7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Is Petronas' petrol really can run more km?

Vervain
post Mar 18 2009, 04:15 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Been using Petronas Primax 3 on my Wajunk old camplo. Honestly, It seems alright. <rm86 , average clocks around 450km if not more. Can sustain 2 weeks of my daily commute to my work place. My home to work place is around 40km.

p.s: running without aircon la. prefer fresh air more.
Krovaxq
post Mar 19 2009, 12:56 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Here I want to share my experience... I also still choosing what petrol gives the best mileage...

On my Kancil (Auto) 660 - 1994 (15 year old car) [240k Mileage]

Shell - RM40(full tank) ----> 360km [RM1.80]

Esso - RM40(full tank) ----> 330km [RM1.80]

Caltex - RM40(full tank) ----> 330-ish km [RM1.80]

I drive this car 7 days a week with an average of 75km a day at 80~100kmh(110kmh at night)

Everything is stock.

I hope to try Petronas on my next refuel and lets find out which 1 gives the best.....(personally I hate Esso, drain very very fast for my Kancil)

v i n c
post Mar 19 2009, 01:31 AM

496 posts

Petronas can run more km. I tried myself already.

Shell more power but less km

Caltex worst.. lol no power + less km
BridgestoneRE711
post Mar 19 2009, 02:29 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

gen2 on esso feels sluggish and ... slow .
FC higher too .
Krovaxq
post Mar 19 2009, 10:08 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Ic, tonite my tank gonna die d.. ill try petronas, hopefully the myth is not just a legend tongue.gif

Added on March 19, 2009, 10:09 amI seriously dono how ppl like Esso, really consume like no tomorrow! maybe just for my Kancil, but really... if car always running constantly (everyday about 80km of highway+lebuhraya driving... consumes alot...

shell yeah, i feel more power and more KM compared to the 3 above...but I havent touch Petronas yet

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Mar 19 2009, 10:09 AM
loong2020
post Mar 19 2009, 10:20 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Mar 19 2009, 02:29 AM)
gen2 on esso feels sluggish and ... slow .
FC higher too .
i got to say esso/mobil, the engine sound louder and not smooth/power not reli good...but vpower/shell super gives minimal sound and smoother...
yngwie
post Mar 19 2009, 11:57 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

tried petronas because of the contest smile.gif
car seem sluggish compare to shell super / v power. return a slightly high fc too....

ridox_orimabu
post Mar 19 2009, 12:58 PM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,872 posts

the more i read, the more this thread seems meaningless. its like this..

evy car have their own taste for oil..so if petronas is good for a certain car, it won't be necessarily the same for another same car.... same goes with shell, esso,caltex and bhp. a definitely pointless thread. haha

This post has been edited by ridox_orimabu: Mar 19 2009, 12:59 PM
percyteyu
post May 13 2009, 11:47 PM

QUOTE(mars1069 @ Feb 22 2009, 01:55 PM)
I was told by few of my friends that the quality of Petronas' petrol is better & can run more km if compare to other petrol brands. Anyone of u have really compare which brand's petrol really can run more km for same RM?

I am driving Wira, using Petronas & per km is about 0.15-0.16 sen. Any other infos for comparison?
Try Caltex Guys!
I pump Shell,Petronas........always....
But ONE day my wife help me pump in Caltex.........
Then i notice difeerent responed on My Naza Citra.............
So i Ask.........Lovely Wife..........What fuel you pump into my car?
She said......Caltex......Caused she cant find the nearest Shell...........
Start from that day..............I pump Caltex.........Better Mileage and responed on my car.........

RM 1.80 fuel....
Shell......380km+-
Petronas....380km+-
Caltex.....420km+-

City drive.....
I can feel the techron.........
Let's try and you may feel the different........
No try you.............Loss....
Try you never ........LOSS......

This maybe why caltex dont offer..........Bonus link....Realreward.....Star Card..........
They put better additive into their fuel.........
Oly
post May 14 2009, 12:31 AM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

diesel caltex the best...petrol diff from car to car...my wira same almost on every petrol...my moms myvi on esso is the best...my bro car on shell...
123joe
post May 14 2009, 06:07 AM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

caltex use same additive for both ron92 and 97..also upcoming ron95.. frm my xperience, caltex more fc thn others. but im stick wit shell. more smoother..
michael9413
post May 14 2009, 09:22 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

I tried with my bike last time... BTW my bike is Honda NSR 150 1995 if not mistaken...
FC best one Shell or Petronas... Esso and Mobil slgihtly behind them... then Power Caltex of course in return you will get lower millage...

This post has been edited by michael9413: May 14 2009, 09:23 AM
peris
post May 14 2009, 12:57 PM

227 posts

after using Caltex for several times,it seem gave me better FC...
b4 this used petronas n shell only..but if want to balik kampung,sure SHell give the better millage
but once i had saw a Petronas Tank Lorry at ESSO pump station..
xin
post May 14 2009, 01:06 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

maybe the tank driver went in for the chicken chop at esso station le haha. Shell feels more smooth while Petronas feels like lazy to pickup for my ride. But petronas did better mileage compared to shell. But i opt for Shell for it;s smoothness.
yoonseong
post May 14 2009, 05:39 PM

59 posts

actually everytime u change to another brand of petrol, ur engine ecu will take some time to adapt to it. u must refill the petrol for 5-6times then only u can determine whether the petrol provide better fc.
the first tank after u change normally give u worse fc...

correct me if i am wrong...

i use to pump shell and petronas, i would say shell is better in terms of performance, and if u can control your right foot, u shud get better fc with shell. Petronas give weird noise and pick up really not that good.
loong2020
post May 14 2009, 06:35 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

pump bhp....the petrol really much better than esso/mobil...power also better and more mileage.... laugh.gif
xshiro
post May 14 2009, 06:42 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ May 14 2009, 06:35 PM)
pump bhp....the petrol really much better than esso/mobil...power also better and more mileage.... laugh.gif
tried bhp few times..can feel different power, better pickup than other petrol..i tried petronas at taman sri permaisuri..my car jerked a bit

This post has been edited by xshiro: May 14 2009, 06:44 PM
Krovaxq
post May 14 2009, 06:43 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

serious bhp? coz after i tested all, including petronas... nothing beats shell's KM... i get about 340km per RM40(full tank)

BHP i got tried, i think i didnt like the result, but that was long long ago...maybe i miscalc...

cruxidex
post May 22 2009, 09:12 AM

898 posts

here's my take

my myvi se auto
1. caltex.. RM 30 = 240km with super smooth and great power feel
2. petronas.. RM30 = 260km with lower high speed for same rpm compare to caltex.. smooth engine feel
3. shell.. RM 30 = 230km lowest high speed and my engine sound a bit louder

so? i use petronas all the time except when i see caltex nearby n my fuel tank less than 20% for sure i pump caltex
MaD
post May 22 2009, 10:58 AM

just my experienced...

tested on my myvi, 3-4 times full tank of RM60 till blinking for each test..

Petronas - 470 KM - 480KM
Shell - 490 KM - 520 KM
Caltex - 570 KM - 600 KM
Esso - Currently testing...

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0215sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:33 PM