif Just did a bit of digging in my group for some info..what I got the gist of from the reading was that it's the QUALITY of the protein that we should consider instead of the quantity. Meaning like, for our dogs since they are carnivores, meat proteins are the ideal form of protein for their consumption. Plant proteins like soy / corn / grains are towards the low quality proteins. Which is why we should check the labels in the food to ensure that the main ingredients used are more towards the high quality proteins. smile.gif Hope that helps!

This post has been edited by Rayne: Mar 24 2009, 01:15 PM
red-queen
post Mar 24 2009, 03:34 PM

1,310 posts

yeah i think Orijen has the 70/20/10 or something policy where 70% of their protein comes from meat source.

anyways, i realise Orijen is cheaper than Addiction and it has more meat source protein compared to Addiction. Grain free too!
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 04:08 PM

hey guys all of ur schnauzers are cutey... biggrin.gif

i gotta question, most of schnauzer's back i've seen at pet shop are being shaved... why is that? what's the purpose? won't they cold?
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 04:25 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(5h1rl3y @ Mar 24 2009, 04:08 PM)
hey guys all of ur schnauzers are cutey... biggrin.gif

i gotta question, most of schnauzer's back i've seen at pet shop are being shaved... why is that? what's the purpose? won't they cold?
Well, it's more like the 'look' of the Schnauzer....technically, in confirmation shows,we're not supposed to shave the fur on the back. Instead, we're supposed to hand-strip the fur (a very tedious, might be painful for the dog, and cannot be done in one day procedure). Since we are mostly NOT showing our dogs, we would send to the groomers for clipping (shave with electric shaver). It gives somewhat the same look as hand stripping, but it's not accepted in the show rings as hand stripped coats will be harsher and wiry compared to clipped coats which are softer in comparison.

To compare, this photo is what a hand stripped coat will look like:

And this is what a clipped coat will look like (I use Scottie as an example):

No, they won't get cold at all...in fact, I think Scottie enjoys it more after he's groomed...he hates the heat. tongue.gif
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(Rayne @ Mar 24 2009, 04:25 PM)
Geez hand stripped? owwww... that must be painful, I can't event stand leg waxing... poor dog with hand stripped... sad.gif

btw your scottie look so cuteeeee... he looks like wearing a 70's pants... laugh.gif
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 04:45 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(5h1rl3y @ Mar 24 2009, 04:33 PM)
Geez hand stripped? owwww... that must be painful, I can't event stand leg waxing... poor dog with hand stripped...  sad.gif

btw your scottie look so cuteeeee... he looks like wearing a 70's pants...  laugh.gif
Well, I've read that it's not really that painful if the dog is used to it...apparently it's just like us getting our hair cut by the stylists using the tool where they give the hair volume? (don't know what's the proper term for that tool though) It's almost exclusively used for show dogs though, and I've read that it's the proper way to groom the Schnauzer coz they have double coats. Stripping would give the coats better definition and the colors will be maintained compared to clipping which would make the colors lighter.

But I have NO idea on how to do it myself...heck, even clipping I have problems doing it! (I let my Mom do it for me! hehe!) I did inquire with the groomers that I sent Scottie too, and they said it's VERY expensive compared to a normal clipping, because it takes a lot of time and we need to span out the grooming in stages that sort of thing...they charge about RM200 per session for stripping (last I checked!) compared to a RM80 per session of clipping. Naturally, you know where I lean towards...wink.gif

Hehe...thanks! Yeah, I love the way the groomers do Scottie's fur...he always comes back looking so adorable after his grooming sessions!
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 05:04 PM

ooooic...

Rm200 for stripping that's expensive... I can buy 3months food supply for my dog...

I have no much idea about small breed dog, so please pardon me being ignorance... only now i started to concern here and there about these cute small breed... biggrin.gif
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 05:08 PM

24 posts

Yeah, it's really expensive, unless we do it ourselves, but we would also need to know HOW to do it first...not many people would know this unless they go for shows. I keep reading about asking the breeders to teach you how to hand strip, but how many breeders in Malaysia send their Min. Schnauzers for show? Sadly, not many...I've been to one or two confirmation shows here. VERY few Min. Schnauzers compete, and yes...their coats are all hand stripped.

It's okay to ask, no worries...smile.gif Not many people know about the hand stripping too, I guess...I've only known about this after I got Scottie and started reading about the breed standards and all that. Good to ask if we're not sure of anything...smile.gif

This post has been edited by Rayne: Mar 24 2009, 05:10 PM
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 05:13 PM

That's nice of you Rayne, I'm actually browsing your blog now... may i know where do you send scottie for training and socialize at PJ area?

Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 05:22 PM

24 posts

Well, I am currently training Scottie with Puppy.com at Ampang. You can click on the link there to see the FAQs and the exact location on where they hold classes there...smile.gif

Besides training there, there are also other centers which you can go to for training if you're in the PJ area. As far as I know, MKA holds their training classes at Central Park, 1 Utama. Pet-n-You also have training classes, but I'm not too sure where they have classes...possibly at PJ / Damansara area too. Another one would be at the Ikano Pet Safari, where they have classes indoors. All these classes allow us to socialize our dogs as well because it's in a group, and we train with 'distractions' (meaning we have other things going on besides just classes). Alternatively, you can get a personal trainer, but that would be very costly compared to these group classes. smile.gif

If you just want to socialize your dogs, Central Park is always open...it's pet-friendly and lots of people bring their pets there for walks and stuff, but of course we would need to be responsible owners as well and bring poo bags to clean up after them. smile.gif
5h1rl3y
post Mar 24 2009, 05:26 PM

Ic ic.... thanks for the info...

cos i'd like my pup to make some fur friends... so far, he doesn't have any fur friends... poor him... laugh.gif

Oh my your vids so funny, draggy draggy... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by 5h1rl3y: Mar 24 2009, 05:29 PM
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 05:29 PM

24 posts

Well, socializing wouldn't be a problem. There's always doggie gatherings being organized every now and then...smile.gif Also, there's bound to be doggie events being organized a few times each year...I know Puppy.com does events quite a bit every year. You can bring your pup there as well...smile.gif

Added on March 24, 2009, 5:30 pm
QUOTE(5h1rl3y @ Mar 24 2009, 05:26 PM)
Oh my your vids so funny, draggy draggy...  rclxms.gif
LOL! Yeah...that one was because of the leaves and twigs stuck to his fur. He is very fussy about that and doesn't want to walk. Because it was a competition, I can't just stop, so I had to literally 'drag' him along a bit until he walks properly. *sigh*

This post has been edited by Rayne: Mar 24 2009, 05:30 PM
kerrie
post Mar 24 2009, 08:04 PM

gosh...hand stripped? ouch!!

wen is da next gathering ar? i forgot d
Rayne
post Mar 24 2009, 08:17 PM

24 posts

Here's the date for the next gathering! 5h1rl3y, you might also consider bringing your pup together for socialization...smile.gif

QUOTE(Winnie_sia87 @ Mar 18 2009, 11:17 AM)
4th Gathering
Date: 12 April 2009
Time: 10.30am
Venue: BU park

List:
Confirm:
Winnie_sia87
Vincent_ng86
Candy&Vincent
psyko881208
aragonlee
kerrie