MilesAndMore
post May 22 2009, 01:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ May 22 2009, 07:39 AM)
As for CIMB it has also reduce to RM50K due to lack of qualifiers  tongue.gif
Is this a confirmed thing ? CIMB World Mastercard is good as it is FREE FOR LIFE drool.gif I'm going to cancel my current CIMB Mastercard soon but i might just go for CIMB World Mastercard one day brows.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 22 2009, 11:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ May 22 2009, 02:41 PM)
As I had mentioned before, the whole CIMB/DA World Mastercard series are a big joke as their benefits are at times even lower than Plat cards from some banks.
Agreed. But at least the card is nicely designed rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Reventon @ May 22 2009, 03:38 PM)
I have one friend with 300k CL from few banks. he was getting such high limit because of his annual transaction with his card exceed millions. , however i heard that visa and master CL was capped at max 300k. Not sure how true is it.
Heard the same thing before. VISA Platinum and Mastercard Platinum credit line is capped at a maximum of RM300,000 per card per person. It cannot go beyond that. The only way to get more CL is applying another credit card from another bank.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 22 2009, 11:29 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 23 2009, 01:00 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ May 23 2009, 12:09 AM)
any comment on pbb credit card ? any bank offer the lowest for balance transfer
Seriously lacking of promotion and the cash rebate sucks ! They should make the cash rebate to be AT LEAST 0.5% instead of 0.3%.

MilesAndMore
post May 23 2009, 05:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(owenwong84 @ May 23 2009, 11:47 AM)
I have this tought for me that i take 1 international and 1 local big 3. Maybank is out of my list. Public got problem for online payment . CIMB DA no idea.
For international, goes for either Citibank or HSBC. As for local bank you should go for CIMB Bank FREE FOR LIFE Mastercard. lots of promotion year round.

QUOTE(hye @ May 23 2009, 12:24 PM)
Card payment is easy coz you can use IBG interbank transfer to pay. I know some people are complaining about the RM2 fee but you probably incur more money for petrol, parking and time to go to the bank. Best if not to incur at all but do balance out between convenience, what you want in your card and what you get at the end of the day.
Eg. SCB cost me RM2 to pay every month / fund trans but they gave me back at least RM30 in rebates every month. That's a net RM28 gain vs a RM2 investment.
You don't have a Standard Chartered Bank savings/checking account ? Standard Chartered Bank and Citibank only charge RM0.50 for each IBG.

QUOTE(leoboom @ May 23 2009, 02:10 PM)
I went to the PB ATM there.. but surprisingly, there isn't any options to get a PIN.. Need to do it manually at the PB branches is it?
Yes. You will have to apply for PB e-banking for your credit card manually at any Public Bank branch.

QUOTE(steventan85 @ May 23 2009, 02:16 PM)
u can do it at atm for online banking pin .first time login and password reset also can do there ...try to explore and call to their CS  icon_rolleyes.gif
This only works for Public Bank savings and checking account.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 23 2009, 05:00 PM)
HSBC is free if you swipe 12 times a year. I just got my statement and was charged annual fee RM600 for Visa Plat. Called them and straight away they waived it and the operator told me that next year onwards auto fee waiver if charged more than 12 times.
Please tell them to make it black and white biggrin.gif

By the way, you sure have a nice collection of credit card tongue.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 24 2009, 08:54 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 24 2009, 09:25 AM)
I have CIMB Master, UOB One Card, HSBC.
I get 0.5% rebate for CIMB and 0.3% rebate for UOB. I am thinking of canceling the UOB card and apply a new card.
Please share with me the other types of rebate cards you know of.
HSBC Amanah credit card will also give you 0.5% rebate instead of accumulating points. For their Platinum VISA, you will get 1% rebate for all overseas transaction.

QUOTE(hye @ May 24 2009, 10:55 AM)
I dunno about you guys but I never had a problem with late payments for a long time. I always pay the bill a few days before they are due, I used IBG transfer and move funds before 11.50am so that it will be accepted on the same day itself and etc. Most complaints I believe are due to the removal of the 20 days interest free period but if you don't have any rollover (or just pay minimum) then you wouldn't have this problem to begin with. For a very long time, the market charges 18% interest and now replaced with a tiered system.

I always pay before i even get the printed credit card bill, like just 1 or 2 days after the credit card is billed so to avoid late payment charges. I know we have 20 days grace period but i prefer to settle it as soon as possible smile.gif Which is why i have online banking for all my credit cards so not only i can keep track of my spending, but also to check how much do i need to pay because i usually only get the credit card bill 10 days after the billing date.

QUOTE(hye @ May 24 2009, 10:55 AM)
They are a lot of ways that consumers can do to avoid paying the penalties. Plus I believe the move is to discourage consumers from accumulating cc debts and encourage prompt payment which is good. we don't want someday the credit crunch will happen to Malaysia don't we?
True. The whole point is so that people will not spend beyond their means.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 24 2009, 08:55 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 25 2009, 12:43 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 24 2009, 11:09 PM)
I'd be interested though if there are other cards with rebates of 1% and above.
No credit card in Malaysia is giving 1% cash rebate. The rebate for credit card in Malaysia is between 0.3% - 0.7% only.

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 25 2009, 12:21 AM)
CIMB Petronas Master Card.
The rebates are 0.5% of the amount you charge to your card. This rebate will appear in your monthly statement to reduce the balance you need to pay.
If i'm not mistaken, CIMB Islamic Mastercard will also give you 0.5% rebate instead of point.

MilesAndMore
post May 25 2009, 01:42 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 25 2009, 12:53 AM)
May I know which card is giving 0.7% rebate?
Sorry, it should be 0.9% rebate. I was talking about Public Bank VISA Platinum but you will only get 0.9% rebate if you swipe AT LEAST RM100,000 and above for that month.

QUOTE(hye @ May 25 2009, 06:14 AM)
Bro ... got coz I'm using one. The AllianceBank credit card cash back give you up to 1.38% rebate and SCB JustOne is 2%-5%.
Opps ... forgot about Alliance Bank credit card. The SCB JustOne credit card has way too many T&C.

MilesAndMore
post May 25 2009, 05:08 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(fikrie @ May 25 2009, 12:38 PM)
I'm not sure whether this has been posted here.. But i think i've read or heard about it somwhere else that min age requirement to apply cc is like 21 and above..

So, would it be possible for someone below the stipulated age, place a fixed deposit on certain bank, let say RM10k.. and try to apply credit card based on his fixed deposit for himself??
Only in Australia, UK or USA as local law permits anyone at least 18 years old to apply for their own principal credit card.

QUOTE(fikrie @ May 25 2009, 04:01 PM)
Actually, my fren actually the one wanted to apply for it.. he's 20, n his monthly earning more than 5-10k (I'm sure you guys know how MLM works).. he wanted to apply for cc, but couldnt get.. I guess, he need to wait for another one yr then..

I guess the same rule also applies if he wanna try to get debit/charge card (not sure actually!!).. but it would be out of topic then..
Charge Card shares the same rules as Credit Card. As for debit card, certain banks allow you to have a debit card if you are at least 12 years old.
MilesAndMore
post May 25 2009, 11:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 25 2009, 09:23 PM)
Eh  shakehead.gif …when we talk about cash rebate of 1% or more for all types of purchases within an unlimited period, HLB Visa Ess gives 1% rebate; Alliance Younique offers up to 1.365% rebate or RM68.25 per month; SCB Titanium 2%-5% rebate up to a cap of RM600 per year.
Hye and Ellimist have mentioned this in the morning sweat.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 04:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(inspiron @ May 26 2009, 01:25 AM)
I think it'll take a few more dozen of years till we can buy air tickets from hypermarket. But I might be wrong  blush.gif
Or it might never happens as airlines now prefer to sell tickets through their own website as this can save them millions of dollar in commission every year. I'm not only talking about those low cost carriers but full service carriers as well such as Singapore Airlines, Qantas etc.

QUOTE(Dannyl @ May 26 2009, 08:34 AM)
If you haven't already, do consider cancelling your paper statements.  It's really such a waste of resources.  I wrote to all of my banks to opt out of paper statements, unfortunately not all of them has such an option... HSBC didn't sad.gif
Or you could have suggested to them to only use recycled paper smile.gif
MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 05:12 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ May 26 2009, 04:37 PM)
Then what card is considered has status?
And also VISA Ultima. Citibank issues their own Citi VISA Ultima credit card. But Citibank Malaysia does not issue this card.

Platinum is becoming more and more common nowadays. Very soon Classic and Gold credit card will be history. In certain countries such as Taiwan and Singapore most banks are offering only Platinum credit card nowadays and entry requirement is low.

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ May 26 2009, 04:48 PM)
Now is promoting those Premier / World cards.
They don't promote HSBC Premier Mastercard as you can't apply solely for this card. You have to be able to park RM200,000 at any HSBC Malaysia branch the whole time and you will be automatically given this card. So yeah, it is quite exclusive.

The thing is that i heard from my dad that HSBC will probably increase the minimum deposit from the current RM200,000 to RM300,000 soon to qualify for HSBC Premier status. Currently HSBC Malaysia has the lowest requirement among all others countries where HSBC is also offering Premier service. So my dad told me only consider to be a HSBC Premier customer when i can afford to park at least RM350,000 in HSBC Malaysia. Just in case ... smile.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 26 2009, 05:18 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 26 2009, 11:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(adrianteo @ May 26 2009, 11:32 PM)
Hi, does anyone here knows actually how does a bank waive ur cc annual fee?

I heard tat from my dad bout the waiving of annual fee. But it depends on the individuals. So, just wondering if there's anyway or reasons that i can use to waive the cc's annual fee? Like maybe swipping the card a few times in a year?

My dad's OCBC Platinum card is being charged around RM600 if im not mistaken, and i just got a supp from it. So, i'm just thinking is there any way for me to reduce the annual fee.
I believe OCBC Platinum Mastercard is by invitation only, correct ? And by being OCBC Premier customer, one will definitely get the invitation. Your dad has to call their CS try to waive the annual fee.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: May 26 2009, 11:49 PM
MilesAndMore
post May 28 2009, 04:44 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ May 28 2009, 02:08 PM)
Age also take into consideration? what age that normally they looking for?
I remember some banks do not accept credit card application from those over 65-year-old.

MilesAndMore
post May 29 2009, 11:39 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ May 29 2009, 12:04 PM)
Just got my AMEX Gold CC, the free laptop bag promotion still available? I want to replace my very very old laptop bag. tongue.gif
AMEX Gold credit card or AMEX Gold charge card ? The free laptop bag is applicable for newly approved charge card only.

MilesAndMore
post May 30 2009, 10:47 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ May 30 2009, 07:27 PM)
I'm thinking of applying for my first credit card soon. Any bank that you guys can suggest that are easy to get the CC's application approved?
CIMB Bank

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 30 2009, 09:41 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
Ehm... got free laptop bag for new approved Amex Charged Cards? hMm... perhaps it's time I put my application in for one then biggrin.gif
Yes. Only newly approved one. I received mine back in February smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 31 2009, 10:23 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ May 31 2009, 09:59 AM)
Btw, what's the brand of the bag???
American Express laugh.gif (seriously)

The bag i got was shipped directly from a factory in Setapak (if my memory serves me correctly, could be somewhere else). It only has the American Express logo on the front. Built quality is quite good. Not using it laptop. Instead i use it to put my school books smile.gif

MilesAndMore
post May 31 2009, 06:46 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 31 2009, 02:27 PM)
@MilesAndMore,
I can't find the information about the free laptop for new approved Amex applications.
Here you go Tinkerbel smile.gif
AMEX Gold Charge Card

QUOTE(celly @ May 31 2009, 05:25 PM)
My HSBC C automatic waive my annual this year but i didn't call up to ask why maybe is the amount of usage high gua so they waive for me liao
That's because HSBC will now automatically waive the annual fee provided you swipe your card AT LEAST 12 times in a calender year. This apply to the VISA Platinum credit card as well.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 3 2009, 01:16 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jun 2 2009, 08:53 PM)
Not to mention that their interest rates are lower than other banks.
It is not a secret that the interest rate offered by HSBC is one of the least competitive in Malaysia but many people still bank with them because they are big and stable. Unlike the other big bank originated from the US. Sure you guys know which bank i am talking about laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 3 2009, 01:16 AM
MilesAndMore
post Jun 3 2009, 03:16 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 3 2009, 06:46 AM)
The US bank you mentioned in particular has lost much of its bussines in deposit segment, following the Lehman Brothers incident. Their cc business, on the other hand, still remains marvellous.
Many of its existing customers have also lost faith in them. Poor blue bank ...

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jun 3 2009, 09:08 AM)
@ask_dino,
It's just another co-brand CC except if you're a movie-goer at GSC it may give you a little more benefit, otherwise nothing much to shout about biggrin.gif
And the rebate is so little ... mad.gif

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Jun 3 2009, 11:31 AM)
after insisting for cancellation a few minutes ... he said "ok,i will put down the reason as u din actually apply the visa plat" n b4 i finish my question he hanged up  vmad.gif
Wow ! That is unacceptable and outrageous ! You should lodge a complain.

MilesAndMore
post Jun 3 2009, 06:27 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 3 2009, 05:28 PM)
tongue.gif Soon after LB collapsed and rumours about more banks in the US needed a rescue, I was one of those "kiasu" people rushing to the bank to close my FD and savings acc, and subsequently transferred the $ to 2 local banks. However, I'm still using its cc service which is not much affected by the financial meltdown.
Don't have to call yourself "kiasu". Everyone is like that. Nobody will help you when anything really goes wrong smile.gif

The blue bank is very fussy when they were still making loads of money every year and expend their business like there is no tomorrow. Even to open an account needs special authorization and approval from branch manager shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 3 2009, 06:28 PM

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0259sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:00 PM