6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

*-={House of Miniature Schnauzer v8}=-*, lai lai lai.. come in!

thedancingsun
post May 8 2009, 07:51 PM

QUOTE(ahju_vodka @ May 8 2009, 05:07 PM)
I have a problem here....my Vodka likes to bark whenever he hears ppl talking outside or neighbour's car get back....he'll bark non stop...

Can someone tell me how to train/teach him not to bark too often?
How old is your Vodka? Do you want the gentle method or the more dramatic method?? hahahhaaa

When I first got mine, and since I stay in a condo, it is VERY ESSENTIAL that my puppy don't make too much noise (as it is illegal to have a dog in condo) so my pet shop guy taught me to whack the cage with a rolled up newspaper everytime it whines or bark! It really works cos it hardly make much noise except when she sees me pouring food into her bowl...then she gets very noisy excited.

I response that it is kinda cruel to whack the cage but he said you can cuddle your puppy but do not coodle it!! Else it will climb over your head later then you susah.

The other method that my fren taught me is to pat it whenever it barks to tell its OK....not necessary to bark.

Hope that helps.

Added on May 8, 2009, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(kerrie @ May 7 2009, 11:58 AM)
pahang is juz 2 and a half hour drive. if not mistaken lar. cameron i think they won't allow pet wan lar. coz lotsa malay ppl there.

if interested then maybe we can go there together...hee

Added on May 7, 2009, 12:01 pmsumore cameron road is kinda twisted. i sked they wil vomit before we reach da top.
How about Fraser??? Nearer but cool also. No need to go so far. I'll be getting my puppy back in June!! So can join!

If Old Ye Smokehouse isn't so expensive, it would be a nice place to stay...but can go for scones and tea??? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 8 2009, 07:55 PM
thedancingsun
post May 10 2009, 12:19 AM

Is this how the MS gathering looks like???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vh2IQSCQK5I&feature=related

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 10 2009, 12:42 AM
thedancingsun
post May 10 2009, 03:30 PM

That is quite a cool video! Yeah, I guess our gatherings are somewhat like that, except we don't have that many people and doggies. But the last 2 gatherings I've been to are like that...we get together and chit chat about our furkids and let them mingle around (most of them on leash). I like in the video that most of the doggies have undocked tails! So cute! smile.gif
Ya docked tails and ears clipping is banned in Australia. As well as in Canada. Europe too I think.

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 10 2009, 03:34 PM
thedancingsun
post May 10 2009, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(clementcpteh @ May 10 2009, 06:31 PM)
Miniature Schnauzer no docked might look funny, ears clipping is the most nice look for Miniature Schnauzer. I have france friend at penang, she said get saman around rm10.000 if did both.
Ya the rationale is that it serves no purpose except to please humans, so classify as act of cruelty to animal.
thedancingsun
post May 11 2009, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ May 11 2009, 02:12 PM)
wheeps~

I'm getting my puppy in 2 or 3 weeks time since she is only 3 weeks old now. The breeder told me she's salt and pepper, but her hair is rather brownish and there is a black strap on her back that leads way end to her tail. Is the hair suppose to be like that at the baby stage?  rclxub.gif

the breeder told me to bring her home 1st, after 1 week only go for 1st jab. i told her to pass the puppy to me after her 1st jab, she said that at that time the puppy will more likely to attach to her since the puppy will be like 3 months old at that time.

I'm very worried because this is my first time, friend did told me that it's safer to take the puppy after the 1st jab. help =/ icon_question.gif
Hmmm.....that sound strange...cos breeder is not supposed to sell puppy less than 6 weeks - that's when they are weaned. Else it will be quite handful, cos my fren got a puppy at 4 weeks and it doesn't have teeth yet so it needs special care like eating only soft food and feeding it 3 - 4x a day. In fact, if i'm not mistaken, puppy is still blind at 3 weeks, they only opened their eyes at about 4 weeks old.

And puppy is SUPPOSED to have their 1st jab at about 5 weeks (some will do it at 4 weeks to get it out fast) and subsequently, once a month for 3x. So by 3 months, its usually vaccinated and can bring it out already. You should ideally take the puppy at 7 - 8 weeks. Being away from its mother at too young age is not very healthy cos it isn't weaned yet and for emotional reasons.

Ya, some puppy got black strip down its back, will grow out of it later.
thedancingsun
post May 11 2009, 03:35 PM

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ May 11 2009, 02:41 PM)
so do you mean puppies at 8 weeks old should be jab-ed alr? cause she say if i want to take the puppy after first jab then will be like 3 months old alr (after jab must stay with her for 2 or 3 weeks)

and if i take the puppy at the 7th week, i will need to bring the puppy for jab  rclxub.gif

or i just dont care about the 3 months old issue and let the puppy to stay with her for the jab thingy  shocking.gif
No lah!! You can take the puppy AFTER 1st jab which is about 7 - 8 wks old lah! Then after that you take puppy for 2nd and 3rd jab. This is because to make sure that the puppy got no adverse reaction to the jab. If got, then you can reject the puppy! If take w/o jab....then if puppy got allergic reaction to jab, you are responsible lah!!

thedancingsun
post May 11 2009, 04:39 PM

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ May 11 2009, 04:32 PM)
i'm sorry if it sounds weird to you. the puppy is now 3 weeks old.

here are the options the breeder gave me:

1. i bring the puppy at 6 weeks old. after 1 or 2 weeks i will need to bring the puppy to her designed vet's place for vaccination.

2. i bring the puppy home after the first vaccination. BUT by then the puppy will be about 3 months old because she needs 2 or 3 weeks to supervise the puppy after the vaccination. The puppy will attach to her and so she does not encourage me to take this option.

she seemed a little frustrated when i asked to take the puppy ONLY after the first vaccination. whenever i raise this issue she will tell me the same thing again and again, which is "by that time the puppy will attach to me already!" she say until i also a bit afraid of her, she talks very loud and i'm not good in debating. sad.gif

so my question here is, does it really matter to take the puppy at 3 months old although the puppy starts to attach to her? and how old can the puppy can go for vaccination? she promised that she will give 9in1 jab. the payment is on HER and just the matter of whether I MYSELF or HER take the puppy for vaccination.
Hmmm...sounds very dodgy to me. Usually breeder will get the 1st jab. I got mine from the breeder as well at 8-week. It comes with a little card with its microchip no on it. I think the 1st jab is between 4 - 5 weeks old. Haven't heard about the 2-3 weeks supervision though. Its about right because my breeder give the 1st jab at 5 week and i got my puppy at 8 week so there is a 2 - 3 weeks window period...more because I didn't have time to go check it out earlier. Its not about the cost. Some puppies are allergic to vaccination and have serious complications. If like that, will the breeder change a new puppy for you?

thedancingsun
post May 11 2009, 04:41 PM

QUOTE(ahju_vodka @ May 11 2009, 04:29 PM)
My vodka is exactly 1 year old today. He's very long gas one, can bark non-stop. I've tried to hit the cage method when he was still young.

I'm now trying to stop him from barking and praise him if he stops barking. I hope this work. Otherwise hv to try the hard way.
Good luck! Mine so far so good. Now see newspaper will automatically shut up. tongue.gif I am keeping my fingers crossed else will kena complain kau kau from neighbours since I stay in a condo!
thedancingsun
post May 11 2009, 05:17 PM

QUOTE(xbeeboo @ May 11 2009, 04:52 PM)
so i should raise my voice and say "I don't care! i will only take the puppy after it is microchip-ed and vaccinated!!!" doh.gif
More importantly, have you seen the puppies????

I don't think its a problem at 3-mth...cos I "outsourced" my puppy to my friend to toilet train... tongue.gif

I only have the puppy for 1 week and then its with my fren. I'm getting her back in June (so by the time, she's 4+ mth oredi). I hope its OK...but will adapt to you after a while.

In fact, I saw a MS selling at SS2 which is about 3 mth oso!
thedancingsun
post May 13 2009, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(Winnie_sia87 @ May 13 2009, 11:36 AM)
Ramses, you can try House of groomers.

http://www.houseofgroomers.com/

Sri Hartamas:
HOUSE OF GROOMERS PET SALON
G-2 Block G, Plaza Damas,
Jalan Sri Hartamas,
50480 Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia

Telephone: +603-62011102
Facsimile:  +603-62011109
This is near my place! I sent my puppy to the pet shop at SS2....and grooming for RM40, I guess its because my puppy was very small, 8 weeks only.
thedancingsun
post May 18 2009, 05:11 PM

QUOTE(kerrie @ May 17 2009, 04:40 AM)
guys...dunno why lately daisy very inactive...usuali she's super hyper and running around wan. But since i bring her go back hometown, she's in da emo state..da 1st few days stil normal, but these few days, she barely wanna move at all...quite wori bout her..
Is it near her period? Is she eating as per normal?

Added on May 18, 2009, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(red-queen @ May 17 2009, 01:18 PM)
Ramses just got his grooming done at House of groomers yesterday.

and he looks like a MS now!!! hehhehee.....he looks so adorable and handsome.

will post some pics up.

p/s: he looks older than he is suppose to be.....my maid say look like old man heheh
Please do post some pics! Can;t wait to see it.

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 18 2009, 05:13 PM
thedancingsun
post May 19 2009, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(kerrie @ May 18 2009, 07:32 PM)
she eats alot..like normal days...but she seems restless and not playing as active as usual..im worry bout her..
Maybe its just the weather? I guess its too vague to go to the vet???
thedancingsun
post May 19 2009, 08:39 PM

My Kimmy has developed new sleeping style...hahhaaaaa

Looks so human

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 19 2009, 08:41 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
thedancingsun
post May 21 2009, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(chelle84 @ May 20 2009, 10:34 PM)
hey i wanna ask, my dog has really bad water stains around his mouth area...any thing to make it better? coz it looks like his dirty, and its red in colour..
I was told not to feed my puppy water with the bowl, cos it will stain their beard. So got the feeding bottle....which makes her work at it abit. She really loves drinking water.
thedancingsun
post May 21 2009, 10:26 AM

QUOTE(Rayne @ May 21 2009, 09:54 AM)
I've been giving Scottie water in a bottle since the first day I got him back...didn't help much at all, seeing his beard is still brown. laugh.gif
Hahhaa.....let me ask my Pet Shop.
thedancingsun
post May 21 2009, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(Rayne @ May 21 2009, 09:54 AM)
I've been giving Scottie water in a bottle since the first day I got him back...didn't help much at all, seeing his beard is still brown. laugh.gif
Hi Rayne

Found this on the net...have you tried any of this?? I think the easiest is the baking soda with lemon juice....

Do consider investigating other possible options however, as many times these tear stains are a result of improper nutrition and can be a breeding ground for microorganisms and yeast. For more information on this:
http://www.scribd.com/doc/989906/Dog-Tea...

Here are some home remedies for tear stains:

http://lowchensaustralia.com/grooming/gr... has this information as follows:

BORIC ACID POWDER - rub it into the staining with fingers and leave it there. Do NOT brush it out, it is left in the coat. Do this every day, also use a very fine comb to comb out any debris in the corners of the eye. Also, if there are any hairs in the very corners of the eyes, carefully remove these.
BORIC ACID SOLUTION #1 - make a paste of the boric acid powder & green lemon juice. Using a toothbrush, brush the paste on the stains and leave overnight. The next day, comb out and no more stains. For really bad stains, repeat again.
BORIC ACID SOLUTION #2 - use 1 teaspoon of boric acid to 1 cup of boiling water, let cool, use 1-2X a day, make a fresh solution every 3rd day, moisten cotton ball and wipe the eye and tear stain area
VETROPOLYCIN Sterile Ophthalmic Ointment - ¼ inch strip in both eyes once a day and wash area with warm water twice daily - for 10 days
CROWN ROYALE MAGIC TOUCH & PEROXIDE
Mix Magic Touch grooming spray concentrate 1 part to 1 part water. Now mix this with 2% hydrogen peroxide - NOT the kind you use on your hair. You can mix up enough for a whole week and store it in a closed bottle. Apply with a cotton to clean the eyes.
CROWN ROYALE "WHITENER" - mix with human hair peroxide (20 volume to 40 volume) into a paste and leave it on overnight. You must condition very well. DO NOT get any mixture into the eyes. Crown Royale Ph: 1-800-992-5400.
MILK OF MAGNESIA, CORN STARCH AND PEROXIDE - use equal volume of MOM (plain white) and peroxide (20 volume to 40 volume), and then use the corn starch to make a good paste of this; put on and work well into the stained area and let dry 4 hours. Wash out, CONDITION WELL. Keep doing this for several days until tear staining is gone. Apply a thin coat of Destin diaper rash ointment after the area is washed out and dry. Try this every other day if possible and the choice way of doing it. If your dog has heavy stains then do this for 3 days in a row, then skip every other day.
CORN FLOUR, WATER AND A DROP OF BLEACH - 2 teaspoons of corn flour, add a few drops of boiling hot water and mix to a paste. Add 1 single drop of plain bleach, mix again. Allow the mixture to cool down and apply to the tear stain area. Allow to dry (10 minutes), wait 1 hour and remove with warm water and clean cloth. Then wipe on a thin layer or peroxide and allow to air dry and leave alone. Repeat every other day for 2 weeks. DO NOT get any in the dogs eye.
BAKING SODA - a mixture of ½ lemon juice and ½ baking soda works wonders when it comes to whitening coats. Make a paste and work into hair. Let the paste set for 5-10 minutes and wash and rinse thoroughly. Lemon juice can irritate your animal's skin, so be sure to rinse well. Condition well!.
PEROXIDE, MILK OF MAGNESIA & CORNFLOUR
1 x bottle of Hydrogen Peroxide 40%
1 x bottle of Milk of Magnesia
Mix together into a paste with corn flour.
Paint on and ,

thedancingsun
post May 22 2009, 09:19 AM

QUOTE(Rayne @ May 22 2009, 12:19 AM)
Thanks for the links, thedancingsun. Unfortunately, Scottie doesn't have tear stains...laugh.gif The stains are on his beard area only...his eye area is perfectly clean. I DID try before the baking soda remedy...didn't work also. laugh.gif Don't like the idea of the peroxide and bleach idea...those are quite corrosive if consumed, and if I know Scottie, he likes to lick the beard...so, I'm guessing it's a no go there :S Oh well, like red-queen says, I have to learn to accept it smile.gif
Some of the other quotes

"There are also a number of professional grooming products designed for this, including whitening shampoos and gels. Tear stain removers are easy to find and will work the same on the beard. "

And found this in another forum....

http://www.dogforums.com/4-dog-grooming-fo...eard-stain.html

This post has been edited by thedancingsun: May 22 2009, 09:27 AM
thedancingsun
post May 23 2009, 02:13 PM

QUOTE(jootat @ May 23 2009, 10:04 AM)
wah ... u feed them McD ... haha ... they drank the soft drinks as well?
Ya lor!! Can meh???? I thought fried food is very very very bad for them??
thedancingsun
post May 23 2009, 02:56 PM

Just a note...I found that the treats sold at Petlovers (Ikano) is much more expensive than other pet shops!!!! Example, I bought the Choostix costing RM14.90 there and yesterday was at another pet shop and found that its only RM11.50!!!! Damn!! Almost RM3+ difference!!!! Same with other treats....!!!

I bought a few packs there thinking that it can't be found at other pet shop...but how wrong was i???? <sighh.....> Anyway, expensive lesson!
thedancingsun
post May 23 2009, 07:15 PM

QUOTE(kerrie @ May 23 2009, 03:54 PM)
last time i bring daisy go spay oso leave her at da vet for few hrs...they will be sleeping and tired for da whole day lar..da next day wil get better...but daisy is getting fierce and not so frenly as b4...
Hmmmmm.........i'm still undecided if i should spayed my puppy. However, I'm leaning toward spaying cos I don't want the trouble of guarding her every 6 months to ensure she's not "raped"....and the consequences thereafter....aiyeee..... rclxub.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.1012sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:07 PM