8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

ozak
post May 9 2016, 01:36 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(-Max91- @ May 9 2016, 11:22 AM)
Hi guys, just want to ask for some advice here.

How do you carry two bags (one main backpack and one smaller daypack) up the mountain for multi-days hike? Like previously hiking to Mount Rinjani, I carry the main pack[larger] one to the basecamp, but from basecamp to summit the next morning I need to carry a smaller daypack to raech the peak and leave my mainpack at basecamp's tent. Or do you all dun carry smaller daypack? just carry the largepack up the summit as well?

For KK, I put the 14L backpack into the 65L backpack. Than leave the 65L at the basecamp. Carry the 14L up.
ozak
post May 9 2016, 03:05 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(-Max91- @ May 9 2016, 02:45 PM)
Ya, I was thinking about that but the smaller bag doesnt seem to fit nicely in the bigger bag @@
You need to know the bag in liter when buy.

Have no problem with my 1.

Another way is tie the smaller bag infront the big backpack. Another member of mind using this way.

I have another NF backpack which have a smaller backpack infront integrate into 1. Zip out the smaller backpack from the big 1 and go. Very convenient.
ozak
post May 13 2016, 11:32 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ May 13 2016, 11:19 AM)

Current favourite camping method! totally in love with hammock camping and ditching tents now biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
But you can't use hammock in some place.

Like beach, peak or small bush area.

I keep both. Depend the place to go. And specially those girl need more privacy.

My hammock can transform into tent if require.
ozak
post May 13 2016, 11:46 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ May 13 2016, 11:37 AM)
Still keeping my tents of course. Just that most places we go is jungle. Usually when we camp its not at summit coz we try our best to be near water source as possible. Feels really good ditching tent poles & the heavy underlayer. biggrin.gif
Yup, most of the time will camp at best place.

Just incase.

Next week, I probably camp at peak without water source. Peak is only bush with no tree. Use hammock.

ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 12:46 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 11:59 AM)
hi going campsite late perting on this wed. any group here going too?
Kl hiking?
ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 02:46 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 02:32 PM)
initially i was joining them.. but rsvp fulled and the host doesn't allow my gf to tag along. totally understood for safety concern.

So i withdraw my slot for others but still keen to camp there.

Pmed the host and ask if i can tag along the group to reach camp site together but he doesnt allow that. 

was thinking to tag along but u know kl hiking is so sensitive when outsiders tag along without registering...
i wonder any private group here planning to go there too? if not i'll just have to explore the track my own
You didn't act fast ? Why no register your gf? It is free.

Pay RM20 to tag along lor. It just like penalty only. But won't deny you going.

I m going.

ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 03:17 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 02:59 PM)
i think i was like 18th to register.. but my gf cant comfirm yet.. on sunday already full..

not that i dont wanna pay but why if she tag along need to pay rm20? rm20 will go into his pocket or any funding ? x sampai hati saje pay for rm20.. already said i bare full responsibilty ..just tag along  host also x bagi..

but i understand not fair if i got exception.. just wonder will the trail has obvious track?
If you're a member and your gf tag along, than your gf have to pay RM20. Cause she is not a member. That is fair. The money will go to the club. Not own pocket.

So register your gf too to get free hike.

I have no problem to register another member last week and immediately RSVP her to Lata Perting. But I did inform the host earlier.

The club need some fund to run. Like trail paper, laminate tag, etc... You don't pay right ?

Frankly, most of the member won't care much fair or not fair. Just the host have to follow the club rule.

I never go before. But mostly the track is visible and no problem for experience hiker.

ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 03:32 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 03:23 PM)
oh ya those market .. hmm if to the club then ok lagi..

no wonder i join few hike.. those otai member keep asking around r u kl hike? if not if pay up..  mega_shok.gif

ok la.. i think i will explore myself that day.. so see u on that day...  icon_rolleyes.gif

army tent with orange fly will be me
Give you some trick.

Go there hike like delay 1hr or less after the KL hike go in. Normally they have paper trail lay on the trail. Than just follow it.

Or if you consent about safe and missing, than PM your contact. Anything, just contact me.
ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 03:43 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 03:39 PM)
so what food r u preparing for the night?
MRE.

Plus some meat, ham, vege, soup etc...

Breakfast, maybe maggi or American breakfast.

Tonight decide and buy.

ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 04:22 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 03:51 PM)
cool.. alright.. abit excited since still newbie in camping
Never camp before?

ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 05:26 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 05:01 PM)
second.. but the first time is follow otai2 gang.. at mt bujang malaka..

this time totally have to prepare all things by my own ..
blink.gif
No worry.

You will learn by experience.

Guess you know what basic thing to bring. Don't bring too heavy and unnecessary stuff.

Hike will be 2hr. From what they said.
ozak
post Jul 4 2016, 05:40 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(kaiwoon @ Jul 4 2016, 05:29 PM)
ya.. 1st camp did help me alot knowing what to bring.. 1st camp was horrible with thunderstorm..

im still finding is it possible to drive up to trailhead rather than walking for 2km(bloggers said) ..

some say only accesible by 4v4 some i saw kancil also can reach trailhead (perting valley)
If car, better don't try. Anything stuck, nobody help you.

You're hiker. 2km for you is nothing.

Don't cut your fun short.

ozak
post Jul 5 2016, 09:29 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(bananayummy @ Jul 4 2016, 08:17 PM)
google-ed about it..looks awesome!

do i need to apply permit during entering?

i found several places also.. such as :

Sungai Sendat,ULU YAM
Hutan Rekreasi Sungai Congkak
Taman Rimba Komanwel
Royal Belum Rainforest, Perak

read online about these campsite
There are many many place that can camp with water source.

Some is private land which require book and pay.

Some is public like sg.congkak but still have to pay RM1

This are the takacare place. Which have proper facility.

Don't require permit.
ozak
post Jul 26 2016, 11:34 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(Anne Nubis. @ Jul 26 2016, 10:52 AM)
Anyone with experience of daypack to Mt. Yong Belar? How was it?
Planning to go next month.

Should be tough. sweat.gif
ozak
post Aug 12 2016, 11:12 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 12 2016, 10:57 AM)
any rock climbing kaki here knows where to get this online locally?  Does not have to be the same brand. Thanks. Gonna use this as hammock suspension.

Do you want the carabiner only or both ? That look heavy.

Try corezone in SS2.
ozak
post Aug 12 2016, 11:31 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 12 2016, 11:18 AM)
Both the rappel ring & biner. Not that heavy. Aluminium. Its the ease of setup & adjustment that Im looking for. Well if its too heavy then I'll just switch back to the normal rope lashing suspension.
It is not fully aluminium but alloy. 1pcs of caribiner weight about 50g. Not sure the ring.

Use whoopee sling + caribiner.

But very much depend on your tree hunger.
ozak
post Aug 12 2016, 11:58 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 12 2016, 11:38 AM)
For whoopie sling i gotta do some "operation" on my hennessy hammock. Not going into that yet biggrin.gif

On the whoopie sling topic do we have local vendor for that?
Nope. Just DIY.

Buy the amsteel and DIY. Not difficult.

Here my modify. Webbie + Whoopie sling + caribiner.

ozak
post Aug 12 2016, 02:10 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 12 2016, 01:57 PM)
Damn you're good.

Good job on that. Never thought I'll see another hammock modifier here:D

The original hammock string is very basic.

I need fast setup without take time to tie a knot.

Like you, I cannot find a whoopee sling here. But the string seller advise me to DIY which is not difficult. So try lor. biggrin.gif
ozak
post Aug 12 2016, 02:28 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 12 2016, 02:21 PM)
Where did u get the amsteel?
OGM, space U8, shah alam.
ozak
post Aug 22 2016, 02:22 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Aug 22 2016, 02:13 PM)
Bro is this what you used?

http://www.ogm.my/product/arm-battlecord-2560-lbs/

Can't find any amsteel for sale at their website anymore...
This is paracord 550. Not amsteel.

Just go to their shop. Or call up ask.

They have 2 color.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0491sec    1.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:32 PM