QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Mar 4 2009, 12:56 AM)
Maybank Amex Credit Card is 2x TP for ALL transactions, including petrol.Edit: Podium finish, bronze medal.
This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Mar 4 2009, 10:07 AM
Credit Card Thread V6
Mar 4 2009, 10:07 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
Mar 4 2009, 10:57 AM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(GHz @ Mar 4 2009, 10:18 AM) QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 4 2009, 10:19 AM) True, I'm using MBB Petronas Visa and Petronas fuel for 5x TP. If it ends, I'm going back to Amex CC + Esso/Mobil + Smiles points.QUOTE(jack2 @ Mar 4 2009, 10:20 AM) I have Maybank AMEX charge card and AMEX is not very famous like Master or VISA. Not that I'm aware of any HSBC CC free for life, unless you have some home loan or big deposits there for their premier/platinum member.I like to use AMEX because no late charges will be imposed and interest if late. hehe Does HSBC Bank have free for life credit cards without any condition? I would like to cancel my Citibank which always charges me annual fee and I have to call them every year! The best I got from HSBC is earlier this year 5 yrs free waiver offer. But their points are not ever-green. |
Mar 4 2009, 04:48 PM
Mar 4 2009, 06:53 PM
Most of the shops will absorb the RM50 processing fee for you. Ask for any hidden/extra charges/interest before you go for the 0% installment.
Mar 5 2009, 10:38 AM
When finalising your purchase price, please ask:
1) Can pay by installment ? 2) 0% interest ? 3) For thix RM xxxx amount, what are my options ? 6/12/24/36 mth ? Some below certain amount, can only be 12 months. 4) Any additional/extra admin charge ? 5) When will the first installment be charge into CC ? |
Mar 23 2009, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 23 2009, 12:21 PM) I have question : Yes, you may do like that. But for me, since I have Savings a/c and CC from same bank, I swipe first until the CL is low (set your own limit), then I will make online payment to CC to get back the CL for tomorrow onwards purchase/spending. Although it is immediate payment, it is better to give about 24 hours for the cash payment. You don't want to get heaty about immediate 10 min payment ago, overseas call CS, bang table, get all upset.My cc limit was 10k. If I wanna use extra than that, any possible way? What happen if I pay extra 5k, then I can use 15k when I go vacation? I don't want to bring cash with me on my vacation. Plan you expected purchase or large sum hotel checkout way in advance. e.g. If you think you are taking a tour to a diamond factory and you plan to buy something, clear up the CL first. |
Mar 24 2009, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Mar 23 2009, 05:46 PM) Actually hotel payment itself over my limit. So I guess the solution is to swipe 2 card when paying, is it right? Do they accept for swiping 2 cards to pay one bill? Yes, most (if not all) do allow swipe multiple cards for a bill. Normally 2 cards should have sufficient CL. However, ensure the cards are not combined CL. |
Mar 31 2009, 05:55 PM
QUOTE(aeronlim @ Mar 31 2009, 05:12 PM) @he-sham , milesandmore Does the machines look something like this ?Yes, the cc machine is wireless in some Europe country, their cc printing machine can take over to the front of customer and print it out in front of them, this lower the risk that the worker involve in cc criminal. Like some cases happened in Malaysia, the restaurant waiter double swipe and ask the customer to sign on it. |
Apr 1 2009, 01:22 PM
Apr 1 2009, 01:25 PM
Apr 1 2009, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 1 2009, 01:28 PM) IC u are looking for a 'better' platinum card. Yes, 4th point is inconvenient payment, like Citibank CC, although I guess I can use M1 online a/c to transfer for CC payment.The promotion is quite tempting tho, i.e. RM50 cash on credit card with a free saving account, with RM30 in it. I did not apply as it is inconveniet for me. Added on April 1, 2009, 2:43 pmJust to add, I'm not looking for "better" plat. Just better rewards/returns/redemptions from CC. Convenience, free for life. Plat nowadays is like Gold card 10 years ago. I also feel paiseh to use my plat to swipe, so normally i use the classic card. BTW, my MBB Amex Credit Card (gold only) already 3.5 yrs (free first 3 yrs AF waiver). So far they did not charge me AF, I guess they auto-waive me. This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 1 2009, 02:43 PM |
Apr 1 2009, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(andyfriends @ Apr 1 2009, 03:03 PM) Well, classic is the lowest I can goto, nothing lower than that There was one 31st of the month, I was queuing to pay for Baskin Robbins at Mont Kiara. Guess what, 80% swipe using Plat cards Added on April 1, 2009, 4:11 pmThen I decide to be the special one and take out my classic card. This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Apr 1 2009, 04:11 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(Ash @ Apr 1 2009, 05:57 PM) I wonder how everyone of you thinks that PLAT is easy to get. I've been a classic holder with a credit limit of 12k (applied using FD) for more than a year now. How can I try to apply for a plat card? Given that I have constant salary credited to my bank account every month. Get S&C plat @60k p.a. income only MBB plat = 120k |
Apr 2 2009, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 2 2009, 04:16 PM) @aeronlim, There is this question I have asked before. All cards under the Amex range (be it Credit or Charge) falls under 'Membership Rewards' and not Treat Points 1) MBB Amex Credit card = 2x TP 2) MBB Amex Charge card = 2x MR (have to pay RM25 per annum to enable turbo) Question: 1) Why do you want to pay RM25 when you can get the same 2x points if using Credit card ? Assume: (i) Credit limit is not an issue for credit card (more than enough) (ii) Always pay full every month (iii) ..... Is it MR gift redemption/rewards are better ? MR need lower points to redeem ? Better facilities it supports ? e.g. airport lounge, etc. ? |
Apr 2 2009, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Apr 2 2009, 04:51 PM) @cute_boboi, Yes, I know MR and TP are two separate rewards programs, that's why I mention above MR and TP are 2 separate reward programs. If you hold an Amex card, you're automatically put into MR (yes there will be certain charges for those holding uhm anything lower in range than Gold). The redemption rewards are just different that's all. CODE Is it MR gift redemption/rewards are better ? MR need lower points to redeem ? So, for the better redemption, it is worth it to pay RM25 (that's about 4000-5000 MR points?) annually to enrol in the turbo program ? Any other advantages to pay the RM25 ? |
Apr 3 2009, 02:50 PM
zenwell,
No official announcement yet, but it should be end-Jul to early-Aug 2009 at Mid-Valley. |
Apr 3 2009, 06:10 PM
Apr 6 2009, 11:30 AM
aeronlim,
Got it. Thanks |
Apr 8 2009, 11:32 AM
As I mention before, I do not like to call up/ask/threaten/beg (choose the most suitable word you think suits you) for AF waiver. So, I go for free-for-life or minimum condition (e.g. swipe 2x/mth) which I know I will (e.g. pay water and electricity bill every mth) since >3 yrs ago.
I don't want to waste my brain power to remember the dates, nor get alarms/reminder from phone/outlook/scheduler/etc. to call the bank up. Waste my time, $, stress, etc. to call them up for each card that need waiver. I might as well join tele-marketer. Unless the bank calls up and offer me, I would see the T&C if it suits me. Once free waiver period end, normally I just cancel the card. |
Apr 8 2009, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(boonsin23 @ Apr 8 2009, 05:38 PM) auto-debit once-a-month can consider "AT LEAST 12 TIMES" = Yes, I'm doing this right now.eligible for the auto waiver? = Yes, monthly auto-waiver for my MBB and Citibank CC. Not sure other banks though. |
| Change to: | 0.0524sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:41 PM |