LYN Tennis Lovers V2, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

grinner
post Mar 20 2009, 09:12 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(redcaffeine @ Mar 18 2009, 10:47 PM)
err,anyone wanna play someone who only has a slice/sidespin BH? blush.gif
...actually, for me, those players with wicked slice backhands are really a handful and tough to play... most players live and breathe a typical flat/topspin backhand, so you can more or less guess the bounce, depth and speed of the ball, but slicers (especially the good ones) realise that flat/topspin proponents like the ball to be at waist level thereabouts to generate good lift and spin, so to have a sliced ball coming in at unknown/strange side/back spin which more often than not have zero bounce and which literally dies once it bounces on your side of the court, well let's just say steffi graf's slice backhand wasn't always a weakness it was made out to be... in the right hands, a slicer can be a devastating opponent, especially when used against the right opponent... so redcaffeine, take heart from what i said... keep perfecting that slice backhand, it will come in handy... but of course try to master the topspin backhand also, for options sake... smile.gif
grinner
post Mar 25 2009, 08:51 AM

486 posts

morning guys smile.gif

...anyways, just bought my son his first racquet yesterday... an aluminium dunlop 3 hundred twenty 7 smile.gif ...bought it in alamanda carrefour... between prince, wilson and head, i chose the dunlop... can't stand anymore he scratched my donnay pro-one sad.gif ...played with it for more than 10 years with barely any visible scratches and he goes scratched it all along the crown his first day sob sob... bah it's okay though... plus the racquet is better for his age/skill... so seems i will need to buy a couple of dunlops too for myself... back to origin smile.gif anyone selling? fyi, i prefer classic beams with non-oversize heads (95-100 is okay) and open string pattern... would love to get some max 200g's, but i doubt there's any left in mint condition... also doubt if i can generate power nowadays biggrin.gif ...
grinner
post Mar 26 2009, 08:19 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(jacklsw86 @ Mar 25 2009, 11:53 PM)
i also play tennis. for leisure. in penang island. too bad right now i'm still on the way finishing my studies in melaka. will be back in june or july. if wanna find teman to play can call me haha
melaka??? hey there jacklsw86, studying in mmu, or i assume wrongly? anyways, fancy a hit-about anytime while you're here in melaka? *hopehopehope* biggrin.gif
grinner
post Mar 31 2009, 08:43 AM

486 posts

FAI, vibration in a tennis racket does not affect the body i.e. causing tennis elbow... -shock- mainly causes tennis elbow... vibration and shock are two very different things... reducing vibration does not reduce shock caused by ball impact... as another poster said, either reduce the tension you string your racquets with/use softer strings, or change the racquet altogether... having tree trunks for arms from exercising will not have much effect when the shock coming in is still the same... true, proper technique and conditioning helps to an extent, but in tennis terms, if your arm cannot take the existing shock, better look at the options...
grinner
post Apr 1 2009, 08:29 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(rarestormz @ Mar 31 2009, 10:51 PM)
agree..  nod.gif

erm... held a few racquets, but they dun seem to  feel much different from each other  blush.gif

tt's why clueless on how to choose a good one...i've done some research on how to choose, but still..... any suggestions?
... hello there smile.gif ...as you have said you play only for recreation, i doubt you will be able to (nor need to) gain much from testing/using various models of racquets... not putting you down here, just telling it as it is... for your level and needs, just about any light-weight and over-sized racquet from an established manufacturer should do, which incidentally will also fit your budget and expectations... though of course you can go test all sorts of models to find one you really like, but like you said, for recreation only, so why bother? and please don't let my statement discourage you from fully enjoying the sport... far from it, as a recreational player you should just be happy to play and not fret yourself over equipment details... just concentrate on the finer aspects of the game i.e. stroke technique and footwork, and most importantly, just enjoy smile.gif
grinner
post Apr 1 2009, 03:20 PM

486 posts

I totally agree with you there... that's why she shouldn't fret on the technical details... at that level he/she can just pick up the racquet and determine if it's too heavy or too light, and grip is just nice or not... which is just about what players of that level can gauge, and probably that's all they need to know... balance, weight, flex etc just jumbles everything up... again, not undermining anyone or any level, it is just that way... first and foremost it is just a game, albeit an utterly fantastic game smile.gif so just go out and enjoy it... oh this quote sums it up perfectly:

Tennis a very simple game. You run to the ball, you hit the ball. Sometimes it goes in, sometimes it goes out, sometimes it rains.
... uh just re-read my post, and just to clarify, i totally agree with your statement SSJBen... don't want you thinking i am contradicting you or anything... that was absolutely correct... if you have the time and willingness, go out and explore, if not, just whack it (properly) smile.gif
grinner
post Apr 2 2009, 08:34 AM

486 posts

in a (very) pitiful way, that pic is quite hilarious smile.gif i am sobbing inside while laughing... heh... anyways, just to tie your pic with the threadzdepth dude, i am sure this pic was snapped while you were on the way to the courts, right? ...really hope this isn't one over-zealous mate of yours waiting for the courts to open up early morning biggrin.gif
grinner
post Apr 3 2009, 08:50 AM

486 posts

hey guys, anyone using or perhaps played with the dunlop aerogel 300? can you tell me how it feels/plays? thinking of changing to this la...
grinner
post Apr 4 2009, 01:07 PM

486 posts

to tchiaming, vckk, SSJBen and ahwee1987, thank you very much for your all your very good input smile.gif ...from the reviews online and your own comments, seems to be a good stick... the light weight might be a problem for me though, but since now in my *cough* 'later' years, probably a good time to switch to such a racket anyways...

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 3 2009, 12:40 PM)

Another thing is that I notice how the Aerogel 300 is easy on a beginner and has the right elements to give you what you want if you are a veteran.

...but this comment aaaa, really men'cucuk' my hati you know... cry.gif ...implying anything ka SSJBen??? ...veteran? shakehead.gif ...advanced perhaps, veteran??? adoiiii... heh

...ahwee1987, so you currently using eh? hmm... can demo from you ah? smile.gif ...we meet up (if it happes) when the rest are doing the 'friendly' match in kl/klang amacam? teh tarik on me la later smile.gif ...but s'okay if no... i know some players are very particular of who can play or even touch their stick racquets biggrin.gif ...i know because i was am one of them smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by grinner: Apr 4 2009, 01:07 PM
grinner
post Apr 6 2009, 12:38 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(ahwee1987 @ Apr 4 2009, 02:42 PM)
haha..yeah..u wan demo ar..sure can!..but i am from mmu melaka..haha...u can come here to test anytime u wan...and the teh tarik on me..smile.gif haha..i don mind letting ppl use my stick 1..they wan try just ask from me..i will be vry willing to borrow it~..most probably wont be going kl this month..will be going on june..cause having my industrial training there..tat time we can meet up for games~
shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif ...you are from melaka is it ahwee1987??? all this while i have been pleading for someone to play with in melaka, only now you show up? heh heh biggrin.gif ...if i am not mistaken, you are somewhat new in here, is it? forgive me if i am mistaken, but haven't noticed you before... heyyy, how bout we have a hit-about sometime? just pm/call me anytime if you have time... leave me a pm yeah if you're interested?

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 4 2009, 03:00 PM)
Well you could always add some weights onto it, no?

I'm not implying anything dude. No offense either. Perhaps you misunderstood that statement and I misinterpret "veteran" wrongly. Sorry about that.
What I meant was the Aerogel 300 is great for beginners and it won't hold you back if you are an advanced player.
...yeah, i suppose so, though till now i have never customised a frame yet... i prefer my racquets to be naturally suitable for me, but yeah, that is something i would do if i like the frame...

...and please do forgive me SSJBen, sometimes my (perverse) sense of humour doesn't transmit itself well... i was only kidding la mate biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ...hah hah, sorry if it got you concerned... no offence taken, i prefer if we all can talk like friends in here, where no offence is taken whatever said (within reason of course smile.gif)... again, sorry!!!

This post has been edited by grinner: Apr 6 2009, 12:40 PM
grinner
post Apr 12 2009, 09:22 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(emceeray @ Apr 11 2009, 10:28 PM)
oh i see..how bout like jumbo/supersize packs haha..coz if it suddenly rains when i play, my overgrip gets mushy.damn.
adoi reminds me of my younger days biggrin.gif ...but you should stop playing when it starts to rain and tell the groundsmen to haul up the tarp covers mate biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ...but jokes aside, even damp courts will ruin your balls(?), and as you have found out, your grips not to mention your strings... at the very least your string will drop a few pounds, and shorten its life... or have they come up with waterproof strings during my tennis hiatus??? no idea... but i get where you're coming from... when you're enjoying playing, not even a bit of rain can make you stop, right? heh...
grinner
post Apr 12 2009, 04:53 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(emceeray @ Apr 12 2009, 12:37 PM)
ahaha..damn straight.i would say things like
"oklah, last 5 balls, then we go back"

and after the 5 balls, we would play on in the rain. this is costing me lots of cash man.hahaha..
...so true... so true... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ...ahhh to be young and foolish again... heh heh wink.gif (...just teasing ya guys!!!)

...and talking about western, more precisely extreme western grips (otherwise known as the Hawaiian grip biggrin.gif) reminds me of this player: Alberto Beratasegui (?? or something like that)... dunno if any of you kids know/can remember him... he hits off both wings with this grip, thus generates monster spin and also uses only one face of the racquet... kinda neat... he made a name for himself on reaching the french open final against (?) ...forgot... he lost, so tongue.gif ...

anyways, try catching up on him on youtube...i assume there's a vid, no idea... the next day after he lost, there were loads of people imitating his style, but aside from the wicked spin, you need dang good timing and skill to reply your opponent's low balls, so after a while the style got dropped (incidentally the player also vanished after that... spooky huh? biggrin.gif)

grinner
post Apr 13 2009, 08:47 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Apr 12 2009, 07:40 PM)
yup racquet and string tension helps la haha.. but again with correct technique u can do any shots tongue.gif  if u can create spin on ksix one tour is not bad already thumbup.gif

oh yea guys.. Dunlop Aerogel 200 and 300 price is just rm290 smile.gif
...~Battousai~ mate, that sounds mighty interesting... and just about perfect for a cheapo like me smile.gif ...now just have to test one, hopefully this evening with ahwee1987's... *please.do.not.rain* ...if i like it, hope to get a couple from you...
grinner
post Apr 13 2009, 08:55 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Apr 12 2009, 08:07 PM)
technically yes tongue.gif

higher tension grips more. and bigger headsize yes too smile.gif
...i had thought a looser tension would let the ball stay on the string longer, thus more bite on the ball? ...ah don't mind me... been out of the game for so long, my facts could be jumbled up... rclxub.gif

Added on April 13, 2009, 8:58 am
QUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Apr 13 2009, 08:49 AM)
hard to find ppl doing it within my budget la. I PM some ppl no reply also sweat.gif
sure bro haha tongue.gif
...ahh this is where i may be of some help... tell me what you want for your site and i'll see where i can assist... though it may take a while since i have a lot still k.i.v now sweat.gif ...anyways, consider me the last option... and i am dirt-cheap hah hah...

This post has been edited by grinner: Apr 13 2009, 08:58 AM
grinner
post Apr 13 2009, 10:41 AM

486 posts

hah! ..i just googled this poser and guess what? the jury is 50/50 on this one... yeah one site actually put it like that as to whether higher or lower tension creates more spin... though to be honest a lot were saying higher tensions creates slightly better spin... but the site i quoted before said a test was done where the tension was raised by 50% and created just 5% more spin... i just know this for a fact... when i was using the dunlop max200g and strung at 5lbs more than the recommended maximum, coupled with the small head size, it was a pure b**** to apply spin on that wonderful frame... dang i love that frame *sigh*... heh sorry i do get emotional about the max200g...

...anyways, ~Battousai~ mate... got ya p.m. (i have no idea why i am brodcasting this wink.gif) and we'll see if we can get this site of yours up and running asap (with monster automatic discounts for me built-in into the code of course biggrin.gif hah hah!)
grinner
post Apr 14 2009, 12:59 PM

486 posts

*sigh* ...now i confirm already old man... finally got to meet ahwee1987 at the mmu courts, and he can definitely kick my wrinkled ass sad.gif ...well, we didn't exactly play... just had a hit-about, where he nicely let me play with his aerogel 300... my verdict on the racquet? ...nice balance, nice power, nice cushioning but one can really feel the lack of mass of this racquet... it's a good racquet, no doubt about it, but lacks the solid feel of both my prince and donnay sticks... got twisted on off-center hits, which yesterday there was a lot *doublesigh*... that said, i could get used to it, so thinking of getting a couple... it is a dunlop after all, so can't really go wrong smile.gif...

...about ahwee1987... now here is a smashing fellow... came all the way from elsewhere to meet up with me late yesterday... very nice guy... but come on ahwee, no way you have only played for 6 months... at least a year only can you hit shots as hard and as straight as yesterday... the spin he generates is quite commendable too... yeah, he could definitely kick my ass (now!!!) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ...but again, great guy and thanks again for letting me demo your racquet!

...as for me, i might as well find 50++ age guys to play with, since i definitely have no stamina, no footwork and my technique, danggg... 10 years really takes away a lot huh? trust me guys... do not -Not- play for too long like me... tennis is definitely not like riding the proverbial bicycle sad.gif ...so come, come... queue up to kick my ass later on y'all... heh heh...
grinner
post Apr 17 2009, 08:39 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(darky @ Apr 17 2009, 12:27 AM)
how to know if my backhand got topspin or not? i feel my backhand is solid but then want to try out something new on that wing....
basically, if you first hit it (your backhand) with topspin, then your ball will have topspin as well...?!? makes sense? anyways, topspin, whether forehand or backhand makes the ball bounce higher once it touches your opponent's court... it will also have a higher clearance over the net and sharper angle of fall compared to a flat backhand... a topspin backhand is always a good shot to have in your arsenal due to its higher net clearance and also gives you options in terms of shot-angle... disadvantages are you have to exert a bit more effort to generate sufficient bite, and also you will have problems with sliced or low shots... that's why you need to add as many shots as you can to play effectively, so do try to add more options to your strokes, kudos to you mate!
grinner
post Apr 17 2009, 08:59 AM

486 posts

i would be tempted to bring my creaky ass over there, but have my assessment on monday, and i still have a lot of paperwork to finish, so that's a No from me sad.gif ...dang assessments!!! have to decline a convoy to pd too... dang dang danggg!!!
grinner
post Apr 21 2009, 08:41 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(darky @ Apr 21 2009, 01:18 AM)
and...what's the difference between the gauge? i mean the higher the number, the thinner it is...and easier to break....what else is the difference between thick and thin strings?
... besides the difference you mentioned, i can say thinner strings give you more 'feel' of your shots... using thicker strings doing drop shots and touch volleys are a bit harder... can't tell how long to let the ball stay on the strings... having said that though, i prefer to use thicker strings just so i don't have to go restring very often... i used to whack and spin the ball very hard previously, so when i used thin strings, sometimes even after two hard practise sessions they would burst vmad.gif

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Apr 21 2009, 02:03 AM)
guys, i hv hard time here focus on upcoming ball.. mad.gif  today evening, i played tennis with couple of old timer tennis player at titiwangsa, they said EYE ON THE  BALL MA!! repeatly... i felt very tension.. vmad.gif  i kept 100% focus also did some misshit..maybe  i wearing spectacle cause them said like that..however need help how to improve my eyes accuracy>> any1 can provide some tips or drill then i can improve my eyes...i love play tennis but desperate to improve my eyes.. icon_question.gif
... "Eyes on the ball" is a good tip, an essential mantra if you will for beginner and intermediate players, since it helps you track and set-up for your shot... especially you said that you were playing with old-timers (like me *doh!*) where that phrase is often used and repeated... -However-, in themodern game, you will find the top players don't really track the ball all the time, at the level they play they don't have the luxury to 'watch the ball' all the time, instead, you will find that even before the ball leaves the opponent's side of the net, they will focus on the spot where the ball will land, and use peripheral vision instead to track the ball, which is something you can get from experience i.e. need to hear the shot leaving your oppo's racquet to judge how the ball is hit, and then judge where it will land (thereabouts)... so at a certain level, you can't really 'keep your eyes on the ball' anymore... you need to go to the next level...
...but having said that, Do watch the ball for now... get the basics right and when you need to go to the next level, it will become much easier smile.gif ...for drills, just do the simple stuff i.e forehand/backhand down and cross courts initially slow then in increasing intensity to help you 'track' the flight... hope this helps!
grinner
post Apr 21 2009, 12:56 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Apr 21 2009, 10:09 AM)
thanxs for fast reply  thumbup.gif .. today evening will play with them again.. will use your advice and kick those ***... biggrin.gif.. your last line is what i need to do now.. slowly strok and try track the ball flight path.. nod.gif  me start played since mid year 2007, and until now i am still beginner, in progress of learning hard.. hope 3 or 4 years coming i can improve my skills a lot better.. however i learn by my self, dont hv money to go on coaching course.. sweat.gif..
hah hah... i used to have a lot of trouble when playing with older dudes too when i was *cough* young and learning... they just know how to control their shots and place it, thus negating our speed and power... heh heh, but that's something you have to learn to improve...

... i didn't have a coach too, in fact never had a coach until i was 18... so by that it wasn't about re-learning techniques... i wasn't to be bothered changing my admittedly unorthodox grip and strokes... what i did was look at pros on tv, but more effective would be to learn from someone you can play side-by-side or nearby with, so you can see better how he hits his strokes and footwork... i got my serve (version 4) from this guy (state player) in school and my backhand from a national player (his backhand was sweeeeeeet...)... so although it's an advantage to have a coach teach you, learning from your peers is an alternate way too...

This post has been edited by grinner: Apr 21 2009, 01:11 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0259sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:30 AM