Credit Card Thread V6

MilesAndMore
post Jun 3 2009, 11:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Regist @ Jun 3 2009, 07:38 PM)
btw....i feel someone here have some rage towards the blue bank as i found that eventho in US they got rumours of collapsing..

I don't think they will collapse though. Just that they are no longer on the same league as HSBC. Will take them moons to crawl back to the level they previously at. Good luck to them laugh.gif

QUOTE(Regist @ Jun 3 2009, 07:38 PM)
still they are an international bank afterall..and is recognised far much more better in overseas than using ur local bank cc LOL
I think this is actually a myth. Not quite true smile.gif

QUOTE(muscaa @ Jun 3 2009, 08:12 PM)
There is no such thing that you can't terminate the card. Most likely the agent can earn commission if you keep it for 6 months
Yeah. I think so too. An agent helped my mom to apply 4 credit cards from 4 different banks a few months ago. My mom was told that it is okay if she doesn't want to use any of these credit cards but if my mom really wants to cancel these credit cards, he told my mom only to cancel it after XX months. Figured it has something to do with commission.

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 3 2009, 08:34 PM)
Wow...your letter must be super powerful enough to make the whole department and system revamped!? smile.gif
But we need to be a little more cautious when depositing our money into foreign banks in view of the global market volatility. It has always been better to be alert than negligence. But it's all fine for cc service.
Most major foreign banks in Malaysia are very stable and financially sound. Such as HSBC (no doubt and so far only their US operation is reporting losses), Standard Chartered, UOB Bank and OCBC.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 3 2009, 11:55 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 5 2009, 11:43 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 5 2009, 06:21 PM)
i just discover a credit card with the lowest requirement of annual income for its PLATINUM credit card...

the requirement is RM24k per annum (officially stated in their application form)...

From which bank ?

QUOTE(he-sham @ Jun 5 2009, 06:21 PM)
haha...better apply for Infinite or Premier....
Premier is not open for public application. You need to be a HSBC Premier customer in order to qualify for this card. So yes, it is kind of exclusive.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 5 2009, 11:44 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 6 2009, 04:05 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Jun 6 2009, 02:39 AM)
QUOTE(pingping86 @ Jun 6 2009, 02:28 AM)

can some1 tell me if i use cash advance for RM1000
how much interest i shud pay for next month..???
Approximately Rm15.00
Are you sure ?

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 6 2009, 05:57 AM)
RM200k home loan is not a big sum.
Yet many people still fail to repay their monthly loan installment every month ...
MilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2009, 09:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(arsenal @ Jun 8 2009, 09:09 PM)
The only credit card no service charge at overseas is alliance bank...smile.gif
You forgot UOB Bank.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2009, 06:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 03:44 PM)
yup, for you it does not mean anything, but different people got different perception,

just like some people even compare about how much credit limit they got with their friends etc.

Some people just like to brag. Some REALLY rich people won't do so ...

HSBC Premier benefits = HSBC plat + more, depends on if you are looking for those benefits...

There is NOTHING GREAT with the Malaysia issued HSBC Premier. Seriously lacking of promotion. Unlike the HSBC Premier issued in Hong Kong, Taiwan and Macau, lots of promotion year round reserved exclusively for HSBC Premier cardholders only. I wondered if HSBC Malaysia is sleeping ... mad.gif

but to some or most people, cc = status.
I do agree that so many Malaysian still see credit card as a kind of status. I think this is due to the fact that many Malaysians still do not own a credit card. Malaysian credit card holders are very little compared to other developing nations, for instance, Taiwan. But once you've been holding Platinum credit card for a while, you won't feel special anymore as somehow you have get used to it.

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 05:24 PM)
In malaysia the highest credit limit i have seen so far is 500k o.O and so far, only 1 person got that, to my knowledge la biggrin.gif
Eh, i have always under the impression that the highest credit limit for a Platinum card is only 300k maximum ? No ? Or you are talking about a VISA Infinite card holder ? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(inuyasha88 @ Jun 10 2009, 05:42 PM)
if i seriously looking for card, i will only go for premier hsbc card, as it shows that i have more than 200k sitting in the bank, hahaha.
I actually see that as a bad thing. Because this will tell everyone indirectly that you have AT LEAST 200k of deposit with HSBC or it could be more. The expose is simply too great.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 10 2009, 06:43 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 10 2009, 06:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jun 10 2009, 06:08 PM)
what card higher then premier hsbc?
HSBC Premier card is technically only a Platinum card. As the word "World" is printed on it, many people actually thought it as a World Mastercard but in reality, the Malaysian issued HSBC Premier is NOT a World Mastercard but a regular platinum card. As far as i am concerned, only USA, Australia, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan issued HSBC Premier credit card is a World Mastercard.

So basically any card that is ranked as higher than platinum has higher status than HSBC Premier Mastercard. For example, Standard Chartered VISA Infinite, RHB Bank VISA Infinite, CIMB World Mastercard, CIMB Enrich World Mastercard, Direct Access World Mastercard and MBF World Mastercard.

QUOTE(jack7155 @ Jun 10 2009, 06:30 PM)
for cancellation, issit that i just fill up above letter and fax to the bank?
Please type it yourself and then either mail it to your credit card HQ or fax directly to the bank.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 10 2009, 06:44 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 13 2009, 04:53 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jun 13 2009, 02:53 PM)
so public bank and hsbc is able to open bank acc online or just credit card?
You can apply for credit card or debit card online but not a savings or checking account. You must be present at the bank should you wish to open a savings/checking account with your preferred bank as there are documents you need to sign.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 14 2009, 04:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 14 2009, 11:04 AM)
depends on Bank.

my hsbc classic is sent by TnT...  icon_rolleyes.gif
And my mom got her HSBC Amanah credit card via POSLAJU.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 15 2009, 12:26 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(New Hank @ Jun 14 2009, 10:16 PM)
u will regret if u get DA..any bank also is more recognised compare to DA...u dont wanna cashier ask u"this card can be used ah?" lol
I think it is just an urban legend that one must only apply for credit card from a reputable bank so you won't run into any trouble. ANZ Bank is big in Australia and New Zealand but many people do not know the existence of ANZ Bank in Malaysia and yet my friend had no problem swiping his card here or in other countries such as Hong Kong, Japan and even UK.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 15 2009, 01:39 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Michael_G @ Jun 15 2009, 01:19 AM)
okie thanks. but Direct Access meaning?
Direct Access belongs to CIMB Bank. It was a brand previously owned by Southern Bank. You must be a degree holder to be eligible for any card issued by Direct Access.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 15 2009, 06:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(dato_2009 @ Jun 15 2009, 05:33 PM)
i apply few time already..but rejected...any suggested bank ???
CIMB Bank approval rate is quite high. Good luck smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 16 2009, 04:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 16 2009, 04:28 PM)
Fewer and fewer people double check the signature behind the card.
True. Most cashiers do not bother to check nowadays.
MilesAndMore
post Jun 16 2009, 08:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM)
Many times also, the forummer complains coz the senior guys suggestions are not "practical" to them coz difficult to pay cc. Hello ... there is something called IBG (interbank transfer) where you can pay from anywhere and anytime in the world.
Can't blame them as many Malaysian still do not have an online banking account as they are skeptical with the security of it. The numbers of fraud involving money vanishing from people's online banking account are on the rising trend and this has kept many people from using online banking facility.

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 16 2009, 07:14 PM)
Hello ... there is something called IBG (interbank transfer) where you can pay from anywhere and anytime in the world. I have done my Malaysian banking while I was thousand of KMs away from KL, everything is convenient and gave me a peace of mind. Some say the RM2 is too expensive ... ever considered the cost of fuel had you drove there in the first place ? Sorry to be sarcastic but "Penny wise, pound foolish". There's no such thing as a free lunch.
Most banks are charging RM2 for each IBG transfer but Citibank and Standard Chartered are only charging RM0.50. RHB Bank is charging RM1.50 per IBG while Alliance Bank RM1/IBG.

Both the Singaporean banks, UOB and OCBC are charging RM0.50/IBG for the first two IBG done in a month, RM2/IBG will be charged from the third IBG onward.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 16 2009, 08:50 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 02:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(kneok @ Jun 17 2009, 12:41 PM)
i am a young lawyer la.. anyway, no time to go to epf kiosk @ epf office to print out my epf statement.. so sad..
Actually just your salary slip will do. Not everyone has EPF, just so you know. Both my parents do not have EPF. They both opted for another pension scheme.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 17 2009, 01:22 PM)
@kneok,
If U haf enough time to be on LYN and post here, U should have enough time to do what U need to get done, when Ur not in court or being bullied by the seniors tongue.gif
Very well said.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 17 2009, 02:04 PM)
@cute_boboi & alexwsk,
He just wants the entire forum to know he's a very busy lawyer that's all tongue.gif
MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 05:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(kneok @ Jun 17 2009, 02:48 PM)
Well, my daily schedule really allows me no time to go anywhere during office hours. At night got plenty time  cool2.gif haha. I certainly don't want to take leave (so little they gave me, leh) just to apply for credit card, so was wondering whether got any agents here or not. That is all.
Actually you don't need to rely on credit card agent to do the work for you. Just download the application form online (for HSBC you can simply fill the form online, no need to download anything) and send all your supporting documents (a photocopy of your MyKad, 3-month salary slip etc.) For Citibank, you can fill a form online and then one of their agents will call you smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 05:51 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 17 2009, 05:42 PM)
Is SCB online banking able to pay TNB electricity bill by using their credit card linked to online banking?
Yes. You can.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 17 2009, 06:31 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 17 2009, 06:08 PM)
Then my opportunity cost is RM50 as my TNB bill every month is RM1000 leh...  cry.gif
RM1000 ? WOW !! How many air-cons you have ? laugh.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 18 2009, 09:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(cenkudu @ Jun 18 2009, 06:54 PM)
I just being approved AMEX MBB Ikhwan, haven't take the card yet from the branch. once I saw AMEX Gold card, i feel like want to own this card because its benefit is far more better than AMEX ikhwan. but not sure whether I got the chances to have this card since they already approved me AMEX Ikhwan
Should be no problem as AMEX Ikhwan is issued by Maybank Islamic whereas the soon to be officially launched AMEX Gold Credit Card is issued by American Express itself. I've been holding an AMEX Gold Credit Card issued by Maybank (the very hideous designed AMEX Gold with the word Maybankard printed on it) for almost a year when i applied for another Green Personal Charge Card from AMEX and was approved in just 2 weeks.

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 18 2009, 07:28 PM)
When Ikhwan AMEX was first introduced, they offer a conversion from conventional AMEX to Islamic Ikhwan AMEX.
Free conversion from the Maybank issued Classic and Gold AMEX Credit Card to be exact. Not the AMEX issued by AMEX itself.

By the way guys, the AMEX Gold credit card issued by American Express is now up on American Express Malaysia website - AMERICAN EXPRESS GOLD CREDIT CARD

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 18 2009, 09:42 PM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 19 2009, 01:40 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Crystalkhor @ Jun 19 2009, 12:45 AM)
Then, you got to watch out not to go over the approved credit limit, I have RHB Platinum with RM 21k limit, if I use exceed the limit by 1 ringgit, they will charge you RM50 penalty, then everytime need to call for waiver. Shouldn't the bank decline the transaction to go through, instead they charge the customer using the term 'excess limit fee'.
CIMB will automatically decline your card when you do not have sufficient credit in your credit card anymore rclxms.gif

MilesAndMore
post Jun 19 2009, 09:55 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Jun 19 2009, 09:26 AM)
Quite interesting with their offers as Free for life and 5x MR points for all petrol. Just wonder the requirement they stated "(Graduate RM30000 income)", is it means for freshly graduate or Degree holder? Can someone clarify this?
Usually graduate refers to degree holder or higher.

And by the way, apparently you must be a Maybank account holder in order to apply for this AMEX Gold Credit Card vmad.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 19 2009, 09:58 AM

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0508sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:09 AM