Heatsink Lapping Tutorial+Pics(added 6600) lapped , Discussion and How-To's
TSneoxz
May 7 2007, 06:01 PM
er.. I was talking about baking soda only for alu fins of the heatsink. Mix it with water and c the miracle happen
Added on May 31, 2007, 11:02 pmPics of IHS lapping to be posted soon... stay tuned!
This post has been edited by neoxz: May 31 2007, 11:02 PM
Are_keem
Jul 4 2007, 10:47 PM
bump this thread.. anyone here can help me to get those sandpapers? got an offer but it is too pricey I think..
mruzian
Jul 4 2007, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Jul 4 2007, 10:47 PM) bump this thread.. anyone here can help me to get those sandpapers? got an offer but it is too pricey I think.. erm saw those sandpapers at ACE hardware selling each bout rm2.20 why dun u go there? btw wanna ask issit possible to lap CM GeminII??? thinking of lapping mine but i think the cooler couldnt lay flat
Are_keem
Jul 4 2007, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(mruzian @ Jul 4 2007, 11:13 PM) erm saw those sandpapers at ACE hardware selling each bout rm2.20 why dun u go there? btw wanna ask issit possible to lap CM GeminII??? thinking of lapping mine but i think the cooler couldnt lay flat  the problem is i'm in terengganu, place where those ACE hardware didnt exist
mruzian
Jul 4 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Jul 4 2007, 11:39 PM) the problem is i'm in terengganu, place where those ACE hardware didnt exist  oppss haha didnt notice dat
Are_keem
Jul 7 2007, 04:25 PM
hahhh... just finished lapping my Big typhoon VX.. got around 4'c drop
lolhalol
Jul 9 2007, 01:51 AM
nice...not bad which method did u usE?
Are_keem
Jul 9 2007, 05:02 PM
as the guide in 1st page.. but stop at 1500 grit, didnt manage to get 2000 grit sandpaper over here.. so, no mirror finish for me..
almostthere
Jul 9 2007, 05:06 PM
Kepala abah ko
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Jul 9 2007, 05:02 PM) as the guide in 1st page.. but stop at 1500 grit, didnt manage to get 2000 grit sandpaper over here.. so, no mirror finish for me..  Actually there's a shortcut to it. Lapping/metal polishing paste like brasso and autosol works beautifully. I had the same problem as you did when I lapped my IHS. Just make sure after you lapped using such paste's you clean it up using alcohol based solutions
overclockalbert
Aug 10 2007, 06:44 PM
try to lap my intel original heatsink, temp drop 3C. using 800-1000 lapping paper with water.
a1098113
Aug 18 2007, 05:02 PM
i bought a sandpaper which is used to lap metal.... specifically metal though... its about rm2.50 a piece... and use alcohol swabs after that... it has a brilliant finish to it:)
kerryking
Aug 19 2007, 03:07 AM
Just finished lapped my TT Big Typhoon VX..not too bad.. temp drop around 7C Using 400-2000 grits using figure 8 method..
a1098113
Aug 22 2007, 01:53 PM
QUOTE(kerryking @ Aug 19 2007, 03:07 AM) Just finished lapped my TT Big Typhoon VX..not too bad.. temp drop around 7C Using 400-2000 grits using figure 8 method.. Cool HSF... well i use the emery paper, which is specially made for lapping metal... and the benchmark i have is to see a reflection of my face after lapping.. well my desktop dropped about a few modest degrees after lapping the intel heatsink.... and applying mx1.
TSneoxz
Aug 26 2007, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 22 2007, 01:53 PM) Cool HSF... well i use the emery paper, which is specially made for lapping metal... and the benchmark i have is to see a reflection of my face after lapping.. well my desktop dropped about a few modest degrees after lapping the intel heatsink.... and applying mx1. Guys, y not contribute some pics ?
kerryking
Aug 26 2007, 04:32 PM
Forgot to take pics lolz.. Will take some pics if i reapply my thermal paste again..
Quazacolt
Aug 27 2007, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(lolhalol @ Apr 10 2007, 08:44 AM) its very very difficult... when u look at the base of the ultra 120 u will realise wat i mean....its almost unlappable... dun bother if u were me.... u wont get flat base without specialised machinery looking forward to this, also interested in methods of how to clean the alu fins with liquids since it is almost impossible to clean the insides without breaking the whole thing apart
Are_keem
Aug 31 2007, 10:53 AM
w00t~ IHS lapped. if the procs is lower end p4 like my 506, I wont mind to lap it.. but if it's QX6700.....
TSneoxz
Aug 31 2007, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(Are_keem @ Aug 31 2007, 10:53 AM) w00t~ IHS lapped. if the procs is lower end p4 like my 506, I wont mind to lap it.. but if it's QX6700..... Mine's 6600
stevenlee
Aug 31 2007, 11:05 AM
any1 has try to lap xigmateik s128 heatsink?