::V3::Scorpion-Thread::V3::, Invert with pen1s pointing backward

akagidemon
post May 19 2009, 09:21 PM

453 posts

thanks for the ident.

Added on May 19, 2009, 9:24 pmwell to me all living creatures (except humans because we cause suffering to others) are expensive because once they are gone you cannot buy them back.

Added on May 19, 2009, 9:37 pmwhat type of liocheles is comon in malaysia?

Liocheles australasiae or Liocheles waigiensis?

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 19 2009, 09:37 PM
akagidemon
post May 19 2009, 09:53 PM

453 posts

well i found both in the same area.

i have to agree rideon. i think that the scorp just molted because i see the exoskeleton islike sofish. and wet.

i found the scorp first then after lifting a few more pieces of wood i found the milipede.

my friends freak out when i put it on my hand because it looks like a centipede at first glance.

nope hyorinmaru not that easy. but it took me about an hour to find these 2. you just have to know where to look.
akagidemon
post May 19 2009, 10:03 PM

453 posts

yeah i search the area no luck. the locals tells me that the health department came by about a month ago and fog the area. it seems like there was a dengue case there.i notice sumting was wrong because there was no other insects like grass hoppers and such.

forgot to tell. i also found 3 black centipedes hibernating in their burrow. hopefully they are still there and i will catch and take pictures of them. and release them back.

my scrops are eating already. a meal worm each.

back to the liocheles. what to feed it? pinhead are not common in my area.prekilled chopped up meal worm can or not. or i'm thinking of letting it go?
what do u guys think?

Added on May 19, 2009, 10:08 pmryokenzaki, is it true that liocheles only grow to a maximum length of 2.5cm? i read it in a forum.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 19 2009, 10:08 PM
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 12:02 AM

453 posts

sorry not hibernating. sleeping is the correct term.yeah maybe i will keep them for a week or so. need to finish the meal worm that i bought.

on my way back from this afternoon hunt i came across another potential area. going there tomorrow.

hahaha. i have a lot of time to burn. hahaha.
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 12:27 AM

453 posts

if any of you want to drop me an email it is

akagidemon @ gmail dot com

if ur in the area give me a line.
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 12:48 AM

453 posts

can also. never been herping before.
teh tarik also can
but have to wait for me to be back in semenanjung.
the nearest is in september.

akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 01:00 AM

453 posts

yes i'm from semenanjung. which area do you guys go herping? who have the black light torchlight?
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 09:42 AM

453 posts

guys, last night when i came back to my room i had a look at the 2 longimanus and they where like doing a tango.

the larger longimanus was holding the smaller longimanus padipalp and both were going foward and backward. but the smaller longimanus was stronger and was pushing the bigger longimanus to the wall.

are they fighting or sumting? plus i put 2 more pre killed meal worm last night and this morning they were not there anymore. is this normal for scorps to eat this much?
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 10:12 AM

453 posts

i said that i was an inexperience scorpion keeper.
ok then it is mating season. if everyhting goes well and the scorplings are born and are living well to 2 instar then i will make a surprise.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yup sure as hell the they havent burrowed into the substrate becoz i drown the mealworm before putting them into the tank.

maybe the scorps have relax abit and are strating to adapt to the new environ.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just a request for v4. can someone put a guide to breeding scorpion food like pinhead crickets and mealworms. just a thought.

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 20 2009, 10:17 AM
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 10:19 AM

453 posts

nope. it look like a small mushroom to me.
akagidemon
post May 20 2009, 10:38 AM

453 posts

i have a set of flat rock around the water bowl. no wonder both of them were there yesterday night.

i will have a closer look in about 2 hours time. my workplace and room is really close by.

will update with pic if tmnet line is not so shitty.
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 09:24 AM

453 posts

are there any good for starters desert scorpions?
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 09:52 AM

453 posts

the 1 cent coin is no longer in tender.
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 11:12 AM

453 posts

my male longimanus is still trying to mate with the female but the female is just sitting in side her burrow.

and this morning i saw the male was digging/modifying his burrow. he was digging and moving a lot of the substrate.

it was unusual because the male was always the pasive one and the female the active one.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

erm how is that visa or mastercard advertisement go?

somethings are just priceless. same goes for any hobby. spending a lot on equipment or scorps or anything that is related to a hobby is like hand in glove.

found this beaut on the interweb

not much data on it.

akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 11:19 AM

453 posts

sorry to hear what happen to the poor guy. got stung by his own scorps.

thanks for the reminder. will make sure my enclosure is secure and safe for the scorps and myself.

can't imagine a deathstalker AWOL and stung a father or mother or a child. absolute chaos i guess will ensues.
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 01:39 PM

453 posts

some info on the lq's venom.

Primarily neurotoxic with abundant cardiotoxins;
fatalities primarily the result of cardiovascular and
respiratory dysfunction and failure.

1 lethal scorp if i must say.
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 04:11 PM

453 posts

yeah still want a fat tail but have to make sure that i have a special room to keep it. if not then it is not on my wanted list.

need to be extra carefull with these type of scorps. from what i read on the interweb, desert scorpions are more aggrasive then the rain forest variety.

and ryo, ur correct it is a Urodacus yaschenkoi.

i like the stance. really high tail stance.

Added on May 21, 2009, 4:13 pmstaying in this thread is much more fun then in /k/. really learning a lot of things. but the species name is really difficult to hafal. hahaha

This post has been edited by akagidemon: May 21 2009, 04:13 PM
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 04:32 PM

453 posts

aren't bark scorps have the venom that leads to necrosis of the flesh if stung or was it the recluse spider?
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 04:53 PM

453 posts

wrong info. it was the recluse spider. i prefer slow moving but fierce scorpions. hahaha. fast scorpions tends to make me react to killing it like any other fast moving insect. reflex action. hahaha
akagidemon
post May 21 2009, 07:25 PM

453 posts

i just tease them with the forceps. nothing more. the female is ok but the male will go into defence position really fast and will actually follow the forceps movement.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0461sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:53 AM