QUOTE(jamaluddin4 @ May 7 2012, 11:31 AM)
I dont think you would be blacklisted la bro. But then, it's my opinion only la INTERVIEW IN PETRONAS
INTERVIEW IN PETRONAS
May 7 2012, 01:46 PM
229 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
May 7 2012, 01:51 PM
67 posts Joined: May 2006 |
May 7 2012, 02:53 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
May 7 2012, 09:19 PM
May 7 2012, 09:24 PM
649 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(echobrainproject @ May 7 2012, 09:12 AM) Any reason why you specifically mention 3 year uk degree programme ? I am pretty sure most of the companies do accept UK degree graduate , the bachelor degree they offered in UK are mostly 3 years only. |
May 8 2012, 12:00 AM
4,286 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 4 2012, 05:25 AM) Sh*t just got serious! Sorry have not been reading the thread. My office here now blocks access to any message boards or forum so have been using my iPhone to surf which is not as often la. One can only wonder why such a distinguished and reputable company like Petronas has this kind of incompetent person in their HR department. ps: maybe bro Azraeil wanna give some intel on this one? Added on May 4, 2012, 10:42 amAlso wondering on why Petronas HR keeps calling people for interview, when they already have tons of successful candidates in their record/ system.. got KPI to be achieved eg. in 1 year, need to call 1000 person for interview? Didn't know that Jamal had this issue. I think I know the SM for that PMU unit. You guys realize I hate HR right? Heh heh. What I do know works is that if you can send or if you know someone who knows the head of the units, then you can send it directly to them and they will ask HR to arrange for an interview. I hate giving HR any power. |
May 8 2012, 08:05 AM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:00 AM) Sorry have not been reading the thread. My office here now blocks access to any message boards or forum so have been using my iPhone to surf which is not as often la. I hate them already. Hahaha.Didn't know that Jamal had this issue. I think I know the SM for that PMU unit. You guys realize I hate HR right? Heh heh. What I do know works is that if you can send or if you know someone who knows the head of the units, then you can send it directly to them and they will ask HR to arrange for an interview. I hate giving HR any power. But seriously, read other forum, they are many people who are cursing Petronas' HR as well. Something must not be right if one particular dept is being hated by almost every ex-staff that I know. |
May 8 2012, 12:47 PM
HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more.
My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. |
May 8 2012, 02:06 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(heavenhell @ May 7 2012, 09:24 PM) Any reason why you specifically mention 3 year uk degree programme ? I am pretty sure most of the companies do accept UK degree graduate , the bachelor degree they offered in UK are mostly 3 years only. it is because you cant register in BEM in any 3 year engineering program, which takes most of the UK unis out. Thats why most opt for a Masters. QUOTE As long as the program is recognized by Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM), I dont see any problem. QUOTE The recognised academic qualification for registration as a Graduate Engineer with BEM includes the following: even if it is an accredited 3 year program, u cant register as an engineer under BEM simply because its a 3 yr degree?An engineering degree accredited/recognised by EAC, BEM available in an approved list maintained by EAC, BEM. For degree which is not recognised (e.g. 3 years programme) need to be top up with a master degree by instruction from accredited university. For further details, check Requirement to be Registered in Electrical Engineering. LINK: http://www.bem.org.my/v3/app_graduate.html |
May 8 2012, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:47 PM) HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more. I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there.My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. As for the bold part, Bro Azraeil, you mean the previous CEO that was highly praised + credited for Petronas' transformation tu ka? If that is so, then this will be the first time I heard/read a not-so-good story about him. |
May 8 2012, 04:46 PM
48 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: on my way to paradise |
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 12:47 PM) HR in PETRONAS are the slimeballs of the company. They think they control everyone and this was due to the previous president who gave too much power to HR. They are extremely secretive, use the processes and procedures for their own advantages (like jumping queues for the promotion discussion where they will put in the proposal for HR people ahead of the technical people this delaying the promotion of those people) and so much more. after reading your post here bro azraeil..my hope on petronas just kaput lol..My company now only have personnel dept. They don't do anything other than doing support. Most of the task are automated via the SAP system anyway. Can you believe it that asking for a employment certificate (those letter that says you are working with the company with this amount of salary, you know for loans etc etc) takes a minimum of 3 days in Petronas? Over here, I go to HROnline, click on employment certificates and a PDF file is generated which I can print. 2 minutes tops. I also have full access to the Industrial manual where I can see all rules/regulation/entitlement which is updated every 3 months. Full transparency. Ask any HR PETRONAS staff if they know when the last time the executive handbook was updated. All those memos, the HR keeps to themselves. They prefer the staff do not know what they are entitled because it gives them power. I put 90% of the blame why 2500 technical staff who left PETRONAS on HR. if ever I return to Petronas as the president (day dreaming lah), the first division I would scrap is HR. Sorry for the rant. |
May 8 2012, 05:08 PM
291 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(cuteyman @ May 8 2012, 04:46 PM) but never try never know.. never giv up everyone, Petronas might not be the best company, but its offer and opportunity given are still better than most of the companies in Msia. Petronas is a good starting point |
May 8 2012, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 8 2012, 10:51 AM) I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there. Don't get me wrong. I love Petronas but I hate the HR department. There's a difference Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. As for the bold part, Bro Azraeil, you mean the previous CEO that was highly praised + credited for Petronas' transformation tu ka? If that is so, then this will be the first time I heard/read a not-so-good story about him. I try as much as I can when I was in PETRONAS not to deal with HR. If I had to deal with them everyday, sure pendek umur one. The previous president has done a lot of good thing for PETRONAS. There is no denying that. Credit should be given where it is due, but he is a well known stingy miser and also keras kepala. He strongly believe that everyone contributes the same amount for the company and therefore, everyone should be treated the same, compensation wise. That was why he put so much emphasis and power on HR. The thing is, since he came from an accounting background, those with chartered accountancy certs, are immediately given the senior salary grade SG23 at the time. So talk about hypocrisy. Technical people such as geologist, petroleum engineers and drilling engineers are the bread and butter of an OIL & GAS company. They are the one who decide where to drill that 30 million USD well, they are the one who decide what kind of deep water platform is most economical/technically feasible but they are the one who are the worst treated. No promotion, gaji sama macam those HR and finance people. PETRONAS seems to think that everyone are the same in the company. I'd like to ask him how many middle east or European company are willing to headhunter PETRONAS' HR people? How many Finance staff are being poached by the same middle eastern or European companies? I can write a book about why I think the previous president is responsible for all the staff shortages in PETRONAS right now. It was him and HR. HR had once told all of us that our salary was competitive. When asked with which company this was compared against, the shyly said TNB and Telekom. What a fuc**in' joke. When asked why the salary of PETRONAS geologist/petroleum engineers were not compared against ExxonMobil/Shell etc (let's not even go to overseas), they said those companies were not willing to share their info. I hate HR in PETRONAS with a vengeance. I love the company but I think it was seriously undermined by HR. I am happy that the current president is serious about stemming the brain drain but I think the boat have left the harbor. So many talented (those who were responsible for so many of Petronas successes in the past) have left the company. Disillusioned with the treatment that they received. A lot of my friends who are still in PETRONAS still tell me that because so many of us have left, the company finally changed the remuneration scheme. Sekarang semua gaji tinggi but they are struggling because so many projects to deliver but so many young staff and so little experience staff are left. I would not be where I am if not for PETRONAS, and for that I am eternally grateful. Maybe one day I will return and hopefully join PETRONAS again. Who knows. Don't lose hope, it is an excellent company to learn the trade an maybe to climb the corporate ladder and it has changed for the better. |
May 8 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 06:42 PM) Don't get me wrong. I love Petronas but I hate the HR department. There's a difference I see. Quite a lot of never-heard-before infos you wrote there, bro.I try as much as I can when I was in PETRONAS not to deal with HR. If I had to deal with them everyday, sure pendek umur one. The previous president has done a lot of good thing for PETRONAS. There is no denying that. Credit should be given where it is due, but he is a well known stingy miser and also keras kepala. He strongly believe that everyone contributes the same amount for the company and therefore, everyone should be treated the same, compensation wise. That was why he put so much emphasis and power on HR. The thing is, since he came from an accounting background, those with chartered accountancy certs, are immediately given the senior salary grade SG23 at the time. So talk about hypocrisy. Technical people such as geologist, petroleum engineers and drilling engineers are the bread and butter of an OIL & GAS company. They are the one who decide where to drill that 30 million USD well, they are the one who decide what kind of deep water platform is most economical/technically feasible but they are the one who are the worst treated. No promotion, gaji sama macam those HR and finance people. PETRONAS seems to think that everyone are the same in the company. I'd like to ask him how many middle east or European company are willing to headhunter PETRONAS' HR people? How many Finance staff are being poached by the same middle eastern or European companies? I can write a book about why I think the previous president is responsible for all the staff shortages in PETRONAS right now. It was him and HR. HR had once told all of us that our salary was competitive. When asked with which company this was compared against, the shyly said TNB and Telekom. What a fuc**in' joke. When asked why the salary of PETRONAS geologist/petroleum engineers were not compared against ExxonMobil/Shell etc (let's not even go to overseas), they said those companies were not willing to share their info. I hate HR in PETRONAS with a vengeance. I love the company but I think it was seriously undermined by HR. I am happy that the current president is serious about stemming the brain drain but I think the boat have left the harbor. So many talented (those who were responsible for so many of Petronas successes in the past) have left the company. Disillusioned with the treatment that they received. A lot of my friends who are still in PETRONAS still tell me that because so many of us have left, the company finally changed the remuneration scheme. Sekarang semua gaji tinggi but they are struggling because so many projects to deliver but so many young staff and so little experience staff are left. I would not be where I am if not for PETRONAS, and for that I am eternally grateful. Maybe one day I will return and hopefully join PETRONAS again. Who knows. Don't lose hope, it is an excellent company to learn the trade an maybe to climb the corporate ladder and it has changed for the better. Never heard of Petronas' not-so-good-side before, since all that I've come to know is that it's a company where all the engineering graduates (particularly) would want to start their career with (higher salary, 6-9 months' bonus, PCMC is one of it's panel hospital etc). And all the good things only about the previous CEO. Having read what is written above, I'm glad to notice that Petronas is starting to appreciate their technical staffs more. Plus the current CEO is not so not-qualified after all, giving his effort to woo ex-Petronas staffs to join back the company. And bro Azraeil, should you return to Petronas as a CEO/president, please also help to scrap the HR's way of how they handle the placement for candidates that already passed their SIs right now. It's ridiculous, no matter how they try to defend/explain it. And the people who allow it to happen should be terminated without prior notice. |
May 8 2012, 10:27 PM
I believe that Petronas has change for the better. From what I heard from good friends who are still there, the remuneration scheme for technical staff is much much better and the promotion prospect is also quite good. But PETRONAS is a huge company so there is still those vestiges of the old habit of HR.
I still believe it is one of the best company to ply your trade. To learn about the skills in the industry. I left about 6 years ago when the company is in turmoil. It is trying to be better and those joining now will be in a good position to reap the rewards. |
May 8 2012, 10:37 PM
291 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(azraeil @ May 8 2012, 10:27 PM) I believe that Petronas has change for the better. From what I heard from good friends who are still there, the remuneration scheme for technical staff is much much better and the promotion prospect is also quite good. But PETRONAS is a huge company so there is still those vestiges of the old habit of HR. all the best to u bro azraeil I still believe it is one of the best company to ply your trade. To learn about the skills in the industry. I left about 6 years ago when the company is in turmoil. It is trying to be better and those joining now will be in a good position to reap the rewards. |
May 8 2012, 10:37 PM
529 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
But, still hard to enter Petronas. Just try and try.
May 9 2012, 02:32 PM
809 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Ann Arbor |
just called the HR who was in charge of my SI..he said I passed the SI but he will contact me again to arrange for another interview session (chit chat and CBI)..
hopefully the process won't take long.. |
May 9 2012, 03:08 PM
236 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: KL/JB |
QUOTE(pandikar @ May 8 2012, 04:51 PM) I see. No wonder every ex-staff is cursing them here and there. Thanks Azraeil for the explanation. Its ok la Panikar, just forget about it since i already got another offer from other company. Will start there by early next month..Bro Jamal, maybe this is one of the reasons why they turned a blind eye on your placement. |
May 10 2012, 03:20 PM
161 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
hi everyone...need help...
received a phone call from petronas asking me to go for a chitchat session with them next week...how is the interview stage like in petronas..is the chitchat session is a part of the interview on getting a post in petronas...where will it go from the chitchat session if i pass the chitchat? anyone can help? |
| Change to: | 0.0254sec
5 queries
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:46 PM |